***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread - Page 168 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4644Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5011 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 03:52 PM
Member
 
master9716's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by MLD WOODY View Post
Well, I was thinking about returning my TV today, but it looks like there are some other tricks I can try to see if I can get it running smoothly again.

The light bleed from the bottom right corner is just really annoying on an all black/mostly black screen. I have heard others have the same issue, and some didn't have any, so I may have a slightly off set. It is not noticeable at all though on anything other than a mostly pitch black screen.


There should be no bleed, Even my 70" has zero bleed, Deepest blacks ive ever seen from corner to corner. when handling the tv try not to bend the panel , with bezels this thin its more prone to happening, then again if you move the tv around a little it might fix itself.
master9716 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5012 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post
Now, that is interesting! It sounds impossibly low, yet I am reminded of what is possible right now with Mpeg4-AVC.
I have seen 2 Hr. movies in 1080P that looked surprisingly good yet were only 2GB in size (AAC stereo sound NOT 5.1 Dolby). That equates to a little over 2Mb/Sec so, 2160P having 4 times the detail, 8Mb/Sec is not unreasonable, especially considering that HEVC is 50% to 100% more efficient at compressing a video file.

They didn't claim that the 6 Mbps 2160p was particularly good looking .

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5013 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post
This thread will be a month old tomorrow and there are already over 5000 posts. That's amazing.
This has got to be a RECORD!!
Amazing that it takes a couple of hours a day just to keep up - This is NUTS.......but in a good way.
The last thread I followed had about 3200 posts over 3 Yrs!!!!
billdag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5014 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4876
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdag View Post
This has got to be a RECORD!!
Amazing that it takes a couple of hours a day just to keep up - This is NUTS.......but in a good way.
The last thread I followed had about 3200 posts over 3 Yrs!!!!

The Samsung HU9000 thread was started April 9th and has about half the number of posts (2545): https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...rs-thread.html

It for sure cannot maintain this pace and hopefully will settle down to mainly owners once the CNET review and users reviews of the P65 come in.

I wince every time I log on in the morning
fafrd is offline  
post #5015 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Well I spend 20 min on the phone with vizio to find out what others have already mentioned here.

The P series USB port is capable of only playing HEVC H265 MKV.

Whoever at Vizio made that decision must be totally out of touch with reality.

At this time there is ONE 265 video available but there are thousands of 264 4K MP4 available for download!! WOW


Eugene
Eugene157 is offline  
post #5016 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post
Well I spend 20 min on the phone with vizio to find out what others have already mentioned here.

The P series USB port is capable of only playing HEVC H265 MKV.

Whoever at Vizio made that decision must be totally out of touch with reality.

At this time there is ONE 265 video available but there are thousands of 264 4K MP4 available for download!! WOW


Eugene

Did you confirm if limitation is chipset/hardware or can be firmware/software updated?


Via Mikes brain/thumb interface, LLAP
mtbdudex is offline  
post #5017 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,308
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6518 Post(s)
Liked: 6231
***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Did you confirm if limitation is chipset/hardware or can be firmware/software updated?


Via Mikes brain/thumb interface, LLAP

Talking to phone reps is mostly pointless. You call 5 times and you may get 5 different answers. We already know it can play other formats of 1080p and lower. Playback is usually firmware issue not hardware.


Sent from an system/360
Ph8te is online now  
post #5018 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Did you confirm if limitation is chipset/hardware or can be firmware/software updated?


Via Mikes brain/thumb interface, LLAP
well I can confirm that if you don't have hardware AVC decoding, you're forced to use software decoding. Software decoding requires fairly significant computing power. So while the onboard processor may be able to decode 1080p h264, I can almost guarantee it would choke on 4K h264 without a hardware-based decoder.

If you're an HTPC user, this isn't a big deal since most video cards today can decode h264 without too much trouble (though 4K h264 decoding still requires pretty serious hardware).

But for non-HTPC users it's a glaring omission, since there is almost 0 h265 content at the moment, since the only hardware h265 decoders are in TVs (at this time there isn't a single video card that can fully decode h265).
Hisma is offline  
post #5019 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSonntag View Post
For those that don't have a cat6 cable right at the tv, I wonder if some of the new Powerline wifi adapters would provide the throughout needed to keep the highest bitrates flowing and prevent degradation of the PQ.
Cat6? The tv only has a 10/100 network port.
Cozmo85 is offline  
post #5020 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
DvdJags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Today I noticed a dark rectangular area on my 2nd TV. The first one was returned for this same issue. Up until today this dark area had never appeared on this TV. When I turned the TV on later the dark area was gone and has not appeared again. Someone stated earlier the problem may be fixed with a firmware update. Hopefully I will never need that fix. This is my first Vizio and now I am beginning to wonder if I made the right choice. I really do not fell like returning another TV to Amazon but if I see the dark area again, I may have to. That's unless the problem can be fixed with a firmware update.
DvdJags is offline  
post #5021 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here is a photo of the light leakage I'm seeing. It's not great quality but it was a black screen in a dark room.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0303.JPG
Views:	303
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	315754  
elrad59 is offline  
post #5022 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by elrad59 View Post
Here is a photo of the light leakage I'm seeing. It's not great quality but it was a black screen in a dark room.
How close are you to the tv?
Cozmo85 is offline  
post #5023 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
well I can confirm that if you don't have hardware AVC decoding, you're forced to use software decoding. Software decoding requires fairly significant computing power. So while the onboard processor may be able to decode 1080p h264, I can almost guarantee it would choke on 4K h264 without a hardware-based decoder.

If you're an HTPC user, this isn't a big deal since most video cards today can decode h264 without too much trouble (though 4K h264 decoding still requires pretty serious hardware).

But for non-HTPC users it's a glaring omission, since there is almost 0 h265 content at the moment, since the only hardware h265 decoders are in TVs (at this time there isn't a single video card that can fully decode h265).
As pointed out in the previous post the agents just read from a script, so I did not ask.

Hopefully future reviewers will high lite this omission.

There is enough computing power to do 264 via software, when streaming 4K Youtube the TV is doing just that.

Hisma is touching an interesting point, the early 4K DB players are likely to be fairly expensive so using a HTPC might be a far more versatile and perhaps even less costly solution.

I am still shaking my head over the USB port only able to play HEVC, what HEVC ?


Eugene
Eugene157 is offline  
post #5024 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 05:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post
Well I spend 20 min on the phone with vizio to find out what others have already mentioned here.

The P series USB port is capable of only playing HEVC H265 MKV.

Whoever at Vizio made that decision must be totally out of touch with reality.

At this time there is ONE 265 video available but there are thousands of 264 4K MP4 available for download!! WOW

Why have you not moved on? You say that there are other 4K televisions which can do what you want; buy one of them.
JStanton, Smuuth and venus933 like this.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #5025 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by elrad59 View Post
Here is a photo of the light leakage I'm seeing. It's not great quality but it was a black screen in a dark room.
Please please please include your TV P size when giving info about it. Impossible to remember who's got what!!
billdag is offline  
post #5026 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hisma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post
As pointed out in the previous post the agents just read from a script, so I did not ask.

Hopefully future reviewers will high lite this omission.

There is enough computing power to do 264 via software, when streaming 4K Youtube the TV is doing just that.

Hisma is touching an interesting point, the early 4K DB players are likely to be fairly expensive so using a HTPC might be a far more versatile and perhaps even less costly solution.

I am still shaking my head over the USB port only able to play HEVC, what HEVC ?


Eugene
yeah, bitrate obviously makes a difference too. lower bitrate will be easier to decode. when i try to play some videos downloaded from http://demo-uhd3d.com/, it can bring my htpc to it's knees.

btw youtube uses vp9 codec
Hisma is offline  
post #5027 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
billdag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hisma View Post
well I can confirm that if you don't have hardware AVC decoding, you're forced to use software decoding. Software decoding requires fairly significant computing power. So while the onboard processor may be able to decode 1080p h264, I can almost guarantee it would choke on 4K h264 without a hardware-based decoder.
You are right - Same 4K video on my gaming Laptop with i7-4810MQ processor averages 22% CPU in h264 and 50% CPU in HEVC! This is a high end 4 core processor so, no doubt, most dual cores would choke badly on HEVC 4K files.
billdag is offline  
post #5028 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by master9716 View Post
There should be no bleed, Even my 70" has zero bleed, Deepest blacks ive ever seen from corner to corner. when handling the tv try not to bend the panel , with bezels this thin its more prone to happening, then again if you move the tv around a little it might fix itself.
Move the TV around in what way?

I tried a "rubbing" technique that I was reading about on here, and I noticed that along the bottom of the TV (where the majority of the leaking was) the screen would kind of "pop" along the panel. It didn't seem completely secured.
MLD WOODY is offline  
post #5029 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by elrad59 View Post
Here is a photo of the light leakage I'm seeing. It's not great quality but it was a black screen in a dark room.
Wow, that's much worse than mine (55") and I am considering replacing it.
MLD WOODY is offline  
post #5030 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,308
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6518 Post(s)
Liked: 6231
Quote:
Originally Posted by elrad59 View Post
Here is a photo of the light leakage I'm seeing. It's not great quality but it was a black screen in a dark room.

What size P series do you have and please make sure you have Active Dimming Zones ON. Also please let us know the settings you are using.


Sent from an system/360
Ph8te is online now  
post #5031 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
ahwig60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfax co. Northern virginia
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwig60 View Post
on the vizio in menu i went to network connection test and it say download = 29Mb/s it does not give a upload speed.
vizio information button say when i put breaking bad in 4k that it is 480 SD, and for Hd it is 380, any help anyone


watching hbo and it has slight blur also, is this the upconvert to 4k is that why,? would it look clear and sharper with just 1080 , ? is there a way to turn the upconvert off?







sd

Last edited by ahwig60; 10-16-2014 at 07:23 PM. Reason: fix
ahwig60 is offline  
post #5032 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1455 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Googer View Post
I haven't actually tried Z-Mad's settings on my set but just looking at what the CMS settings are in the Color Tuner in his, 100% saturation green would probably be pretty accurate but leave less saturated greens significantly undersaturated. Have you given my settings a shot yet? I calibrated my P70 rather differently than the standard workflow (as Buzz also found was necessary for good results on his P60) and have been very happy with the picture I'm getting in real content.
I will definitely give them a try.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #5033 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1532
Did the unboxing of my 55" tonight, barely time for set-up and then bed time for kids.

Not a deal breaker, but I'm used to having 2 coax inputs, 1 for OTA antenna and 1 for cable....was kinda bummed to see this has only 1, kinda wondering why?

OTA I thought was always best for it's un-compressed signal, yet of course having cable gives gazillion of channels....

Will dig into the other aspects of this UHDTV over the weekend.

Side bar; I was hoping for better output capability of the new Mac Mini
http://www.apple.com/mac-mini/specs/
Quote:
HDMI video output

  • Support for 1080p resolution at up to 60Hz
  • Support for 3840-by-2160 resolution at 30Hz
  • Support for 4096-by-2160 resolution at 24Hz
mtbdudex is offline  
post #5034 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 07:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cozmo85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdudex View Post
Did the unboxing of my 55" tonight, barely time for set-up and then bed time for kids.

Not a deal breaker, but I'm used to having 2 coax inputs, 1 for OTA antenna and 1 for cable....was kinda bummed to see this has only 1, kinda wondering why?

OTA I thought was always best for it's un-compressed signal, yet of course having cable gives gazillion of channels....

Will dig into the other aspects of this UHDTV over the weekend.

Side bar; I was hoping for better output capability of the new Mac Mini
http://www.apple.com/mac-mini/specs/

I cant remember the last time if ever that ive seen a seperate OTA and cable hookup.
Cozmo85 is offline  
post #5035 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 1532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cozmo85 View Post
I cant remember the last time if ever that ive seen a seperate OTA and cable hookup.
My 2005 Sony 42" slimline has one....I do use it espically when Cable goes out
mtbdudex is offline  
post #5036 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
ahwig60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fairfax co. Northern virginia
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahwig60 View Post
vizio information button say when i put breaking bad in 4k that it is 480 SD, and for Hd it is 380, any help anyone


watching hbo and it has slight blur also, is this the upconvert to 4k is that why,? would it look clear and sharper with just 1080 , ? is there a way to turn the upconvert






sd
how to fix cause i know this tv is the greatest?
ahwig60 is offline  
post #5037 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1455 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by babalugats View Post
Log into your netflix account on your computer, go to your account settings and click on "Playback Settings" and make sure you're set to HIGH for data usage per screen.
I checked and I am on high. But on another note I noticed I had checked "Prefer HTML5 player instead of Silverlight". Is this the right setting for best picture quality. I thought Silverlight was the standard for quality of video.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #5038 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Can someone help me?

I noticed that when I use my Onk to upscale the signal to 2160P I am only seeing 30Hz instead of 60Hz through HDMI5 (even when I use the HDCP 2.2 port).

Has anyone else experience this? Why isn't it doing [email protected] as advertised on the port.
pisymbol is offline  
post #5039 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 08:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Compeau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by pisymbol View Post
Can someone help me?

I noticed that when I use my Onk to upscale the signal to 2160P I am only seeing 30Hz instead of 60Hz through HDMI5 (even when I use the HDCP 2.2 port).

Has anyone else experience this? Why isn't it doing [email protected] as advertised on the port.
Can your Onkyo output 4K at 60 Hz? What model is it?
Compeau is offline  
post #5040 of 18018 Old 10-16-2014, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If and when vizio does firmware updates to they usually post what changes theyve made?
Stoggy26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off