samsung JU7100 - Page 300 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4827Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8971 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRoy View Post
Same, just turn HDR on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Its so dark on my tv have same tv.
Mats Sturtewagen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8972 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
MrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats Sturtewagen View Post
Its so dark on my tv have same tv.


Maybe play with the brightness, backlighting and gamma? All I can tell you is that it works for me.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MrRoy is online now  
post #8973 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mats Sturtewagen View Post
Its so dark on my tv have same tv.
I had the same until i left my HDMI black level on Auto and turned on UHD color mode (both samsung settings) but i had to change my "RGB range" to full on the PS4. It was on automatic before but apparently it doesn't detect correctly.
smac7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8974 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,208
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4011 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Have other Members had FW # 1470.4 show up on their sets? Nothing on Samsung sites, nor my set.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #8975 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 03:39 PM
 
LeeM2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question -

I have this UN55JU7100, but no mini connect box.

I can get SUHD box, model bn91-17814w for much less than $100 (cost of mini connect). Will it work with JU7100?

thanks.
LeeM2 is offline  
post #8976 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeM2 View Post
I have a question -

I have this UN55JU7100, but no mini connect box.

I can get SUHD box, model bn91-17814w for much less than $100 (cost of mini connect). Will it work with JU7100?

thanks.
I bought my one connect mini for 40 on ebay. I think it was used or refurbed but it works perfectly. There's a bunch out there at this price range. Make sure you get one with the cable.
smac7 is offline  
post #8977 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1446 Post(s)
Liked: 657
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeM2 View Post
I have a question -

I have this UN55JU7100, but no mini connect box.

I can get SUHD box, model bn91-17814w for much less than $100 (cost of mini connect). Will it work with JU7100?

thanks.
I don't know if the SUHD TVs use a different box, but I have a hunch that they aren't compatible. If they use the full size One Connect (not the Mini) then it certainly won't work. Two completely different boxes. If it has the antenna and network connections on it, that's not a OC Mini, and I'll be greatly surprised if it would work.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #8978 of 10385 Old 11-03-2016, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
MrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Have other Members had FW # 1470.4 show up on their sets? Nothing on Samsung sites, nor my set.


Not I. The latest took a while to show up on mine so it might not be a good measure.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MrRoy is online now  
post #8979 of 10385 Old 11-04-2016, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,208
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4011 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRoy View Post
Not I. The latest took a while to show up on mine so it might not be a good measure.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Never did show up on my set, had to download from the Korean website, and even it was slow to bring it out.
I guess the more it gets to be a legacy set, the longer it is for updates. Somewhere along here, that will be it.
December now, supposedly, for Samsung's Big FW update. Will it remain vaporware?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #8980 of 10385 Old 11-04-2016, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
MrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 42
They know how to keep us A/V nerds in suspense. Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
MrRoy is online now  
post #8981 of 10385 Old 11-06-2016, 12:59 PM
Member
 
rynozebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
If you are disabling/turning off HDR in your XBox One S settings, then you are NOT getting HDR on your TV. Manually increasing the Backlight and Contrast levels does NOT "magically" restore the HDR - it only gives you a brighter picture. It might look like HDR, but it isn't "true" HDR (HDR is about more than a simple increase in brightness).

For UHD Blu-rays and streaming, set your X-Box One S to output at 30-bits per pixel (10-bit) and set the Color Space to Standard RGB (NOT Full RGB). And leave the HDR setting enabled.

(Note: the TV's "HDMI Black Level" setting should be on "Low" to match the "Limited RGB" input signal.)

Also, make sure you have the latest firmware update installed on your XBox One S (it reportedly fixed a issue with the improper "black levels" being sent to the TV).

For the proper TV settings, see >> THIS POST << (from the JS8500 thread).


Richard
King Richard... is there a way to store settings in different modes? It's super annoying to have to change my TV settings for when I'm viewing HDR content and then changing them back again for standard HD content (Dynamic Contrast, Gamma, etc.) Thanks!
rynozebz is offline  
post #8982 of 10385 Old 11-06-2016, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,208
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4011 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Quote:
Originally Posted by rynozebz View Post
King Richard... is there a way to store settings in different modes? It's super annoying to have to change my TV settings for when I'm viewing HDR content and then changing them back again for standard HD content (Dynamic Contrast, Gamma, etc.) Thanks!
JU7100: Contrast to 100 and Backlight to 20 is automatic, and restores back when finished.
The only HDR settings that can be calibrated is the 2 Point, and once calibrated, stays at those settings, even for regular viewing, For what little difference there is, I just leave it on the calibrated HDR 2 Point.
But, that being said, my K8500 UBD player is on HDMI 1, with the HDR settings. Regular BDs are played on the OPPO 83 going through a Lumagen XS-3D, and from there to HDMI 4. Thereby, leaving the HDR settings for HDMI 1.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #8983 of 10385 Old 11-06-2016, 04:06 PM
Member
 
rynozebz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
JU7100: Contrast to 100 and Backlight to 20 is automatic, and restores back when finished.
The only HDR settings that can be calibrated is the 2 Point, and once calibrated, stays at those settings, even for regular viewing, For what little difference there is, I just leave it on the calibrated HDR 2 Point.
But, that being said, my K8500 UBD player is on HDMI 1, with the HDR settings. Regular BDs are played on the OPPO 83 going through a Lumagen XS-3D, and from there to HDMI 4. Thereby, leaving the HDR settings for HDMI 1.
Thanks for the reply. Yea, I can see the backlight and contrast settings changing. King Richard recommends adjusting the gamma, dynamic contrast and smart LED as well for HDR content. But every time when I'm watching non HDR content I have to go back into the settings and change the gamma, dynamic contrast, etc. back to their normal (or off) values. It's just kind of annoying.
rynozebz is offline  
post #8984 of 10385 Old 11-07-2016, 12:41 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by rynozebz View Post
King Richard... is there a way to store settings in different modes? It's super annoying to have to change my TV settings for when I'm viewing HDR content and then changing them back again for standard HD content (Dynamic Contrast, Gamma, etc.) Thanks!

There are basically 2 different ways you can do this.

1. Connect the player to a different HDMI input on the OneConnect Box than your other components and apply the settings to that input only. (That's how I have my Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray player connected.)

2. Use a different "Picture Mode" for UHD HDR content than for HD SDR content. (Some people enable the "Cal Night/Day" modes through the Service Menu; others use the "Standard" and "Movie" modes.)

Otherwise, yes, you will need to manually change your settings when switching from one format to the other (unless you can come up with some kind of "compromise") - this is especially true if you have everything connected through an AVR.

Sorry!

Richard
wildgator25 likes this.
King Richard is offline  
post #8985 of 10385 Old 11-07-2016, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,208
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4011 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
There are basically 2 different ways you can do this.

1. Connect the player to a different HDMI input on the OneConnect Box than your other components and apply the settings to that input only. (That's how I have my Samsung K8500 UHD Blu-ray player connected.)

2. Use a different "Picture Mode" for UHD HDR content than for HD SDR content. (Some people enable the "Cal Night/Day" modes through the Service Menu; others use the "Standard" and "Movie" modes.)

Otherwise, yes, you will need to manually change your settings when switching from one format to the other (unless you can come up with some kind of "compromise") - this is especially true if you have everything connected through an AVR.

Sorry!

Richard

Or, if the set is properly calibrated, leave things alone, they look fine!

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #8986 of 10385 Old 11-08-2016, 03:07 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Just an FYI...

For those of you trying out some of the new HDR enabled games on your new UHD player but having problems with the picture being "too dark"...

Many of those HDR enabled Games have an "in-game" 'HDR Brightness' setting that needs to be adjusted for proper brightness levels.


Richard
muad'dib and wildgator25 like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #8987 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 366
Just installed 1464 and lost access to amazon prime app. Go figure.......
meduzadg is offline  
post #8988 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,208
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4011 Post(s)
Liked: 3183
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
Just installed 1464 and lost access to amazon prime app. Go figure.......
That's weird, next FW update should have been 1470.4

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #8989 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 366
I removed the js mod and with this new firmware update I can now get amazon prime in hdr!!!!!
wildgator25 and King Richard like this.
meduzadg is offline  
post #8990 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
Just installed 1464 and lost access to amazon prime app. Go figure.......
This is all kinds of lol! The day I buy a PS4 PRO, Samsung release firmware that opens up Amazon HDR.
King Richard likes this.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #8991 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
That's weird, next FW update should have been 1470.4
1464 here too. Another fanthom update with no discernible difference.
Javaman12 is offline  
post #8992 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 07:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is it me or feels ps4 pro like your aiming in bf1 going in slowmotion. Like input lag or something...I think it felt smoother on ps4. It looks better and fps feels more stable but like aiming feels sluggish. Maybe I'm wrong. Few days since I played it also changed ps4 for a pro and can't really compare. Btw what settings u use for the ps4 pro. Uhd colour on also have smart led high. Should smart led even be on ?
Choppedinhalf is offline  
post #8993 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
no mod needed for Amazon HDR!

the new update! Thanks so much Samsung!
scuzmcdragonsmoke is offline  
post #8994 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 09:08 PM
Member
 
studtrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Where are you guys getting 1464?
studtrooper is offline  
post #8995 of 10385 Old 11-10-2016, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 689 Post(s)
Liked: 366
I checked my tv for updates and it was there ready.....
meduzadg is offline  
post #8996 of 10385 Old 11-11-2016, 12:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Also anyone know if input lag will get worse in games if its on? Does it even work in game mode ?
Choppedinhalf is offline  
post #8997 of 10385 Old 11-11-2016, 05:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,087
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 699 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Choppedinhalf View Post
Is it me or feels ps4 pro like your aiming in bf1 going in slowmotion. Like input lag or something...I think it felt smoother on ps4. It looks better and fps feels more stable but like aiming feels sluggish. Maybe I'm wrong. Few days since I played it also changed ps4 for a pro and can't really compare. Btw what settings u use for the ps4 pro. Uhd colour on also have smart led high. Should smart led even be on ?
I didn't notice any input lag on BF1, even without Game Mode enabled. The PS4 Pro patch has not been released, as of last night, yet there are users who are saying they see an increase in visual fidelity. I could not see much of an improvement. Leave Smart LED on High, shouldn't be an issue. Yes, UHD color needs to be on and I left all the other settings the same as my Calibration 4.

I am confused about the Amazon app on the PS4 Pro though. I tried the PS4 wired and wireless for network, yet could not get Ultra HD to show, let alone HDR. However, the Amazon app on the Samsung works great, albeit some hesitation when you first launch an Ultra HD TV show. HDR looks great and the stream says Ultra HD. HDR does work as expected with The Last of Us Remastered, so I feel confident the Samsung and the PS4 Pro are communicating well. The mini test that the PS4 Pro does to show you if your TV is compatible for HDR passes just fine for 2k/4k.

I hope there will be updates for the PS4 Pro apps soon. Right now, there's little to get excited about seeing. Skyrim looks better, but I haven't tried Uncharted 4 (let my friend borrow my copy) or anything else.
King Richard likes this.

Last edited by wildgator25; 11-11-2016 at 06:05 AM.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #8998 of 10385 Old 11-11-2016, 11:23 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Speaking of BF1, are you guys adjusting the in-game brightness? My TV is calibrated, so I know I'm already at the correct brightness setting, but the game has its own cal. Seems like I shouldn't have to tweak it, but if I use the in-game cal, I have to turn brightness down a lot to make the black logo barely indistinguishable. I ended up leaving it at the game's default of 50, and things look decent.
milehighou is offline  
post #8999 of 10385 Old 11-11-2016, 12:07 PM
Member
 
demonscars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Can someone direct me to the ASM directions? I can't seem to find them and I want to reverse the js mod to see if the Amazon app will work again after this latest firmware seems to have made it stop working entirely.
demonscars is offline  
post #9000 of 10385 Old 11-11-2016, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
I removed the js mod and with this new firmware update I can now get amazon prime in hdr!!!!!
I'm on 1464 but my Amazon Prime doesn't have HDR. Did you do anything else to get Amazon HDR?
QBallTBEB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off