Official 2015 Vizio 4K UHD M Series Thread - Page 515 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11319Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15421 of 16407 Old 01-12-2017, 06:18 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeze Time View Post
I went to CES and Vizio was nowhere to be found. If they were there, I have no idea where their booth was.
Vizio decided back in 2014 that they wouldn't participate in CES any longer. They hold a press conference close to the launch of a new product, like the new P and M series announcement in March of 2016.

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15422 of 16407 Old 01-12-2017, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Freeze Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Well that explains it thanks.
Freeze Time is offline  
post #15423 of 16407 Old 01-14-2017, 08:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
toneman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Northern California
Posts: 868
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
Football games on CBS look great, Fox football looks like trash

Same on Directv with no upscaling
Same here, plus similar poor results when watching NFL and NBA games on ABC/ESPN on DirecTV--compared to ESPN, NBA games on TNT look a bit better.
JudgeSmails and rjhseven like this.

Tony
toneman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15424 of 16407 Old 01-14-2017, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
what is the best uhd 4k bluray player for this tv
musicmanmoe is offline  
post #15425 of 16407 Old 01-15-2017, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chitchatjf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lawrence MA
Posts: 3,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I have the Samsung UBD-K8500 3D Wi-Fi 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player (2016 Model) attached to this set on HDMI5.
I do have last summer's firmware upgrade on the TV and upgraded the firmware on the Ultra HD player.
What do I have to do to activate HDR?
chitchatjf is offline  
post #15426 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Spidacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 336
The 2015 M series don't do HDR unfortunately.
Spidacat is online now  
post #15427 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
One interesting bit of info on the 2015 M series. I'm not sure if it means anything, but with the latest firmware (at least, I haven't checked with the earlier ones), the EDID has a 4k2ksmpte entry, in theory this means it's supposed to be able to accept an HDR signal. I hope that I'll be able to hook up my T95M box (which is HDR capable) this week to the M55 to see what it does when I try to play an HDR demo file. I don't think it means much, but it is interesting to see what happens.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15428 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 09:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Can anyone comment on how widespread the latest f/w 1.4.13 is, that came out in early December?
I'm still at 1.3.34 with an M60-C3.
mx5boffin is offline  
post #15429 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 10:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Spidacat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 336
I remember a handful of people getting 1.4.13 a few weeks ago, but it didn't seem like a big number. I was very late in getting the 1.3.34 (M70-C3), so it will probably be the same with the 1.4.13.
Spidacat is online now  
post #15430 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
I was among the last to get 1.3.34 but got 1.4.13 very quickly since someone mentioned it.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15431 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 10:53 AM
Member
 
eeee87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx5boffin View Post
Can anyone comment on how widespread the latest f/w 1.4.13 is, that came out in early December?
I'm still at 1.3.34 with an M60-C3.


the m60-c3 wont receive the firmware update.
eeee87 is offline  
post #15432 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 01:35 PM
Senior Member
 
cgpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Speaking of Firmware...

Quote:
Originally Posted by eeee87 View Post
the m60-c3 wont receive the firmware update.
...how about the M43-C1?

Space | The Media Room: 590 CUFT [10.5 L x 7.5 W x 7.5 H] | View Distance: 6' | Audyssey MultEQ | FiOS Gigabit Ethernet
Sound | 5.1.2 Atmos: Denon AVR-S920W | Pioneer A. Jones SP-BS22-LR/SP-C22/SP-T22A-LR | Polk OWM3 | Emotiva BasX S8
Vision | 4K OLED: LG C8 | LG UBK90 | Sony UBP-X800 | Apple TV 4K | Microsoft XB1S | FiOS Moto
cgpublic is offline  
post #15433 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
jcp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeee87 View Post
the m60-c3 wont receive the firmware update.
Source?
richlife likes this.
jcp2 is offline  
post #15434 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeee87 View Post
the m60-c3 wont receive the firmware update.
Sounds like FUD, unless you have a valid source.

Anyway, tried the HDR TV box connected to the TV.
In certain situations it seemed to work, but the blacks were just washed out, and no amount of tweaking could make it look good.
Sad to say, HDR does not work

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15435 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Freeze Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 422 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Over the last couple of days, I have had to keep putting in my wifi password. Anyone else experience this? It's annoying. Also, I watched the new Jim Gaffigan special called Cinco and it's in 4K and looks no better than 1080p to me. What gives?
Freeze Time is offline  
post #15436 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 05:16 PM
Member
 
chico_pr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
M55-C2 here. I'm on 1.4.13.

I'm a bit confused with the HDMI inputs, specially HDMI 5. I have dish and a Sony Blu-Ray player. Should I use HDMI 5 for any of them?
chico_pr is offline  
post #15437 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 05:20 PM
Member
 
chico_pr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
@chico_pr
This calibration was done with the C3, but I still think it looks pretty good. The gamma is very important, and a flat RGB (even though it's probably not at 6500K with the C3) is also important as you get a consistent image.
So you can try it, and you can always revert back to default or another calibration made by someone else.
I'm just VERY impressed by the native contrast of this panel. It's about 7000:1.
Thanks a lot!

I tried your most recent calibration and it looks great!
The Coolest likes this.
chico_pr is offline  
post #15438 of 16407 Old 01-16-2017, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by chico_pr View Post
M55-C2 here. I'm on 1.4.13.

I'm a bit confused with the HDMI inputs, specially HDMI 5. I have dish and a Sony Blu-Ray player. Should I use HDMI 5 for any of them?
HDMI5 is typically used if you want to connect as a computer monitor or if you have a 4K input device -- UHD BR player such as Samsung K8500 or OPPO 203. Also, currently Philips, Panasonic and Xbox One S. More to come this year. IOW, input from a 2160p device.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #15439 of 16407 Old 01-17-2017, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeee87 View Post
the m60-c3 wont receive the firmware update.
This suggests certain models need certain fixes/revisions. What could be lacking in 1.3.34, that appeared to be a fairly universal update across the range, that certain models ended up needing from 1.4? Would you identify those changes pls?

Are any other models not getting the update?

Finally, could folks here pls report in with their model number and f/w number. Let's do a little data gathering.
mx5boffin is offline  
post #15440 of 16407 Old 01-17-2017, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
jcp2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Just outside Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by mx5boffin View Post
This suggests certain models need certain fixes/revisions. What could be lacking in 1.3.34, that appeared to be a fairly universal update across the range, that certain models ended up needing from 1.4? Would you identify those changes pls?

Are any other models not getting the update?

Finally, could folks here pls report in with their model number and f/w number. Let's do a little data gathering.
M60 C3 - 1.3.34 here. Still waiting for the new one
jcp2 is offline  
post #15441 of 16407 Old 01-17-2017, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
oldsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Citrus Hts., CA
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcp2 View Post
m60 c3 - 1.3.34 here. Still waiting for the new one
m43-c1
1.3.34uhd

Main 4K Setup: LG OLED55E6P, Oppo UDP-203, Denon AVR X-4500H,AudioSource 2 channel amp, (4) Elac Debut 2.0 B6.2 bookshelf (1) Debut 2.0 C6.2 center channel speaker, (4) Monoprice Monolith 24" speaker stands, (4) Dayton Audio IO655B speaker, Hsu VTF-2 and VTF-3 subs, 10" Monolith THX sub, Roku Ultra, Amazon Fire TV4K, Dish Network Joey, Monoprice premium certified HDMI cables
oldsteve is online now  
post #15442 of 16407 Old 01-17-2017, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
"M55-C2 here. I'm on 1.4.13." Me too.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS
richlife is offline  
post #15443 of 16407 Old 01-17-2017, 06:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been following this thread since I bought my M60-C3 last March, and was thinking that there should be a firmware sticky...

From what I've seen, it's only been those with the M55 that have gotten the 1.4.13 FW.

As for the (unsubstantiated) comment that the M60 won't get it, the only reason I can think of is because of the different (120Hz) panel on the 60 and above sizes.
KiltedCaser is offline  
post #15444 of 16407 Old 01-18-2017, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
JudgeSmails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Does anyone have experience with an XBOX ONE S and how the 4k disks look on this set? I want a 4k disk player and the S seems best deal and looking for real world experience from those who have it running on the set via HDMI 5. Thanks!

Big Trouble in Little China - greatest film ever made

Gamertag: Team Banzai
JudgeSmails is offline  
post #15445 of 16407 Old 01-18-2017, 03:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmarkw View Post
Does this TV have the Fandango Now or M-GO app? I cant find it but supposedly we should have it?? tia
I don't have Fandango Now either on my M50-C1, I was planning on watching a movie I just rented. My 2015 E40-C2 has the Fandango Now app, it's weird the higher end model has less apps. Called Vizio, they would tell me anything, just that apps availability are subject to change.

Can anyone else confirm this, thanks.
reddv1 is offline  
post #15446 of 16407 Old 01-18-2017, 09:12 PM
Member
 
trespoochies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 39
M-Go is now Fandango Now. App on the Vizio's is only Fandango Now. I have it on mine, but hate the layout, so don't really use it.
trespoochies is offline  
post #15447 of 16407 Old 01-19-2017, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,399
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 140
My M80 still have 1.3.34 and I may has an issue with the screen. I'll post a pic or 23 later.

Seggers
agile likes this.

Sony XBR-85X900F, Oppo 203 UHD, Denon X6300H, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, Def Tech A60 Atmos tops, the internet and a Nvidia Shield. There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...

Last edited by seggers; 01-19-2017 at 05:28 AM. Reason: has, not have...
seggers is online now  
post #15448 of 16407 Old 01-19-2017, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
cgpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Hit Or Miss

Quote:
Originally Posted by JudgeSmails View Post
Does anyone have experience with an XBOX ONE S and how the 4k disks look on this set? I want a 4k disk player and the S seems best deal and looking for real world experience from those who have it running on the set via HDMI 5. Thanks!
I have a setup as listed in my sig, running everything including the XB1S (set to Bypass) thru the Denon via HDMI 5. The XB1S dash, streaming apps & games all look great in 4K; a few minor quirks here and there with 4K discs at release (I purchased at launch in August 2016), but the Blu-Ray app has received continual updates to improve stability and performance and will receive the Creator's Update to enable HD audio codecs in the Spring. Certain UHD titles are a bit dark due to HDR, and you may find some Blu versions of the same title superior in spite of less detail.
JudgeSmails likes this.

Space | The Media Room: 590 CUFT [10.5 L x 7.5 W x 7.5 H] | View Distance: 6' | Audyssey MultEQ | FiOS Gigabit Ethernet
Sound | 5.1.2 Atmos: Denon AVR-S920W | Pioneer A. Jones SP-BS22-LR/SP-C22/SP-T22A-LR | Polk OWM3 | Emotiva BasX S8
Vision | 4K OLED: LG C8 | LG UBK90 | Sony UBP-X800 | Apple TV 4K | Microsoft XB1S | FiOS Moto
cgpublic is offline  
post #15449 of 16407 Old 01-19-2017, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
What do you guys use to clean your screen? I've tried to use the microfiber cloth and distilled water but it still leaves behind marks, and made it look even worse. Anyone have any success stories? These matte screens are tricky...
dsamilton is offline  
post #15450 of 16407 Old 01-19-2017, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
richlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central NC
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 856 Post(s)
Liked: 1071
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsamilton View Post
What do you guys use to clean your screen? I've tried to use the microfiber cloth and distilled water but it still leaves behind marks, and made it look even worse. Anyone have any success stories? These matte screens are tricky...
First be sure you wipe off any dust with a "clingy" cloth. THEN use a CLEAN microfiber and distilled water. And don't try to do the whole screen at once. One full pass, then respray the top half or third and so on till done.
Ian N likes this.

Atmos/DTS:X HT in Vaulted Room -- LG OLED Settings Options
Yamaha RX-A3060: 7.2.4 or 7.2.2 + Zone2 (switchable); OPPO 203; LG OLED65B6P; Harmony 650 & Home Hub
Base: Mirage OM-6 (FLR), MC-si (C), OM-R2 (SLR), FRx-nine (BLR)
Presence: ELAC A4s (FP), RSL C34Es (RP); 2 aci Titan subs; RP amp: AudioSource AMP100VS

Last edited by richlife; 01-20-2017 at 07:50 AM.
richlife is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off