samsung JU7100 - Page 323 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4825Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9661 of 10362 Old 03-22-2017, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,175
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3995 Post(s)
Liked: 3169
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch079 View Post
The Korean site updated the downloadable firmware to 1469.3. http://www.samsung.com/sec/support/model/UN75JU7000F
Thanks - downloaded and installed OK. Getting tired of all these Members for the past while saying they got the update, and no one else was. Took a LONG time for it to show up on the website, whereas, it's usually only a couple of weeks from first hearing about it.

Now, will have to re-calibrate to see if any improvements.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 03-29-2017 at 02:00 PM.
p5browne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9662 of 10362 Old 03-23-2017, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Have you gently massaged the panel for a few days?
SmartLED should always be on Standard.
Off, you have no back lighting control, leaving a gray black background.


I massaged it for a few minutes, but not for an extended period of time. But when I turned on SmartLED it went away altogether, so I'm not worried about it at any rate. I never knew about that feature. Once I found out about it I was as happy as could be.
Czickefoose is offline  
post #9663 of 10362 Old 03-24-2017, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
abcdefghi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So, I picked up a One Connect Mini from eBay and it arrived today. However, I am having a hard time getting the stupid thing to do what I want it to. At the moment I have it connected as follows:

HDMI 1 - Xbox One
HDMI 2 - HTPC
HDMI 3 - Empty
HDMI 4 - Onkyo HT Receiver

I get no sound through the receiver regardless of input on the TV. If I set the TV to HDMI 1 and switch the Xbox on, I get picture and video through the TV, nothing through the receiver. If I open one of the apps on the TV, Netflix for example, set the TV to HDMI 4, I still only get video and sound through the TV. What I am hoping here is that I don't have to route the Xbox and HTPC through the receiver first, then HDMI out to the One Connect Mini, but also an HDMI from the One Connect Mini for the ARC channel if I am using the apps, and then the One Connect Mini to the TV. Since at that point the One Connect Mini is just ..... well, it's just taking up space and I wish the TV had an HDMI input directly on the unit.

Having to ask how to get this little box working correctly makes me feel somewhat stupid, it should be easy. I have been searching but can't seem to find how it should be connected. Found a couple posts from people asking the same thing, but no answer.
abcdefghi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9664 of 10362 Old 03-24-2017, 12:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,149
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked: 559
Are you certain that ARC is enabled on your Onkyo? I'm not familiar with them, but some have ARC off by default. That also means the AVR has to be set to TV audio. There might be a menu somewhere in the AVR that assigns the TV sound to either an optical port or the HDMI ARC port. If I recall, the TV has ARC enabled by default, but you do have to go into the Speakers setting and select Receiver. And receiver will only be an available option if the TV recognizes the AVR as ARC capable.
stanhere and King Richard like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #9665 of 10362 Old 03-24-2017, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
abcdefghi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep, only because I had to double check it was on!

I made some progress, with the receiver on it shows up on the TV menu as an option. If I then swap back to the TV speaker the receiver display shows "TV Speaker". But, when swapping back to the Receiver I got an error message that "Anynet+ device is not connected" please check and retry.

Assuming I should have the Xbox, HTPC plugged into the One connect Mini, then at least it may just be a case of trying to figure out the settings on the receiver.
abcdefghi is offline  
post #9666 of 10362 Old 03-24-2017, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,149
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1346 Post(s)
Liked: 559
Also possible there's a problem with the HDMI cable between the One Connect Mini and the AVR. Might not be allowing the correct signals through.

One other thought: I have heard here of people having an issue with the OCM and by unplugging it from the TV and reconnecting they resolved the issue. Might double check the connection.
stanhere and King Richard like this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #9667 of 10362 Old 03-24-2017, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
abcdefghi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Trying different cables was going to be my next course of action. I think I will unplug and reconnect the Mini to see if that does anything, make sure I have the settings correct on the receiver and assuming those are both good try a couple different HDMI cables...... now where did I put my stash of spare HDMI cables!!!

Edit: Sorted it out, it was the HDMI cable. Tried another and got sound right away, all sources work fine.
ml2517 likes this.

Last edited by abcdefghi; 03-24-2017 at 03:31 PM.
abcdefghi is offline  
post #9668 of 10362 Old 03-28-2017, 08:30 PM
Member
 
lmclouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
banding/posterization on JU7100

I have the UN75JU7100 with US02 panel and the latest 1469.3 firmware. I have been using wildgator25's Calibration 4 settings (using adjustments to the 2 point white balance subtracting 14 for the offsets and adding 9 to the B-Gain; instead of making service menu changes.) For the most part they seem to be working quite well.

But I have been seeing banding or posterization with views of the sky or other gradients.

Is there anything I can change in the settings to eliminate or at least minimize this?
Colin779 likes this.
lmclouth is offline  
post #9669 of 10362 Old 03-31-2017, 04:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,175
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3995 Post(s)
Liked: 3169
FW # 1469.3 Calibration of HDMI 4

Note: With my HU9000 + SEK, I have 4 sets of 2 Point values for Movie and Standard - Normal and HDMI -
It auto switches between the 2 sets of values depending on what is being watched.

The JU7100: 2 sets of values. Either Normal, or HDMI. No auto switching. So, I set my HDMI that my 4K Input is connected to the 2 Point HDR.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SamsungJU7100_March_31_2017.txt (2.0 KB, 166 views)
stanhere likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #9670 of 10362 Old 03-31-2017, 07:04 PM
Member
 
stanhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Note: With my HU9000 + SEK, I have 4 sets of 2 Point values for Movie and Standard - Normal and HDMI -
It auto switches between the 2 sets of values depending on what is being watched.

The JU7100: 2 sets of values. Either Normal, or HDMI. No auto switching. So, I set my HDMI that my 4K Input is connected to the 2 Point HDR.
1) Here we go again! with your continuing Help!! Many Thanks to your & wildgator25's ongoing, updated ""Sammy Settings""!!!

2) My 85" JU7100 has been running with FW 1469.x for two weeks now, BUT I cannot discern any change(s) good /or bad UNLIKE 1467 / 1468 previously.

Regards
wildgator25 likes this.

1_Samsung UN85JU7100 [TS01] fw1540.3 (wo JS Mod) & PBrowne's \WG's Cal's/ Sony DA5800ES/ 9.2 ch Definitive Technology/ PCH C-300
/Oppo 203/ USB HD's //// 2_Samsung UN60F8000/ Sony DA5400ES/ 7.1 ch Definitive Technology/ PCH C-300/ USB HD's

Last edited by stanhere; 03-31-2017 at 07:08 PM.
stanhere is offline  
post #9671 of 10362 Old 04-01-2017, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,175
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3995 Post(s)
Liked: 3169
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanhere View Post
1) Here we go again! with your continuing Help!! Many Thanks to your & wildgator25's ongoing, updated ""Sammy Settings""!!!

2) My 85" JU7100 has been running with FW 1469.x for two weeks now, BUT I cannot discern any change(s) good /or bad UNLIKE 1467 / 1468 previously.

Regards
There was a 1468 ?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #9672 of 10362 Old 04-02-2017, 11:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 271
JU7100 vs MU7000

Anyone got any feel for the new MU7000? I am looking for a step up from the JU7100 in 40" form, but after the disappointment with the KU7000 being worse than the JU7100, a bit hesitant to get emotional about new TV's. Got excited when they said there would be a 40" Q7 QLED, but that apparently did not happen. Seems like people are saying the MU7000 would be similar to a 40" KS8500????

Paul
Anderegg is offline  
post #9673 of 10362 Old 04-02-2017, 08:39 PM
Member
 
lmclouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
banding/posterization on JU7100

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmclouth View Post
I have the UN75JU7100 with US02 panel and the latest 1469.3 firmware. I have been using wildgator25's Calibration 4 settings (using adjustments to the 2 point white balance subtracting 14 for the offsets and adding 9 to the B-Gain; instead of making service menu changes.) For the most part they seem to be working quite well.

But I have been seeing banding or posterization with views of the sky or other gradients.

Is there anything I can change in the settings to eliminate or at least minimize this?
Has no one else seen this banding/posterization?

Or is it just that no one has a solution?
lmclouth is offline  
post #9674 of 10362 Old 04-03-2017, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
MrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicagoland Area
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I have read that the MU8000 is not as good as the KS8000. Not sure how the MU7000 is going to be closer to the 8000/8500 than the MU8000.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
MrRoy is offline  
post #9675 of 10362 Old 04-03-2017, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 691 Post(s)
Liked: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmclouth View Post
Has no one else seen this banding/posterization?

Or is it just that no one has a solution?
I haven't seen any banding, but my panel is a TS01. As to posterization, that is more than likely due to poor source such as satellite or cable. See if the same posterization occurs with Bluray or 4k streaming, then assess.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #9676 of 10362 Old 04-05-2017, 01:34 PM
Member
 
lmclouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
I haven't seen any banding, but my panel is a TS01. As to posterization, that is more than likely due to poor source such as satellite or cable. See if the same posterization occurs with Bluray or 4k streaming, then assess.
Does anyone know the particulars or differences between a TS01 and a US02 panel?

I think the banding and posterization are basically the same thing. But I have seen it from a cable box source (which I know is over-compressed) and in 1080p streaming from apps like VUDU. I have seen it with the same app VUDU directly from SmartHub and streaming to a Chromecast Ultra.

Does the SmartLED or Digital Clean View or MPEG Noise Filter settings have any affect on banding/posterization?
lmclouth is offline  
post #9677 of 10362 Old 04-05-2017, 11:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Apologies if this has already been asked and discussed, is it possible to use regular wired headphones with the TV ?

I can't seem to find enough information by just making searches on this forum or google, most of the info I found is for wireless, bluetooth etc .. I played with the options in TV sound menu a bit, and even looked through the manual (at least the manual I found online) without much success.

I have used the TV as a PC monitor for about a year, and just today it got moved for another purpose, to replace my old 1080p TV to be used for cable TV watching.

First thing my wife asked me to do is plug in the headphones, so she can watch while the baby is sleeping.

And like I used to normally do with my previous TV, I took my Sennheiser headphones, and tried the different 3.5mm jacks I have on the side of the TV. The black one seemed to work in that I could get sound on my headphones.

The problem is that the volume on the headphones is too high, the sound on the TV speakers is still on (with headphones plugged in), and the volume buttons on the remote only control the TV volume, not the headphones volume.

So maybe this connection is for audio devices / receivers etc ..that would have their own volume control, processing .... and really the TV should not be used with headphones ?

Or am I missing something obvious ? Is there any way my wife can use headphones while watching cable and be able to adjust volume ?

Thanks !
alextr75 is offline  
post #9678 of 10362 Old 04-06-2017, 05:38 AM
Newbie
 
nspock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My answer to the headphones was connect to the DirecTV with wireless headphones. Works fairly well lower the volume on the TV and adjust the headphones to my licking. There is an option for Bluetooth but I haven't tried it yet.


Hopefully someone smart will be along shortly with a better solution.


Spock
nspock is offline  
post #9679 of 10362 Old 04-06-2017, 06:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Can I install the 7100 software on my ju7000?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #9680 of 10362 Old 04-06-2017, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bouncernl90 View Post
Can I install the 7100 software on my ju7000?


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
Nope. http://www.samsung.com/ae/support/se...keyword=ju7000 Pick the firmware from there.
mitch079 is offline  
post #9681 of 10362 Old 04-10-2017, 08:11 AM
Member
 
O.E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hello there!

This might have been answered but I think I might need to revert to ORIGINAL FIRMWARE?

I changed my firmware to custom through its service panel. My television automatically updated a firmware and now I cannot connect to the internet using applications such as PLEX. It keeps asking me to check my internet while other apps like NETFLIX or Youtube work fine.

Is there a fix for this? MUCH APPRECIATED!
O.E. is offline  
post #9682 of 10362 Old 04-10-2017, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,175
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3995 Post(s)
Liked: 3169
Quote:
Originally Posted by O.E. View Post
Hello there!

This might have been answered but I think I might need to revert to ORIGINAL FIRMWARE?

I changed my firmware to custom through its service panel. My television automatically updated a firmware and now I cannot connect to the internet using applications such as PLEX. It keeps asking me to check my internet while other apps like NETFLIX or Youtube work fine.

Is there a fix for this? MUCH APPRECIATED!
FW can NOT go backwards. Try HUB resetting, and putting Network DNS to 8.8.8.8
tampa8 likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #9683 of 10362 Old 04-10-2017, 06:24 PM
Member
 
O.E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
fw can not go backwards. Try hub resetting, and putting network dns to 8.8.8.8
hub resetting?
O.E. is offline  
post #9684 of 10362 Old 04-10-2017, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,175
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3995 Post(s)
Liked: 3169
Quote:
Originally Posted by O.E. View Post
hub resetting?
In the Menu selection.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #9685 of 10362 Old 04-11-2017, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch079 View Post
Nope. http://www.samsung.com/ae/support/se...keyword=ju7000 Pick the firmware from there.


I know where to get the ju7000 software. But it doesn't give us Netflix hdr (yet?).


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
Bouncernl90 is offline  
post #9686 of 10362 Old 04-12-2017, 01:01 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Hey my friends!

Back in June of last year I wrote a short "article" (post) about Color Volume.

>What is Color Volume?<

I put a LINK to it in my signature and I'm sure many of you read it in the past.

Recently, I started thinking about revisiting and updating that "article", given the recent increased interest in the subject of Color Volume, and adding additional info, illustrations, and pictures to it.

I finally got around to doing it yesterday, but instead of just updating the original post, I decided to re-post it as a brand new "Thread". Not only did I add additional info, I also adding a whole new section to it.

(This way, it could reach readers from other threads who don't read this one - since the subject matter applies to all TV brands, makes and models.)

I would like to invite you to check-out my new post. (Just click the LINK above or the one in my signature.)

If you like it, please leave a comment to let me know.

Thank You!

Richard
tampa8 and wildgator25 like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #9687 of 10362 Old 04-14-2017, 02:11 PM
ETA
Member
 
ETA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by alextr75 View Post
Apologies if this has already been asked and discussed, is it possible to use regular wired headphones with the TV ?
Yup - I use them from time to time to keep the noise level down, especially when playing games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alextr75 View Post
The problem is that the volume on the headphones is too high, the sound on the TV speakers is still on (with headphones plugged in), and the volume buttons on the remote only control the TV volume, not the headphones volume.
Yup, either get a pair of headphones with a volume control or what I did was to get a 3.5" volume control, plug the headphones into that, then connect the other end to the tv audio out hack with a 3.5" extension cable.

I never found any way to control the volume though the tv itself...
ETA is offline  
post #9688 of 10362 Old 04-14-2017, 09:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 475 Post(s)
Liked: 271
So I noticed a large dark patch in the upper rightish area of my 40JU7100...is this a backlight edge lit failure indication? It's pretty visible on anything that pans or moves in the image. Would this be covered under warranty?

Wish I could get something like an MU7000, but I am reading it only has a 60Hz panel, so Blueray and Netflix streaming would all be crap.

:-(
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170414_211943.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	2085145   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170414_211934.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	2085153   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170414_211714.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	131.2 KB
ID:	2085161  
Anderegg is offline  
post #9689 of 10362 Old 04-15-2017, 05:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by ETA View Post
or what I did was to get a 3.5" volume control, plug the headphones into that, then connect the other end to the tv audio out hack with a 3.5" extension cable.
Thanks !

I did get it working eventually with an older JDS O2+ODAC combo I had, that I previously used with my PC. Which contains an external amplifier with its own volume control. It just sucks to use one more power outlet. My "TV over fireplace setup" is starting to get really cramped.

Could you explain a bit about what I quoted you above, not sure I understand what you mean by "plug into that", and "tv audio out hack". Is this some kind of a solution for the case where I would not have headphones with built-in volume control? How exactly does that work ?

Just wondering, if there is a way to not have to use my JDS combo, I'd rather not.

Thanks again
alextr75 is offline  
post #9690 of 10362 Old 04-15-2017, 06:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
So I noticed a large dark patch in the upper rightish area of my 40JU7100...is this a backlight edge lit failure indication? It's pretty visible on anything that pans or moves in the image. Would this be covered under warranty?

Wish I could get something like an MU7000, but I am reading it only has a 60Hz panel, so Blueray and Netflix streaming would all be crap.

:-(
I have something similar on mine (40" JU7100), a lot of darker clouds easily visible on white background.

I think mine is out of warranty, so I just try to ignore them, hopefully they don't get worse, or it would be time for a new TV. Or I can just put my old 1080p Sony KDL-40XBR4. Almost 10 years old and still going strong.

Can't quite judge from the your pictures, maybe mine are not as dark, but are for sure easily visible on white background.
alextr75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off