Official 2015 Vizio 4K UHD M Series Thread - Page 394 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11319Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11791 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 05:30 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Click Menu/Picture/Color Calibration/Color Tuner/. If the "Red" and "Green" boxes have a big "X" in them then go to those boxes and click OK to enable the Red and Green channels. If you enable the "Blue" filter and then turn the TV off and back on the filter will still be applied. It won't turn off until you explicitly turn it off. It is really easy to turn on by accident as well if you are messing with the Color Tuner settings.

Basically these are built in filters that can be used to calibrate the brightness of each individual color channel.

If this is your issue then please stop messing with your TV. You are making everyone else's TV cost more by returning perfectly working TVs that were only messed up by user ignorance. If this isn't your issue and you have done full factory resets then I would say just return the TV and buy a Samsung or Sony.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmuka View Post
that's a bummer. it looks pretty blue to me too. I'd think loading the moon pic from USB like you did should eliminate input issues. another thing you could try with Vizio support is use pictures of the built in Vizio SMPTE test pattern in the advanced color tuner menus, at least to convince them the issue is in the TV, not your other devices.
They had me send screens of the user manual and the Via screen. They said it "looks fine". The background color on the user manual looks like those moon photos.
tmuka likes this.
wetech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11792 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 05:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,575
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5321 Post(s)
Liked: 3677
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Please be aware that I will recommend using HDMI 5 with the new HDR UHD Blu-ray player if it can play native 4K/UHD youtube 60 FPS videos. There are several cameras out now or coming out very soon that are 4K @ 60 FPS capable so HDMI 5 will be necessary for those.

This will leave me with a dilemma. I only have 2 outputs on my receiver and I really want to have the super low latency of HDMI 5 for video games.

I will test HDMI 3-4 to see how big a hit the input latency takes on those inputs. I never use 4K @ 60 FPS for my computer. I much prefer to use a 1080p @ 120 FPS or 4K @ 30 FPS 4:4:4 output from the computer.

So in the end it sounds like I will have to put the PS4 in HDMI 3 of the TV and then use the receiver to combine both the UHD Blu-ray player and the computer input to go through HDMI 5 of the TV.

The biggest issue will be that my computer and my UHD Blu-ray player will have to share the same TV default color profile. That isn't what I really wanted to happen.


Thanks for making me aware.... lol


Anyways... so you have 2 HDMI outputs on the receiver? How many HDMI inputs do you have on the receiver?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #11793 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,575
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5321 Post(s)
Liked: 3677
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
They had me send screens of the user manual and the Via screen. They said it "looks fine". The background color on the user manual looks like those moon photos.
Maybe the camera you used didn't really represent what you really see? Maybe try a different camera?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11794 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,575
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5321 Post(s)
Liked: 3677
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
I'm not sure where the hostility is coming from in your posts. As I've stated numerous times, this is what the TV looked like when it was unpacked prior to calibration, after 3 service menu resets, and after a hard reset, BEFORE I TOUCHED ANYTHING. I don't know how I could be more clear on this point. This is not a "perfectly working TV". This is not a case of red and green channels being turned off, I know what that looks like.
Not sure it's hostility but more of an ego today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #11795 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 05:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,575
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5321 Post(s)
Liked: 3677
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
I understand that your settings aren't supposed to be calibrated. The blue tinged photos are without any adjustments to color settings. Factory reset = measured 9000k on calibrated picture mode, normal color setting. Forgetting measurements, it looks horrible at default settings.

Vizio TV vs my PC Monitor


The moon attachment from this quote would be a good one to send them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #11796 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 05:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Surly73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto-ish, Canada
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Official 2015 Vizio 4K UHD M Series Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketnis View Post
Quick question about the included mounting screws. Recently picked up an M60 and due to its size have no choice but to wall mount it. Are the screws that are already attached sufficient for most brackets? Going through the bracket they do about 4 turns until tight, but it still feels like they aren't threading in enough. I have some that came with the stand, but they are either the same size or far too long.

I chose to use my own (came with my mount) since the included ones didn't grab enough threads. I would plan to use your own, from my experience. Unfortunately I've already forgotten what thread size or I'd let you know since it might save you or someone else some time - sorry I think I also felt more comfortable with a slightly larger head diameter.
Surly73 is offline  
post #11797 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 06:01 AM
Member
 
ccg1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
would there be a noticeable difference in 1080p PQ when comparing a M65-C1 with my current TV Sony XBR-55HX929?? Would the Vizio perform / look better?
ccg1978 is offline  
post #11798 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 06:17 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The moon attachment from this quote would be a good one to send them.
Yeah, I sent them those photos, along with the same moon pic displayed on my plasma last night. Customer service was closed at that point, so I'll call this morning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94
Maybe the camera you used didn't really represent what you really see? Maybe try a different camera?
It doesn't show as bad as it does in person, and I've explained that to them. I understand they have to go off of what they're given evidence wise. They wouldn't take the HCFR report as proof because they "don't know what I pointed it at".
wetech is offline  
post #11799 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
Yeah, I sent them those photos, along with the same moon pic displayed on my plasma last night. Customer service was closed at that point, so I'll call this morning.



It doesn't show as bad as it does in person, and I've explained that to them. I understand they have to go off of what they're given evidence wise. They wouldn't take the HCFR report as proof because they "don't know what I pointed it at".
If they won't replace it, ask them to send out a tech.
mpgxsvcd, oman321 and tmuka like this.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #11800 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
No. Bought it at Best Buy in November. I'd return this tomorrow if I could. But, since this is my 2nd replacement, which take 3 weeks to send, I'm outside of the return window.

They're blaming my Apple TV and my HDMI cable. They say the pictures look fine to them. I just spent an hour arguing with them. Sent them this pic of my 2nd TV (with the dead pixels), and the 3rd replacement. They say the Apple TV is bad.
I missed your earlier post,but what firmware are you currently running. My M50 had a similar issue and I had to set my color to 72 and start tweaking hue to remove this anomaly. After I got 1.2.23 and than 1.3.15 most of this was cleared up.
And if you have a 60"-70" (sorry for not knowing all the details) and those models are employing Sharp panels some issues with their VA tech is blueish whites that are very hard to adjust out. I don't know if your case is the same,but that could be the root of it.

Last edited by Dr.Shankenstein; 02-09-2016 at 07:19 AM.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #11801 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The moon attachment from this quote would be a good one to send them.
Yeah, I sent them those photos, along with the same moon pic displayed on my plasma last night. Customer service was closed at that point, so I'll call this morning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94
Maybe the camera you used didn't really represent what you really see? Maybe try a different camera?
It doesn't show as bad as it does in person, and I've explained that to them. I understand they have to go off of what they're given evidence wise. They wouldn't take the HCFR report as proof because they "don't know what I pointed it at".

Ya know, mine did the same blue thing when I got it.

It still does it on my Blu Ray input, only because I never changed around the color temp from "cool" to "normal".

When I get home, I'll figure it out and let you know.
joughvizio is offline  
post #11802 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
oman321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: MASS
Posts: 4,939
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Keep complaining wetech, squeeky wheel as the saying goes.
oman321 is offline  
post #11803 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:21 AM
Member
 
refraxion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'd raise a stink if it were my unit as well.

Sent from my SM-N920W8 using Tapatalk
refraxion is offline  
post #11804 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,575
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5321 Post(s)
Liked: 3677
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasfxlt View Post
If they won't replace it, ask them to send out a tech.
I'm surprised that wasn't done even before replacements were sent out.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #11805 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:49 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
I missed your earlier post,but what firmware are you currently running. My M50 had a similar issue and I had to set my color to 72 and start tweaking hue to remove this anomaly. After I got 1.2.23 and than 1.3.15 most of this was cleared up.
And if you have a 60"-70" (sorry for not knowing all the details) and those models are employing Sharp panels some issues with their VA tech is blueish whites that are very hard to adjust out. I don't know if your case is the same,but that could be the root of it.
I have to double check, but I think it's at 1.3.15, M60-C3. The prior 2 sets looked fine color wise; they were returned for defects, a vertical green line of pixels developed after 3 weeks on the first, and the 2nd had a blob of dead pixels near the center of the screen.
wetech is offline  
post #11806 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 07:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
thomasfxlt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 122 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3331 Post(s)
Liked: 6192
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
I have to double check, but I think it's at 1.3.15, M60-C3. The prior 2 sets looked fine color wise; they were returned for defects, a vertical green line of pixels developed after 3 weeks on the first, and the 2nd had a blob of dead pixels near the center of the screen.
Your TV is under warranty. At a minimum, insist on a tech. Get BB involved. There's only a few boards in these sets. They can replace a board in 20 minutes.
mpgxsvcd, Ph8te, shoman94 and 1 others like this.

SONY Z9F LCD Master Series Owners Thread
Vizio 2016 P series FAQ, general info and Help
Sony Z9F 75, Vizio P75C1 UHD/HDR/DV, Pioneer Elite SC-95, Samsung UHD Bluray K8500, AppleTV 4K, CC Ultra
thomasfxlt is offline  
post #11807 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
stikle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The Sovereign State of Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 959 Post(s)
Liked: 1140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketnis View Post
Quick question about the included mounting screws. Recently picked up an M60 and due to its size have no choice but to wall mount it. Are the screws that are already attached sufficient for most brackets? Going through the bracket they do about 4 turns until tight, but it still feels like they aren't threading in enough. I have some that came with the stand, but they are either the same size or far too long.

I used the 4 that came pre-installed in the VESA holes with my 102 lb M75. It's been hanging on the wall just fine for a couple of months now...

The Seth-o-Plex 2.0 Build Thread - featuring Dolby Atmos/DTS:X 9.4.4 & 4K Dolby Vision!
Vizio | Dual Denon Atmos AVRs | Oppo | SVS | Mirage | Onkyo | Monoprice
stikle is offline  
post #11808 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:17 AM
Member
 
redlikemethodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyrfan View Post
Funny, I just started to notice this recently as well. Very annoying.

Have you found any way to fix the micro stutters?

Vizio M60-C3
Onkyo TX-SR353
HTPC running Kodi with MySQL library database
OTA antenna with HDHR Connect with 3 XB306's as WMC clients
DIRECTV Now
FireTV's and FireTV Sticks as Kodi clients
redlikemethodz is offline  
post #11809 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ketnis View Post
Quick question about the included mounting screws. Recently picked up an M60 and due to its size have no choice but to wall mount it. Are the screws that are already attached sufficient for most brackets? Going through the bracket they do about 4 turns until tight, but it still feels like they aren't threading in enough. I have some that came with the stand, but they are either the same size or far too long.
I bought an M60 and I used the screws that came in the holes already for my mount. Be careful not to use screws that are too long as they *might* damage things.
darrellr is offline  
post #11810 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,900
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
They had me send screens of the user manual and the Via screen. They said it "looks fine". The background color on the user manual looks like those moon photos.
It really appears that there is just something wrong with the TV. Honestly, if you are having that many problems with this particular TV then why not try another brand of TV?

They are already giving you grief over what they say is the TV working properly when obviously it isn’t doing what you want it to do.

I am trying to save you from a real headache down the road. The faster you get out of the buy, check, return cycle the better for everyone. I find it hard to believe that you are just so unlucky that you continuously get defective TVs.

In all likelihood you will be much happier with another set since it appears your customer service experience so far hasn’t been what you would hope it to be.

I bet if you went back to Best Buy and said this replacement TV just doesn’t work and that you want to switch to a Sony or Samsung they would try to accommodate you.

The only thing I want to try to avoid is you staying in an endless “Return Cycle” loop when it is obvious that this isn’t resolving all of your issues. Endless “Return Cycle” loops hurt everyone. I just want to help you get out of that cycle.

My best suggestion is to pay the difference and upgrade to a JS8500 of the same size. It is more expensive but it has some really nice additional features as well. If not that then one of the higher end Sony TVs are great too. I am a really big fan of the X930c and X940c. The new versions should be great also but they won’t come out for awhile.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #11811 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,900
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Thanks for making me aware.... lol


Anyways... so you have 2 HDMI outputs on the receiver? How many HDMI inputs do you have on the receiver?
I have 5 HDMI inputs and 2 outputs on my receiver. I think only a few of the inputs are HDCP 2.2.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #11812 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,900
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Not sure it's hostility but more of an ego today.
I take exception to people who continually stay in an endless “Buy and Return” cycle. That doesn’t help anyone.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #11813 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JT78681's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 3,425
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1516 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
It really appears that there is just something wrong with the TV. Honestly, if you are having that many problems with this particular TV then why not try another brand of TV?

They are already giving you grief over what they say is the TV working properly when obviously it isn’t doing what you want it to do.

I am trying to save you from a real headache down the road. The faster you get out of the buy, check, return cycle the better for everyone. I find it hard to believe that you are just so unlucky that you continuously get defective TVs.

In all likelihood you will be much happier with another set since it appears your customer service experience so far hasn’t been what you would hope it to be.

I bet if you went back to Best Buy and said this replacement TV just doesn’t work and that you want to switch to a Sony or Samsung they would try to accommodate you.

The only thing I want to try to avoid is you staying in an endless “Return Cycle” loop when it is obvious that this isn’t resolving all of your issues. Endless “Return Cycle” loops hurt everyone. I just want to help you get out of that cycle.

My best suggestion is to pay the difference and upgrade to a JS8500 of the same size. It is more expensive but it has some really nice additional features as well. If not that then one of the higher end Sony TVs are great too. I am a really big fan of the X930c and X940c. The new versions should be great also but they won’t come out for awhile.
Buying the JS8500 is like playing the lotto. If you get a good one it's an excellent TV, but I've read countless pages of panel issues. Some people going through at least 2-3 panels before getting one that is fully functional.
VBB likes this.

Display - LG OLED
Receiver - Denon
Speakers - Klipsch
Subs - Rythmik
JT78681 is offline  
post #11814 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 08:56 AM
Member
 
DanielNTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac_rmm View Post
The only real problem I have (which I knew going in but accepted because $700 was a great price) is the youtube app and trying to play H264 files for 4k demos or downloads.
The files need to be H.265. I acquired TimeScapes in H.265 and it's awesome.
DanielNTX is offline  
post #11815 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 09:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dr.Shankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas city
Posts: 2,469
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 742 Post(s)
Liked: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
I have to double check, but I think it's at 1.3.15, M60-C3. The prior 2 sets looked fine color wise; they were returned for defects, a vertical green line of pixels developed after 3 weeks on the first, and the 2nd had a blob of dead pixels near the center of the screen.
I have seen reports of dim/dead clusters and people reporting green lines of pixels,but mostly those reports are a horizontal line near the top and bottom edge.
Dr.Shankenstein is offline  
post #11816 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 09:31 AM
Member
 
mac_rmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielNTX View Post
The files need to be H.265. I acquired TimeScapes in H.265 and it's awesome.
Most of what is out there for 4k samples for download is in 264 however (at least what I could find). I know you can try to convert them but that takes time and is annoying. I was just pointing out an issue with the m60 compared to others, but again for the price I am very happy. I will likely get a Roku 4 and then hopefully problem solved.

I'll look for the TimeScapes file however online. Thanks.
mac_rmm is offline  
post #11817 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 10:21 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Shankenstein View Post
I have seen reports of dim/dead clusters and people reporting green lines of pixels,but mostly those reports are a horizontal line near the top and bottom edge.
Here's my prior 2 sets. The dead pixels covered an area about 10-15 pixels in diameter. Visible from normal viewing distance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vizio - Original TV.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	115.2 KB
ID:	1241177   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vizio - 1st Replacement.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	95.0 KB
ID:	1241185  
wetech is offline  
post #11818 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,900
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2618
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
Here's my prior 2 sets. The dead pixels covered an area about 10-15 pixels in diameter. Visible from normal viewing distance.
Wow that is some really bad luck then. Have you considered any other TVs?
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #11819 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,575
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5321 Post(s)
Liked: 3677
Quote:
Originally Posted by wetech View Post
Here's my prior 2 sets. The dead pixels covered an area about 10-15 pixels in diameter. Visible from normal viewing distance.

Wow... I hope that never happens to me!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #11820 of 16418 Old 02-09-2016, 10:57 AM
Member
 
wetech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I spoke with Devan, a very reasonable rep in ND. The comparison photos of the moon did the trick. He said there was obviously an issue with the set and apologized that it was such a process to rectify it. I explained that it could be "fixed" with the crazy CMS settings, but that wasn't an acceptable solution, which he agreed as well. They are sending a tech out to my house to diagnose and fix on-site.
wetech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off