Sony 2015 - X900C, X910C, X930C, X940C, X850C, X830C - Page 40 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 621Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1171 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 01:14 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
It has to be upscaling or it would just be displaying a small picture.

The question I have seen posted but not a definitive answer to is how is what algorithm is it using in game mode. Is it using the normal algorithm or is it just multiplying the pixels.
What do you mean by normal algorythem bro ? Isn't it up scaling as Sony presumably implements it 24/7 or are U clue to something deeper than that ?
or are the other posters uninformed or just paranoid twich gamer 4K waco ?

Last edited by tubetwister; 05-11-2015 at 01:38 PM.
tubetwister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1172 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
According to the Sony Store site the 75x850c is In Stock as of this morning 5-11.
Mine is at the local sorting facility right now, waiting for a call to schedule delivery.
Sundry is offline  
post #1173 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 01:21 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundry View Post
Mine is at the local sorting facility right now, waiting for a call to schedule delivery.
cool let us know what U think we're counting on U dog ......U sould have a good frame of reference others may not instead of just going all ga ga on us like the fool down the street in the hood wit something new thinking it'a all that and don't know any better if it ain't

OTOH I'm sure the x850C will be real good plus as LCD w/o HDR goes

Last edited by tubetwister; 05-11-2015 at 01:36 PM.
tubetwister is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1174 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 01:43 PM
 
Itwillneverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: On the planet Earth
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
EDIT re posted :

I'd like to see how the 75x850C or any x850C stacks up to his f8500 Sammy plasma emissive photon monster based on my experience here with my 2013 Sony vs my 2013 Sammy plasma
Which 2013 Sony do you have?
Itwillneverend is offline  
post #1175 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,686
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1292 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
What do you mean by normal algorythem bro ? Isn't it up scaling as Sony presumably implements it 24/7 or are U clue to something deeper than that ?
or are the other posters uninformed or just paranoid twich gamer 4K waco ?
I have seen a couple of people say that in game mode Sony is simply turning 1 pixel in 4 pixels instead of applying their more advanced scaling algorithms(Which would be a good thing for most people). However, I have never seen confirmation on that from an authoritative source.
dalto is offline  
post #1176 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
cool let us know what U think we're counting on U dog ......U sould have a good frame of reference others may not instead of just going all ga ga on us like the fool down the street in the hood wit something new thinking it'a all that and don't know any better if it ain't

OTOH I'm sure the x850C will be real good plus as LCD w/o HDR goes
I'll be directly comparing the 75x850c to the 70x850b it is replacing. Hopefully the direct lighting will solve the radial banding issues I've had with the edge lit 70x850b.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #1177 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 02:10 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
I have seen a couple of people say that in game mode Sony is simply turning 1 pixel in 4 pixels instead of applying their more advanced scaling algorithms(Which would be a good thing for most people). However, I have never seen confirmation on that from an authoritative source.
It seems odd the Sony 's would have different up scaling algorithms maybe the twich gamers are conflating that with chroma sub sampling i.e. YbCbr 4:4:4 vs YbCbr 4:2:2:.... or even YbCbr 4:2:0 which of course varies the pixel manipulation but has no bearing on pixel upscaling in a littoral sense maybe someones dabbing too much budder or vaping too much bud

Last edited by tubetwister; 05-11-2015 at 02:20 PM.
tubetwister is offline  
post #1178 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 02:12 PM
 
Itwillneverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: On the planet Earth
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 207
I just received an email from B&H that the 75X850C is also available and shipping for free :-) If we can just get a real review I be set.
Itwillneverend is offline  
post #1179 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 02:18 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
I'll be directly comparing the 75x850c to the 70x850b it is replacing. Hopefully the direct lighting will solve the radial banding issues I've had with the edge lit 70x850b.
I don't know .....my ancient 2013 Sony with a Samsung panel is direct lit with radial banding but it's not an issue on program material even with
back grounds or hockey,footfall etc but you can see it sometimes on solid (artificial colored) ones but not blue sky or anything like that OTOH on a severe grey test pattern as one would expect it's clearly obvious but not on programs bro !
tubetwister is offline  
post #1180 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 02:21 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Itwillneverend View Post
Which 2013 Sony do you have?
same one I had yesterday
ray0414 likes this.
tubetwister is offline  
post #1181 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,425
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 994 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
I don't know .....my ancient 2013 Sony with a Samsung panel is direct lit with radial banding but it's not an issue on program material even with
back grounds or hockey,footfall etc but you can see it sometimes on solid (artificial colored) ones but not blue sky or anything like that OTOH on a severe grey test pattern as one would expect it's clearly obvious but not on programs bro !
That pretty much describes exactly what I see. I believe the 70x and the 75x use Samsung S-PVA panels. I may just have to live with it.
tubetwister likes this.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #1182 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 03:56 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
That pretty much describes exactly what I see. I believe the 70x and the 75x use Samsung S-PVA panels. I may just have to live with it.
probably at least the 75" is more of a Samsung size I think the closest LGD panel is the 79" ofc 70" is also a size Sammy makes

my 2013 Sony has a Samsung S PVA better than most 2014 1080P Sonys and most 2014 x850B contrast wise ! i.e. 5000:1 contrast
tubetwister is offline  
post #1183 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 04:24 PM
Member
 
defdans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was able to get an XBR-55x850c at my local Best Buy yesterday. If there are any remaining questions about this tv, i'd be happy to try and answer.

I could also use some help figuring out the best way to hook everything up. What i've done in the past doesn't seem to be working how i want. If there's a better place for me to post this, please let me know and i'll delete/move this post. Any advice or assistance would be very welcomed.

Here's what I have:

850c
Harmon Kardon AVR2600
Xbox One
PS4
Verizon Fios Motorola QIP7232 DVR
WiiU
Chromecast
Harmony 650 Remote

If my goal is for all audio to be run through the receiver, DVR to run through the Xbox One, and just use ONE remote (i dont care if it's the TV remote or the Harmony, honestly), how SHOULD I set this up? Knowing that I don't care much about the Chromecast at this point (considering i'll likely use the built in GoogleCast), how should i proceed?

Previously I ran the XboxOne and PS4 into the receiver, then HDMI out from the receiver into the TV's HDMI4 slot. I have the DVR hooked into the Xbox One and watch TV through the Xbox. I have an optical out going from the TV to the receiver. ON my previous TV (and how i hope to set this up), I run ALL sound through the receiver. For the Xbox and PS4, I simply switched inputs on the receiver which output the right sound and passed the video signal to the TV.

Chromecast and Wii plug into HDMI slots on the TV. For Chromecast and WiiU, I have the Harmony programmed to switch to the Aux channel on the receiver (which is where i have the optical audio out from the TV running to) and the appropriate HDMI on the TV.

Here's the problem how i've got it now, if i try to switch from PS4 to Xboxone (or vice versa), the TV goes to the home screen, then switches to Video 1 (which is the next input in lineon the TV). Not sure if this is because Harmony only shows the 850b as an option currently or if it's because the 850c takes every signal as a sign to switch inputs (my previous Samsung treated as confirmation to stay on the input it was already on). I was planning to use the DVR to change channels, etc, but i'm willing to try doing that through the actual if that's a better option.

Help?
defdans is offline  
post #1184 of 2927 Old 05-11-2015, 08:22 PM
 
tubetwister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Outer Limits....Don't trust any air I can't see ☺
Posts: 5,008
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1384 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by defdans View Post
I was able to get an XBR-55x850c at my local Best Buy yesterday. If there are any remaining questions about this tv, i'd be happy to try and answer.
panel ? my guess is AUO or Innolux could be Samsung though ?

How U like ? I'm gonna look at some of those over the weekend ofc I have a 2013
Sony in here.........the 2014 55x850b didn't look any better than this one except some more pixels this one has better blacks then the one I saw ofc that's in the store and all that comes with that ?

Quote:
I could also use some help figuring out the best way to hook everything up. What i've done in the past doesn't seem to be working how i want. If there's a better place for me to post this, please let me know and i'll delete/move this post. Any advice or assistance would be very welcomed.
No clue I run my STB and PC directly to the TV HDMI ports and every thing else goes to an HDMI switch to TV and 5.1 optical out from TV ............
tubetwister is offline  
post #1185 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 12:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Beefchopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by defdans View Post
I was able to get an XBR-55x850c at my local Best Buy yesterday. If there are any remaining questions about this tv, i'd be happy to try and answer.
Can you please give me the width of the stand from left to right as you face the TV? I plan to have it sitting on something that I want to make sure is wide enough that the entire stand will be supported by it. Thanks.
ca4224 likes this.
Beefchopper is offline  
post #1186 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Beefchopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by defdans View Post
I was able to get an XBR-55x850c at my local Best Buy yesterday. If there are any remaining questions about this tv, i'd be happy to try and answer.

Also, this would not be my primary TV and would be used in a spot where I'd need to rely on the TV's speakers. Please give me your evaluation of the sound from the speakers as to quality and whether it is capable of enough volume. Thanks.
Beefchopper is offline  
post #1187 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 12:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Sdroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Someone with the 65" 850c, can you give me the distance from the top hole for the wall mount to the edge of the tv?

Wanna see if the current bracket and height works
Sdroid is online now  
post #1188 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
pavelbor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tallinn / Estonia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello there,

someone already owns 850C - could you please show us screenshots with main menu, list of TV cnannels, options etc.

Thanks
pavelbor is offline  
post #1189 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 06:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got my 55" X850C for a week now and recently bought an Minidisplay port to HDMI cable to connect my macbook to the TV and for some reason I can't get it to to show on the TV. I connected the cable in my computer monitor and show right away..so I know the cable is good. Is there a setting in the TV that I'm missing or maybe this function still not working until the "big" update coming up soon?
_mkr is offline  
post #1190 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
retro124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 3,251
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1428 Post(s)
Liked: 1154
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mkr View Post
I got my 55" X850C for a week now and recently bought an Minidisplay port to HDMI cable to connect my macbook to the TV and for some reason I can't get it to to show on the TV. I connected the cable in my computer monitor and show right away..so I know the cable is good. Is there a setting in the TV that I'm missing or maybe this function still not working until the "big" update coming up soon?
I'm not sure but it should display your Mac without any issues or waiting for update. Make sure you are on your TV in correct HDMI input where did you plug cable. Also on Mac under display you can adjust it if is something maybe not set up correctly there. I never had this problem on any Tv where I plug Mac.

Denon X6200W
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RB-81II's, RS-62II's
SVS 2x PC12-Pluses, Emotiva XPA-200
Sony XBR65X930E , Oppo 203
Apple 4K TV, Mac mini, Sony UBP-X800, PS3
retro124 is online now  
post #1191 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,686
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1292 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavelbor View Post
Hello there,

someone already owns 850C - could you please show us screenshots with main menu, list of TV cnannels, options etc.

Thanks
There are screenshots in the owners thread
dalto is offline  
post #1192 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 1216
Quote:
Originally Posted by _mkr View Post
I got my 55" X850C for a week now and recently bought an Minidisplay port to HDMI cable to connect my macbook to the TV and for some reason I can't get it to to show on the TV. I connected the cable in my computer monitor and show right away..so I know the cable is good. Is there a setting in the TV that I'm missing or maybe this function still not working until the "big" update coming up soon?
What model and year Mac do you have?
Carlos_E is offline  
post #1193 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 08:37 AM
 
Itwillneverend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: On the planet Earth
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 505 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetwister View Post
same one I had yesterday
Thanks. Now I know how to respond to you in the future. smh
Itwillneverend is offline  
post #1194 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,686
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1292 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by defdans View Post
Here's the problem how i've got it now, if i try to switch from PS4 to Xboxone (or vice versa), the TV goes to the home screen, then switches to Video 1 (which is the next input in lineon the TV). Not sure if this is because Harmony only shows the 850b as an option currently or if it's because the 850c takes every signal as a sign to switch inputs (my previous Samsung treated as confirmation to stay on the input it was already on). I was planning to use the DVR to change channels, etc, but i'm willing to try doing that through the actual if that's a better option.

Help?
I would guess either your Harmony is configured wrong or you are using your Harmony AND HDMI-CEC and they are conflicting. Make sure you have configured your Harmony to use the discrete input commands.
dalto is offline  
post #1195 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post
What model and year Mac do you have?
Mid 2012 macbook pro
_mkr is offline  
post #1196 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 02:02 PM
Member
 
Hockmanwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Madison Wisconsin
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Got the 55 inch X850c from Best Buy about 3 days ago. Been trying to get used to the menus and settings/adjusting picture quality. Hers a few shots for you guys.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150510_212236122.jpg
Views:	306
Size:	223.8 KB
ID:	712970   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_154839411.jpg
Views:	308
Size:	114.8 KB
ID:	712978   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_154847618.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	111.4 KB
ID:	712986   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_154900142.jpg
Views:	301
Size:	111.3 KB
ID:	712994   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_154922600.jpg
Views:	369
Size:	215.6 KB
ID:	713002  

chuckf1 and brickyardz like this.
Hockmanwi is offline  
post #1197 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Hockmanwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Madison Wisconsin
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
A few more shots with settings. Overall impressions are quite good. Upscaling for ps4 and xbox are great! Much better than the samsung 7100 i tired a few weeks ago, not even close. Motion clarity is also very good, little to no black smearing or detail blurriness in motion at least to my eyes.
One thing that is bugging me though is that it doesnt list 1080p 12bit under display info when i have my ps4/xbox one set to deep color like my w600 did but maybe it just doesn't say it on this model? Ps. sorry for my cell phone camera
Hockmanwi is offline  
post #1198 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Hockmanwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Madison Wisconsin
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
settings
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_155033304_HDR.jpg
Views:	331
Size:	161.1 KB
ID:	713018   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_155040304.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	137.9 KB
ID:	713026   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_155019648.jpg
Views:	352
Size:	173.2 KB
ID:	713034  
pavelbor likes this.
Hockmanwi is offline  
post #1199 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Hockmanwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Madison Wisconsin
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
more settings
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_155204290.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	130.4 KB
ID:	713042   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_155047246_HDR.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	159.3 KB
ID:	713050   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150512_155044013_HDR.jpg
Views:	257
Size:	156.2 KB
ID:	713058  
pavelbor likes this.
Hockmanwi is offline  
post #1200 of 2927 Old 05-12-2015, 02:28 PM
Member
 
ca4224's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockmanwi View Post
more settings
Whats the width of the stand itself?

Does your center block the TV at all? Looking to get a soundbar of 2.2" and tv height from table top is 1.5".
ca4224 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off