samsung JU7100 - Page 316 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4824Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9451 of 10358 Old 01-08-2017, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by eldorado01 View Post
I have the Oppo. No issues whatsoever. The improvement in PQ is dramatic. Connected it to HDMI1, enabled UHD, set it to auto and that was it. The Oppo knows what to do. Looks much better to me than Amazon with HDR.

If you mean while playing a UHD disc it makes a lot of sense.

I enjoy HDR streaming media but the quality is not even close to full HDR sources.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
King Richard likes this.
Bouncernl90 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9452 of 10358 Old 01-08-2017, 09:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Recently hooked up my Marantz NR1607. Would you guys use the scaling feature on the receiver or stick with the tv for scaling?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Colin779 is offline  
post #9453 of 10358 Old 01-08-2017, 09:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 5
samsung JU7100

Never mind, scaler can't keep up. Sports look terrible (tons of judder). Unless I'm missing something?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Colin779 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9454 of 10358 Old 01-09-2017, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
It's pretty rare for an AVR scaler to perform as well as the TV itself, unless you're really getting top end equipment.
Colin779 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9455 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good afternoon,


I purchased my 60" JU7100 early last year, but did some home remodel did not put it up till August. I stalked this forum for weeks and months to track down settings. I entered them in and everything was fine. I noticed that every so often my settings would change back to a default. Not all settings it seems that the Backlight and a few other of the more basic settings. I checked the mode use it is set to home. I contacted Samsung support a few days ago and then advised to reset the TV and that would fix the problem. I did this did the setup over again reentered my settings.


For the first day it was fine I got home last night and bam the backlight setting reset back to 20. I changed it back to I believe 13 and within in minutes it reset to 20. To finally get to the point am I missing something? I plan on contacting support again, but I'm here at work wondering if this is a common problem or just something weird happening. I will describe my setup.


JU7100 connected to Xbox One S via the one connect box via HDMI. I have my home theater connected to my Xbox via a optical.


Thanks for any help you can provide.
Trigger1018 is offline  
post #9456 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:30 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trigger1018 View Post
Good afternoon,


I purchased my 60" JU7100 early last year, but did some home remodel did not put it up till August. I stalked this forum for weeks and months to track down settings. I entered them in and everything was fine. I noticed that every so often my settings would change back to a default. Not all settings it seems that the Backlight and a few other of the more basic settings. I checked the mode use it is set to home. I contacted Samsung support a few days ago and then advised to reset the TV and that would fix the problem. I did this did the setup over again reentered my settings.


For the first day it was fine I got home last night and bam the backlight setting reset back to 20. I changed it back to I believe 13 and within in minutes it reset to 20. To finally get to the point am I missing something? I plan on contacting support again, but I'm here at work wondering if this is a common problem or just something weird happening. I will describe my setup.


JU7100 connected to Xbox One S via the one connect box via HDMI. I have my home theater connected to my Xbox via a optical.


Thanks for any help you can provide.
Are you watching HDR content? If so, it will automatically max out the backlight and contrast, and change a few other settings, I think. That's the only time I've seen my TV's settings change by themselves.
milehighou is offline  
post #9457 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Are you watching HDR content? If so, it will automatically max out the backlight and contrast, and change a few other settings, I think. That's the only time I've seen my TV's settings change by themselves.
So does that mean every time I turn my system on its going to reset? Because my Xbox I have setup to show HDR content and when I boot up the system it boots straight to my home screen. If this is the case that sucks. I will be constantly resetting my settings.
Trigger1018 is offline  
post #9458 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:49 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trigger1018 View Post
So does that mean every time I turn my system on its going to reset? Because my Xbox I have setup to show HDR content and when I boot up the system it boots straight to my home screen. If this is the case that sucks. I will be constantly resetting my settings.
Not sure, but it sounds that way. I think any time the TV detects and HDR signal, it automatically changes its settings. It should revert to whatever settings you had setup for SDR content, though. Maybe someone else can chime on on this. I don't really watch HDR stuff on this TV so I'm not very familiar with the quirks.
milehighou is offline  
post #9459 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trigger1018 View Post
So does that mean every time I turn my system on its going to reset? Because my Xbox I have setup to show HDR content and when I boot up the system it boots straight to my home screen. If this is the case that sucks. I will be constantly resetting my settings.
No, it always switches back after you finish watching HDR. Can the X-Box send even the menus in HDR?

One thing that helps retain settings is to enter the service menu and enable the day/night settings. I did them so long ago I can't remember exactly what they are called and how you enable them, other then in the secret service menu. those settings always remain no matter how you reset the TV. Worse case is needing to re-select them after a reset. But at least all your settings are there intact.
Meetloaf13 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9460 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,169
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
I thought that was one of the complaints about XBox One S - it outputs everything as HDR. Thusly all the settings being maxed out. XBox has to be set for 1080 output, and only change it when watching HDR Videos.
King Richard likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #9461 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 724
1467 available on Samsung US http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-ju7100-series

Netflix HDR with 1467 on my JS8500 -- probably on JU7100 as well.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000

Last edited by poppagene; 01-10-2017 at 11:15 AM.
poppagene is online now  
post #9462 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
1467 available on Samsung US http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-ju7100-series

Netflix HDR with 1467 on my JS8500 -- probably on JU7100 as well.
JU7100 is still only showing 1463 available for me on their website which isn't even the current version that is on our model.
ml2517 is offline  
post #9463 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 851 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
JU7100 is still only showing 1463 available for me on their website which isn't even the current version that is on our model.
Wow. 1463 showing for me now as well. Somebody must have leaked it. 1467 Still showing on the JS8500 site http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-js85xx-series if you want to give it a try http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-js85xx-series

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #9464 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
JU7100 is still only showing 1463 available for me on their website which isn't even the current version that is on our model.
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Wow. 1463 showing for me now as well. Somebody must have leaked it. 1467 Still showing on the JS8500 site http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-js85xx-series if you want to give it a try http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-js85xx-series
Guys, check again. It is now showing the 1467 firmware.
wildgator25 and stanhere like this.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #9465 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 12:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Guys, check again. It is now showing the 1467 firmware.
Not on the JU7100 page for me. I'll refresh now and then and see if it ever updates or I connect to a server that has it.
ml2517 is offline  
post #9466 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
1467 available on Samsung US http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-ju7100-series

Netflix HDR with 1467 on my JS8500 -- probably on JU7100 as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Guys, check again. It is now showing the 1467 firmware.
I just downloaded it from the aforementioned site.

Now, I need one of you guineas to try this out before I get home today at 5:30 so I don't brick my set.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #9467 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
Not on the JU7100 page for me. I'll refresh now and then and see if it ever updates or I connect to a server that has it.
Showing for me now too!
dlbsyst and wildgator25 like this.
ml2517 is offline  
post #9468 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Yeah, you guys test it for me before I get home!
dlbsyst, wildgator25 and stanhere like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9469 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Yeah, you guys test it for me before I get home!
Confirmed. Netflix HDR with 1467 on the JU7100.

Updated both my 65" and 75" with no issues via USB.

Last edited by ml2517; 01-10-2017 at 01:28 PM.
ml2517 is offline  
post #9470 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 04:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,169
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
No warning on the Canadian website:

Canadian site: FW # 1467.0

http://www.samsung.com/ca/support/model/UN85JU7100FXZC/

USA Website:

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/ow...-ju7100-series

Korean Website: only 1464.2

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 01-10-2017 at 04:43 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #9471 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 05:46 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
For you gamers: do you use game mode? Are there any downsides? I see it mentions a slight loss of PQ. Also, if you calibrated your set, did you just copy those settings over to game mode? It seems a lot more responsive, so I'm liking it so far.
milehighou is offline  
post #9472 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
carillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I just downloaded 1467 but haven't installed it. What does it change from my current 1463?
carillon is offline  
post #9473 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by carillon View Post
I just downloaded 1467 but haven't installed it. What does it change from my current 1463?
Well, the big thing it gives you is Netflix HDR. I have the JS8500 and so far it seems to bring the picture quality up a notch or two. I'm happy with this update.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #9474 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
For you gamers: do you use game mode? Are there any downsides? I see it mentions a slight loss of PQ. Also, if you calibrated your set, did you just copy those settings over to game mode? It seems a lot more responsive, so I'm liking it so far.
Yes, I use game mode. Settings are copied from normal except Color, Color Temperature, and lack of 10 Point White Balance. I prefer Color at 55 and Color Temperature on Standard for gaming. HDR Gaming is slightly different, as seen in my Signature.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #9475 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 06:48 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
Yes, I use game mode. Settings are copied from normal except Color, Color Temperature, and lack of 10 Point White Balance. I prefer Color at 55 and Color Temperature on Standard for gaming. HDR Gaming is slightly different, as seen in my Signature.
Thanks. It's probably OK to copy the WB settings and stuff, too, right? I like to emulate movie mode as closely as possible.
milehighou is offline  
post #9476 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Thanks. It's probably OK to copy the WB settings and stuff, too, right? I like to emulate movie mode as closely as possible.
Yes, I copied the 2 Point. I also use Auto for Color Space, but have the Custom Color Space settings the same as my normal viewing so I guess it defaults to Custom. Native is too Red overall.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #9477 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
carillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Well, the big thing it gives you is Netflix HDR. I have the JS8500 and so far it seems to bring the picture quality up a notch or two. I'm happy with this update.
Thanks! I'll wait for a few more early adopters before I take the plunge. I'll probably need to recalibrate after installing it.
carillon is offline  
post #9478 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 07:11 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
Yes, I copied the 2 Point. I also use Auto for Color Space, but have the Custom Color Space settings the same as my normal viewing so I guess it defaults to Custom. Native is too Red overall.
Cool. I also switched the color space to auto. Looks pretty good so far, and COD feels nice and tight with the controls.
wildgator25 likes this.
milehighou is offline  
post #9479 of 10358 Old 01-10-2017, 08:44 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Do you guys even notice a really washed out looking picture on dim scenes? It almost looks like the HDMI black level is set to high, but it's not. I'm not sure if this has anything to do with the built-in Amazon app, but I've been watching The Man in the High Castle (SDR), and sometimes certain scenes look very low contrast. They almost look hazy (when I don't think they're meant to be) and sometimes the shadows look overly blue. The brighter scenes look phenomenal. I think I have my settings dialed in pretty well. It's weird
milehighou is offline  
post #9480 of 10358 Old 01-11-2017, 10:40 PM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Got the 1467.0 update. Too late to play with it Will give it a go tomorrow.
King Richard likes this.
Peja is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off