Best Buy says can not transport LCD lying flat - huh? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 64 Old 12-16-2008, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I was at Best Buy the other day and came that close to getting a 52" Sharp LCD. I was all ready with my wife's SUV but just when I was about to take the credit card out the sales guy asked me how I'm going to take it home? I said, I'm going to lay it flat, screen facing up, in the back of my wife's SUV.

No, no, no! You should not lay it flat or the screen will crack said the sales guy. WHAT? I reminded him it was a LCD and not plasma. Same response. I further reminded him that the screen will be facing up and thus no force will be on it.

As a mechanical engineer I find that a bit hard to believe. He further said that anything over 32" LCD should not be lying flat, even in the box.

So he lost a sale and I proceeded to walk out the door. Low and behold, near the checkout there were tons of LCDs bigger than 32", some as big at 42", lying flat, stacked 4 high. At least the store followed the box warning to stack no more than 4 high.

If this is true (do not lay flat) then "Stack no more than 4 high" warning on the box will mean they stack them on the edge 4 high???? That's a feat that I would like to see!

So, experts, can I carry that baby home lying flat with nothing resting on top of the box?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 64 Old 12-16-2008, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1193 Post(s)
Liked: 1034
I would not. The glass is self-supporting and, with the vibrations of transport, can crack. Lying horizontal but static when stacked does not apply the same stress.

Frankly, I would never transport a large panel monitor myself. For the small cost of delivery, the responsibility for success goes off my shoulders.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"