samsung JU7100 - Page 279 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4824Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8341 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
You could set the 7100's MAC address in as a static ip in your router. MAC address is located under MENU/SUPPORT/CONTACT SAMSUNG and scroll down. Then, go to MENU/NETWORK/NETWORK STATUS and set your new static ip, subnet, gateway ip and your DNS on the 7100 to 8.8.8.8

See if that helps.
Good point, also ensure that any sort of QoS setting that is applying to your TV (if there are any) is set to allow it free reign for bandwidth. To troubleshoot you could also set the TV's MAC addresses (both the wired and wireless) in the router to put those devices out in the DMZ. If it makes no difference you should reverse it.
wildgator25 likes this.
ml2517 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8342 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 06:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Hate to sound like a party-pooper but...

Passing those Netflix 10-bit tests is not proof that the JU7100 has a native 10-bit panel.

An 8-bit panel with FRC (temporal dithering) can also pass those 10-bit tests.


Yes, I've read the debate before. As far as I'm concerned as long as it is processing/understands 10 bit signals it is good enough for me whether it is true or pseudo output on the screen itself.
tampa8 likes this.
ml2517 is offline  
post #8343 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 11:47 AM
Newbie
 
bre30127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
Good point, also ensure that any sort of QoS setting that is applying to your TV (if there are any) is set to allow it free reign for bandwidth. To troubleshoot you could also set the TV's MAC addresses (both the wired and wireless) in the router to put those devices out in the DMZ. If it makes no difference you should reverse it.
Thanks for all the info... I guess I don't know enough about IPs and what not to make all this work. Started messing with some stuff I shouldn't have and almost couldn't get it back to working order.

For one, I changed the settings from a wireless computer and then couldn't connect to the router in order to change it back. Luckily, my xbox was still wired in so I had to go into the router through that and finally got everything working again.

bre30127 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8344 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Netflix supports both HDR10 and DV.


Richard
Thanks Richard. I was under the impression that Netflix HDR was just DV. Good to know

Dan
King Richard likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #8345 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggggant View Post
No problem with my xbox one s and my 65" 7100
Yes, I am new to this forum, and have been searching all over the internet for help with this. This forum seems to be the only place talking about this in depth.

I recently purchased a 4k tv (a Samsung 50 inch, model :un50ju7100fxza), and I have installed all of the new firmware (the version is 1460). I seem to be getting alot of contradictory information. I thought the new update enabled HDR.

I bought an Xbox One S today, and was under the impression that I would be able to play games not only in 4K resolution (well atleast upscale), but also thought that my TV would be able to support HDR 10 (I know no games support it as of yet). However, as you can see in the attached screenshot, I am having some issues.


I am new to 4K technology, so I may be doing something completely correct here. Can anyone help me?

I appreciate your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xbox one s image.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	1588313  
Fearless Yank is offline  
post #8346 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 07:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3983 Post(s)
Liked: 3140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearless Yank View Post
Yes, I am new to this forum, and have been searching all over the internet for help with this. This forum seems to be the only place talking about this in depth.

I recently purchased a 4k tv (a Samsung 50 inch, model :un50ju7100fxza), and I have installed all of the new firmware (the version is 1460). I seem to be getting alot of contradictory information. I thought the new update enabled HDR.

I bought an Xbox One S today, and was under the impression that I would be able to play games not only in 4K resolution (well atleast upscale), but also thought that my TV would be able to support HDR 10 (I know no games support it as of yet). However, as you can see in the attached screenshot, I am having some issues.


I am new to 4K technology, so I may be doing something completely correct here. Can anyone help me?

I appreciate your help.
Did you turn the Picture Options HDMI UHD Color Input selection to On for your 4K input?
King Richard likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #8347 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Did you turn the Picture Options HDMI UHD Color Input selection to On for your 4K input?

That appears to have worked (picture attached).

I appreciate the prompt response. So was I right in my thinking that the new firmware update enabled this tv to use HDR 10? It's pretty hard to find specific information on the web about it.

Is there anything else I need to know? As stated previously, I am new to 4k technology, so I want to learn what I can.

Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	xbox one s image 2.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	1588329  
Fearless Yank is offline  
post #8348 of 10356 Old 08-06-2016, 09:46 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 4366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fearless Yank View Post
...was I right in my thinking that the new firmware update enabled this tv to use HDR 10?

No, the update to the HDMI ports (adding an "a" to the 2.0 spec.) happen in Sept./Oct. of last year.

This enabled the TV to be able to receive and decode HDR10 metadata from an HDMI source.


Richard

Last edited by King Richard; 08-07-2016 at 02:05 AM.
King Richard is offline  
post #8349 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 01:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Can someone with a xbox one s tell me how the netflix HDR is working on his TV? If you can tell the difference and it looks great I'm ordering the xbox tommorow. If it's not worth it I'll keep the normal one.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8350 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 06:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3983 Post(s)
Liked: 3140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
Can someone with a xbox one s tell me how the netflix HDR is working on his TV? If you can tell the difference and it looks great I'm ordering the xbox tommorow. If it's not worth it I'll keep the normal one.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Check Audio Specs of the XBox 1 S. Many Members are not happy with the non upgrade for newer audio codecs.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #8351 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 07:12 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 21,103
Mentioned: 58 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 3544
I have the UN40JU7100

I am trying to get the Xfinity Ultra HD sampler app to work

I can log on and hit watch: and it starts to load....but it never finishes

Comcast has no clue and says the TV may not be compatible....

anyone got this app to work?

tia

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
LG C9 OLED owner


markrubin is offline  
post #8352 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
No, the update to the HDMI ports (adding an "a" to the 2.0 spec.) happen in Sept./Oct. of last year.

This enabled the TV to be able to receive and decode HDR10 metadata from an HDMI source.


Richard
I appreciate the feedback.
King Richard likes this.
Fearless Yank is offline  
post #8353 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 12:15 PM
Member
 
jev7266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post
I have the UN40JU7100

I am trying to get the Xfinity Ultra HD sampler app to work

I can log on and hit watch: and it starts to load....but it never finishes

Comcast has no clue and says the TV may not be compatible
I downloaded the Ultra HD Sampler app yesterday, and it's working on my 2015 Samsung UN50JU7100. It's supposed to work on select 2014 Samsung UHD models and all Samsung 2015 and later UHD models. Apparently the app was updated very recently, but Comcast definitely has a lot more work to do on it. You might try deleting and re-installing it to be sure you have the current version (2016_08_01). The app is called "Ultra HD Sampler," and can be found under the "Videos" tab. If you sort the listings Z-to-A, you won't have to scroll very far to spot it.

Someone on the Xfinity forums said they began watching the 2016 Olympics opening ceremony but the buffering pauses became so annoying they gave up. I've not seen any Olympics content listed yet, but maybe Comcast took it down because it wasn't working properly.

I've only watched a few episodes of "Outlander." This is what I found:

Pausing the stream and restarting without leaving what you're watching seems to work fine. But if you do anything to actually stop the feed, e.g., by changing the TV's source to check a game score, when you go back to the app and try to continue playing the same 4K content it won't resume from where you left off. All you get is a still frame of the last scene you watched and the endless buffering graphic. You have to start the stream all over from the beginning.

If you get a buffering pause, chances are the stream will not resume. In the 5 times this happened the stream continued only once.

Fast forward and reverse don't work, and you can't bring up the stream's progress bar to drag forward and back.

Once you're watching something the only button that works is Play/Pause.

Trying to exit from what you're watching is a bit of hit and miss. Sometimes the Return button will take you back to the app's main page, but mostly is just does nothing.

One more bit: in everything I watched, at some point there was a noticeable problem with lipsync, which got worse the as the program progressed. Sound lagged behind the picture by 1.5-2.0 seconds. Many others have reported this as well in the "Xfinity TV / Website & Mobile Apps / 4k Olympics Broadcast??" thread on the Xfinity forums.

Overall a sort of frustrating experience with an app that's definitely not ready for prime time. So, if you can't get it to work at all you're not missing much.
markrubin and King Richard like this.

TVs: Sony XBR65X930E (2017), v8.0.0 (6.6510) / Samsung UN50JU7100 (2015) w/ IA02 panel, sw v.1530.1
AVR: Yamaha RX-v581, sw v.2.65
Speakers 5.1.2: Polk Audio RM6750 (surround) + Pioneer SP-T22A-LR Atmos height
jev7266 is offline  
post #8354 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 02:22 PM
Senior Member
 
MrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 42
samsung JU7100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
Can someone with a xbox one s tell me how the netflix HDR is working on his TV? If you can tell the difference and it looks great I'm ordering the xbox tommorow. If it's not worth it I'll keep the normal one.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk


It is but there are only a few titles that have it. The title will have "HDR" next to it.

I started watching the beginning of Marco Polo. Contrast and brightness max out like others have reported but it didn't burn my eyes out.

If you are only buying it for the HDR streaming of Netflix, you can buy cheaper alternatives.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 likes this.

Last edited by MrRoy; 08-07-2016 at 03:52 PM.
MrRoy is online now  
post #8355 of 10356 Old 08-07-2016, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRoy View Post
It is but there are only a few titles that have it. The title will have "HDR" next to it.

I started watching the beginning of Marco Polo. Contrast and brightness max out like others have reported but it didn't burn my eyes out.

If you are only buying it for the HDR streaming of Netflix, you cab buy cheaper alternatives.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If it's a noticeable and nice hdr effect it will probably be the same when the games with hdr launch. So it'll be worth it.

But for now I'm only playing destiny. :')

But since I have this TV I have improved a lot in pvp so I'm happy with or without hdr.


Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk

Last edited by Bouncernl90; 08-07-2016 at 02:28 PM.
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8356 of 10356 Old 08-09-2016, 06:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
SlaughterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^ What's your XBL tag? I'm gonna be jumping back in to Destiny soon.

Anyway I have the One S and this TV, all check boxes are green for me, but does anyone really know if this thing has "real" HDR? I watched the Deadpool UHD and the colors never really popped, the detail was a bit better than the standard BD, but over all I wasn't very impressed. GOnna watch The Revenant soon, maybe that will change my mind.
SlaughterX is offline  
post #8357 of 10356 Old 08-09-2016, 06:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaughterX View Post
^ What's your XBL tag? I'm gonna be jumping back in to Destiny soon.

Anyway I have the One S and this TV, all check boxes are green for me, but does anyone really know if this thing has "real" HDR? I watched the Deadpool UHD and the colors never really popped, the detail was a bit better than the standard BD, but over all I wasn't very impressed. GOnna watch The Revenant soon, maybe that will change my mind.
It doesn't have the nano-crystals (for improved color) or the nits of brightness that the SUHD's would have but it understands HDR10 and does all of the things a HDR capable set would do.

Did you by chance change your color space (Menu -> Picture -> Advanced Settings -> Color Space) to Native when watching it? Just curious if you see a difference.
ml2517 is offline  
post #8358 of 10356 Old 08-09-2016, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlaughterX View Post
^ What's your XBL tag? I'm gonna be jumping back in to Destiny soon.

Anyway I have the One S and this TV, all check boxes are green for me, but does anyone really know if this thing has "real" HDR? I watched the Deadpool UHD and the colors never really popped, the detail was a bit better than the standard BD, but over all I wasn't very impressed. GOnna watch The Revenant soon, maybe that will change my mind.
Bouncer nl90 is my xbl tag.

the director of Deadpool says it's most noticeable in the skies and little details.

I saw mad max in hdr on the ju7000 and that really looked great.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk

Last edited by Bouncernl90; 08-09-2016 at 07:48 AM.
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8359 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 05:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello, Im having a wierd problem with my JU7100. Usually once or twice a day the screen will just randomly switch to a 15-20 second cartoon/animation which just repeats over and over until I either switch inputs or turn the TV off and back on. I thought it was either my computer or comcast box but I unplugged both while the cartoon/animation thing played and it was still going, so its gotta be something with the TV. It's the 75 inch JU7100 if that helps. Thanks!
Micheal83 is offline  
post #8360 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
OK, that's weird. Are you sure there's no USB stick with the video plugged in somewhere? I've never seen any behavior like that...

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #8361 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 06:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micheal83 View Post
Hello, Im having a wierd problem with my JU7100. Usually once or twice a day the screen will just randomly switch to a 15-20 second cartoon/animation which just repeats over and over until I either switch inputs or turn the TV off and back on. I thought it was either my computer or comcast box but I unplugged both while the cartoon/animation thing played and it was still going, so its gotta be something with the TV. It's the 75 inch JU7100 if that helps. Thanks!
Take a picture with your phone the next time you see it and post it here. May help figure out the culprit.
ml2517 is offline  
post #8362 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Micheal83 View Post
Hello, Im having a wierd problem with my JU7100. Usually once or twice a day the screen will just randomly switch to a 15-20 second cartoon/animation which just repeats over and over until I either switch inputs or turn the TV off and back on. I thought it was either my computer or comcast box but I unplugged both while the cartoon/animation thing played and it was still going, so its gotta be something with the TV. It's the 75 inch JU7100 if that helps. Thanks!
Are you sure it isn't just the screen saver that kicks in? Menu -> System -> Auto Protection Time (Try turning it off or changing it to a longer period of time and see if it stops)
King Richard likes this.
ml2517 is offline  
post #8363 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 07:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the tips about the screen saver, it was set for 2 hours I will see if that fixes it, if not i will take a pic next time it appears.
Micheal83 is offline  
post #8364 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Can someone here tell me what type of panel my TV has? For the European version I can't find any info about this.

I tried Archons settings but the white point is extremely yellow compared to our calibrated macbook pro.

Heres a picture of the sticker on the box:

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8365 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 11:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
Can someone here tell me what type of panel my TV has? For the European version I can't find any info about this.

I tried Archons settings but the white point is extremely yellow compared to our calibrated macbook pro.

Heres a picture of the sticker on the box:

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
No clue on your panel as this is a European model.

What did you calibrate your macbook pro color temperature (grayscale) to? If it is lower than 6500° K, then the macbook pro will have a much whiter appearance.

Try using the same settings but change your Color Temperature on the Samsung to Warm1. This should sort the Yellow look.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #8366 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
No clue on your panel as this is a European model.

What did you calibrate your macbook pro color temperature (grayscale) to? If it is lower than 6500° K, then the macbook pro will have a much whiter appearance.

Try using the same settings but change your Color Temperature on the Samsung to Warm1. This should sort the Yellow look.
I really don't know how it's calibrated. My girlfriend is a photographer she had it done right after buying.

I know it's calibrated for rgb not srgb. So the white point should be accurate right?

Can I enter the service menu with my normal remote? And how? (we get the smart and a standard remote here)
Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8367 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
I really don't know how it's calibrated. My girlfriend is a photographer she had it done right after buying.

I know it's calibrated for rgb not srgb. So the white point should be accurate right?

Can I enter the service menu with my normal remote? And how? (we get the smart and a standard remote here)
Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post45951729

Please see ml2517's signature for Service Menu access. You should be able to access with the standard remote.

As to the accuracy of the white point on the macbook pro, I can't answer as I don't know if it is calibrated to 6500°K. ArchonX's calibration is to 6500°K for his panel and could be different for your panel. The "quick fix" would be to adjust your Color Temperature to Warm1 to see if it helps. If so, then either the macbook pro is calibrated to 5500-6000°K or your Samsung is just that much different.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #8368 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
Most computer monitors are not calibrated to K6500. they are usually more blue, which is a higher temperature, likely more like 8-9000K

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #8369 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Most computer monitors are not calibrated to K6500. they are usually more blue, which is a higher temperature, likely more like 8-9000K
Comparing with a galaxy s7 set on basic screen mode isn't a option too I guess?

Displaymate said its excellent at rec.709

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8370 of 10356 Old 08-10-2016, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,090
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 526
I may need to backtrack my comment. It appears that 6500K is the standard for LCD monitors. However, the article I read also mentioned that some laptops set the color temp higher for a brighter image. So if the MacBook was professionally calibrated, it likely should have been to the 6500K standard.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off