2014 Vizio Thread All models - Page 201 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 352Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6001 of 6038 Old 03-20-2015, 05:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,454
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6357
Kleenex you should probably start a 2015 Vizio thread


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6002 of 6038 Old 03-20-2015, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4903
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleenex View Post
WOW BHphotovideo link time for 2015 M TV sets....

43" for 598.00 Expected June 15"

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html

50" for 798.00 Expected June 15:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html


55" for 998.00 expected May 1st:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html

60" for 1498.00 Expected june 15:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html

65" for 1698.000 Expected June 15:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html


70" for 2198.00 Expected May 15"
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html

75" for 2998.00 Expected September 15:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...array_led.html


And finally the manual for the 70" and 80" TV which Vizio.com never let me see...

http://static.bhphotovideo.com/lit_files/111421.pdf

The only difference between the 70" and 80" TV is screen size, weight, and power consumption.
Dissapointing that the 80" has only 32 dimming zones (but fantastic that it is ZfALD ).
fafrd is offline  
post #6003 of 6038 Old 03-21-2015, 02:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleenex View Post
And finally the manual for the 70" and 80" TV which Vizio.com never let me see...

http://static.bhphotovideo.com/lit_files/111421.pdf

The only difference between the 70" and 80" TV is screen size, weight, and power consumption.

It's actually the manual for the 60" as well.

Stupid stand; since it doesn't seem to have alternative holes for mounting the feet, it wouldn't work for my situation, where the cabinet it's sitting on is less wide than the screen.

Otherwise it's specs and design seem to be very close to the 2014 P-Series, except for notably having half as many dimming zones. It even has "Game Low Latency" mode and a special HDMI 5 port.

I notice that the specs say "Refresh Rate: 120Hz (240Hz with Backlight Scanning)" . The class action suit over misrepresenting refresh rates is having its effect .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6004 of 6038 Old 03-21-2015, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kleenex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafrd View Post
Dissapointing that the 80" has only 32 dimming zones (but fantastic that it is ZfALD ).
The Zones will go up imo. Just have to wait at least one year...
kleenex is offline  
post #6005 of 6038 Old 03-21-2015, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1301 Post(s)
Liked: 739
No 3D still?
laserjock II is online now  
post #6006 of 6038 Old 03-21-2015, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
I think that Vizio is done with glasses-based 3D. Have any other manufacturers completely abandoned it yet?

EDIT: I may have my answer. From this report on CES:

Quote:
CES was the birthplace of 3D TVs; companies trumpeted the technology in 2013 by cramming it in basically any device that would take it and 3D movies were everywhere. It felt like 3D was here to stay.

At CES 2013 and then 2014, some TV makers like Vizio and Panasonic started rejecting 3D, discovering that it wasn’t working out quite the way they planned. Consumers didn’t want the technology as much as they expected, but many like Samsung and Sony pushed on anyway.

This year, 3D TVs are completely, utterly missing. And it’s great. If you wanted any evidence that they’ve effectively gone nowhere, look to CES 2015.

Samsung announced a number of SUHD new TVs, all of which don’t support 3D. Sony has it’s own UHD TVs which also don’t support 3D, and the same goes for LG.

From what I can tell, there are effectively no major TV makers working on 3D products for 2015.

There were some glasses-free 3D sets shown at CES, but none shipping in 2015.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6007 of 6038 Old 03-21-2015, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Ettenra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a 2015 Vizio thread yet? With the E series available on amazon now I thought we'd see some updated reviews.

Last edited by Ettenra; 03-21-2015 at 01:34 PM.
Ettenra is offline  
post #6008 of 6038 Old 03-21-2015, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kleenex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ettenra View Post
Is there a 2015 Vizio thread yet? With the E series available on amazon now I thought we'd see some updated reviews.
I have yet to see a professional review yet for any 2015 Vizio TV set. I do not think we will see any Professional reviews until Vizio has had the big PR event in April.

The only 2015 Vizio TV set I have seen in stores so far was the 2015 39" D model TV set which I say is a waste of money as it is a 720P TV set. It seems like it will be at the end of April before stores like Wal-Mart and Best Buy have 2015 Vizio TV sets in stores.

Last edited by kleenex; 03-21-2015 at 02:23 PM.
kleenex is offline  
post #6009 of 6038 Old 03-24-2015, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, I have the vizio M42 2014 edition and I'm looking for some calibration settings? Any help?
edu616 is offline  
post #6010 of 6038 Old 04-02-2015, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
VIZIO M602i-B3 darker spot prob.

Hi all,

Last year I wanted to buy and bought two Vizio TV's.
E and M models.
Lurking here confirmed that it was a reasonable choice.

The problem with the VIZIO M602i-B3 is that there's is a darker spot on the upper left as seen in the attachment.

I really don't know what it is, any ideas?
Thought that such s thing would be rectangular but it's a circle.
Not sure if it was there from the beginning, is apparent in bright whites, bright grays and now is pretty much always there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	642793  
MDBrossarc is offline  
post #6011 of 6038 Old 04-02-2015, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4903
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDBrossarc View Post
Hi all,

Last year I wanted to buy and bought two Vizio TV's.
E and M models.
Lurking here confirmed that it was a reasonable choice.

The problem with the VIZIO M602i-B3 is that there's is a darker spot on the upper left as seen in the attachment.

I really don't know what it is, any ideas?
Thought that such s thing would be rectangular but it's a circle.
Not sure if it was there from the beginning, is apparent in bright whites, bright grays and now is pretty much always there.
That looks like a dimming zone that is not working properly or a burned-out LED on the backlight.

Contact Vizio with that image a and they should get a replacement out to you pronto...
Ph8te likes this.
fafrd is offline  
post #6012 of 6038 Old 04-02-2015, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks fafrd,

That's basically what I wanted to know, if I shoud contact support and if they could do something about it.
Don't you find it weird that it's not rectangular though if it's a dimming zone?

MD
MDBrossarc is offline  
post #6013 of 6038 Old 04-02-2015, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4903
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDBrossarc View Post
Thanks fafrd,

That's basically what I wanted to know, if I shoud contact support and if they could do something about it.
Don't you find it weird that it's not rectangular though if it's a dimming zone?

MD
Yes, and seems to be much too small for an entire dimming zone of an M60 (4 rows and 8 columns$, which is why I suspect it may just be a single bad LED...
fafrd is offline  
post #6014 of 6038 Old 04-02-2015, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks again,
I just contacted support with the pictures of the unit.
Your diagnosis and help is greatly appreciated!

MD
MDBrossarc is offline  
post #6015 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 09:41 AM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any way to side load apps like browser on m602i-b3 ?

just purchased this at BB for $450 (without stand), and sold my 7-8 year old 46'' for $170
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6016 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,454
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6357
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
Any way to side load apps like browser on m602i-b3 ?



just purchased this at BB for $450 (without stand), and sold my 7-8 year old 46'' for $170

No, these are not android or full OS type devices.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #6017 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 10:08 AM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
No, these are not android or full OS type devices.


Sent from nowhere
thanks
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6018 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 03:31 PM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone point me to the thread with all Vizio tv series calibration settings. I saw it earlier today and been searching for like half hour and cant find it again. It had links to all settings for all TVs on 1 page
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6019 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,454
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6357
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
Can anyone point me to the thread with all Vizio tv series calibration settings. I saw it earlier today and been searching for like half hour and cant find it again. It had links to all settings for all TVs on 1 page

There is none as far as I know, they break it down by model. Not every model has a calibration thread. It would be better to say which TV you have and then members can point you in the right direction.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #6020 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 08:09 PM
Member
 
lionelhuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does anyone know how the replacement process is going lately for 2014 sets? Any chance Vizio doesn't have any more 2014 stock and instead will give out a 2015 model?

I've got 3 groups of discolored pixels on my M652i-B2 and was thinking about calling Vizio to see if they'd be willing to replace the panel.


Last edited by lionelhuts; 06-05-2015 at 08:14 PM.
lionelhuts is offline  
post #6021 of 6038 Old 06-05-2015, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionelhuts View Post
Does anyone know how the replacement process is going lately for 2014 sets? Any chance Vizio doesn't have any more 2014 stock and instead will give out a 2015 model?

Some have been offered 2015 M-Series models as replacements for no-longer-available 2014 P-Series sets. No 2015 P-Series has been announced yet.
lionelhuts likes this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #6022 of 6038 Old 06-06-2015, 06:41 AM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
There is none as far as I know, they break it down by model. Not every model has a calibration thread. It would be better to say which TV you have and then members can point you in the right direction.


Sent from nowhere




There is, I ran into the thread/post yesterday, just can't find it now. Couldn't find m602i-b3 calibration thread either though

Last edited by kolyan2k; 06-06-2015 at 06:51 AM.
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6023 of 6038 Old 06-06-2015, 06:49 AM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionelhuts View Post
Does anyone know how the replacement process is going lately for 2014 sets? Any chance Vizio doesn't have any more 2014 stock and instead will give out a 2015 model?

I've got 3 groups of discolored pixels on my M652i-B2 and was thinking about calling Vizio to see if they'd be willing to replace the panel.
I found some issues on my new 2014 M60 as well. Please post what Vizio decides after you speak with them. Curious how hard or easy the return process is. I've only done 1 TV return in 10+ years and was painless with Westinghouse
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6024 of 6038 Old 06-06-2015, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,454
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6582 Post(s)
Liked: 6357
2014 Vizio Thread All models

Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
There is, I ran into the thread/post yesterday, just can't find it now. Couldn't find m602i-b3 calibration thread either though

Most likely there is t one for your model..the best thing would be to go to the M series owners read (2014) and search from there. The P series has both a calibration and Owners thread with the links posted in the beginning. From what I remember the M series didn't get set up like that.

R would probably be best to ask in the M series owners thread as that will have more activity/eyes. This thread doesn't get used much as it was a general release thread before the sets came out

Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #6025 of 6038 Old 06-06-2015, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
kmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
There is, I ran into the thread/post yesterday, just can't find it now. Couldn't find m602i-b3 calibration thread either though
Perhaps this is what you're looking for. Also, the last settings link noted as M???i-B? are from an M602i-B3


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post33095713

Mike

Mike
_____________
I may be a rookie but I'm the expert at what looks and sounds good to me.
kmike is offline  
post #6026 of 6038 Old 06-06-2015, 12:31 PM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmike View Post
Perhaps this is what you're looking for. Also, the last settings link noted as M???i-B? are from an M602i-B3


https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post33095713

Mike
Yes. Thank you. I thought this was a separate thread
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6027 of 6038 Old 06-07-2015, 07:02 AM
Member
 
lionelhuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
I found some issues on my new 2014 M60 as well. Please post what Vizio decides after you speak with them. Curious how hard or easy the return process is. I've only done 1 TV return in 10+ years and was painless with Westinghouse
Will do. Just a heads up: I bought the TV August 14th 2014, so I'll probably wait a couple months and report it right before the warranty is up to give it the best chance of M's selling out.
lionelhuts is offline  
post #6028 of 6038 Old 06-08-2015, 06:20 AM
Member
 
kolyan2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionelhuts View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
I found some issues on my new 2014 M60 as well. Please post what Vizio decides after you speak with them. Curious how hard or easy the return process is. I've only done 1 TV return in 10+ years and was painless with Westinghouse
Will do. Just a heads up: I bought the TV August 14th 2014, so I'll probably wait a couple months and report it right before the warranty is up to give it the best chance of M's selling out.

I bought my Vizio last week, so I have the whole year ahead Back then with Westinghouse they just told me to go to local Best Buy and pick TV I like for the price of new Westinghouse even though I paid 50% off almost a year ago ($1200), so I ended up with $2400-2600 46'' Toshiba that kinda broke after 7 years and I sold it for $170 last week as well
kolyan2k is offline  
post #6029 of 6038 Old 06-16-2015, 05:44 PM
Member
 
lionelhuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyan2k View Post
I found some issues on my new 2014 M60 as well. Please post what Vizio decides after you speak with them. Curious how hard or easy the return process is. I've only done 1 TV return in 10+ years and was painless with Westinghouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionelhuts View Post
Will do. Just a heads up: I bought the TV August 14th 2014, so I'll probably wait a couple months and report it right before the warranty is up to give it the best chance of M's selling out.
Actually, you may not have to wait as long.

Today, the Yahoo! app on the bottom kept cycling between "Loading" and "Searching for available updates". I took a photo before it all went to hell:



Same issue even after restarting the TV. I eventually unplugged it completely from the outlet. The result? It won't even power on anymore. I guess I'm very lucky this happened before my warranty expired (2 months).

EDIT: Powered right back up after 20 minutes. Yahoo! message is back, though.
EDIT2: Updating message also gone after ~1.5 hours.

Last edited by lionelhuts; 06-16-2015 at 06:43 PM.
lionelhuts is offline  
post #6030 of 6038 Old 06-16-2015, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1301 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionelhuts View Post
Actually, you may not have to wait as long.

Today, the Yahoo! app on the bottom kept cycling between "Loading" and "Searching for available updates". I took a photo before it all went to hell:



Same issue even after restarting the TV. I eventually unplugged it completely from the outlet. The result? It won't even power on anymore. I guess I'm very lucky this happened before my warranty expired (2 months).

EDIT: Powered right back up after 20 minutes. Yahoo! message is back, though.
EDIT2: Updating message also gone after ~1.5 hours.
My 2013 80" did this after we lost power from TS Bill this afternoon.

It just cleared itself after about 1.5 hrs also.
laserjock II is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Polk Audio Monitor70 Series Ii Floorstanding Loudspeaker , Panasonic Th 58px60u 58 Inch Plasma Hdtv , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off