samsung JU7100 - Page 341 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4824Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10201 of 10356 Old 07-12-2018, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
I just discovered a significant improvement with the latest firmware. Previously, when playing HDR content the screen would to black out for 2-3 seconds after the video begins. Now, I don't see any blanking at all, and none of the video is missed. I had to double-check that it was detecting HDR and switching the settings to be certain. It was that different. Nice improvement.
tampa8 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10202 of 10356 Old 07-12-2018, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
What s the latest version?
Peja is offline  
post #10203 of 10356 Old 07-13-2018, 07:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
What s the latest version?
Mine is 1530. It was auto-updated, I didn't download it from anywhere and install from USB.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10204 of 10356 Old 07-13-2018, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
This TV can be calibrated with Calman, and an External Link cable attached to the External Link Port. (via AutoCal, or DCC controller for manual adjustment.)
tampa8 likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10205 of 10356 Old 07-13-2018, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Peja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Mine is 1530. It was auto-updated, I didn't download it from anywhere and install from USB.
I loaded 1530 last October. Did your's auto update 1530 recently? I think there is a 1530.x (can't recall the last number)
Peja is offline  
post #10206 of 10356 Old 07-13-2018, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peja View Post
I loaded 1530 last October. Did your's auto update 1530 recently? I think there is a 1530.x (can't recall the last number)
Couldn't say when it was last updated. I don't manually check it very often, so it was done without my attention. And if there's anywhere in the menu that shows a more granular version number or date of update, I haven't seen it.

But this is our bedroom TV, so I am not fiddling with it much.
Peja likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10207 of 10356 Old 07-13-2018, 03:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
FW # 1530.1 to be exact.
stanhere likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10208 of 10356 Old 07-13-2018, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
carillon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Not to my knowledge. Certainly not serial, as it has no connection. I tried connecting to the TV via web browser with no success. Unknown if telnet or ssh might be available.
Thanks @atc98092 .
carillon is offline  
post #10209 of 10356 Old 07-14-2018, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
rotohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
... And if there's anywhere in the menu that shows a more granular version number or date of update, I haven't seen it.
If you go into 'Support' (bottom of opening screen via menu) then to 'Contact Samsung', it will list much info including the firmware version.
rotohead is offline  
post #10210 of 10356 Old 07-14-2018, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotohead View Post
If you go into 'Support' (bottom of opening screen via menu) then to 'Contact Samsung', it will list much info including the firmware version.
Good info. Thanks!

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10211 of 10356 Old 07-15-2018, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
vtince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Just noticed that my ARC stopped working. It detects my receiver, but no sound goes to it, and also i have flickering in the screen, very annoying.
vtince is offline  
post #10212 of 10356 Old 07-17-2018, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
bnewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Shepherdsville, Ky USA
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Where can I download the 1530.1 for my ju7100?


I did not see it on Samsung's site

Remembering Dad's passing 01/16/2017


May God Guide and Guard the USA!
bnewt is offline  
post #10213 of 10356 Old 07-17-2018, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtince View Post
Just noticed that my ARC stopped working. It detects my receiver, but no sound goes to it, and also i have flickering in the screen, very annoying.
Unplug power from the TV. That usually fixes it for me.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
heyodee is offline  
post #10214 of 10356 Old 07-17-2018, 10:55 AM
Newbie
 
vtince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyodee View Post
Unplug power from the TV. That usually fixes it for me.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Thanks, It works after unplugging the TV. However, now, using the volume on the samsung remote doesnt control the volume on my receiver. It used to work before...
vtince is offline  
post #10215 of 10356 Old 07-17-2018, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnewt View Post
Where can I download the 1530.1 for my ju7100?


I did not see it on Samsung's site
It's all downloaded to our sets from Samsung. Not available on their sites. (Popup came on screen saying there was an update available.)
stanhere likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 07-22-2018 at 04:14 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #10216 of 10356 Old 07-20-2018, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnewt View Post
Where can I download the 1530.1 for my ju7100?


I did not see it on Samsung's site
On the TV, Support->Software Update->Check for Updates

Last edited by mitch079; 07-20-2018 at 07:49 PM.
mitch079 is offline  
post #10217 of 10356 Old 07-22-2018, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Is it my imagination, or is this set looking a lot better with the hot damp weather ?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10218 of 10356 Old 07-22-2018, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Does the Netflix app on this tv support Dolby Atmos?
D-Pyro is offline  
post #10219 of 10356 Old 07-24-2018, 07:32 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
1530.1 is finally up on the US website. https://www.samsung.com/us/support/o...mart-tv-ju7100
mitch079 is offline  
post #10220 of 10356 Old 07-24-2018, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch079 View Post
1530.1 is finally up on the US website. https://www.samsung.com/us/support/o...mart-tv-ju7100
Also Canadian site:

https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N65JU7100FXZC/

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10221 of 10356 Old 08-01-2018, 01:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all, new AVS member here (this is actually my first post)!

I've owned the JU7100 for a few years now and have done a bit of research on it to make sure I'm getting the best picture at all times. I've seen quite a few people here wondering if the JU7100 has an 8- or 10-bit panel and here's what I found:

I can confirm that the JU7100 has an 8-bit panel depth but uses FRC to emulate a 10-bit panel depth. This allows for the display to leverage a faux HDR10 effect (which is actually quite impressive to say the least) and implement color enhancing technologies.

I have screenshots and source links to support my claim but as this is my first post, AVS will not let me include images or links until after my 5th post.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JU7100 panel FRC.PNG
Views:	80
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	2435856  
MarcStew is offline  
post #10222 of 10356 Old 08-01-2018, 01:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It actually looks like the picture attached in my last post! The source of the screenshot was displayspecifications.com and then I searched for the JU7100 and scrolled down in the specs page to "Panel bit depth" (as seen in the screenshot). AVS will not let me post the full URL until after my 5th post however.
MarcStew is offline  
post #10223 of 10356 Old 08-01-2018, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcStew View Post
Hello all, new AVS member here (this is actually my first post)!

I've owned the JU7100 for a few years now and have done a bit of research on it to make sure I'm getting the best picture at all times. I've seen quite a few people here wondering if the JU7100 has an 8- or 10-bit panel and here's what I found:

I can confirm that the JU7100 has an 8-bit panel depth but uses FRC to emulate a 10-bit panel depth. This allows for the display to leverage a faux HDR10 effect (which is actually quite impressive to say the least) and implement color enhancing technologies.

I have screenshots and source links to support my claim but as this is my first post, AVS will not let me include images or links until after my 5th post.
https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/bb3738

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10224 of 10356 Old 08-01-2018, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I’ve had this tv for years and I stopped following this thread regularly a while back so I’m not sure if this has already been posted, but I figured I’d come back and share something I figured out for my ARC issues.

I don’t know if it’s the tv or my receiver (Onkyo TX-NR717), but ARC never worked seamlessly. I have input 4 of my mini connect connected to my receiver. When using the built in tv apps, my typical workaround to make ARC work was to start an app, switch my receiver to TV, unplug the receiver and plug it back in. Annoying but effective.

Since my receiver doesn’t pass HDR, I plugged my PS4 into HDMI 1 of my mini connect to play a game. I realized that whenever I switch to HDMI 1, ARC works perfectly with no receiver unplugging required. So, receiver connected to HDMI 4, but using HDMI 1 to watch apps with ARC. I don’t quite understand why this works, but maybe it will work for others. Sorry if this has already been posted.

TL;DR: Connect receiver to HDMI 4, then switch to HDMI 1 to use apps w/ARC.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TV: Samsung UN65JU7100, TH01
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR717
BMoreLas is offline  
post #10225 of 10356 Old 08-02-2018, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreLas View Post
I’ve had this tv for years and I stopped following this thread regularly a while back so I’m not sure if this has already been posted, but I figured I’d come back and share something I figured out for my ARC issues.

I don’t know if it’s the tv or my receiver (Onkyo TX-NR717), but ARC never worked seamlessly. I have input 4 of my mini connect connected to my receiver. When using the built in tv apps, my typical workaround to make ARC work was to start an app, switch my receiver to TV, unplug the receiver and plug it back in. Annoying but effective.

Since my receiver doesn’t pass HDR, I plugged my PS4 into HDMI 1 of my mini connect to play a game. I realized that whenever I switch to HDMI 1, ARC works perfectly with no receiver unplugging required. So, receiver connected to HDMI 4, but using HDMI 1 to watch apps with ARC. I don’t quite understand why this works, but maybe it will work for others. Sorry if this has already been posted.

TL;DR: Connect receiver to HDMI 4, then switch to HDMI 1 to use apps w/ARC.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I had random ARC issues with my set for a long time. The set would power up, along with my AVR, but Anynet would not "see" the AVR and would only play sound through the internal speakers. I recently replaced my Yamaha AVR with a new model that supports Atmos and DTS:X (model in my sig line), and I haven't experienced an issue with ARC since. My guess is the new Yamaha plays better with the Samsung for CEC/ARC.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10226 of 10356 Old 08-02-2018, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I had random ARC issues with my set for a long time. The set would power up, along with my AVR, but Anynet would not "see" the AVR and would only play sound through the internal speakers. I recently replaced my Yamaha AVR with a new model that supports Atmos and DTS:X (model in my sig line), and I haven't experienced an issue with ARC since. My guess is the new Yamaha plays better with the Samsung for CEC/ARC.


I was looking to do the same and figured a newer receiver might do the trick. I have 7.1 set up now and I was hoping to move up to 7.1.2 but it’s still a little pricey at the moment. Starts to add up when you get the receiver, then the speakers, then the new Blu Ray player.... I’m glad I have a work around for my current setup to make me feel better until prices come down a little. Good to know if I get a new receiver it’s got a good chance of working nicely with the tv.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TV: Samsung UN65JU7100, TH01
AVR: Onkyo TX-NR717
BMoreLas is offline  
post #10227 of 10356 Old 08-02-2018, 09:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
No issues here - wife says what we have is good enough, and we're not going to spend the money to improve things !

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10228 of 10356 Old 08-03-2018, 04:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreLas View Post
I was looking to do the same and figured a newer receiver might do the trick. I have 7.1 set up now and I was hoping to move up to 7.1.2 but it’s still a little pricey at the moment. Starts to add up when you get the receiver, then the speakers, then the new Blu Ray player.... I’m glad I have a work around for my current setup to make me feel better until prices come down a little. Good to know if I get a new receiver it’s got a good chance of working nicely with the tv.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah, the AVR was all I needed, although I did buy two new L/R mains and use my old ones as the .2 aimed at the ceiling. I still haven't bought a UHD player. So far I've just ripped the few UHD movies I've bought and put them on my server. My 4K Rokus as well as my Shield play them just fine, and with the Shield I get TrueHD Atmos and DTS:X as well.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10229 of 10356 Old 08-08-2018, 07:51 AM
Newbie
 
vtince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Anyone have trouble updating to 1530.1?

I have a 50" panel and have downloaded the 1530.1 FW onto USB from the US site. Currently my tv has 1530. When i try to update via USB, it says that there are no updates available. Anyone have seen this problem?
vtince is offline  
post #10230 of 10356 Old 08-08-2018, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by vtince View Post
I have a 50" panel and have downloaded the 1530.1 FW onto USB from the US site. Currently my tv has 1530. When i try to update via USB, it says that there are no updates available. Anyone have seen this problem?
I don't think you can install the same version you already have. That's why it says none available, if you already have 1530. I think you have to ignore the dot 1 on the end. I've never seen a fractional version released.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off