Official Sony X950B Owner's thread - Page 82 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 348Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 2513 Old 12-30-2016, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by AP-123 View Post
How does the x950b compare to the new 65", $1500 Samsung HDR 1000 sets?
It looks great. Very bright and colorful. For SDR it's probably one of the best sets out there other than OLED, but it's superior to the OLEDs in the way that it renders motion. However, if you want HDR, then you need to get another set like the Samsung KS 8000 (which is approximately $1,500 for the 65").
Radvlad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 2513 Old 12-31-2016, 06:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
could Sony make an evolution box to work on x950b tvs to get hdr?
shanker01 is offline  
post #2433 of 2513 Old 12-31-2016, 10:35 AM
Member
 
AP-123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radvlad View Post
It looks great. Very bright and colorful. For SDR it's probably one of the best sets out there other than OLED, but it's superior to the OLEDs in the way that it renders motion. However, if you want HDR, then you need to get another set like the Samsung KS 8000 (which is approximately $1,500 for the 65").
Thanks but if you were to buy one now which one? I need another TV
Seems like new HDR like the KS 8000 would be preferable to the X950B or does the sony outperform in other areas?

Just thinking about the laws of technology, always improving... TIA
AP-123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2434 of 2513 Old 12-31-2016, 03:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AP-123 View Post
How does the x950b compare to the new 65", $1500 Samsung HDR 1000 sets?
After getting it all setup properly, it blows it out of the water. There's no comparison. And it gets brighter than my plasma, with nearly the same black levels.

Count the amount of HDR stuff you will take advantage of HDR on your edge lit screen, and then think carefully if you want a set that does 1% of what's out there "well-enough for most folks" or one that does 99% of what is out there "exceptionally good."

I've not compared HDR video on the KS8000 side by side with the X950b, but I do know that the same movies on Amazon, like the coral reef imax movie, look BETTER now on the X950b than I recall them looking on the KS8000. That's going from memory though. Every time I see the picture on the X950b I am incredibly pleased. Also there's no comparison in the sound, if that matters to you, and the TV tuner is better too, if you are using an antenna. I could only get 11 channels on the Samsung on a good day, and was rescanning every time it was cloudy. The Sony sucked in everything in 60 miles, using the same antenna. 35 channels

KS8000 is a great daytime set, and quite a bit lighter. But I love the beastly xbr, 99 pounds and all. It's even won over my wife who was mad at hell when I brought it home and cursed me while I was making her help me wall mount it. But now... she's all in.

--

It really is a top-shelf screen, that will excel at 99% of what you watch, and not do the 1% HDR in HDR mode. Personally, I doubt you will care.

I couldn't be happier with my purchase
AP-123 likes this.
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2435 of 2513 Old 12-31-2016, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I agree looking at the new sets at best buy and seeing what I have home there is no hdr envy at all!!!!!
shanker01 is offline  
post #2436 of 2513 Old 12-31-2016, 04:39 PM
Member
 
AP-123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Corrieri View Post
After getting it all setup properly, it blows it out of the water. There's no comparison. And it gets brighter than my plasma, with nearly the same black levels.

Count the amount of HDR stuff you will take advantage of HDR on your edge lit screen, and then think carefully if you want a set that does 1% of what's out there "well-enough for most folks" or one that does 99% of what is out there "exceptionally good."

I've not compared HDR video on the KS8000 side by side with the X950b, but I do know that the same movies on Amazon, like the coral reef imax movie, look BETTER now on the X950b than I recall them looking on the KS8000. That's going from memory though. Every time I see the picture on the X950b I am incredibly pleased. Also there's no comparison in the sound, if that matters to you, and the TV tuner is better too, if you are using an antenna. I could only get 11 channels on the Samsung on a good day, and was rescanning every time it was cloudy. The Sony sucked in everything in 60 miles, using the same antenna. 35 channels

KS8000 is a great daytime set, and quite a bit lighter. But I love the beastly xbr, 99 pounds and all. It's even won over my wife who was mad at hell when I brought it home and cursed me while I was making her help me wall mount it. But now... she's all in.

--

It really is a top-shelf screen, that will excel at 99% of what you watch, and not do the 1% HDR in HDR mode. Personally, I doubt you will care.

I couldn't be happier with my purchase
That's what I was looking for. Thanks Mike!

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
AP-123 is offline  
post #2437 of 2513 Old 12-31-2016, 10:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hey - just to clarify:

My samsung KS8000 was a 49".

the 950b is 65".

So that alone could make me consider it better across the board. lol.

But I was in a $1000 or less budget crunch for this tv. I don't think I could do any better than I did for the money. It's a recertified set and I got an extended warranty thrown in.

65" for a mid-bright room it's pretty dang good.
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2438 of 2513 Old 01-02-2017, 06:13 AM
Member
 
RamiAgonistes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. I'm having issues with getting 4K to work. Using my 4K Amazon Fire box I was being notified in settings that I can't get 4K due to my device not being connected to a HDCP 2.2 device. So I figure the receiver must be the problem. So I connect the Fire directly to the TV and the TV is connected to the receiver for audio. Now in the Fire settings I no longer get the message described above but when I stream things that should be in 4K (like Man in the High Castle) it still indicates that it's streaming in 1080P.

When I tried to use the built in Sony Amazon app it's still streaming in 1080P. Anyone have any advice?
RamiAgonistes is offline  
post #2439 of 2513 Old 01-02-2017, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamiAgonistes View Post
Hey guys. I'm having issues with getting 4K to work. Using my 4K Amazon Fire box I was being notified in settings that I can't get 4K due to my device not being connected to a HDCP 2.2 device. So I figure the receiver must be the problem. So I connect the Fire directly to the TV and the TV is connected to the receiver for audio. Now in the Fire settings I no longer get the message described above but when I stream things that should be in 4K (like Man in the High Castle) it still indicates that it's streaming in 1080P.

When I tried to use the built in Sony Amazon app it's still streaming in 1080P. Anyone have any advice?
What makes you think the built in Sony Amazon app is streaming it in 1080P and not 4k? Does the built in sony app show you the UHD tag, or have a UHD section, and are you playing it from there?
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2440 of 2513 Old 01-02-2017, 06:57 AM
Member
 
RamiAgonistes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Corrieri View Post
What makes you think the built in Sony Amazon app is streaming it in 1080P and not 4k? Does the built in sony app show you the UHD tag, or have a UHD section, and are you playing it from there?
I'm at work now so I can't double check on the Sony Amazon app but from my memory after selecting a show that should be streaming in 4K it says 1080P. Now this is with my audio coming from the same receiver via HDMI cable.
RamiAgonistes is offline  
post #2441 of 2513 Old 01-02-2017, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamiAgonistes View Post
I'm at work now so I can't double check on the Sony Amazon app but from my memory after selecting a show that should be streaming in 4K it says 1080P. Now this is with my audio coming from the same receiver via HDMI cable.
Start your content, then select options on your remote control.

Select scene, and select "auto 24hz".

Try it again. I think you need to be on auto 24 for the TV to recognize the differences in streaming content. Changing that on mine is a visual difference.

I have no idea how to display the actual streaming signal, unless it's from my Sony S6500 - for which I need both the 4K and resolution set to Auto, or it only outputs 1080p.

EDIT: DOH! Okay, I noticed now when you hit the pause, it shows you the streaming content type. When on Auto 24, it shows Ultra HD.

Last edited by Mike Corrieri; 01-02-2017 at 11:18 AM.
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2442 of 2513 Old 01-02-2017, 11:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just confirmed it the other way - if you set the scene select to cinema, it no longer says Ultra HD when you hit the pause button.

So apparently for the internal apps to display UHD, the scene select needs to be on auto 24. I am guessing that tells the TV to pick the appropriate display method?
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2443 of 2513 Old 01-03-2017, 07:35 PM
Member
 
AP-123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Corrieri View Post
Start your content, then select options on your remote control.

Select scene, and select "auto 24hz".
Really glad to be a part of this forum as I realize I've had this TV for a while now and don't even have a 4k stream going in. Not sure how to solve my problem so looking for some help.

I have an HDMI cable (somewhere between 50' - 100') wired to my 950B along with Cat6 from my Denon 4311ci.
I pulled my HDMI from the Denon tonight and played directly from my Roku 4. Did the above and Roku is only at 1080p.

New 4k receiver or direct to Roku is one thought. The other is how do I get an updated cable to the TV. There is NO unsightly way to run another set of cables.

Baluns and loose the Internet to TV?
Run the Roku locally by the TV and get a 2.0 HDMI cable?

What else am I missing?
AP-123 is offline  
post #2444 of 2513 Old 01-03-2017, 10:54 PM
Member
 
AP-123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a bit of tinkering tonight, I'm guessing one options is new 4k receiver, baluns for HDMI and wifi for tv. Any other options I'm not thinking of?
AP-123 is offline  
post #2445 of 2513 Old 01-04-2017, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyfisher68 View Post
I have had the 65" set for 10 months after leting run for t two months to settle in I used S & M disk to make the following changes. Note
Setting for a very dark room
Picture mode cinema 1
Backlight 8
Picture 90
Brightness 52
Color 50
Hue 0
Color Temperature Warm 2
Noise Red off
Mpeg Noise Reduction off
Dot noise off
Reality creation off
Resolution 25
Noise Filtering mim
Smooth Gradation off
Motionflow Clear
Cine Motion off
Advanced Setting
Black corrector off
Adv. Contrast off
Gamma -2
Led Dynamic Control Low
Auto Light off
Clear light off
Live color low
Detail Enhancer off
Edge Enhancer off
White Balance
All set to 0 except G gain -4

The color looks natural to bothe the wife and I and friends always say what a great picture. Coul not be happier. Running Fios .through a Nad receiver with Polk spearkers in a 7.2 set up
I've tried these - good starting point, but for my dark room, I like for the backlight to be barely discernible from the bezel - so my blacks can go all the way to pitch black.

I've done this for the custom/Auto 24 setting for HDMI one, which is a roku premiere, to do all my app upscaling (and it looks much better than the TV, and gives you a Vudu UHD app as well as 4K netflix and amazon) and for the Cinema 2 on HDMI 2, which is my Sony BDP S6500 (scales blu ray to 4K, also better than tv).

The delta between our settings I've captured below.

Main picture settings:

(mode for standard or cinema 2)
Backlight 3
Brightness 41
Color 44

Motion Flow True Cinema
Cinemotion OFF

advanced settings:

LED Dynamic Control Standard

That's all. I only change the backlight, brightness, and tweak up the color, during the day. Easy as pie.

---

I am just loving this TV. All the talk about HDR/nits/wide gamut/scaling etc doesn't matter. I know I've bought at the lower end (probably cheapest one to date at the $1K I spent) but I wouldn't regret having bought this three years ago for $5K. It's an excellent panel, and it does bright room AND dark room AND the 4K looks just fabulous. The colors pop. The TV tuner is very sensitive.
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2446 of 2513 Old 01-04-2017, 12:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AP-123 View Post
Really glad to be a part of this forum as I realize I've had this TV for a while now and don't even have a 4k stream going in. Not sure how to solve my problem so looking for some help.

I have an HDMI cable (somewhere between 50' - 100') wired to my 950B along with Cat6 from my Denon 4311ci.
I pulled my HDMI from the Denon tonight and played directly from my Roku 4. Did the above and Roku is only at 1080p.

New 4k receiver or direct to Roku is one thought. The other is how do I get an updated cable to the TV. There is NO unsightly way to run another set of cables.

Baluns and loose the Internet to TV?
Run the Roku locally by the TV and get a 2.0 HDMI cable? NOTE: There is no such thing; it's marketing hype.

What else am I missing?
Roku Premiere can run 4K with a good cable on HDMI input 1 or 2. My Upscaling Blu Ray (sony bdp s6500) requires HDMI input 2 only. None of the others work.

The TV Input Scene Selection needs to be on Auto or Auto 24 and make sure your Roku TV is setup for the 4K resolution TV.

That last part is pretty crucial - being you were running through the Denon, I'd bet your Roku discovered the TV as a 1080P.

Good luck!
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2447 of 2513 Old 01-10-2017, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Can anyone comment on the quality of 3D on the 950B compared to LG's OLEDs? The OLED folks rave about the 3D, especially on the 2016 models. Anyone had a chance to view the same 3D content on both? There are no 950's left at my local Best Buys for me to check them out in person, but there's great prices on them still online. Just wary of buying something I haven't seen first. And the Z9D is too expensive for me unless they have a huge sale, which I doubt anytime soon on a flagship.

I know that's asking to compare active vs passive, which might be apples/oranges. I do own a 2011 LG 3D LCD, so I'm more familiar with the passive type, at least the early version of it.
Magellan55 is offline  
post #2448 of 2513 Old 01-26-2017, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
derreckla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 75
I am currently looking for a Sony XBR-85X950B if anyone wants to part with theirs or know of anyone that does please let me know.

Sony XBR-75Z9D
Klipsch Original RF-7s LCR & Surrounds, RS-7 Ceiling Atmos YES!! [/SIZE])
SVS PB13 Ultra
Samsung UBD-K8500 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player
Denon AVR-X3300
derreckla is offline  
post #2449 of 2513 Old 02-28-2017, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What the heck, Sony?

Their X950B page now says the TV has HDR. Not joking....


http://www.sony.com/electronics/tele...etails_default


I am mystified. They have the blurb X95 features include High Dynamic Range. Says it right there!

????????
Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2450 of 2513 Old 02-28-2017, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I just called.

The web page is correct and it's official now.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/tele...r-x950b-series

They are revamping the software and firmware for the X950B. The firmware updates will fix the existing models. When they complete the fixes it is going to be a firmware update then software download. Apparently there are a lot of these TVs in stock. I guess that worked in our favor.

And it's HDR. Just like the web page says.

The new prices are shown as $2,999.99 for the 65" and 14,999.99 for the 85".

Mike Corrieri is offline  
post #2451 of 2513 Old 02-28-2017, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Corrieri View Post
I just called.

The web page is correct and it's official now.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/tele...r-x950b-series

They are revamping the software and firmware for the X950B. The firmware updates will fix the existing models. When they complete the fixes it is going to be a firmware update then software download. Apparently there are a lot of these TVs in stock. I guess that worked in our favor.

And it's HDR. Just like the web page says.

The new prices are shown as $2,999.99 for the 65" and 14,999.99 for the 85".

When is this supposed to happen (i.e., firmware & software updates)?
Radvlad is offline  
post #2452 of 2513 Old 02-28-2017, 06:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Corrieri View Post
I just called.

The web page is correct and it's official now.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/tele...r-x950b-series
I clicked the link and it looks like they removed the HDR tag,so now I don't know which to believe.

If indeed HDR is coming I might hold off buying an A1E oled this year as HDR/DolbyV is what I was upgrading for.

Edit: Chat support said no HDR support..

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub

Last edited by PeterLewis; 02-28-2017 at 07:15 PM.
PeterLewis is offline  
post #2453 of 2513 Old 03-01-2017, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
I just called sony support and they mentioned that there would be an update this month but he could not confirm or deny if it will include HDR support...He said for all he knows it could just be a maintenance patch fix.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #2454 of 2513 Old 03-01-2017, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
CURX8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I'm wondering if this "news" has something to do with the developer kit that Dolby has released to manufacturers for Dolby Vision with just a firmware update (as long as the existing hardware can handle it).
CURX8 is offline  
post #2455 of 2513 Old 03-04-2017, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
loudspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Osakis, Minnesota
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is anyone using the Sony UBP-X800 with this tv?

Will the WCG from a 4k disc be displayed on this if you use "Cinema 2" or will there be problems?

I want to get the X800 soon but I won't if it's not going to display a true 4k video signal from the player

Sony XBR65-X950B
Harmon Kardon AVR-7200
Sony UBP-X800
MB Quart QLS 1030, 330, 530 set
TEAC UD-503, Sony Z7 headphones
loudspl is offline  
post #2456 of 2513 Old 03-04-2017, 05:27 PM
Senior Member
 
CURX8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by loudspl View Post
Is anyone using the Sony UBP-X800 with this tv?

Will the WCG from a 4k disc be displayed on this if you use "Cinema 2" or will there be problems?

I want to get the X800 soon but I won't if it's not going to display a true 4k video signal from the player
You will still get the true 4K signal, whether or not it is utilizing the WCG is another matter. From what I saw in the X800 thread was that the HDR->SDR conversion does not keep BT2020, instead it uses rec709. I think only one or two UHD players actually utilize the BT2020 in the SDR mode, but I'm not 100% certain on that.
CURX8 is offline  
post #2457 of 2513 Old 03-05-2017, 01:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Anyone thinking of upgrading from their x950b?

If so, what TV? I am thinking of going to a 65x930e or 75x940e or the 65Z9D only b/c I want HDR (HDR 10 & DolbyVision) for streaming and gaming. Anyone else?
Radvlad is offline  
post #2458 of 2513 Old 03-05-2017, 01:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radvlad View Post
If so, what TV? I am thinking of going to a 65x930e or 75x940e or the 65Z9D only b/c I want HDR (HDR 10 & DolbyVision) for streaming and gaming. Anyone else?
A1E or Z9D for HDR/DolbyVision for me.....But if sony miraculously adds HDR support like the guy Mike said in a previous post (I cant get conformation from Sony) I will hold off a year.

Sony OLED XBR-65A1E| XBR65X950B|XBR55X900B|2-BR100/Subs|4K X10 Player
Denon - X7200WA|Roku Ultra 4k|PS4
Mirage Omnisat V2 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos set up with SVS PB2000 Sub
PeterLewis is offline  
post #2459 of 2513 Old 03-05-2017, 02:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterLewis View Post
A1E or Z9D for HDR/DolbyVision for me.....But if sony miraculously adds HDR support like the guy Mike said in a previous post (I cant get conformation from Sony) I will hold off a year.
I forgot about the A1E, although I don't have faith that the motion issues will be resolved by Sony in its first gen OLED product. I guess we'll have to wait for the pro reviews and initial owners to find out. However, given the way these TVs keep improving year to year making upgrading almost a necessity, and their terrible resale value, I don't know that I want to spend $5K again for a TV (as I did when I bought my x950b), so I may just opt for the 65x930E and then upgrade again in 2 years. I am pretty confident that the 65x930E will be available for $2K by this fall, similar to the 65x930D. And I agree that if the x950b gets DolbyVision via a firmware &/or software update, then like you, I'll probably hold out an additional year.

Last edited by Radvlad; 03-05-2017 at 02:56 AM.
Radvlad is offline  
post #2460 of 2513 Old 03-26-2017, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
nirvanayoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Any more news on this firmware update?
nirvanayoda is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off