samsung JU7100 - Page 192 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4825Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5731 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 07:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2189 View Post
I don't want to buy a blu ray player just for that. Any other solutions? I don't have Amazon prime either. Does Amazon have the best movies? Or is Netflix or Hulu better? Sorry to get a little off topic.
Netflix > Amazon > Hulu in my opinion.
ml2517 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5732 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 10:25 AM
ETA
Member
 
ETA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2189 View Post
I don't want to buy a blu ray player just for that. Any other solutions? I don't have Amazon prime either. Does Amazon have the best movies? Or is Netflix or Hulu better? Sorry to get a little off topic.
Interstellar is now available on HBO so that's another option (get HBO Now).

There are also literally over a dozen ways to get a digital download version of Interstellar (and presumably Project Almanac): http://hd-report.com/2015/03/18/inte...-where-to-buy/

But, ya, this is waay off-topic for this thread...
ETA is offline  
post #5733 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just picked up the JU7100 60" - picture is great. I got the MH01 panel. Having two issues with the panel, wanted to put out for thoughts before contacting manufacturer.

First is that while watching TV from HDMI cable hookup (Comcast), the sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly and occurs about once an hour or so. Anyone else experience that?

Second, I notice on the display that when the screen is all white, there are black/gray "clouds" in the four corners of the display, about 2-3 inches in area. Is this normal?

Thank you!
abross770 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5734 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by abross770 View Post
I just picked up the JU7100 60" - picture is great. I got the MH01 panel. Having two issues with the panel, wanted to put out for thoughts before contacting manufacturer.

First is that while watching TV from HDMI cable hookup (Comcast), the sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly and occurs about once an hour or so. Anyone else experience that?

Second, I notice on the display that when the screen is all white, there are black/gray "clouds" in the four corners of the display, about 2-3 inches in area. Is this normal?

Thank you!
The small slightly darker corners is normal from what I've heard and experienced (both my 65" and 75" have it). The sound issue sounds odd, not sure about that one (assuming you are using the built in TV speakers yeah?).
ml2517 is offline  
post #5735 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 12:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
The small slightly darker corners is normal from what I've heard and experienced (both my 65" and 75" have it). The sound issue sounds odd, not sure about that one (assuming you are using the built in TV speakers yeah?).
Thanks ml2517.

Yes, the audio is from the TV speakers - haven't hooked up a soundbar yet (one expensive purchase at a time). I saw online that it could be faulty HDMI hookup, but I'm using the same cable box and HDMI cable as previous TV, which had no audio issue. Very strange...
abross770 is offline  
post #5736 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETA View Post
Great -- it's sitting in my Amazon cart and my finger is hovering over the Purchase button .
That remote I ordered from Amazon works great on the JU7100. I just tested a bunch of functions and everything is working great. The remote has a back light button but is not one that automatically turns on the light after you press any random button.
ml2517 is offline  
post #5737 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 01:48 PM
ETA
Member
 
ETA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETA View Post
Great -- it's sitting in my Amazon cart and my finger is hovering over the Purchase button .
That remote I ordered from Amazon works great on the JU7100. I just tested a bunch of functions and everything is working great. The remote has a back light button but is not one that automatically turns on the light after you press any random button.
Woot - just ordered mine!
ETA is offline  
post #5738 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETA View Post
Woot - just ordered mine!
Actually, I take that back about the back light. If you turn on the back light and let it just shut off by itself it toggles the "press any button" to turn on the back light mode.
ml2517 is offline  
post #5739 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 02:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm getting the same thing as abross770. The sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly also. I've got my 55ju7100 hooked up to my 5.1 surround sound. It's more annoying than anything else. It almost seems like it's buffering the sound/
cman5 is offline  
post #5740 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Patrick613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When do you guys think the prices will drop on the 7100/7500 sets? I am in the market for a 55" to replace a 50 in plasma for the bedroom, and am so impressed with my 65" 7100 that I want to get another. Right now a 55" 7500 is $1599. Do you guys think that they'll stay up there for the foreseeable future?
Patrick613 is offline  
post #5741 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Where to buy the ju7100? Want to see it in person before I get it?
mikes1510 is offline  
post #5742 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 04:14 PM
Senior Member
 
jmill79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick613 View Post
When do you guys think the prices will drop on the 7100/7500 sets? I am in the market for a 55" to replace a 50 in plasma for the bedroom, and am so impressed with my 65" 7100 that I want to get another. Right now a 55" 7500 is $1599. Do you guys think that they'll stay up there for the foreseeable future?
Were you asleep over Black Friday? The 7100's were heavily discounted. Ive already got my info in for Discover's price protection.

_______________________________

PSN and LIVE gt: Jmill79
jmill79 is offline  
post #5743 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 4
My god what a gorgeous tv. Got it cheap got the boxing day price and 5 year warranty for 1700 CAD.

I have the hu7250 but had a house fire so have to get all new stuff. This tv is great here is a review for by people who know what they are talking about.

http://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sam...7100?uxtv=3dea

Like I said AMAZING TV FOR THE PRICE.
lordcooler is offline  
post #5744 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Update tv does suffer from

motion blur. That's the down side to all led tvs. Not as bad as my hu7150. Maybe a OCB a year from now will fix it.

But the future really is OLED tvs.
lordcooler is offline  
post #5745 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by abross770 View Post
I just picked up the JU7100 60" - picture is great. I got the MH01 panel. Having two issues with the panel, wanted to put out for thoughts before contacting manufacturer.

First is that while watching TV from HDMI cable hookup (Comcast), the sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly and occurs about once an hour or so. Anyone else experience that?

Second, I notice on the display that when the screen is all white, there are black/gray "clouds" in the four corners of the display, about 2-3 inches in area. Is this normal?

Thank you!


You need to massage the white bloches out. Happens to alot of samsung 4k tv screens. Use a soft cloth and rub up and down and sideways right on the white bloches. They are from the scene layer separating.

Best to do when it's hot in the house like in the summer have to use a fair amount of pressure when doing it also and do it once daily for like a week.
lordcooler is offline  
post #5746 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
dja2189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just wanted to let you know I've checked HBO on demand, HBO GO and HBO Now and they all don't have Interstaller
dja2189 is offline  
post #5747 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
dja2189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETA View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2189 View Post
I don't want to buy a blu ray player just for that. Any other solutions? I don't have Amazon prime either. Does Amazon have the best movies? Or is Netflix or Hulu better? Sorry to get a little off topic.
Interstellar is now available on HBO so that's another option (get HBO Now).

There are also literally over a dozen ways to get a digital download version of Interstellar (and presumably Project Almanac): http://hd-report.com/2015/03/18/inte...-where-to-buy/

But, ya, this is waay off-topic for this thread...
Just wanted to let you know I've checked HBO on demand, HBO GO and HBO Now and they all don't have Interstaller
dja2189 is offline  
post #5748 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by abross770 View Post
Thanks ml2517.

Yes, the audio is from the TV speakers - haven't hooked up a soundbar yet (one expensive purchase at a time). I saw online that it could be faulty HDMI hookup, but I'm using the same cable box and HDMI cable as previous TV, which had no audio issue. Very strange...
Quote:
Originally Posted by cman5 View Post
I'm getting the same thing as abross770. The sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly also. I've got my 55ju7100 hooked up to my 5.1 surround sound. It's more annoying than anything else. It almost seems like it's buffering the sound/
In Sound, Additional Settings, try the HDMI audio format PCM instead of bitstream. Secondarily I also am using RF instead of line out. I *Think* that has fixed it for me. I realized I was not getting sound drop outs via Component only HDMI so I changed the HDMI setting.

Last edited by tampa8; 12-21-2015 at 08:19 PM.
tampa8 is offline  
post #5749 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 08:33 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcooler View Post
You need to massage the white bloches out. Happens to alot of samsung 4k tv screens. Use a soft cloth and rub up and down and sideways right on the white bloches. They are from the scene layer separating.

Best to do when it's hot in the house like in the summer have to use a fair amount of pressure when doing it also and do it once daily for like a week.
Hey lordcooler, where in Canada did you get that price for the TV?
ds12345 is offline  
post #5750 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ds12345 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcooler View Post
You need to massage the white bloches out. Happens to alot of samsung 4k tv screens. Use a soft cloth and rub up and down and sideways right on the white bloches. They are from the scene layer separating.

Best to do when it's hot in the house like in the summer have to use a fair amount of pressure when doing it also and do it once daily for like a week.
Hey lordcooler, where in Canada did you get that price for the TV?

Visions electronics. Ask for the boxing day price it's. 1388.00
lordcooler is offline  
post #5751 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 09:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
So my 60" JU7100 finally came in today, (ordered black Friday from Samsung) MH01 Panel as we know.

I'm curious if someone could help me out with a few things.

What do people do to produce all white / black etc images in order to check for DSE and backlight issues? I'm also noticing the top two corners look rather dark, but haven't done any calibration of any sort yet.

All I've done so far tonight is try and play a few 4K Netflix nature mini-docs, and I'm curious if there's any way to bring up a display of what current resolution is playing? It sure looks like 4k, but I'm just curious if it's actually pulling the 4k image over my Wifi.
Tonezorz is offline  
post #5752 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 09:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by abross770 View Post

First is that while watching TV from HDMI cable hookup (Comcast), the sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly and occurs about once an hour or so. Anyone else experience that?

Thank you!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cman5 View Post
I'm getting the same thing as abross770. The sound will randomly cutout for half a second and then return to normal - it does this randomly also. I've got my 55ju7100 hooked up to my 5.1 surround sound. It's more annoying than anything else. It almost seems like it's buffering the sound/
My 65 does the same thing. Mine is set up through a soundbar so the TV is set to an external speaker I believe. I'm not sure if it does it with the TV speaker.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Colin779 is offline  
post #5753 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonezorz View Post
.

All I've done so far tonight is try and play a few 4K Netflix nature mini-docs, and I'm curious if there's any way to bring up a display of what current resolution is playing? It sure looks like 4k, but I'm just curious if it's actually pulling the 4k image over my Wifi.
You have to go into settings on the TV YouTube app and turn on show video info. It's a little lame though because you have to do that every time you use the app.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Colin779 is offline  
post #5754 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 11:22 PM
Member
 
btman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcooler View Post
Visions electronics. Ask for the boxing day price it's. 1388.00
Is that in their flyer or advertised anywhere? I got my 60" as a demo from Best Buy for around that price just 2 weeks ago, I'm happy with it and probably won't return it but I need proof if I'm to go back and be like hey so I can get a new one for cheaper. All I see in their boxing day flyer is lower end models for a higher price than 1388.

Like I'm wondering if I got ripped off or if you got a hotter deal then what it actually was supposed to be (maybe noob associate?) because that's a better price then the Samsung 60" 4k on the front page of the Visions boxing day flyer. ($1498 for a UN60JU6390)

Don't see the 65" in the flyer either curious what that was priced at.

Last edited by btman; 12-21-2015 at 11:29 PM.
btman is offline  
post #5755 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by btman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcooler View Post
Visions electronics. Ask for the boxing day price it's. 1388.00
Is that in their flyer or advertised anywhere? I got my 60" as a demo from Best Buy for around that price just 2 weeks ago, I'm happy with it and probably won't return it but I need proof if I'm to go back and be like hey so I can get a new one for cheaper. All I see in their boxing day flyer is lower end models for a higher price than 1388.

Like I'm wondering if I got ripped off or if you got a hotter deal then what it actually was supposed to be (maybe noob associate?) because that's a better price then the Samsung 60" 4k on the front page of the Visions boxing day flyer. ($1498 for a UN60JU6390)

Don't see the 65" in the flyer either curious what that was priced at.

This price will not be posted till boxing day i belive. this is for the 55inch BTW the regular price is 1588.00

They gave me the boxing day price now so I didn't come back and bug them in 4 days.
lordcooler is offline  
post #5756 of 10368 Old 12-21-2015, 11:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by btman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcooler View Post
Visions electronics. Ask for the boxing day price it's. 1388.00
Is that in their flyer or advertised anywhere? I got my 60" as a demo from Best Buy for around that price just 2 weeks ago, I'm happy with it and probably won't return it but I need proof if I'm to go back and be like hey so I can get a new one for cheaper. All I see in their boxing day flyer is lower end models for a higher price than 1388.

Like I'm wondering if I got ripped off or if you got a hotter deal then what it actually was supposed to be (maybe noob associate?) because that's a better price then the Samsung 60" 4k on the front page of the Visions boxing day flyer. ($1498 for a UN60JU6390)

Don't see the 65" in the flyer either curious what that was priced at.

Also you should check out bestbuy boxing week flyer on red tag deals.ca your tv might even be cheaper then mine.
lordcooler is offline  
post #5757 of 10368 Old 12-22-2015, 02:05 AM
Member
 
btman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordcooler View Post
Also you should check out bestbuy boxing week flyer on red tag deals.ca your tv might even be cheaper then mine.
Oh thank goodness you got the 55" I read someone else's post about the 60" with MH-01 and thought it was yours too lol. I got the 60" 7100 which BestBuy has discontinued, they only stock the 65" version and larger now so I got a great deal on the demo. So I didn't want to have to go back and ask for more money off after already negotiating lol. I'll keep an eye on boxing day deals to see how low the 65" goes for but I doubt it'll drop under 2 grand with warranty, tax and delivery included.
btman is offline  
post #5758 of 10368 Old 12-22-2015, 06:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
In Sound, Additional Settings, try the HDMI audio format PCM instead of bitstream. Secondarily I also am using RF instead of line out. I *Think* that has fixed it for me. I realized I was not getting sound drop outs via Component only HDMI so I changed the HDMI setting.
thanks tampa8

I'll try that tonight when I get home. I'm just wondering thought if switching to PCM will adversely effect my 5.1 surround sound capabilities?
cman5 is offline  
post #5759 of 10368 Old 12-22-2015, 06:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Tampa8

I'll try that tonight when I get home. I was just wondering though if switching to PCM will adversely effect the 5.1 surround sound setting abilities. I remember reading somewhere that the only way to get all the surround sound capabilities was with the bitstream setting on?
cman5 is offline  
post #5760 of 10368 Old 12-22-2015, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ishniknork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazydarealbiz View Post
Yes, the one I linked to works great.

I think any of the official Samsung IR remotes on amazon labelled "Smart TV" will likely work.

I have another old Smart TV remote with a Yahoo button that doesn't link to anything, but the Smart-Apps, Menu, and all the other keys work.
Yesterday I ordered the remote you linked to, thanks for verifying it works. I should get it by Christmas Eve.
crazydarealbiz likes this.

Ishniknork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off