***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread - Page 598 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4644Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17911 of 18018 Old 01-14-2018, 09:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
P70 calibration

I had to replace the main and power board of my unit. I have lost the calibration settings and tv has just finished update to v 1.5.6 . Can someone point me to the latest calibration settings? Thanks.
dubdub1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17912 of 18018 Old 01-16-2018, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,442
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6578 Post(s)
Liked: 6348
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubdub1 View Post
I had to replace the main and power board of my unit. I have lost the calibration settings and tv has just finished update to v 1.5.6 . Can someone point me to the latest calibration settings? Thanks.


Go to the calibration thread and chose one to see if it works for you. Not sure you’ll get many recent updates as many have moved on from this set.
Ph8te is offline  
post #17913 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 11:53 AM
Member
 
fdbjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mountain View, Ca, USA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone ever compared the M series 2017 with the P series 2014? I own a P series 70 inch, which is perfect for the space. I am not going larger. I could go smaller with the P 2017 65, but would prefer not. I do normally upgrade after 3-4 years, taking a charitable deduction on a donation of the older unit.

So the issue is whether the M series 2017 70 inch is a legitimate upgrade, what with HDR and various other improvements. Or am I going sideways? Or should I wait until later in 2018?

For whatever reason, nobody seems to be building 70 inch units any more. So I do have a worry that if I wait the availability of the M series will disappear.

Any ideas?
fdbjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17914 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 12:52 PM
Member
 
WrathWielder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi all!

I have a Vizio P702UI-B3

I'm using a Harmony One remote to turn on my Hopper3, Onkyo TX-NR646, and the Vizio. Never had any problems...
Then sometime in the last 2 months or so I started getting a static/snow-filled screen on the Vizio when I powered everything up.

Audio was coming through the amp (the Hopper was on and working), but it's like the Vizio couldn't "lock on" to the HDMI signal or something (it's on the right port - HDMI 1)

For a BRIEF moment during the Harmony sequence, after the Vizio was turned on, I would see video on the TV, and then it would switch to snow (it powers on and is then sent the "HDMI 1" code)

To fix it I just have to hit another input (like HDMI 2) and then switch back to HDMI 1

Has anyone heard of a recent firmware update for this TV causing something like this?

I've been experimenting with turning the Vizio on EARLIER or LATER in my Harmony commands, but this issue still happens maybe 1 out of every 5 times, and my WAF is quickly plummeting! HA!

Thanks everyone!

-Greg
WrathWielder is offline  
post #17915 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by WrathWielder View Post
Hi all!

I have a Vizio P702UI-B3

I'm using a Harmony One remote to turn on my Hopper3, Onkyo TX-NR646, and the Vizio. Never had any problems...
Then sometime in the last 2 months or so I started getting a static/snow-filled screen on the Vizio when I powered everything up.

Audio was coming through the amp (the Hopper was on and working), but it's like the Vizio couldn't "lock on" to the HDMI signal or something (it's on the right port - HDMI 1)

For a BRIEF moment during the Harmony sequence, after the Vizio was turned on, I would see video on the TV, and then it would switch to snow (it powers on and is then sent the "HDMI 1" code)

To fix it I just have to hit another input (like HDMI 2) and then switch back to HDMI 1

Has anyone heard of a recent firmware update for this TV causing something like this?

I've been experimenting with turning the Vizio on EARLIER or LATER in my Harmony commands, but this issue still happens maybe 1 out of every 5 times, and my WAF is quickly plummeting! HA!

Thanks everyone!

-Greg
Could be a handshake issue, have you tried swapping in a new HDMI cord and see if that fixes it. I had a wired issue a few years back on my 2014 Vizio P series, where it the audio would cut out every so often, but it LITERALLY only happened while watching animated movies, we were watching some of the batman animated movies. It never once happened when viewing anything else, not other DVD's, Blu Rays or 4K movies. Swapped in a new HDMI cord and issue was gone. Just order a new cable on monoprice and swap it in for the cord connected to the tv, I assume you are routing everything through your AVR to the TV and see if that resolves the issue.
liffie420 is offline  
post #17916 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbjr View Post
Anyone ever compared the M series 2017 with the P series 2014? I own a P series 70 inch, which is perfect for the space. I am not going larger. I could go smaller with the P 2017 65, but would prefer not. I do normally upgrade after 3-4 years, taking a charitable deduction on a donation of the older unit.

So the issue is whether the M series 2017 70 inch is a legitimate upgrade, what with HDR and various other improvements. Or am I going sideways? Or should I wait until later in 2018?

For whatever reason, nobody seems to be building 70 inch units any more. So I do have a worry that if I wait the availability of the M series will disappear.

Any ideas?
They are making 70 inch models but for some reason not in the top tier line of a given tv maker. The 55" to 65" size is the current sweet spot as far as sales go.
liffie420 is offline  
post #17917 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 02:03 PM
Member
 
fdbjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mountain View, Ca, USA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by liffie420 View Post
They are making 70 inch models but for some reason not in the top tier line of a given tv maker. The 55" to 65" size is the current sweet spot as far as sales go.
That I know, and I'll likely end up with a P series 65 which is not the worst thing that ever happened to anyone. But do you know how the M series 70 2017 compares with the P series 2014? Does anyone?
fdbjr is offline  
post #17918 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 02:13 PM
Member
 
WrathWielder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by liffie420 View Post
Could be a handshake issue, have you tried swapping in a new HDMI cord and see if that fixes it. I had a wired issue a few years back on my 2014 Vizio P series, where it the audio would cut out every so often, but it LITERALLY only happened while watching animated movies, we were watching some of the batman animated movies. It never once happened when viewing anything else, not other DVD's, Blu Rays or 4K movies. Swapped in a new HDMI cord and issue was gone. Just order a new cable on monoprice and swap it in for the cord connected to the tv, I assume you are routing everything through your AVR to the TV and see if that resolves the issue.
Thanks! I will give that a try...the strange thing is I never seem to have the problem when I use my Dune or Blu-Ray player (which both use that same cable from the AVR to the TV), but maybe there's some difference in the handshaking requirements that are passed-through the AVR to the TV for those components?

I may also try a new cable from the Hopper to the AVR (or a new INPUT port on the AVR)

I also could just add a few steps to the Harmony routine to switch to HDMI2 then back to 1 every time, but I it already takes 15 seconds to complete the process now!

Thanks again!

-Greg
WrathWielder is offline  
post #17919 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbjr View Post
That I know, and I'll likely end up with a P series 65 which is not the worst thing that ever happened to anyone. But do you know how the M series 70 2017 compares with the P series 2014? Does anyone?
I do not know, frankly the 2014 P series was kind of a miracle in and of itself. At that price NOTHING on the market could touch it. Between the FALD, and the calibration options not to mention connectivity it was a steal. They do have a 70" M series, but I don't know how it compares. I do know it only has half the number of dimming zones as the 2014 P series 60" 64 for the 2014 vs 32 for the new one, and I don't know how robust the calibration options are either. But the 2017 P series 65" is the same price as the 70" M Series if that matters at about $1600. The only thing I don't like on the new ones is the base, I prefer the center pedestal style as opposed to the corner mounted feet.
liffie420 is offline  
post #17920 of 18018 Old 01-18-2018, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 19,442
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6578 Post(s)
Liked: 6348
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbjr View Post
That I know, and I'll likely end up with a P series 65 which is not the worst thing that ever happened to anyone. But do you know how the M series 70 2017 compares with the P series 2014? Does anyone?


2018 is the refresh year for the P series. You may want to hold off. If I was in the market, that’s what I would do.
Ph8te is offline  
post #17921 of 18018 Old 01-19-2018, 07:55 AM
Member
 
fdbjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mountain View, Ca, USA
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks to all. It's particularly nice to know the 2014 is in such high esteem. The picture is fabulous - but I also have a p 55 c1 in the bedroom, and that picture is just a tad better. But not (I am thinking) $1500 better and the smaller screen.

Also, in passing, my thanks to ph8te and everyone else who spent so much time and thought calibrating the unit when it first came out. I really benefited from that, because there was a definite red shift. However, Vizio went right on providing firmware upgrades, with better and better defaults. For about 18 months now, i have been using the two defaults, calibrated and dark calibrated, which seem to me to match the calibrated picture.
I believe I'll take it.
fdbjr is offline  
post #17922 of 18018 Old 01-19-2018, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbjr View Post
Thanks to all. It's particularly nice to know the 2014 is in such high esteem. The picture is fabulous - but I also have a p 55 c1 in the bedroom, and that picture is just a tad better. But not (I am thinking) $1500 better and the smaller screen.

Also, in passing, my thanks to ph8te and everyone else who spent so much time and thought calibrating the unit when it first came out. I really benefited from that, because there was a definite red shift. However, Vizio went right on providing firmware upgrades, with better and better defaults. For about 18 months now, i have been using the two defaults, calibrated and dark calibrated, which seem to me to match the calibrated picture.
I believe I'll take it.
Yeah for the money when this set came out you couldn't touch it, especially the user accessible calibration options. Many tvs hide the really advanced calibration options in secret menu's that you can just click and get right to.
liffie420 is offline  
post #17923 of 18018 Old 02-04-2018, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mavinwow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 560
My blacks and backlight have been off for awhile. Did a factory reset and put the same settings back in and all seems well again.

No new offering has been compelling enough for me to upgrade from the 2014 70 incher.

Vizio PQ 65
Vizio '14 70 P Series, Calibration settings
Samsung 55ES8000
CalMAN 5 Novice Walkthrough
Denon X4200, 5.1.4 setup. Monolith 12 Sub
Mavinwow is offline  
post #17924 of 18018 Old 02-04-2018, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mavinwow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbjr View Post
That I know, and I'll likely end up with a P series 65 which is not the worst thing that ever happened to anyone. But do you know how the M series 70 2017 compares with the P series 2014? Does anyone?
wait until March for the 2018 Vizio offering, or the 2017 LG OLEDs have been on sale for pretty cheap lately.

Vizio PQ 65
Vizio '14 70 P Series, Calibration settings
Samsung 55ES8000
CalMAN 5 Novice Walkthrough
Denon X4200, 5.1.4 setup. Monolith 12 Sub
Mavinwow is offline  
post #17925 of 18018 Old 02-14-2018, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
terryscott621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdbjr View Post
Anyone ever compared the M series 2017 with the P series 2014? I own a P series 70 inch, which is perfect for the space. I am not going larger. I could go smaller with the P 2017 65, but would prefer not. I do normally upgrade after 3-4 years, taking a charitable deduction on a donation of the older unit.

So the issue is whether the M series 2017 70 inch is a legitimate upgrade, what with HDR and various other improvements. Or am I going sideways? Or should I wait until later in 2018?
Rtings seemed to like the 2017 M series pretty well. Personally, I think it's more of a lateral move from the 2014 P series. Having both HDR formats is a big plus, while the smaller amount of dimming zones is a minus. If I were you I'd wait for the new lineup. I'm interested to see what the 2018 lineup is going to offer.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/vi...ries-xled-2017

Terry Scott
San Antonio, TX
------------------
Vizio P602ui-B3
Vizio PQ65-F1
terryscott621 is offline  
post #17926 of 18018 Old 02-28-2018, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
2/28/18 - received v1.5.1.5 firmware update today for my P702ui-B3. I can't find what was fixed or added though.
jlf2626 is offline  
post #17927 of 18018 Old 02-28-2018, 10:06 PM
Member
 
MysticalOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Maybe by some miracle they finally fixed PS4 blackouts. not holding breath though. they only firmware fixed that in 2015/16 models
MysticalOS is offline  
post #17928 of 18018 Old 03-02-2018, 08:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,589
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlf2626 View Post
2/28/18 - received v1.5.1.5 firmware update today for my P702ui-B3. I can't find what was fixed or added though.
Just got it today (3/1/18). Going through my over-the-air channels, I notice nothing different. I noticed no picture quality improvement.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #17929 of 18018 Old 03-03-2018, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mavinwow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post
Just got it today (3/1/18). Going through my over-the-air channels, I notice nothing different. I noticed no picture quality improvement.
Odd they pumped out a new firmware at this point. No release notes ever come with these.

Vizio PQ 65
Vizio '14 70 P Series, Calibration settings
Samsung 55ES8000
CalMAN 5 Novice Walkthrough
Denon X4200, 5.1.4 setup. Monolith 12 Sub
Mavinwow is offline  
post #17930 of 18018 Old 03-06-2018, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jofus222 View Post
Just got an xbox one x, and the video settings show the following. Is this all I should expect from this set or can I change my settings?

I just got the new .15 update and my xbox one 4K details are showing it now supports 4K 10-bit at 24hz and supports native 4K gaming now. The only thing it has the red on is the bottom HDR gaming the rest are the info icon
JOHN_RH is offline  
post #17931 of 18018 Old 03-07-2018, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So my P652ui-B2 seems to have gone a bit haywire and it's no longer covered by any kind of warranty.

It had some strange issues where the image would artifact and then freeze while the audio (which was going through the TV via optical out) would continue. It was slow to respond to the remote, but after being turned off it would be working as soon as it was back on.

Now it won't even power on. When I try to turn it on, through the remote or with the button, the power indicator will come on, but the screen doesn't show anything. The power indicator will linger on for a while and then it will seem to power off. If I leave it plugged in, it will eventually (with no further input) seem to come back on (again with nothing on the screen), before going "off" again. This repeats until I unplug it.

Unless there is a miracle cure that someone here can recommend, I'm going to assume that it's in need of some new parts, if it can be saved.

Can anyone recommend a place to buy these parts? Some quick googling makes it seem like ebay just the only game in town.

Any other repair resources anyone can recommend?

Thanks.
twinion is offline  
post #17932 of 18018 Old 03-14-2018, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinion View Post
So my P652ui-B2 seems to have gone a bit haywire and it's no longer covered by any kind of warranty.

It had some strange issues where the image would artifact and then freeze while the audio (which was going through the TV via optical out) would continue. It was slow to respond to the remote, but after being turned off it would be working as soon as it was back on.

Now it won't even power on. When I try to turn it on, through the remote or with the button, the power indicator will come on, but the screen doesn't show anything. The power indicator will linger on for a while and then it will seem to power off. If I leave it plugged in, it will eventually (with no further input) seem to come back on (again with nothing on the screen), before going "off" again. This repeats until I unplug it.

Unless there is a miracle cure that someone here can recommend, I'm going to assume that it's in need of some new parts, if it can be saved.

Can anyone recommend a place to buy these parts? Some quick googling makes it seem like ebay just the only game in town.

Any other repair resources anyone can recommend?

Thanks.

My 70-incher just started the freezing thing last night. Is this the lifetime of these sets now, 4 years? It just did it as I type these words. To be honest, with no HDR, I guess I’m ready to move on anyway.

As to your issue, try unplugging the set for at least 30 minutes & see if it resets itself.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
post #17933 of 18018 Old 03-17-2018, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
mooseehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anybody notice lip sync issues since the update?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mooseehead is offline  
post #17934 of 18018 Old 03-19-2018, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
opelgtman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would the 2014 P65 be worth 450 used? Anything special to look out for?
opelgtman is offline  
post #17935 of 18018 Old 03-19-2018, 06:02 PM
Member
 
MI-1*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I’m thinking about selling my 2014 P70. Anyone know of where to look to come up with a street value? I saw 1 on eBay that sold for $800.
MI-1* is offline  
post #17936 of 18018 Old 03-20-2018, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1059 Post(s)
Liked: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI-1* View Post
I’m thinking about selling my 2014 P70. Anyone know of where to look to come up with a street value? I saw 1 on eBay that sold for $800.
Ebay would be your best bet i think. Just look for what they actually SOLD for versus what they are offered at. But you already seem to know that, it's funny how many people see something on Ebay or something similar and are like well it must be worth X that's what its listed for on Ebay, but they ignore what they actually sold for lol
liffie420 is offline  
post #17937 of 18018 Old 03-27-2018, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
terryscott621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Architect1992 View Post
Thanks for the tip, but HDMI 1 only works at 1080P...not one single 4K setting option works (Does is really matter what type of HDMI cable? Mine are already pre-fed through the wall...total pain to pull something else.). Coincidentally, the HDMI 2 port seems to be inoperative, regardless of cord or source...it's shot for some reason.

Would a "factory reset" potentially clear this up? I suppose then the TV would then have to perform its own software update (not sure how to prompt that)...

Does anyone else have the new 4K Apple TV and if so, is it working properly?
I just got an Apple TV 4K and and am using the Monoprice cables linked below (unfortunately, I think the cables do matter). You'll have to use either input 1, 2 or 5 for HDCP 2.2 compliance. Inputs 1 & 2 only run 4K @ 30hz and if you're using these then you'll have to manually select that resolution and refresh rate from the Apple TV settings. If you're using input 5 then you have to select 4K @ 60hz from the Apple TV settings. My Apple TV 4K automatically selected this for input 5 in my situation.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2

Terry Scott
San Antonio, TX
------------------
Vizio P602ui-B3
Vizio PQ65-F1
terryscott621 is offline  
post #17938 of 18018 Old 04-02-2018, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteroMAdMAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Hey all, what is the NIT rating of the P70? I'm still using this dinosaur(happily I might add) and finally got around to getting a UDP-203 and wanted to use the "strip metadata" setting for HDR on the 203 and it is asking me what NITS to set the unit to, to match my display.. I can't seem to find a solid answer. Doing a quick search in this thread and it appears 400 nits??


Pretty impressed with the P70 and 4K movies through the 203. Although I'm sure it would be much grander if I had HDR/DV enabled display. But overall I can't complain about this set, it's been trouble free the last 3 years.

It is better to ask for forgiveness, than it is to ask for permissision - the WAF factor
SteroMAdMAn is offline  
post #17939 of 18018 Old 04-08-2018, 02:59 PM
Senior Member
 
terryscott621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 76
***Official 2014 Vizio P Series Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteroMAdMAn View Post
Hey all, what is the NIT rating of the P70? I'm still using this dinosaur(happily I might add) and finally got around to getting a UDP-203 and wanted to use the "strip metadata" setting for HDR on the 203 and it is asking me what NITS to set the unit to, to match my display.. I can't seem to find a solid answer. Doing a quick search in this thread and it appears 400 nits?

Looks like rtings has it rated at 400 nits.

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/vizio/p-series


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
SteroMAdMAn likes this.

Terry Scott
San Antonio, TX
------------------
Vizio P602ui-B3
Vizio PQ65-F1
terryscott621 is offline  
post #17940 of 18018 Old 04-15-2018, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mavinwow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,249
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 499 Post(s)
Liked: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteroMAdMAn View Post
Hey all, what is the NIT rating of the P70? I'm still using this dinosaur(happily I might add) and finally got around to getting a UDP-203 and wanted to use the "strip metadata" setting for HDR on the 203 and it is asking me what NITS to set the unit to, to match my display.. I can't seem to find a solid answer. Doing a quick search in this thread and it appears 400 nits??


Pretty impressed with the P70 and 4K movies through the 203. Although I'm sure it would be much grander if I had HDR/DV enabled display. But overall I can't complain about this set, it's been trouble free the last 3 years.
Would hardly call it a dinosaur! It sucks that the primetime size now is 65. Cant really find anything 70 inches. the price step up to 75 is often intense.

Vizio PQ 65
Vizio '14 70 P Series, Calibration settings
Samsung 55ES8000
CalMAN 5 Novice Walkthrough
Denon X4200, 5.1.4 setup. Monolith 12 Sub
Mavinwow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off