samsung JU7100 - Page 339 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4827Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10141 of 10380 Old 04-16-2018, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by meduzadg View Post
Anybody noticed increase in brightness and color saturation with the new 1530 firmware update or is it only placebo effect? Also, still no hlg..
I thought this initially too but then turning it on the day after the update my unit completely locked up (black screen on all inputs) that required a unplug/plug to get it working again. After that power cycle the brightness and colors look normal now. And so it goes.
rotohead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10142 of 10380 Old 04-16-2018, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1441 Post(s)
Liked: 649
I watched a UHD HDR title on Vudu with my Roku Ultra the other night and didn't notice anything different about color or brightness. Just looked good.

Of course, the majority of the time this TV is only watching SD material off my server, with some HD thrown in once in a while.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10143 of 10380 Old 04-16-2018, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pilotart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Cool Evolution Kit from Samsung in our future ?

Saw this post over on the SEK3500 Thread which might be of interest for any (especially those who postponed for later Evo Kits to be introduced) of the 2013-2015 Samsung 9000 and 8000 (7000?) series TV's which were promised update kits for five years:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post55994070

Notice the poster is out of Norway....

Quote:
....(This says Australia but i think this is for the rest of us also)

"Why Evolution Kits were not released yearly -

The release of each Evolution Kit since launch has allowed for upgrades to TV model features, allowing our consumers to enjoy the latest Samsung Smart TV interfaces and benefits without having to purchase a new TV. Some of the benefits included upgraded features and services, updated Smart Hub, and faster speeds.

The Evolution Kits were launched in years when an innovative performance improvement could be applied to the existing interface. In some years, Evolution Kits were not released because they would not have offered any significant improvement to the TV interface to warrant our consumers purchasing a new Evolution Kit.

In saying this, we are pleased to advise that Samsung Australia will be releasing a 2018 UHD Evolution Kit which will allow for eligible 2013 – 2015 Samsung UHD TVs to be upgraded. ....
HDR-10 is the only 'hardware' involved thing I can think of that could be added, too bad that the ATSC-3 Tuners (4K OTA from Broadcast TV) are still a few years away.
Art
pilotart is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10144 of 10380 Old 04-16-2018, 01:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1441 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Since the JU7100 already supports HDR-10 to the limits of its panel, I don't see how an Evolution kit could improve that function. Anything more than it has now would require a new panel.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10145 of 10380 Old 04-16-2018, 09:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I watched a UHD HDR title on Vudu with my Roku Ultra the other night and didn't notice anything different about color or brightness. Just looked good.

Of course, the majority of the time this TV is only watching SD material off my server, with some HD thrown in once in a while.
My experience with HDR on the JU7100, is that it sets the picture to 100cd/m, with a backlight of 20, and uses some sort of LUT to spread the "up to 1000nit" remaining highlights up to the JU7100's 370cd/m limit. I can produce my own HDR content, and when I view an SDR version at calibrated 100cd/m, then view the HDR version with the set calling on backlight 20, the shadows and midtones all appear the same brightness, but the highlights are stretched somewhat . I would honestly speculate that the JU7100 HDR looks no better, maybe even not as good, as SDR on a high quality 4K TV with better contrast and brightness.

So I just bought a Sony to replace my JU710, and the 7100 is going in another room with a cablebox and Samsung soundbar. How do I connect the soundbar (3.5mm/optical/SoundConnect-BT) to ensure that I can use the cable TV universal remote to control power and volume to the system? I am not familiar with connecting a Samsung this way, or controlling it with other than the smart remote. :-\

Paul
Anderegg is offline  
post #10146 of 10380 Old 04-17-2018, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1441 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post

So I just bought a Sony to replace my JU710, and the 7100 is going in another room with a cablebox and Samsung soundbar. How do I connect the soundbar (3.5mm/optical/SoundConnect-BT) to ensure that I can use the cable TV universal remote to control power and volume to the system? I am not familiar with connecting a Samsung this way, or controlling it with other than the smart remote. :-\

Paul
If your connection from the TV to the soundbar is optical, there is no method to use CEC to control the volume. CEC only works via HDMI. If the cable remote has the correct codes, you should be able to configure it to control the TV and the soundbar, but I haven't used a universal remote for so many years I can't guess the steps required to configure it. Each brand will likely have a different method anyway.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10147 of 10380 Old 04-17-2018, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Since the JU7100 already supports HDR-10 to the limits of its panel, I don't see how an Evolution kit could improve that function. Anything more than it has now would require a new panel.
Just off the top of my head, if this rumor of new evolution kit is true, I would think the following could potentially be added, based on the features 2018 sets will have, but I don't have a JU7100 to know if they're currently supported: HDR-10+, HLG, High Frame Rate (120 hz) input, 1440p input, Variable Refresh Rate (this seems least likely). On top of new smart features, a faster processor, and other things not directly related to picture quality. And maybe new audio passthrough features over ARC, but I'm not familiar with what the JU7100 can pass or even what the 2018 sets can pass over ARC.

Setup:
Spoiler!
dkfan9 is offline  
post #10148 of 10380 Old 04-17-2018, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1441 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkfan9 View Post
Just off the top of my head, if this rumor of new evolution kit is true, I would think the following could potentially be added, based on the features 2018 sets will have, but I don't have a JU7100 to know if they're currently supported: HDR-10+, HLG, High Frame Rate (120 hz) input, 1440p input, Variable Refresh Rate (this seems least likely). On top of new smart features, a faster processor, and other things not directly related to picture quality. And maybe new audio passthrough features over ARC, but I'm not familiar with what the JU7100 can pass or even what the 2018 sets can pass over ARC.
All valid points. But they are all improvements over the existing HDR support. I don't think the kit could make basic HDR any better without a new panel. But adding those features would certainly be worthwhile. For ARC, perhaps they could support the latest version that supports HD audio. That would almost make it worthwhile to use the TV's DLNA function instead of something external like a Shield or Roku. Speaking of, if they improved the DLNA functionality they would make the TV interface actually useful for local media!

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10149 of 10380 Old 04-17-2018, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,746
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
All valid points. But they are all improvements over the existing HDR support. I don't think the kit could make basic HDR any better without a new panel. But adding those features would certainly be worthwhile. For ARC, perhaps they could support the latest version that supports HD audio. That would almost make it worthwhile to use the TV's DLNA function instead of something external like a Shield or Roku. Speaking of, if they improved the DLNA functionality they would make the TV interface actually useful for local media!
Oh, absolutely, there's no algorithm to change the LEDs or LCDs native performance. Even within the limits of the tv itself, This is exciting news if true in an age of disposable and quickly outdated electronics.
dkfan9 is offline  
post #10150 of 10380 Old 04-18-2018, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Plus it would be great to get a faster internet Ethernet connection.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10151 of 10380 Old 04-19-2018, 12:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 728
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 488 Post(s)
Liked: 280
These damn things are basically just a circuit board, power supply, and panel, with a big plastic clamshell on the back. Just make them modular. :-)

Paul
Anderegg is offline  
post #10152 of 10380 Old 04-20-2018, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Completed, after 4 hours, the Calman Autocal of my JU7100 using the direct connect through the Ext-Link.
Should have taken 1, but MobileForge setup issues, miscues, mistakes, and `how did that happen', sort of slowed things down. But finally finished at 4 AM, HDMI 1 and 2. Now to tackle the USB and HDR calibrations.

Addendum: USB calibration went horribly wrong - woke up this morning realizing I had left the Ext-Link cable connected to the laptop. Start over !

Edit: It wasn't the Ext-Link cable, but Samsung smucking up our sets !

# 1 - Nit level has dropped from 450 to 375 Nits. `IF', you MANUALLY switch SmartLED from Standard to High. Else wise Standard is 341 Nits.

# 2 - The dual settings for USB Inputs is gone, replaced by either SDR or HDR 2 Point settings - your choice. Separate SDR and HDR CMS settings, and 10 Point SDR settings showing up, BUT, do any of these HDR settings actually matter, or is Samsung switching in ALL the HDR settings from the ASM ?

# 3 - Is Samsung trying to drive us to buy New ? (Something like Apple dimming your getting older Smart Phone)

Next up - the HDMI HDR calibration for my 4K UBD-K8500 Input. Will results be the same ?

Note: Another thing now that has changed, despite Calman set to 100% Windows, the SDR patterns on the USB only came up as 18%. Same patterns on the KS9800, full screen. (Of course I haven't checked since the last FW update. Maybe they messed that set up to ?)

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 04-22-2018 at 08:40 AM.
p5browne is offline  
post #10153 of 10380 Old 04-25-2018, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 1,103
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Completed, after 4 hours, the Calman Autocal of my JU7100 using the direct connect through the Ext-Link.
Should have taken 1, but MobileForge setup issues, miscues, mistakes, and `how did that happen', sort of slowed things down. But finally finished at 4 AM, HDMI 1 and 2. Now to tackle the USB and HDR calibrations.

Addendum: USB calibration went horribly wrong - woke up this morning realizing I had left the Ext-Link cable connected to the laptop. Start over !

Edit: It wasn't the Ext-Link cable, but Samsung smucking up our sets !

# 1 - Nit level has dropped from 450 to 375 Nits. `IF', you MANUALLY switch SmartLED from Standard to High. Else wise Standard is 341 Nits.

# 2 - The dual settings for USB Inputs is gone, replaced by either SDR or HDR 2 Point settings - your choice. Separate SDR and HDR CMS settings, and 10 Point SDR settings showing up, BUT, do any of these HDR settings actually matter, or is Samsung switching in ALL the HDR settings from the ASM ?

# 3 - Is Samsung trying to drive us to buy New ? (Something like Apple dimming your getting older Smart Phone)

Next up - the HDMI HDR calibration for my 4K UBD-K8500 Input. Will results be the same ?

Note: Another thing now that has changed, despite Calman set to 100% Windows, the SDR patterns on the USB only came up as 18%. Same patterns on the KS9800, full screen. (Of course I haven't checked since the last FW update. Maybe they messed that set up to ?)
What would be the reason they dropped nits? Would that be why very recently I felt I had to raise the backlight?
tampa8 is offline  
post #10154 of 10380 Old 04-25-2018, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
What would be the reason they dropped nits? Would that be why very recently I felt I had to raise the backlight?
Will know more once I do the UBD-K8500 HDR Masciola Patterns to calibrate the HDMI 1 it's on.

Addendum:
Like the USB calibration, drastic changes to the CMS. 2 Point, not much change.
Maximum NITS under normal viewing HDR conditions - 375 Nits. (SmartLED put on High) Definitely a drop from 450 under the same testing conditions.

I'm wondering if the previous 450 was causing issues to the panel, so the Nit level was dropped ?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 04-25-2018 at 10:56 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #10155 of 10380 Old 04-26-2018, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
What a flippin mess !

What a mess ! UN75JU7100

2 Point - No matter Source being on Current Source, or not, last 2 Point calibration shows up everywhere !

Other Modes, USB Input, HDR, SDR and Apps

10 Point - Same issue

CMS: Same issue except for CMS HDR.

HDMI 1 HDR CMS

Red: 70 22 34
Grn: 0 65 19
Blu: 41 50 91
Yel: 100 100 53
Cyn: 0 81 85
Mag: 100 60 100

USB HDR CMS: Secondaries Yellow and Magenta differences ?

Red: 70 22 34
Grn: 0 65 19
Blu: 41 50 91
Yel: 48 45 9
Cyn: 0 81 85
Mag: 39 5 41

SDR CMS: Last calibration changes all other SRDs ?

Red: 48 0 4
Grn: 10 48 6
Blu: 0 8 46
Yel: 50 48 8
Cyn: 6 50 52
Mag: 46 8 50

Plus SmartLED does NOT autoswitch when you go into HDR. Manual switching only.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 04-26-2018 at 10:27 AM.
p5browne is offline  
post #10156 of 10380 Old 04-26-2018, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pilotart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,220
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 511
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
What would be the reason they dropped nits? Would that be why very recently I felt I had to raise the backlight?
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
<......>
I'm wondering if the previous 450 was causing issues to the panel, so the Nit level was dropped ?
Don't own a 7100 but that was my thought, that they were trying to prevent burned panels.
Art
tampa8 likes this.
pilotart is online now  
post #10157 of 10380 Old 04-29-2018, 12:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Within the last month or two, HBOGO stopped working. Every other app works fine. I tried deleting and reinstalling but the app still gets stuck on the splash screen. Does anyone else have this issue?
smac7 is offline  
post #10158 of 10380 Old 04-30-2018, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by smac7 View Post
Within the last month or two, HBOGO stopped working. Every other app works fine. I tried deleting and reinstalling but the app still gets stuck on the splash screen. Does anyone else have this issue?
Just tested it on my JU7100 75" and it is working fine for me (I authenticate through DirecTV if that matters).

One thing that I do on both of my JU7100's is turn off "Samsung Instant On" which may or may not help you but worth a try. It is in Menu -> System -> General

Also, in the past to fix a similar issue with Netflix I had to pull the power plug on my TV for 30 seconds and then plug it back in.
pilotart likes this.

Last edited by ml2517; 04-30-2018 at 02:34 PM.
ml2517 is offline  
post #10159 of 10380 Old 05-03-2018, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Can someone help me out here , Just bought one of these used as a backup 3d TV. But cannot seem to find the Hours used under the service menu. How can I look at how many Hours are on this TV? Has great picture BTW. great blacks . Thanks
ZIRO is offline  
post #10160 of 10380 Old 05-04-2018, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZIRO View Post
Can someone help me out here , Just bought one of these used as a backup 3d TV. But cannot seem to find the Hours used under the service menu. How can I look at how many Hours are on this TV? Has great picture BTW. great blacks . Thanks
If the unit has had a Factory Reset done to it, the hours of use will be moot.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10161 of 10380 Old 05-05-2018, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
If the unit has had a Factory Reset done to it, the hours of use will be moot.
No factory reset has been done, Bought it from a private owner , Met the guy when he did a demo of the unit for me. Just trying to figure out how to look at the Hours.
ZIRO is offline  
post #10162 of 10380 Old 05-09-2018, 04:24 PM
Member
 
bobgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Control with Harmony

Does anyone know if there's a way to get Harmony Hub control of the TV without having to use IR? It's not a deal breaker for me, but would be nice to have if it's possible. Searched the thread and not getting anything related.

Thanks!
bobgodd is offline  
post #10163 of 10380 Old 05-09-2018, 09:24 PM
Member
 
Darth Evader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Question Sudden 1" Long Dead Pixels

I've been using my Samsung UN55JU7100 since November of 2015 and it's been a flawless experience. After returning from a 10-day vacation and powering on the television I notice there is now a 1" long vertical streak of dead pixels in the screen's top-right quadrant.
  • When the screen is on a black background, then the pixels appear green.
  • When it's on a light background, then they appear more pink.
  • What's really strange is that when it is powered off, you can still see that these pixels appear differently than the rest of the screen.

Here are some pictures. Note that the screen is turned off in the last picture, and it has actually lengthened about an inch since the pictures were taken a few weeks ago.

I am 100% certain this issue did not exist prior to leaving for vacation. I am also 100% certain that nobody entered the residence while I was away. In other words, it wasn't damaged by somebody.

I am very curious to learn the technical reasons why something like this might spontaneously happen after having no problems for over two years. Do the pixels burn or blow out after a time? Is this a common problem on this model? Any hope of fixing it?
Darth Evader is offline  
post #10164 of 10380 Old 05-10-2018, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Evader View Post
I've been using my Samsung UN55JU7100 since November of 2015 and it's been a flawless experience. After returning from a 10-day vacation and powering on the television I notice there is now a 1" long vertical streak of dead pixels in the screen's top-right quadrant.
  • When the screen is on a black background, then the pixels appear green.
  • When it's on a light background, then they appear more pink.
  • What's really strange is that when it is powered off, you can still see that these pixels appear differently than the rest of the screen.

Here are some pictures. Note that the screen is turned off in the last picture, and it has actually lengthened about an inch since the pictures were taken a few weeks ago.

I am 100% certain this issue did not exist prior to leaving for vacation. I am also 100% certain that nobody entered the residence while I was away. In other words, it wasn't damaged by somebody.

I am very curious to learn the technical reasons why something like this might spontaneously happen after having no problems for over two years. Do the pixels burn or blow out after a time? Is this a common problem on this model? Any hope of fixing it?
This is likely one of the circuit boards going out on you that will have to be replaced. I've seen posts over the years on this thread with people having that same issue.

You can try to unplug the TV for a few minutes and plug it back in though. Worth a shot.
ml2517 is offline  
post #10165 of 10380 Old 05-10-2018, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,200
Mentioned: 242 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4008 Post(s)
Liked: 3182
If you have the Disney WOW Blu-ray, you can try using the Flicker program for an hour or so to see if that helps.
tampa8 likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10166 of 10380 Old 05-11-2018, 04:13 PM
Member
 
dilipb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quick question:
I read somewhere that other TVs get Dolby Vision via firmware updates, so wondering if my/ours un75ju7100 could get Dobly vision via firmware.
dilipb is offline  
post #10167 of 10380 Old 05-11-2018, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,299
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1441 Post(s)
Liked: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilipb View Post
Quick question:
I read somewhere that other TVs get Dolby Vision via firmware updates, so wondering if my/ours un75ju7100 could get Dobly vision via firmware.
Unlikely. Unless there's an actual hardware chip already there (highly unlikely) it requires a strong CPU to perform the conversion via software. I don't think the JU has enough power. Now if they come out with an expansion box, then it becomes a maybe. But so far I haven't heard of any such box for the JU.
dilipb likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10168 of 10380 Old 05-14-2018, 05:53 PM
Member
 
Darth Evader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
This is likely one of the circuit boards going out on you that will have to be replaced. I've seen posts over the years on this thread with people having that same issue.

You can try to unplug the TV for a few minutes and plug it back in though. Worth a shot.
Unplugging it didn't help.

I searched and searched through this thread, but I couldn't find any other posts with people having this same issue. Do you know which board it is they replaced? I took a chance and bought a T-CON board off of eBay, but it didn't make a difference.

Even while it's unplugged, I can see the line of pixels is different from the rest of the screen. Wouldn't that be more indicative of something physically going bad in the panel itself?

Also, I don't have access to the Disney WOW blu ray unfortunately.
Darth Evader is offline  
post #10169 of 10380 Old 05-15-2018, 05:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Evader View Post
Even while it's unplugged, I can see the line of pixels is different from the rest of the screen. Wouldn't that be more indicative of something physically going bad in the panel itself?
Yeah that looks concerning. Almost like those lines of pixels blew up/fried or something. I'm not sure if you can see a normal stuck pixel like that with the panel turned off or not.
ml2517 is offline  
post #10170 of 10380 Old 05-19-2018, 08:18 PM
Senior Member
 
TheNecromancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Pinewood, MN
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Does anyone know what the eathernet speed is on our TV? I went to 1 gig internet speed and the tv only shows 60 mps. My friend suggested that perhaps the TV is limited?
TheNecromancer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off