Official 2015 Vizio 4K UHD M Series Thread - Page 519 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11319Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15541 of 16407 Old 02-15-2017, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skid71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
M75 owner
I have struggled to get colors as good as my old Pioneer plasma.
I plan on a factory reset and running an HDMI cable straight to the M75.
I would like to compare some 4K content to the content we get through Comcast on our TiVo Roamio Pro.

A couple of questions.
Can anyone suggest a few series/movies in 4K on Netflix and/or Amazon?
Does the M75 have to be on any particular input to use the built in Vizio Netflix app and to get Dolby Plus through ARC?

Many thanks,
Jeff

BOTJ Member... Onk 705 FW 1.06
Skid71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15542 of 16407 Old 02-15-2017, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
MattNelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid71 View Post
M75 owner
I have struggled to get colors as good as my old Pioneer plasma.
I plan on a factory reset and running an HDMI cable straight to the M75.
I would like to compare some 4K content to the content we get through Comcast on our TiVo Roamio Pro.

A couple of questions.
Can anyone suggest a few series/movies in 4K on Netflix and/or Amazon?
Does the M75 have to be on any particular input to use the built in Vizio Netflix app and to get Dolby Plus through ARC?

Many thanks,
Jeff
Amazon: Man in the High Castle, Netflix: Marco Polo, Bloodline
ARC return needs to be on HDMI 1.
Skid71 likes this.

Vizio M70-C3, Pioneer VSX-1023 AVR
PS4, Roku Ultra, Apple TV 3, TViX HD N1, Synology DS411 NAS w/12TB
Infinity TSS-1100/4000 Speakers, Yamaha YST-SW300 Sub
MattNelson is offline  
post #15543 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
jhixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Question

My 70" just updated to ver. 1.4.23. Anyone have any idea what this is? My 60" did not update.
jhixson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15544 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 02:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
@jhixson
Sounds like a new firmware again. Was it on 1.4.13 or 1.3.15/34 before the update?

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15545 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 03:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jhixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
It was 1.3.? Haven't had an update in a very long time and really wasn't expecting one.
jhixson is offline  
post #15546 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
cgpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 178
4K HDR Discs

While I'm aware that several 4K disc players are implementing a HDR > SDR conversation feature, it would nice if such a feature would be implemented in a Vizio FW update. For example, the new Arrival 4K disc has been mastered darker than the 1080p disc to account for HDR; without HDR on a 4K set, the picture is simply darker.

Even for HDR capable sets, some users may prefer to watch a film without HDR.

Space | The Media Room: 590 CUFT [10.5 L x 7.5 W x 7.5 H] | View Distance: 6' | Audyssey MultEQ | FiOS Gigabit Ethernet
Sound | 5.1.2 Atmos: Denon AVR-S920W | Pioneer A. Jones SP-BS22-LR/SP-C22/SP-T22A-LR | Polk OWM3 | Emotiva BasX S8
Vision | 4K OLED: LG C8 | LG UBK90 | Sony UBP-X800 | Apple TV 4K | Microsoft XB1S | FiOS Moto
cgpublic is offline  
post #15547 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
On the new Vizio displays that support HDR you can't turn it off, or enable "HDR -> SDR", so that point is moot.
I do believe that these displays could in theory support an HDR signal. I think that the 2015 M series are still very capable, and are probably not much worse, if at all than the new M series. At least panel performance wise.
jedurocher likes this.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15548 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
cgpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Just An Idea

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
On the new Vizio displays that support HDR you can't turn it off, or enable "HDR -> SDR", so that point is moot.
That's what I assumed, however, why can't Vizio provide that feature for the 2016+ models and the 2015 models via firmware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
I do believe that these displays could in theory support an HDR signal. I think that the 2015 M series are still very capable, and are probably not much worse, if at all than the new M series. At least panel performance wise.
You may be right, and if by accepting the signal would alleviate/moderate the display of a UHD HDR disc/content for the non-HDR Vizio models, that would be great.

Space | The Media Room: 590 CUFT [10.5 L x 7.5 W x 7.5 H] | View Distance: 6' | Audyssey MultEQ | FiOS Gigabit Ethernet
Sound | 5.1.2 Atmos: Denon AVR-S920W | Pioneer A. Jones SP-BS22-LR/SP-C22/SP-T22A-LR | Polk OWM3 | Emotiva BasX S8
Vision | 4K OLED: LG C8 | LG UBK90 | Sony UBP-X800 | Apple TV 4K | Microsoft XB1S | FiOS Moto
cgpublic is offline  
post #15549 of 16407 Old 02-16-2017, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
These TVs don't have a true HDMI 2.0 port, if you don't take HDMI 5 into account, which bypasses most of the processing to get low input lag times.
So maybe that is part of the reason they're not implementing HDR support. I think that the main reason is to avoid cannibalizing their new product line sales, though.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15550 of 16407 Old 02-17-2017, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey, guys. I stumbled across this forum while looking for a solution to my problem with my Vizio M55-C2 4K smart tv. My screen is showing some dark areas, the most prominent one being in the middle. I just read that this was a known problem with two previous Vizio models and they actually ended up extending customers' warranties to 24 months because of it. I realize my tv is a completely different model, but this was the closest thing I could find to the problem I'm having. I've contacted Vizio and they said there is nothing they can do because it is out of warranty. How screwed am I? Are there any fixes I can try?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6273_zpswtiq7kxr.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	1975713  
Tom Bravo is offline  
post #15551 of 16407 Old 02-18-2017, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skid71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was trying to track down a post with settings for different panel sizes. I have the M75 and was interested in settings for that specific size. Does anyone know if that exists?

BOTJ Member... Onk 705 FW 1.06
Skid71 is offline  
post #15552 of 16407 Old 02-18-2017, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
videoguy60467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Bravo View Post
Hey, guys. I stumbled across this forum while looking for a solution to my problem with my Vizio M55-C2 4K smart tv. My screen is showing some dark areas, the most prominent one being in the middle. I just read that this was a known problem with two previous Vizio models and they actually ended up extending customers' warranties to 24 months because of it. I realize my tv is a completely different model, but this was the closest thing I could find to the problem I'm having. I've contacted Vizio and they said there is nothing they can do because it is out of warranty. How screwed am I? Are there any fixes I can try?
This may be a long shot, but worth a try.
Get a micro fiber cloth, and massage the screen. Be firm, but not crazy with the pressure. It's a good idea to go over the entire screen, but you will want to concentrate on the area with the deformation.

This is a technique that is used to help clear up Dirty Screen Effect. (DSE).
It may or may not help.
videoguy60467 is offline  
post #15553 of 16407 Old 02-18-2017, 07:27 PM
Member
 
johnbrooke26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid71 View Post
I was trying to track down a post with settings for different panel sizes. I have the M75 and was interested in settings for that specific size. Does anyone know if that exists?
This might help: 2015 Vizio M-series Calibration Settings Summary spreadsheet
Skid71 likes this.

Sony XBR-##X900E Picture Settings Summary spreadsheet
Vizio 2015 M-series Picture Settings Summary spreadsheet
Sony XBR-65X900E | Vizio M65-C1 | Yamaha TSR-7790BL AVR | DirecTV HR54-700 Genie | DirecTV C61K-700 4K Genie Minis | Roku Streaming Stick+ | XBox One Elite | AppleTV Gen 3 | Panasonic Blu-ray
johnbrooke26 is offline  
post #15554 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 12:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I have a dish Joey 4K and was trying to watch the 4K version of Planet Earth II last night. I couldn't get it to display higher than 1080i @ input 4 and input 1. Any ideas why this is. It should display with the settings I have on the Joey?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #15555 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggsantafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Solar Powered in the Land of Enchantment
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
I have a dish Joey 4K and was trying to watch the 4K version of Planet Earth II last night. I couldn't get it to display higher than 1080i @ input 4 and input 1. Any ideas why this is. It should display with the settings I have on the Joey?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I was playing around with my M-60 settings yesterday. I have DirecTV, not Dish, however I noticed that when I switched the M-60 input from HDMI 5 to HDMI 2 the 4k content that was previously available on DirecTV's 4K channels, including 104 that is airing the Planet Earth II series, was no longer available in 4K - just 1080p. So you may want to try the HDMI 5 input and see if that produces better results.
jedurocher likes this.

ggsantafe is offline  
post #15556 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 12:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Because the 2015 M series can only take a [email protected] signal on HDMI 5.
jedurocher likes this.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15557 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 12:44 PM
Member
 
chesster51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
Because the 2015 M series can only take a [email protected] signal on HDMI 5.
So, I'm using hdmi 1 due to the arc feature for audio while streaming, but if I want to watch something [email protected] I have to unplug the cable and move it to hdmi5?
chesster51 is offline  
post #15558 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Yes. Some receivers also have 2 HDMI outputs, in such case you can have two cables going to the TV. One to HDMI 1 for ARC and another to HDMI 5 for [email protected]

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15559 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skid71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ARC & TiVo

I'm having a tough time getting my aging mind wrapped around ARC.
Attempting to get audio from Vizio native Netflix app sent through my AVR/speakers instead of built-in Vizio speaker.
Setup:
TiVo Roamio Pro HDMI out > AVR HDMI in
XBox 360 HDMI out > AVR HDMI in
Bluray player HDMI out > AVR HDMI in
AVR HDMI out > M75 HDMI 1

I can only get audio from M75 native Netflix through TV speakers.
I'm sure this is complete user error.

Can anyone chime in on this, maybe point me to a solution?
Appreciate it,
Skid

BOTJ Member... Onk 705 FW 1.06
Skid71 is offline  
post #15560 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggsantafe View Post
I was playing around with my M-60 settings yesterday. I have DirecTV, not Dish, however I noticed that when I switched the M-60 input from HDMI 5 to HDMI 2 the 4k content that was previously available on DirecTV's 4K channels, including 104 that is airing the Planet Earth II series, was no longer available in 4K - just 1080p. So you may want to try the HDMI 5 input and see if that produces better results.


The ultimate dilemma for a gamer: sacrifice input lag for random 4K events.

If that is the case, and with lack of 4K content right now, I may downgrade to a Joey 2.0 to save the money.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #15561 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 01:40 PM
Senior Member
 
jhixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I run an optical out back to the receiver and it seems to work fine.
jhixson is offline  
post #15562 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
Because the 2015 M series can only take a [email protected] signal on HDMI 5.


Interestingly enough, I have my hopper 3 on my 2016 M series plugged into HDMI 2 without issues, so it looks like whatever is being sent isn't more than 8 bit.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #15563 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skid71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhixson View Post
I run an optical out back to the receiver and it seems to work fine.
Was this a reply to my question?
If so, are you saying to run an optical cable from the M75 optical out to an optical in on the AVR?

Skid

BOTJ Member... Onk 705 FW 1.06
Skid71 is offline  
post #15564 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
jhixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid71 View Post
Was this a reply to my question?
If so, are you saying to run an optical cable from the M75 optical out to an optical in on the AVR?

Skid
Yes. I use the optical cable and get Dolby Digital Surround and it works fine. I do this on a M70 and an M60.
Skid71 likes this.
jhixson is offline  
post #15565 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
The 2016 M series will accept a [email protected] on any HDMI port. 2-4 only at 4:2:0, but that's fine for video, and that's probably why it works for you.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
post #15566 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 02:55 PM
VBB
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VBB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 2,245
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skid71 View Post
I'm having a tough time getting my aging mind wrapped around ARC.
Attempting to get audio from Vizio native Netflix app sent through my AVR/speakers instead of built-in Vizio speaker.
Setup:
TiVo Roamio Pro HDMI out > AVR HDMI in
XBox 360 HDMI out > AVR HDMI in
Bluray player HDMI out > AVR HDMI in
AVR HDMI out > M75 HDMI 1

I can only get audio from M75 native Netflix through TV speakers.
I'm sure this is complete user error.

Can anyone chime in on this, maybe point me to a solution?
Appreciate it,
Skid
Your connections are correct, but does your AVR support ARC? Is ARC and/or CEC turned on in the TV's settings and in the receiver? If you still have the Onkyo 705 (going by your sig), you're out of luck, because that's an HDMI 1.3a compatible AVR, and ARC was introduced with HDMI 1.4. In that case, use an optical cable.
Skid71 likes this.

Henry

LG OLED65C7P | VIZIO M70-C3 | Denon AVR-X3500H | Elac Uni-Fi | Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3030
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 | LAV Filters | madVR | MPC-HC | Plex | X-Rite i1Display Pro | DisplayCAL | HCFR
VBB is offline  
post #15567 of 16407 Old 02-19-2017, 03:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skid71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: KC
Posts: 527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by VBB View Post
Your connections are correct, but does your AVR support ARC? Is ARC and/or CEC turned on in the TV's settings and in the receiver? If you still have the Onkyo 705 (going by your sig), you're out of luck, because that's an HDMI 1.3a compatible AVR, and ARC was introduced with HDMI 1.4. In that case, use an optical cable.
VBB,
Yeah, still using the Onkyo 705. Guess I'll just run an optical cable for native apps on the M75. Picture quality appears superior to the apps on the TiVo. Another reason to upgrade my receiver later this year.

Really appreciate the help.
Skid

BOTJ Member... Onk 705 FW 1.06
Skid71 is offline  
post #15568 of 16407 Old 02-20-2017, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
The 2016 M series will accept a [email protected] on any HDMI port. 2-4 only at 4:2:0, but that's fine for video, and that's probably why it works for you.
I do find it rather funny that we keep tripping over each other in this and the 2016 M thread. Thanks for all your insight on both.

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
post #15569 of 16407 Old 02-20-2017, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
cgpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Devices > AVR > Vizio HDMI 5 & HDR Processing

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Coolest View Post
These TVs don't have a true HDMI 2.0 port, if you don't take HDMI 5 into account, which bypasses most of the processing to get low input lag times.
So maybe that is part of the reason they're not implementing HDR support. I think that the main reason is to avoid cannibalizing their new product line sales, though.
Yes, since I connect my devices (ATV4, Sony Blu, MS XB1S) into the Denon AVR (Bypass) connected to the Vizio HDMI 5, I'm unclear how the Vizio processes UHD HDR video from a disc input from a XB1S/any 4K disc player. Does the Vizio strip the HDR information because it is 8-bit/not HDR capable, or simply receives the video data and processes it as if the set/panel were 10-bit/supported HDR.

If Vizio manufactured 4k sets without HDR and then failed to account for the scenario that owners would play 4K discs with HDR, which the set is certainly capable of, but did not account for how video w/HDR would be processed and how it would appear on a non-HDR set such as the 2015 M, that is a major oversight on their behalf. The question of processing should not have been left to the 4K disc player providing the data, i.e., it's not a feature, it's a requirement. That said, it is understandable that the sets shipped that way, but certainly should be rectified via a FW update and not rely on the disc players, which have to account for hundreds of potential set scenarios.

Space | The Media Room: 590 CUFT [10.5 L x 7.5 W x 7.5 H] | View Distance: 6' | Audyssey MultEQ | FiOS Gigabit Ethernet
Sound | 5.1.2 Atmos: Denon AVR-S920W | Pioneer A. Jones SP-BS22-LR/SP-C22/SP-T22A-LR | Polk OWM3 | Emotiva BasX S8
Vision | 4K OLED: LG C8 | LG UBK90 | Sony UBP-X800 | Apple TV 4K | Microsoft XB1S | FiOS Moto
cgpublic is offline  
post #15570 of 16407 Old 02-20-2017, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1137 Post(s)
Liked: 982
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
I do find it rather funny that we keep tripping over each other in this and the 2016 M thread. Thanks for all your insight on both.
Well I have both, so yeah

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgpublic View Post
Yes, since I connect my devices (ATV4, Sony Blu, MS XB1S) into the Denon AVR (Bypass) connected to the Vizio HDMI 5, I'm unclear how the Vizio processes UHD HDR video from a disc input from a XB1S/any 4K disc player. Does the Vizio strip the HDR information because it is 8-bit/not HDR capable, or simply receives the video data and processes it as if the set/panel were 10-bit/supported HDR.

If Vizio manufactured 4k sets without HDR and then failed to account for the scenario that owners would play 4K discs with HDR, which the set is certainly capable of, but did not account for how video w/HDR would be processed and how it would appear on a non-HDR set such as the 2015 M, that is a major oversight on their behalf. The question of processing should not have been left to the 4K disc player providing the data, i.e., it's not a feature, it's a requirement. That said, it is understandable that the sets shipped that way, but certainly should be rectified via a FW update and not rely on the disc players, which have to account for hundreds of potential set scenarios.
When the 2015 series came out Vizio didn't have any HDR10 compatible TVs. Even the new P and M series got HDR10 over HDMI support about 6 months ago, several months after it was launched. HDMI5 is a port that goes through the least amount of processing possible to reduce input lag to a minimum. So even if Vizio added HDR10 support to these sets in a future update, I doubt they'd be able to support it over HDMI5. Even their 2016 M & P series don't support HDR10 over the HDMI5 port.
I understand why as an owner you'd want the capability of mapping down an HDR signal down to SDR, but I don't think that's a very good idea, and it's probably a lot more difficult to achieve than to implement proper HDR10 support in the set. Have you seen any TV or display do that? I haven't, as there's no point. The set doesn't support HDR, and most likely never will.

LG 65B7 | T95N with CoreELEC | Vizio SB3851-D0 | Calibration + Settings (TBD)
Vizio M60-D1 | T95M with LibreELEC | Calibration + Settings
Dell UP2516D | Le Potato with CoreELEC (Development/testing platform)
Vizio M55-C2 (Ex) | Calibration + Settings
The Coolest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off