samsung JU7100 - Page 292 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4827Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8731 of 10380 Old 09-29-2016, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
I don't think my 7100 is really trying too hard to find the FW update. I think it just goes out, runs around the block and comes back and says, nope, 1460.4 is current!
tampa8 and dilipb like this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8732 of 10380 Old 09-29-2016, 10:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats Sturtewagen View Post
What are you settings then ? Its very dark here and dull colours not bright
Have to check when I get home tonight!

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8733 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
I don't think my 7100 is really trying too hard to find the FW update. I think it just goes out, runs around the block and comes back and says, nope, 1460.4 is current!
Same issue here. Mine wouldnt even find 1460, I had to download it from the samsung website and put it on a usb drive.
magRT496 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8734 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
Non JS Mod Calibration
New Calibration
Firmware 1461.2


** Adjustments Made in Service Menu 1st **

White Balance Offsets changed from 128/128/128 to 114/114/114

White Balance Gains changed from 123/128/130 to 123/128/139

How do you access the service menu to make these adjustments?

And my TV is only version 1460, will these calibrations still work?
magRT496 is offline  
post #8735 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
JC7727's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
HDR on xbox one s, does it work on this TV?
JC7727 is offline  
post #8736 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 11:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by magRT496 View Post
How do you access the service menu to make these adjustments?

And my TV is only version 1460, will these calibrations still work?
Search for posts on this thread by @ml2517 . He has the Service Menu information in his signature.

No, you do not need the latest firmware and it's doubtful you'll see a visual difference between the latest firmware and the version you have.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #8737 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
Search for posts on this thread by @ml2517 . He has the Service Menu information in his signature.

No, you do not need the latest firmware and it's doubtful you'll see a visual difference between the latest firmware and the version you have.
See my signature.
wildgator25 likes this.
ml2517 is offline  
post #8738 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Fw # 1462

Now available from the Korean Website: (Note a Member mentioned Korean FW updates will void warranty?) (Personally, have never had issues.)

FW # 1462.1 - I assume the JU7100 has taken a different turn from the other sets, that went from 1460.4 to 1461.1 to now 1463.0

http://www.samsung.com/sec/consumer/...tv/UN75JU7000F

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 09-30-2016 at 04:23 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #8739 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Now available from the Korean Website: (Note a Member mentioned Korean FW updates will void warranty?) (Personally, have never had issues.)

FW # 1462.1 - I assume the JU7100 has taken a different turn from the other sets, that went from 1460.4 to 1461.1 to now 1463.0

http://www.samsung.com/sec/consumer/...tv/UN75JU7000F
My set has 1462 now, automatic download came sometime earlier this week.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #8740 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Odd occurrence this morning. Turned on the set and two or three seconds later, the tv shut off. Turned the set back on and again, it shut off. Did this time after time and at this point, I was convinced that there was something wrong with the tv. Gave it the old college try once more (actually my wife did) and the set stayed on. Has been fine all day, with no further issues. Does turn on and off normally. Any ideas as to what might be wrong??
Javaman12 is offline  
post #8741 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 10:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javaman12 View Post
Odd occurrence this morning. Turned on the set and two or three seconds later, the tv shut off. Turned the set back on and again, it shut off. Did this time after time and at this point, I was convinced that there was something wrong with the tv. Gave it the old college try once more (actually my wife did) and the set stayed on. Has been fine all day, with no further issues. Does turn on and off normally. Any ideas as to what might be wrong??
Unplug from wall, and leave it this way till morning.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #8742 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 11:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Unplug from wall, and leave it this way till morning.
It's working fine now - are you still recommending I unplug it?
Javaman12 is offline  
post #8743 of 10380 Old 09-30-2016, 11:58 PM
Member
 
MikeCortez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats Sturtewagen View Post
What are you settings then ? Its very dark here and dull colours not bright
I am having the same problem as well. It looks like there is a general issue with the console and HDR. A lot of people in the Xbox one subreddit have been complaining about it. Supposedly Microsoft is looking into it.
https://www.reddit.com/r/xboxone/com...on_xbox_one_s/
MikeCortez is offline  
post #8744 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 05:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
My Xbox plays Netflix hdr, forza hdr but the 4k BluRay of deadpool won't toggle to hdr. Anyone knows what's happening?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8745 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 08:02 AM
Member
 
O.E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
My Xbox plays Netflix hdr, forza hdr but the 4k BluRay of deadpool won't toggle to hdr. Anyone knows what's happening?

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Ensure that the Xbox has all the check marks in the advanced options including HDR for movies!
O.E. is offline  
post #8746 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 08:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by O.E. View Post
Ensure that the Xbox has all the check marks in the advanced options including HDR for movies!
It has!

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8747 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javaman12 View Post
It's working fine now - are you still recommending I unplug it?
Can't hurt it. Plus, it's unplugged when you're not using it.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #8748 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I have the JS Mod and since the last update I haven't been able to use Netflix. I tried resetting the smart hub and now I can't get past the T&S page to set it back up. I get an error that my internet connection is not stable (999). I tried changing the DNS but that didn't work. Unplugged it overnight and that didn't work either. Any ideas?

If I do a factory reset with the JS Mod in place, will it break anything? I know the mod will go away, but I don't care about that. I just want my smart hub back!

TV: Samsung UN65JU7100, TH01
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR717
BMoreLas is offline  
post #8749 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Anyone with BluRay hdr xbox one s issues?? Its not enabling hdr. Have green marks, netflix and gaming are good with hdr en have everything enabled. Game mode on or off doesn't change a thing.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-G930F met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #8750 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreLas View Post
I have the JS Mod and since the last update I haven't been able to use Netflix. I tried resetting the smart hub and now I can't get past the T&S page to set it back up. I get an error that my internet connection is not stable (999). I tried changing the DNS but that didn't work. Unplugged it overnight and that didn't work either. Any ideas?

If I do a factory reset with the JS Mod in place, will it break anything? I know the mod will go away, but I don't care about that. I just want my smart hub back!
Try changing your Auto Network to Manual 8.8.8.8 and see if that works.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #8751 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 08:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Try changing your Auto Network to Manual 8.8.8.8 and see if that works.
No dice. Still getting the error.

TV: Samsung UN65JU7100, TH01
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR717
BMoreLas is offline  
post #8752 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 08:45 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
My Xbox plays Netflix hdr, forza hdr but the 4k BluRay of deadpool won't toggle to hdr. Anyone knows what's happening?

Anyone with BluRay hdr xbox one s issues?? Its not enabling hdr. Have green marks, netflix and gaming are good with hdr en have everything enabled. Game mode on or off doesn't change a thing.

Did you try resetting everything? (Turn OFF, unplug, etc.)

Post all your settings for both TV and XBox and we'll see if it might be a setting you might be overlooking.


Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #8753 of 10380 Old 10-01-2016, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Still getting the unstable internet error 999. I even tried using my phone as a hotspot on LTE. So it's not my internet. Guess I'll try changing my panel settings back to Non JS Mod and doing a factory reset.

TV: Samsung UN65JU7100, TH01
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR717
BMoreLas is offline  
post #8754 of 10380 Old 10-02-2016, 10:33 AM
Member
 
biggggant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Randomly my Sark's will look too dark and washed out. Sometimes restarting the TV or turning on UHD color mode on or off. Not sure what's the real cause but maybe that can help some of you guys.
biggggant is offline  
post #8755 of 10380 Old 10-02-2016, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: NJ
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Is it safe to assume that Day/Night modes can be removed by changing D/N ADJ back to off in the service menu ?
I know it will reset all picture settings but I want to start fresh .
HWF

Samsung UN60JU7100, Sony STR-DN850, JBL (Movies 2) 7.1, Sony BDP X800, WD TV Live Hub, Raspberry Pi2/Kodi
harpanet13 is offline  
post #8756 of 10380 Old 10-02-2016, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreLas View Post
Still getting the unstable internet error 999. I even tried using my phone as a hotspot on LTE. So it's not my internet. Guess I'll try changing my panel settings back to Non JS Mod and doing a factory reset.
Reverted back to non JS Mod and everything worked right away. Smart Hub is working and Netflix and Amazon are both working. Also still able to play the Samsung HDR demos. I think I'll stick to normal for a while since there is some question of the benefits of the mod anyway. I think I'll read back through more threads and see what others are experiencing.

TV: Samsung UN65JU7100, TH01
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR717
BMoreLas is offline  
post #8757 of 10380 Old 10-02-2016, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreLas View Post
Reverted back to non JS Mod and everything worked right away. Smart Hub is working and Netflix and Amazon are both working. Also still able to play the Samsung HDR demos. I think I'll stick to normal for a while since there is some question of the benefits of the mod anyway. I think I'll read back through more threads and see what others are experiencing.
The Network Media in the SM has to be correct. Did you write down the original value before doing the JS Mod?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #8758 of 10380 Old 10-03-2016, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Have anyone good settings with Xbox One S HDR ?

Its to dark here and not bright and vivid
Mats Sturtewagen is offline  
post #8759 of 10380 Old 10-03-2016, 11:37 AM
Member
 
dilipb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Sorry for this question (difficult to search this forum page by page)

I have the JU7100 75", I have been used CAL-DAY all these days.
What's this JS MOD that everyone is talking about in this forum?
Was there a special firmware OR some new setting that someone released?
How can I get that?
Will I get HDR functionality in Netflix and other apps ?

Hope someone helps me out.
Thanks!
dilipb is offline  
post #8760 of 10380 Old 10-03-2016, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,296
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1440 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilipb View Post
Sorry for this question (difficult to search this forum page by page)

I have the JU7100 75", I have been used CAL-DAY all these days.
What's this JS MOD that everyone is talking about in this forum?
Was there a special firmware OR some new setting that someone released?
How can I get that?
Will I get HDR functionality in Netflix and other apps ?

Hope someone helps me out.
Thanks!
the JS mod makes the TV think it's a JS, not a JU model. This enables HDR for Amazon only, not Netflix. One or two new options appear in the video menu. It's debatable if there's an actual, measurable improvement in the video. However, because it's not an actual JS model, there is a limit to how well it can display HDR material. The TV will recognize HDR from outside sources (4K Blu Ray player for example) even without the mod, so it's not mandatory. With a handfull of new Roku players coming out shortly, there will be more HDR compatible players on the market, and the JS Mod becomes less necessary.
wildgator25 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off