***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread - Page 409 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4644Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12241 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 12:30 PM
Member
 
PingEye2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn1per View Post
P60, FW 1.1.14 here.

Got the TV around the end of December, and had no issues until this morning. I hooked up a new AVR & wasn't able to get any signal using HDMI5 so I switched to HDMI4, where it worked fine for a few hours, but now I'm seeing a thin black line near the top of the screen that goes about halfway across the screen from left to right (pics attached). I've tried toggling GLL & turning the TV off/on, and the line also appears using the built in Netflix app, so I don't think its the AVR. I don't remember seeing anything like this in the thread so far; does anyone have any suggestions here?
Go into the picture settings, color tuner and display the flat test. If the line is present it's not good news. Either the panel itself is failing, the TCON board or the interconnecting cable TAB connection. If the test screen is fine, you have a different issue.

Search on AVS for "TCON".
PingEye2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12242 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,335
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6254
***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bpdepoch View Post
But its out? I havent been able to find it in my app store. Maybe I need to look harder? That being said... it doesnt look so great from the sounds of it? Any good content at least?

It's been out since firmware 1.1.14 was released. If you don't have the updated firmware you won't see it. The content as with other providers is limited.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #12243 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
thebignewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn1per View Post
P60, FW 1.1.14 here.

Got the TV around the end of December, and had no issues until this morning. I hooked up a new AVR & wasn't able to get any signal using HDMI5 so I switched to HDMI4, where it worked fine for a few hours, but now I'm seeing a thin black line near the top of the screen that goes about halfway across the screen from left to right (pics attached). I've tried toggling GLL & turning the TV off/on, and the line also appears using the built in Netflix app, so I don't think its the AVR. I don't remember seeing anything like this in the thread so far; does anyone have any suggestions here?
Take/send it back and get another one. Ain't no software update gonna fix that line.

[/B] LG OLED65E6P TV, Yamaha RX-V383 AVR with Paradigm speakers, Cableone STB, Samsung UHD BD player, AppleTV 4K[/B]
thebignewt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12244 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHN_RH View Post
This is what I am doing with mine. I have my directv plugged into my xbox one then into the denon so I kinda need to keep it plugged into HDMI 5. I have an extra optical cable from an old receiver I used to have so I will try that first. Thanks for the help from everyone!
I used to go the optical cable route, but boy is ARC convenient!
JOHN_RH likes this.
Scott Helphrey is offline  
post #12245 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:08 PM
Member
 
tino5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
May be a simple solution, but I just set up my 70p yesterday HDMI 4 to my sony Soundbar. My cable and PS4 are hooked into my soundbar. I use the soundbar of course for audio and have the TV speakers off. Works watching cable and playing PS4, but when I watch amazon instant video I get no sound. Should I have something else connected? Also should I be using HDMI 5 over 4?
tino5k is offline  
post #12246 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,335
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6254
***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tino5k View Post
May be a simple solution, but I just set up my 70p yesterday HDMI 4 to my sony Soundbar. My cable and PS4 are hooked into my soundbar. I use the soundbar of course for audio and have the TV speakers off. Works watching cable and playing PS4, but when I watch amazon instant video I get no sound. Should I have something else connected? Also should I be using HDMI 5 over 4?

Just answered this question a page or so ago arc only work via HDMI 1. If you want audio from internal apps then that is what you'll have to use. If you don't want to use 1 then you'll need to use an optical cable.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #12247 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4887
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillRob View Post
I said I would report back on this so....


The Wii2HDMI adapter worked to resolve my issue with the super washed out colors connecting the Wii via component to my P70. So if any other P series owners also have an original Wii that they still use, I can recommend the Wii2HDMI. All colors look normal now.


And I finally got the 1.1.14 update this weekend.
Thanks for the follow-up - I was going to get the component adaptor but will get one of these instead based on your feedback.

How does this work - it plugs directly into the back of the Wii and then accepts a standard HDMI cable?
fafrd is offline  
post #12248 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Helphrey View Post
This forum has been a great resource since picking up my P70 a month ago, so now I want to return the favor.

If anyone here is like me and just beginning the building-out of your home viewing kit, I whole heartily make the following suggestion.

I just paired my P70 with a Yamaha RX-V377BL receiver (I'd imagine any decent one is great) and the Energy Take Classic 5.1 surround sound speakers. I think they're made by Klipsch.

Anywho, for a grand total of $650 of audio hardware the result is amazing. 4K pass-thru on the receiver along with ARC makes for some very fun viewing using Netflix 4K and a whole lot of wow with blu-ray. Can't wait for the Ultra HD blu-ray later this year!
Thanks for this OT recommendation. I'm in the market for a new Reciever and just sent you a PM...
fafrd is offline  
post #12249 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post
I am looking for some 4K demo material, specifically from Samsung that shows scenes shot in the Swiss alps.

Eugene
I haven't found it in the Torrents yet but found it on You tube that was posted 19 hrs ago.
Kingram is offline  
post #12250 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:52 PM
Member
 
bpdepoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Helphrey View Post
On its suck factor?
Bummer to hear. Have not had the chance to check it out yet... and sounds like i might as well not.
bpdepoch is offline  
post #12251 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
KillRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafrd View Post
Thanks for the follow-up - I was going to get the component adaptor but will get one of these instead based on your feedback.

How does this work - it plugs directly into the back of the Wii and then accepts a standard HDMI cable?

Exactly. It is just a little dongle with a connector on one end that goes into the proprietary port on the back of the Wii. On the other end of the dongle is a standard HDMI port. Just plug and play.


Carries the audio signal over HDMI as well. So I just plugged it into the AVR. Using the component cables I had to use ARC to get sound back to the AVR. This is better.
KillRob is offline  
post #12252 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 02:03 PM
Member
 
tino5k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Just answered this question a page or so ago arc only work via HDMI 1. If you want audio from internal apps then that is what you'll have to use. If you don't want to use 1 then you'll need to use an optical cable.


Sent from nowhere


I knew it was something simple, thanks a million. Loving this set thus far!
tino5k is offline  
post #12253 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 02:17 PM
Member
 
Bill Mullin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm in the market for a new TV and am thinking about getting the P70 4K while Costco has it on sale. But am I making a mistake by not considering a TV which includes 3D, as well as 4K?
Bill Mullin is offline  
post #12254 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 02:26 PM
Member
 
donaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Howard View Post
You might want to see if you have CEC turned on. HDMI handshake issues seem to be causing problems for many.
Thanks for your reply but I turned off CEC and it still does the same thing.

Donald S Konicoff
donaudio is offline  
post #12255 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mullin View Post
I'm in the market for a new TV and am thinking about getting the P70 4K while Costco has it on sale. But am I making a mistake by not considering a TV which includes 3D, as well as 4K?
If you are a big fan of 3D, of course you'd be making a mistake.

But if you use 3D as often as my family and I do (which was 2 or 3 times when we first bought our previous 3D TV in early 2011 and at most once since then), then probably not.

Those who enjoy 3D will keep wanting it, but is is inlikely that there will be a second and more successful initiative to get those who don't already use it to adopt.

HDR is the initiative likely to be recieving the most marketing $$$s this year and next, so the more important question than 3D (which you already know how to answer for yourself) is whether you will regret purchasing a 4K TV that does not support HDR now?

And the answer is, probably not for the price the P70 is being offered for today. HDR is shaping up to be the next standards battle and it will probably be 2016 best-case before the 'true' 'final' HDR standard has emerged (and very possibly not before 2017).

1080p Bluray upscaled to 4K resolution and 4K streaming is a good enough upgrade over 1080p streaming that if you are in the market for a new TV now, I'd suggest a FALD 4K like the Vizio P is a better value than a high-end 1080p model for the same price...

(Unless you need 3D, in which case the calculus is more complex ).
fafrd is offline  
post #12256 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 02:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
hi everyone, i just purchased a vizio p series 55inch.what calibration setting would you guys recommend me for a dark room?

thanks in advance
rigo714 is offline  
post #12257 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 02:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn1per View Post
P60, FW 1.1.14 here.

Got the TV around the end of December, and had no issues until this morning. I hooked up a new AVR & wasn't able to get any signal using HDMI5 so I switched to HDMI4, where it worked fine for a few hours, but now I'm seeing a thin black line near the top of the screen that goes about halfway across the screen from left to right (pics attached). I've tried toggling GLL & turning the TV off/on, and the line also appears using the built in Netflix app, so I don't think its the AVR. I don't remember seeing anything like this in the thread so far; does anyone have any suggestions here?
I had the same problem, Call support they will send you another one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-12-24 09.47.09.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	164.1 KB
ID:	504377  
doomah69 is offline  
post #12258 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ronton3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Macon, Mo
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Avi

I would like to convert some AVIs that do not play from a thumb drive, what would make the best conversion. Is it possible to improve on the originals? I have Handbrake installed on an Imac. Thanks ron
ronton3 is offline  
post #12259 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 03:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigo714 View Post
hi everyone, i just purchased a vizio p series 55inch.what calibration setting would you guys recommend me for a dark room?

thanks in advance
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...l#post30670553
Kingram is offline  
post #12260 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 04:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ph8te View Post
Just answered this question a page or so ago arc only work via HDMI 1. If you want audio from internal apps then that is what you'll have to use. If you don't want to use 1 then you'll need to use an optical cable.


Sent from nowhere
I am able to get my audio to work from my Denon receiver on HDMI 5 using the Apps. I'm thinking it's because my AVR has TV Audio Switching.
egarciadesigns is offline  
post #12261 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 04:53 PM
Member
 
PingEye2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Question P55 Bezl Split or Crack

Any P55 owners that have seen or returned a set because the bezel has split on the upper corner or corners of the set? I am attaching a couple pictures that Tim P posted in another thread. Have been at least two M55 sets purchased from Costco that have the same issue, I was wondering if this is occurring on the P55 as well.
Attached Images
   
PingEye2 is offline  
post #12262 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
SatinKzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by egarciadesigns View Post
I am able to get my audio to work from my Denon receiver on HDMI 5 using the Apps. I'm thinking it's because my AVR has TV Audio Switching.
First post? care to explain your setup if you are getting ARC to work on HMDI 5
SatinKzo is offline  
post #12263 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingneeno View Post
If I had the extra cash I would go with the p70.
I went with too many returns with p65.
This p65 is far best one I got. Been noticing few things on it not that I'm looking for problems. Me I feel update messed it up looked good before the update. Try to swap it for p60 bestbuy wouldn't do it due to all my exchanges. I might call again see if I get someone else that might be more helpful.
What exactly is Best Buys TV return policy? I'm thinking of picking up a P70 from BBuy or Costco. I believe walmart return policy on TV's is 90 days?
Kingram is offline  
post #12264 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingram View Post
What exactly is Best Buys TV return policy? I'm thinking of picking up a P70 from BBuy or Costco. I believe walmart return policy on TV's is 90 days?
Costco is 90 days as well, while Best Buy is generally much less -about 2weeks I believe and as many as 45 if you are a Super Elite Member (or whatever).

Last edited by fafrd; 01-26-2015 at 06:07 PM.
fafrd is offline  
post #12265 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Bill Mullin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafrd View Post
If you are a big fan of 3D, of course you'd be making a mistake.

But if you use 3D as often as my family and I do (which was 2 or 3 times when we first bought our previous 3D TV in early 2011 and at most once since then), then probably not.

Those who enjoy 3D will keep wanting it, but is is inlikely that there will be a second and more successful initiative to get those who don't already use it to adopt.

HDR is the initiative likely to be recieving the most marketing $$$s this year and next, so the more important question than 3D (which you already know how to answer for yourself) is whether you will regret purchasing a 4K TV that does not support HDR now?

And the answer is, probably not for the price the P70 is being offered for today. HDR is shaping up to be the next standards battle and it will probably be 2016 best-case before the 'true' 'final' HDR standard has emerged (and very possibly not before 2017).

1080p Bluray upscaled to 4K resolution and 4K streaming is a good enough upgrade over 1080p streaming that if you are in the market for a new TV now, I'd suggest a FALD 4K like the Vizio P is a better value than a high-end 1080p model for the same price...

(Unless you need 3D, in which case the calculus is more complex ).
Wow, thanks for the detailed answer!! FWIW, your answer pretty much states what I had thought to be true . . . 3D had failed to catch the general public's interest (again).

The three local Costco's here in Tucson have all sold out of the P70, so I've ordered one from their web page. If there's anything I don't like about it (not likely), there is a 90-day no questions asked money back guarantee offered on this set by Costco, making the entire deal a no brainer. Then I can hope that whenever the HDR standard is adopted, P70 software upgrades will bring the set up to date.

Thanks very much for the help!
Bill Mullin is offline  
post #12266 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
If I use the picture settings from 60 inch for my 55 inch p series would it work perfect or do I have to use the one for the 55..were could I get the settings from
rigo714 is offline  
post #12267 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4887
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mullin View Post
Wow, thanks for the detailed answer!! FWIW, your answer pretty much states what I had thought to be true . . . 3D had failed to catch the general public's interest (again).

The three local Costco's here in Tucson have all sold out of the P70, so I've ordered one from their web page. If there's anything I don't like about it (not likely), there is a 90-day no questions asked money back guarantee offered on this set by Costco, making the entire deal a no brainer. Then I can hope that whenever the HDR standard is adopted, P70 software upgrades will bring the set up to date.

Thanks very much for the help!
For the price, the P70 is a pretty good deal and upscaled Blurays and 4K streaming can look very good on it, but it is unlikely that any firmware upgrade will allow it to display true HDR content when it is widely available (just to set your expectations).

There is likely to be an HDAr standards battle lasting through this year and into next, so other than some early proof-of-concepts, it is very unlikely that HDR content becomes widely available to the mainstream consumer before late 2017 if not late 2018.

Also, HDR is likely to be encoded as meta dada that adds on top of the standard HDTV standard, so TVs such as the Zp70 that are not HDR-capable will still display a very good standard Rec.709 image in 4K.

You are very likely to continue enjoying your P70 for 3 years or more before you truly feel like you are missing out on something that many of your friends have...

And the 90 day Cosco return window is an excellent way to assure all is truly well with your P70 before 'crossing the point of no return'

Last edited by fafrd; 01-26-2015 at 07:04 PM.
fafrd is offline  
post #12268 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,335
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6529 Post(s)
Liked: 6254
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigo714 View Post
If I use the picture settings from 60 inch for my 55 inch p series would it work perfect or do I have to use the one for the 55..were could I get the settings from

No, settings rarely transfer...page one has settings you can use. They won't be perfect either. Copied settings are a crap shoot always.


Sent from nowhere
Ph8te is offline  
post #12269 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 07:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Torqdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 1,717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingram View Post
What exactly is Best Buys TV return policy? I'm thinking of picking up a P70 from BBuy or Costco. I believe walmart return policy on TV's is 90 days?
Besides the return policy difference, Costco also includes a two year warranty in their pricing.
Kingram likes this.
Torqdog is offline  
post #12270 of 18018 Old 01-26-2015, 08:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kingram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Arizona
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by doomah69 View Post
I had the same problem, Call support they will send you another one.
What is the procedure for returns with Vizio ? They ship you out a new TV and pick up the bad one ?

Also anyone know Amazons TV return/repair policy ?
Kingram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off