***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread - Page 166 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4643Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
ahwig60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfax co. Northern virginia
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwig60 View Post
got my vizio 70 in set up i put blacklist on netflix 4k , i did upgrade my netflix to the 11.99 plan for 4 k and the picture is not sharp and clear , on the blurry side, can anyone help me to fix it
on the vizio in menu i went to network connection test and it say download = 29Mb/s it does not give a upload speed.
ahwig60 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 18,915
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6277 Post(s)
Liked: 5920
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandstormGT View Post
I have been following this thread from day one and luckily for me, all day during work so I don't have to do too much catching up every day. I am pretty sure I haven't missed it, but has anyone, preferably one of the professional calibrators in this thread had a chance to compare the P70 to the P65? A wider viewing angle, although minimal, would be more preferable for me than the extra 5". I was simply wondering if anyone HAS verified the 65" panel has better viewing angles and if there was anything vastly different between it and the 70".

No pros have as of yet. The closest we may get is cnet or the like if Vizio sends them a 65"


Sent from an system/360
Ph8te is offline  
post #4953 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1482
Here's my 55" picked up from Costco during lunch.....later I post subjective impressions.
So now I'm officially an owner
mo949 likes this.
mtbdudex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4954 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Thank you Buzzard767 and Compeau

Future looks brighter now. I hope the get the 70" at a discount from CC around Black Friday. Employees at CC said that there is a very good chance.

The free bitrate meter NETWORX will give the bitrate used by a streaming TV if the router is compatible. Works great here with FIOS and I can see exactly what the TV is doing in graph form

I used to have 25/25 and Fios did indeed deliver it but there was too much buffering going on when watching 4K streams, so 25Mb is not really enough for reliable full bandwidth 4K. Went to 50/50 and never had to wait to buffer again.

EDIT: Campeau that looks not too good. I am setting up a USB drive with various formats including HEVC, the CC guy is kindly willing to plug it in.

Eugene

Last edited by Eugene157; 10-16-2014 at 10:51 AM.
Eugene157 is offline  
post #4955 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,232
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4235 Post(s)
Liked: 2988
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl46 View Post
I have not confirmed this but at one time I was told that the Costco branded AMEX does not offer the 1 year extended warranty that other AMEX cards have.
Why not check it for yourself instead of blindly repeating and spreading misinformation?

It offers the warranty extension. Here are the terms:
https://web.aexp-static.com/us/conte...W-DOC-CCSG.pdf
Stereodude is online now  
post #4956 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
I don't think it's possible to make a backlit set much thinner. If you want a super-thin TV, you need to go with inferior edge lighting (or wait for OLED).
Actually it is - for example, the LG 55LHX from 2009 is officially listed at 1.5", though I would have sworn it's actually thinner than that (I would have guessed it to be around 1"). But c'mon, does this really matter to most people? A super-thin set may look sleek looking at it from the side but once the TV is actually set up, whether on a stand or on a mount, most setups don't actually have a side view of the TV as a position it's often seen from (and certainly not at all for actually watching it ).
Googer is offline  
post #4957 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwig60 View Post
on the vizio in menu i went to network connection test and it say download = 29Mb/s it does not give a upload speed.
This is more than fast enough for Netflix 4K. I'd try that test video again, and report the results.

I'm guessing that Verizon is throttling Netflix.
Compeau is offline  
post #4958 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Cricma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
I don't think it's possible to make a backlit set much thinner. If you want a super-thin TV, you need to go with inferior edge lighting (or wait for OLED).
Yeah I was speculating that when looking at it compared to the Samsung. My vuewing angle will have the side noticeable so itd look sleeker being more flushed against the wall :-) I need a tv but I really want my money going towards something I'll feel happy with in all aspects. Depth is just one of those things that I'm like hmmmmm. 2.5in IS slim compared to the tube tv I'm coming from lol

Last edited by Cricma; 10-16-2014 at 10:29 AM.
Cricma is offline  
post #4959 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricma View Post
2.5in IS slim compared to the tube tv I'm coming from lol
Rosie O'Donnell is slim compared to a CRT TV.
Compeau is offline  
post #4960 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
jtl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
Why not check it for yourself instead of blindly repeating and spreading misinformation?

It offers the warranty extension. Here are the terms:
https://web.aexp-static.com/us/conte...W-DOC-CCSG.pdf
Man you have a crappy attitude. Ignore is my friend.
jtl46 is offline  
post #4961 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 10:44 AM
Member
 
modenaf1123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Speaking of TV thickness, I happened to notice that not all P series are 2.5 inches thick.

50 and 55" - 2.07 inches
65" - 2.3 inches
60 and 70" - 2.5 inches
modenaf1123 is offline  
post #4962 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Googer View Post
Storing horizontally is probably OK, at least as long as they're not stacked very high. Transporting horizontally is a big no-no as people are finding with cracked / broken screens, etc.
Is it just me or are others bothered by assuming it's OK to get Vizio to replace their broken screens due to owners own fault by transporting sets on their side or having an animal trample over a panel while setting up? My AmEx covers stuff like this for the first 90 days but I think Vizio is replacing enough faulty sets that truly are their fault without having to cough up for owners negligence or stupidity.
Googer, GatorJZ and SandstormGT like this.
billdag is offline  
post #4963 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 15,232
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4235 Post(s)
Liked: 2988
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl46 View Post
Man you have a crappy attitude. Ignore is my friend.
I guess Ignore-ance really is bliss!

Welcome to the new AVSforum! Here we spread misinformation while proudly bragging about the fact that we couldn't be bother to check the veracity of the information and then ignore the people who point out the truth.

Do you work for CNN or perhaps MSNBC by any chance?
StinDaWg, ozark and SandstormGT like this.

Last edited by Stereodude; 10-16-2014 at 11:20 AM.
Stereodude is online now  
post #4964 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric3316 View Post
Do you need to physically be in the TV to notice 8K?
Just about. The generally accepted optimal seating distance (eyeball distance to screen) for a 70" screen would be about 2-1/2 feet to see fully resolved 7680 x 4320 at full detail!

Last edited by billdag; 10-16-2014 at 12:13 PM.
billdag is offline  
post #4965 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ahwig60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfax co. Northern virginia
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
This is more than fast enough for Netflix 4K. I'd try that test video again, and report the results.

I'm guessing that Verizon is throttling Netflix.


if i do a speedtest on computer i get 50/50 so how do i fix this or i can't watch 4k stuff?
ahwig60 is offline  
post #4966 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post
Just about. The generally accepted optimal seating distance (eyeball distance to screen) would be about 2-1/2 feet to see fully resolved 7680 x 4320 at full detail!
For a 60" screen. If you had a 120" projector screen, you could be a full 5 feet away and still pick out the detail!

But in all seriousness, even if you aren't quite that close, you can still see more detail than from a lower resolution (just not the "full" detail).

So a 120" projector screen, and seating 7-8 feet away would be great.
Compeau is offline  
post #4967 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwig60 View Post
if i do a speedtest on computer i get 50/50 so how do i fix this or i can't watch 4k stuff?
If you run the test video and it's still at a low bitrate, call Verizon. You could also try a wired connection, but your Vizio speedtest suggest that WiFi isn't the issue.

I checked it out, and it looks like Verizon should be giving you good speeds for Netflix (they're ranked #1 in the US).

http://ispspeedindex.netflix.com/usa
Compeau is offline  
post #4968 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1482
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtl46 View Post
Man you have a crappy attitude. Ignore is my friend.
My bad for bringing it up in this thread, way OT, sorry guys, pls move past that.
mtbdudex is offline  
post #4969 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
ahwig60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfax co. Northern virginia
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
This is more than fast enough for Netflix 4K. I'd try that test video again, and report the results.

I'm guessing that Verizon is throttling Netflix.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
If you run the test video and it's still at a low bitrate, call Verizon. You could also try a wired connection, but your Vizio speedtest suggest that WiFi isn't the issue.

I checked it out, and it looks like Verizon should be giving you good speeds for Netflix (they're ranked #1 in the US).

http://ispspeedindex.netflix.com/usa
so could this vizio be defective, bitrate 29mb/s you say thats good, test video still low, so tv defective?
ahwig60 is offline  
post #4970 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwig60 View Post
so could this vizio be defective, bitrate 29mb/s you say thats good, test video still low, so tv defective?
No, it's not defective. If the Vizio speedtest gives you 29 Mbps, that's a fantastic result. That means the TV and your connection have been proven capable of receiving data at a speed much higher than Netflix's max bitrate. The problem probably lies with Netflix (unlikely), or Verizon (likely).

Have you tried that Netflix test video on a PC or other device? That could help determine if Verizon is throttling Netflix for you.
Compeau is offline  
post #4971 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Cricma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by modenaf1123 View Post
Speaking of TV thickness, I happened to notice that not all P series are 2.5 inches thick.

50 and 55" - 2.07 inches
65" - 2.3 inches
60 and 70" - 2.5 inches
That is interesting. Wonder why that is?
Cricma is offline  
post #4972 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CSonntag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Back in the SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricma View Post
That is interesting. Wonder why that is?
Probably to give the larger panels more torsional strength. As the panels get bigger, they are more likely to bend/twist (all else being equal) than the smaller panels of the same thickness. Given that they all likely use the same backlight architecture, I can't imagine there is any other reason...

Take responsibility for your own actions...society is not here to look after you...
In other words, if you order coffee, expect it to be hot for christsake!
CSonntag is offline  
post #4973 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:05 PM
Member
 
bpdepoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
Remember, it's more about the codec than the wrapper. If a 4K video isn't encoded in h.265, it won't play in the Vizio regardless of the container. I've confirmed that both MKV and MP4 work as wrappers of h.265 video.
Thanks for pointing that out. I'm learning more about containers and codecs in the last 24 hours than I ever really cared to know... but now that the genie is out of the bottle, I cant help but want to find out more!

So I looked over my files one more time, and almost everything is H.264, except for four of them. Two of which have AAC audio, and two with AC3. If my memory serves me correctly, the AC3 worked well, the AAC didn't want to behave. Not sure if this is an error with the encoding or what... Have you noticed any of this? I will play some more tonight.

Side note... any good sources of H.265 (regardless of container type) you could direct me to? There's a ton of awesome stuff in post 1, but most of it is H.264... I cant find much 265! I really love seeing what this beast is capable of, it just sucks not finding much available.
bpdepoch is offline  
post #4974 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
hockeythug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 452
Tempted but I think I will hold out for the mythical reference series. Dumb question but how much better will the blacks be compared to my edge lit Samsung UN55B8000? I'm going to guess night and day with the full array local dimming? Only thing I don't like about my tv are blacks and the corner "flashlighting".

Last edited by hockeythug; 10-16-2014 at 12:13 PM.
hockeythug is offline  
post #4975 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpdepoch View Post
Side note... any good sources of H.265 (regardless of container type) you could direct me to? There's a ton of awesome stuff in post 1, but most of it is H.264... I cant find much 265! I really love seeing what this beast is capable of, it just sucks not finding much available.
Just that one torrent for Tears of Steel.
Compeau is offline  
post #4976 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:12 PM
Member
 
hubsm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hubsm View Post
I have been following this thread daily since it started, but was not able to for the last week and a half. I searched but could not find the answer I need. Please excuse me if I missed it. Anyway here is my question:


Amazon is delivering my P55 today. My understanding is that the delivery guys plug in the TV to make sure it works. Since there seems to be quite a variance from one set to another as regards good versus defective panels, what should I be looking for while they are here? I am not a tech guy when it comes to TVs, unlike many on this thread are, so please keep the explanation simple. I will not be using a dark room for viewing, and do not plan to do gaming or use the TV as a computer monitor - just regular lighted room viewing - hooked to a TIVO.


I will use Buzz's recommended settings on page one, to start out with, for setup, but I am sure the delivery guys won't wait around for that. I just want to make sure that I am not starting out with a bad panel.


I will be grateful for any suggestions you may have.


Update: Just got a call from the shipping company. They forgot to put my TV on the truck so now it's coming tomorrow (@*&#$*^[email protected]&$#@). On the plus side. That leaves more time for you folks to post suggestions.

No suggestions yet - many probably at work - so updating. After contacting Amazon and the shipper's main office, they decided that maybe they could deliver the TV today after all. Now projected between 4:00 pm and 7:00 pm EDT. So, still hoping for some suggestions so I don't end up finding out I have a defective panel, after the delivery guys are gone. Other than it just does not work at all, what else should it look for?


Thanks
hubsm is offline  
post #4977 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronzo3 View Post
How long is your HDMI cable? problems occur when an HDMI cable is too long OR too short (due to signal reflection). 6 feet (or 2 meter) cables seem to work best for me.
I'm not sure, I'm just using whatever the standard one is I got with my Xbox. I'm guessing 6'. I can check when I get home though
MLD WOODY is offline  
post #4978 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFJ 96 View Post
My suggestion is write any settings you changed for calibration purposes down and do a hard reset of your TV back to Factory and see if the issue continues before you put those settings in.

Then try them with the settings put back in and see what happens



Sent from my G2 via Tapatalk
I'll try that and then see how it works through HDMI 4 again
MLD WOODY is offline  
post #4979 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Compeau View Post
No, it's not defective. If the Vizio speedtest gives you 29 Mbps, that's a fantastic result. That means the TV and your connection have been proven capable of receiving data at a speed much higher than Netflix's max bitrate. The problem probably lies with Netflix (unlikely), or Verizon (likely).

Have you tried that Netflix test video on a PC or other device? That could help determine if Verizon is throttling Netflix for you.
Log into your netflix account on your computer, go to your account settings and click on "Playback Settings" and make sure you're set to HIGH for data usage per screen.
babalugats is offline  
post #4980 of 18017 Old 10-16-2014, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Well, I was thinking about returning my TV today, but it looks like there are some other tricks I can try to see if I can get it running smoothly again.

The light bleed from the bottom right corner is just really annoying on an all black/mostly black screen. I have heard others have the same issue, and some didn't have any, so I may have a slightly off set. It is not noticeable at all though on anything other than a mostly pitch black screen.
MLD WOODY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off