samsung JU7100 - Page 317 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4824Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9481 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 05:18 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Thoughts on Digital Clean View and MPEG Noise Filter? If I turn them both to auto, they get rid of most of the artifacts on cable channels. The downside is, they seem to add some blur to the image. Not sure, but the MPEG filter seems to cause the most blur. Anyone found a good compromise?
milehighou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9482 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,340
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Thoughts on Digital Clean View and MPEG Noise Filter? If I turn them both to auto, they get rid of most of the artifacts on cable channels. The downside is, they seem to add some blur to the image. Not sure, but the MPEG filter seems to cause the most blur. Anyone found a good compromise?
I turn them all off, except digital clean..
I keep that on low..

I still then have a very sharp picture, but no grain etc..
muad'dib is offline  
post #9483 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 06:52 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by muad'dib View Post
I turn them all off, except digital clean..
I keep that on low..

I still then have a very sharp picture, but no grain etc..
Thanks. I'll have to play with DCV some more. Not sure auto is good, or if it's better to lock in a setting. I'm just hoping to clean up the abysmal quality of TWC a bit.
milehighou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9484 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
Got the 1467.0 update. Too late to play with it Will give it a go tomorrow.
Just checked for an update, and discovered that for some reason the TV couldn't reach the Internet. Changed to wireless, which worked, then back to wired, which now sees the Internet. Still no update. I'm still on 1464.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9485 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Just checked for an update, and discovered that for some reason the TV couldn't reach the Internet. Changed to wireless, which worked, then back to wired, which now sees the Internet. Still no update. I'm still on 1464.
I believe most of the people that have installed the update have done so using the USB method. It is the one strange time that their website has outpaced their Internet availability.
ml2517 is offline  
post #9486 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 09:05 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
I believe I'm still on 1464 as well. Anyone noticing any differences with the new firmware?
milehighou is offline  
post #9487 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,122
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1329 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
I believe I'm still on 1464 as well. Anyone noticing any differences with the new firmware?
The big one is Netflix HDR.
King Richard likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #9488 of 10358 Old 01-12-2017, 10:44 PM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Did some casual watching tonight after the update yesterday. The most obvious was each of three HDR shows stopped at about the 1 minute mark and exited Netflix and went back to DTV HDMI 1 input. Did restart of netflix app and all three played without incident from the start. I was hosting a extended family dinner so way more hosting than watching. Luke Cage did catch my attention as superior PQ than before the update.

I did use USB for update but the TV showed "no content" for all folders and files and no update. Tried 3-4 times. Very odd to me. But magically about an hour and a half later I was updated. Hopefully someone smarter than me can explain. My network is all hardwired. WAG.... Is it possible the USB triggered a website download?

Last edited by Peja; 01-12-2017 at 10:50 PM.
Peja is offline  
post #9489 of 10358 Old 01-14-2017, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I watched another episode of The Crown and got the same Netflix shutdown at the 1 minute mark. Restart and no issues during playback. Not impressed with HDR on The Crown but I think it's the style of the presentation rather than HDR being lacking. Anyone else on 1476.0 having the 1 minute glitch?
Peja is offline  
post #9490 of 10358 Old 01-14-2017, 11:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Posts: 2,995
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 72
The Crown isn't in HDR.
Bill is offline  
post #9491 of 10358 Old 01-15-2017, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
That would be a good reason I wasn't impressed. Thanks for the correction. That leads to HDR and non both dropping out at the start with 1467.0 update. Anybody else having issues? Anybody else have 1467.0?
Peja is offline  
post #9492 of 10358 Old 01-16-2017, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
That would be a good reason I wasn't impressed. Thanks for the correction. That leads to HDR and non both dropping out at the start with 1467.0 update. Anybody else having issues? Anybody else have 1467.0?
I've had Netflix on my 65" drop out of the application back to DirecTV RVU a fair amount both with this version of the firmware and previous firmwares (not sure if the Netflix application has updated in between or not). If you pop into the show and skip like 30 seconds ahead it usually is fine at that point.

Is the behavior you are talking about?
ml2517 is offline  
post #9493 of 10358 Old 01-16-2017, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
I've had Netflix on my 65" drop out of the application back to DirecTV RVU a fair amount both with this version of the firmware and previous firmwares (not sure if the Netflix application has updated in between or not). If you pop into the show and skip like 30 seconds ahead it usually is fine at that point.

Is the behavior you are talking about?
Yes on the Netflix dropout but I'm not using RVU just regular HDMI from a Genie. This issue is new to me with 1467.0. No issues with 1464. The 1467.0 is the HDR Netflix update. Surprised there's not more talk about it as it took a while to finally get here.
Peja is offline  
post #9494 of 10358 Old 01-16-2017, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
Yes on the Netflix dropout but I'm not using RVU just regular HDMI from a Genie. This issue is new to me with 1467.0. No issues with 1464. The 1467.0 is the HDR Netflix update. Surprised there's not more talk about it as it took a while to finally get here.
Peja - thanks for posting, did you update the firmware via thumb drive or download? I'm excited to have HDR Netflix, hope to see it go live soon.
scuzmcdragonsmoke is offline  
post #9495 of 10358 Old 01-16-2017, 06:41 PM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuzmcdragonsmoke View Post
Peja - thanks for posting, did you update the firmware via thumb drive or download? I'm excited to have HDR Netflix, hope to see it go live soon.
I used this link from @poppagene on Samsung website: http://redirect.viglink.com/?format=...-ju7100-series Down the page a bit to Product Info section. Downloaded to USB straight from the mother ship.
Peja is offline  
post #9496 of 10358 Old 01-16-2017, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
I used this link from @poppagene on Samsung website: http://redirect.viglink.com/?format=...-ju7100-series Down the page a bit to Product Info section. Downloaded to USB straight from the mother ship.
thanks for the link! I downloaded also and it does not show up on USB on the JU7100, just like you. I'll check back tomorrow and see it "magically" updates to 1476. Until then any one else receive the update? I'm liking the HDR on Amazon, although it seems just a little dark to me.....
scuzmcdragonsmoke is offline  
post #9497 of 10358 Old 01-17-2017, 03:08 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Not that I'm just noticing this, but material on cable TV is very inconsistent. Either that, or it's the original source material. I can flip through channels and some shows/movies look great, with solid black levels, contrast and color. OTOH, other stuff looks plain bad. Contrast is poor and black levels seem lighter than they should be. It can't be my TV because blurays and certain content looks great. For example, I watched a show I DVR'd off CBS last night, and PQ was top notch. Then I flipped through some of the movie channels like EPIX and was not impressed at all. Anyone else notice this?
milehighou is offline  
post #9498 of 10358 Old 01-17-2017, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Yes. My carrier is Directv and PQ changes through the channels is worse than panel lottery. Stunning to mush and all points in between.
Peja is offline  
post #9499 of 10358 Old 01-17-2017, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Not that I'm just noticing this, but material on cable TV is very inconsistent. Either that, or it's the original source material. I can flip through channels and some shows/movies look great, with solid black levels, contrast and color. OTOH, other stuff looks plain bad. Contrast is poor and black levels seem lighter than they should be. It can't be my TV because blurays and certain content looks great. For example, I watched a show I DVR'd off CBS last night, and PQ was top notch. Then I flipped through some of the movie channels like EPIX and was not impressed at all. Anyone else notice this?
Same for DISH hopper - some stuff IS SO BAD.
scuzmcdragonsmoke is offline  
post #9500 of 10358 Old 01-17-2017, 04:15 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
Yes. My carrier is Directv and PQ changes through the channels is worse than panel lottery. Stunning to mush and all points in between.
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuzmcdragonsmoke View Post
Same for DISH hopper - some stuff IS SO BAD.
Thanks. Sounds like it's not just me I wonder if cable companies will ever broadcast in 4K? I find it hard to believe they will ever manage to put out decent quality 4K since they seem to be struggling with 1080i
milehighou is offline  
post #9501 of 10358 Old 01-17-2017, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
Thanks. Sounds like it's not just me I wonder if cable companies will ever broadcast in 4K? I find it hard to believe they will ever manage to put out decent quality 4K since they seem to be struggling with 1080i


Probably 4K tv will be on cable when we are 5 years into 8K HDR40 🤣


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
milehighou likes this.
Bouncernl90 is online now  
post #9502 of 10358 Old 01-18-2017, 06:01 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
OK, so here is an example of the poor PQ I'm seeing with Man in the High Castle (SDR version). The first shot scene is from one of the alternate realities, so I'm assuming that's why the color pallette is that awful teal/orange combo. Notice the extremely light black levels.

The second scene has more normal colors, although still a bit blue. Again, the black levels are elevated and the picture just looks washed out. It's hard to get photos to perfectly match what I'm seeing, but these are fairly representative. It looks like I'm watching a projector in a bright room; that's how washed out some scenes look.

The correct brightness setting for my set is 45, but if I want this show to look like content I'm used to seeing, I have to reduce brightness to 35-40 (which of course is wrong). These problems have to be with the Amazon app or the mastering of the show, because this TV can produce excellent PQ on other content.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EMT_3976.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	406.8 KB
ID:	1902609   Click image for larger version

Name:	EMT_3987.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	398.3 KB
ID:	1902617  
milehighou is offline  
post #9503 of 10358 Old 01-18-2017, 08:13 AM
ETA
Member
 
ETA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
OK, so here is an example of the poor PQ I'm seeing with Man in the High Castle (SDR version). The first shot scene is from one of the alternate realities, so I'm assuming that's why the color pallette is that awful teal/orange combo. Notice the extremely light black levels.

The second scene has more normal colors, although still a bit blue. Again, the black levels are elevated and the picture just looks washed out. It's hard to get photos to perfectly match what I'm seeing, but these are fairly representative. It looks like I'm watching a projector in a bright room; that's how washed out some scenes look.

The correct brightness setting for my set is 45, but if I want this show to look like content I'm used to seeing, I have to reduce brightness to 35-40 (which of course is wrong). These problems have to be with the Amazon app or the mastering of the show, because this TV can produce excellent PQ on other content.
I haven't watched it recently but I was very impressed with the PQ of the pre-HDR 4K version of The Man in the High Castle on my set. I found that when HDR support was added the PQ had issues (mostly due to too much "blooming" from bright areas) but I haven't tried tweaking any settings for HDR so far apart from turning down the brightness. At the time I believe there was no way to turn HDR off?

Also, from what I can tell you are watching in 1080p -- is your bandwidth not high enough for the 4K version? I don't see why that would affect the PQ apart from it not being as sharp though...
ETA is offline  
post #9504 of 10358 Old 01-18-2017, 08:21 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETA View Post
I haven't watched it recently but I was very impressed with the PQ of the pre-HDR 4K version of The Man in the High Castle on my set. I found that when HDR support was added the PQ had issues (mostly due to too much "blooming" from bright areas) but I haven't tried tweaking any settings for HDR so far apart from turning down the brightness. At the time I believe there was no way to turn HDR off?

Also, from what I can tell you are watching in 1080p -- is your bandwidth not high enough for the 4K version? I don't see why that would affect the PQ apart from it not being as sharp though...
Yup, I've been watching the 1080 version. I'm not a fan of HDR, especially not on this TV. If I could watch the 4K without HDR, I would, but I don't think that's an option. Anyway, it's got to be something with the way the show is mastered. I guess they are shooting for a dull, washed out look. I know my TV is set up correctly, so I really doubt that's the cause. To get the picture to look normal (good contrast and black levels) to me, I have to turn the brightness way below 45.
milehighou is offline  
post #9505 of 10358 Old 01-19-2017, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
I jjst got bumped to 1467 today...went to Netflix and started Daredevil to test HDR. Shows HDR, TV automatically set itself to backlight 20, contrast 100. The problem I see with this is with a backlight of 20, there are no blacks. Anything above around 12 for backlight on this set starts to raise the 0 level blacks above .32 or whatever that lowest value is.

Closed captioning also looks like white laser beams pointed at my eyes on a dark scene. :-)

Paul
Anderegg is offline  
post #9506 of 10358 Old 01-19-2017, 05:25 PM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
I jjst got bumped to 1467 today...went to Netflix and started Daredevil to test HDR. Shows HDR, TV automatically set itself to backlight 20, contrast 100. The problem I see with this is with a backlight of 20, there are no blacks. Anything above around 12 for backlight on this set starts to raise the 0 level blacks above .32 or whatever that lowest value is.

Closed captioning also looks like white laser beams pointed at my eyes on a dark scene. :-)

Paul
And therein lies the problem. It's not just our model, I personally believe that HDR is a waste of time on any TV without at least full-array local dimming (FALD), or an emissive technology like OLED. I can see it being useful in a bright room, but you're just not going to get good blacks and extremely bright whites in a dark room. How many FALD sets are there right now? The only ones that come to mind are the Vizios, the Samsung 9800 and the Sony Z9D. They are in a huge rush to hype HDR, but they forgot to make displays capable of fully taking advantage of it. IMO, HDR on edge-lit sets is pretty much the same as running the TV in torch mode.
milehighou is offline  
post #9507 of 10358 Old 01-19-2017, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
samsung JU7100

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
I jjst got bumped to 1467 today...went to Netflix and started Daredevil to test HDR. Shows HDR, TV automatically set itself to backlight 20, contrast 100. The problem I see with this is with a backlight of 20, there are no blacks. Anything above around 12 for backlight on this set starts to raise the 0 level blacks above .32 or whatever that lowest value is.



Closed captioning also looks like white laser beams pointed at my eyes on a dark scene. :-)



Paul


The backlight maxes at 20. But most people find the HDR overall picture dimmer than normal viewing.

Try turning on dynamic contrast on high and smart led on high while watching HDR.

Ive seen HDR on Sony and LG tv's and dont think they outshine the ju7100.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is online now  
post #9508 of 10358 Old 01-19-2017, 10:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
And therein lies the problem. It's not just our model, I personally believe that HDR is a waste of time on any TV without at least full-array local dimming (FALD), or an emissive technology like OLED. I can see it being useful in a bright room, but you're just not going to get good blacks and extremely bright whites in a dark room. How many FALD sets are there right now? The only ones that come to mind are the Vizios, the Samsung 9800 and the Sony Z9D. They are in a huge rush to hype HDR, but they forgot to make displays capable of fully taking advantage of it. IMO, HDR on edge-lit sets is pretty much the same as running the TV in torch mode.


The JU7100 is a direct led tv, not edge led. And most don't get the crushed blacks while playing HDR.

Play around with Gamma and settings and if you are really unhappy try some Bias lighting!


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
wildgator25 and King Richard like this.
Bouncernl90 is online now  
post #9509 of 10358 Old 01-19-2017, 10:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 270
My gamma is -3, after calibrating the set with a i1D3 to REC709.

BTW, this f/w enables YOUTUBE HDR playback as well, but the set will not automatically increase the backlight and contrast.

YouTube HRD 4k looks AMAZING, probably using a much higher bitrate than Netflix. Greens look cartoonish though...grass and trees should not glow in the dark, like Uranium nuclear fuel rods from the Simpsons cartoon TV show!

Paul

Last edited by Anderegg; 01-19-2017 at 10:38 PM.
Anderegg is offline  
post #9510 of 10358 Old 01-19-2017, 10:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
My gamma is -3, after calibrating the set with a i1D3 to REC709.



BTW, this f/w enables YOUTUBE HDR playback as well, but the set will not automatically increase the backlight and contrast.



YouTube HRD 4k looks AMAZING, probably using a much higher bitrate than Netflix. Greens look cartoonish though...grass and trees should not glow in the dark, like Uranium nuclear fuel rods from the Simpsons TV carton show!



Paul


Try raising the gamma for HDR. Should splve the crushed blacks and contrast.

HDR is not made for perfect REC709 , its made to impress!


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
wildgator25 likes this.
Bouncernl90 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off