samsung JU7100 - Page 343 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4824Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10261 of 10356 Old 09-11-2018, 02:44 PM
Member
 
AVonGauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Firmware Version 1540.3 (AUG 28, 2018) is now on the global site, as always, no clue what the actual changes are yet.
AVonGauss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10262 of 10356 Old 09-11-2018, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVonGauss View Post
Firmware Version 1540.3 (AUG 28, 2018) is now on the global site, as always, no clue what the actual changes are yet.
Canadian Website - not upgraded yet on the Korean. My set is NOT downloading itself. So will USB feed it.

https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N75JU7100FXZC/

Addendum: had to do a complete re-calibration after this FW update.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 09-12-2018 at 10:53 PM.
p5browne is online now  
post #10263 of 10356 Old 09-18-2018, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
canadian website - not upgraded yet on the korean. My set is not downloading itself. So will usb feed it.

https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...n75ju7100fxzc/

addendum: Had to do a complete re-calibration after this fw update.
yikes. What did it change
tampa8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10264 of 10356 Old 09-19-2018, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
yikes. What did it change
One never really knows with Samsung. Their lips remain sealed about each FW update.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #10265 of 10356 Old 09-19-2018, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
One never really knows with Samsung. Their lips remain sealed about each FW update.
Lol I meant what changed that made you need to re-calibrate?
tampa8 is offline  
post #10266 of 10356 Old 09-20-2018, 08:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by tampa8 View Post
Lol I meant what changed that made you need to re-calibrate?
2, 10 Point and CMS - ALL had to be re-calibrated.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #10267 of 10356 Old 09-20-2018, 11:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Something new to think about

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.ph...&id=1537441037

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #10268 of 10356 Old 09-20-2018, 12:09 PM
Member
 
AVonGauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Does this apply to the JU7100 series?
AVonGauss is offline  
post #10269 of 10356 Old 09-20-2018, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
They don't list the JU7100 as compatible, but it might be worth the upgrade if they do offer it. Although we do get semi-HDR, and it is noticeable with my UHD rips. But the improved smart hub might be worthwhile from the screenshot they show.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10270 of 10356 Old 09-20-2018, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
They don't list the JU7100 as compatible, but it might be worth the upgrade if they do offer it. Although we do get semi-HDR, and it is noticeable with my UHD rips. But the improved smart hub might be worthwhile from the screenshot they show.
May not be possible because of the type of OCB the JU has, versus the JS.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #10271 of 10356 Old 09-22-2018, 07:31 PM
Member
 
stanhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
2, 10 Point and CMS - ALL had to be re-calibrated.

Hi p5browne!


Are you re-applying the same "good-old" Cals that you offered to us a year-ago-or-more *1 OR something 'new' ?



[*1 = They've worked well for me in the interim!]

1_Samsung UN85JU7100 [TS01] fw1540.3 (wo JS Mod) & PBrowne's \WG's Cal's/ Sony DA5800ES/ 9.2 ch Definitive Technology/ PCH C-300
/Oppo 203/ USB HD's //// 2_Samsung UN60F8000/ Sony DA5400ES/ 7.1 ch Definitive Technology/ PCH C-300/ USB HD's
stanhere is offline  
post #10272 of 10356 Old 09-22-2018, 09:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanhere View Post
Hi p5browne!


Are you re-applying the same "good-old" Cals that you offered to us a year-ago-or-more *1 OR something 'new' ?



[*1 = They've worked well for me in the interim!]
All calibrations posted are up to date - oops, forgot to post them ! Will attach.
Note: NO HDR since I no longer watch 4K UHDs on this set. When I went to write up the settings, I noticed I used Gamma of -2 previously, now -1
leading to many negative numbers. Next time, may revert to -2 after next FW update if there gets to be one.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SamsungJU7100_Sept_23_2018.txt (1.6 KB, 96 views)

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 09-22-2018 at 09:44 PM.
p5browne is online now  
post #10273 of 10356 Old 09-24-2018, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Has anyone been able to successfully view 4k @ 60hz on their tv? I recently purchased a sony x700 4k uhd player and no matter what I try to do I cant get it to display at 60hz?
thanks
gtman2012 is offline  
post #10274 of 10356 Old 09-26-2018, 05:55 AM
Member
 
nola4130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone had issues with ARC lately? I've had my TV since November 2015, and now I cannot get ARC to connect. When I go through the steps on the TV, the "Anytime + HDMI-CEC" doesn't show up in the bottom left corner when it's trying to switch to ARC. I'm using a Pioneer VSX-1021k receiver and double checked that it's set up correctly. I also tried another HDMI cable with no luck.
nola4130 is offline  
post #10275 of 10356 Old 09-26-2018, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by nola4130 View Post
Has anyone had issues with ARC lately? I've had my TV since November 2015, and now I cannot get ARC to connect. When I go through the steps on the TV, the "Anytime + HDMI-CEC" doesn't show up in the bottom left corner when it's trying to switch to ARC. I'm using a Pioneer VSX-1021k receiver and double checked that it's set up correctly. I also tried another HDMI cable with no luck.
I had issues with ARC with my previous AVR (also a Yamaha), but it's been rock solid since I replaced the AVR 2-3 months ago. Before that, ARC was hit or miss, and I wasn't convinced the AVR was the problem. But it drove the wife crazy enough that she told me to replace it. Lo and behold, it was the AVR. And the old AVR is still working fine for my son-in-law, but he doesn't use ARC.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10276 of 10356 Old 09-26-2018, 06:36 AM
Member
 
nola4130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I had issues with ARC with my previous AVR (also a Yamaha), but it's been rock solid since I replaced the AVR 2-3 months ago. Before that, ARC was hit or miss, and I wasn't convinced the AVR was the problem. But it drove the wife crazy enough that she told me to replace it. Lo and behold, it was the AVR. And the old AVR is still working fine for my son-in-law, but he doesn't use ARC.
Thanks. That might be the case. I may go purchase one just to see if that is the problem.
nola4130 is offline  
post #10277 of 10356 Old 09-27-2018, 06:43 AM
Member
 
nola4130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I had issues with ARC with my previous AVR (also a Yamaha), but it's been rock solid since I replaced the AVR 2-3 months ago. Before that, ARC was hit or miss, and I wasn't convinced the AVR was the problem. But it drove the wife crazy enough that she told me to replace it. Lo and behold, it was the AVR. And the old AVR is still working fine for my son-in-law, but he doesn't use ARC.
I purchased an Onkyo 676 last night and could not get it to connect either. At one point the "Anynet +(HDMI CEC)" tried to load when I went to Sound->Speaker List->Receiver. However, I could not find out how to turn on ARC on the Onkyo receiver before the tv stopped searching.
Right before I went to sleep, I checked my daughter's TV and it supports ARC. So I'm going to try that when I get home from work today.
nola4130 is offline  
post #10278 of 10356 Old 09-28-2018, 05:59 AM
Member
 
nola4130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I updated to 1540 Firmware and it fixed the problem. ARC is working again!
nola4130 is offline  
post #10279 of 10356 Old 10-02-2018, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: WA, in the middle of nowhere with the bears
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question, the 'faux HDR' on the JU7100 is there anyway to disable this? I'm on 1540.3. The issue is newer PC games are trying to implement HDR. Along with Microsoft's mangled efforts at 'dithered HDR10' at 8bit or whatever it is, the problem is some games are triggering the HDR mode which results in resetting the screen to the dull lifeless MS default of limited RGB despite having that disabled in Windows 10. (yet it doesn't trigger the backlight..go figure) So I realize I can't downgrade the firmware so is there a way to revert the 'HDR' behavior or to disable it in the service menu? Thanks for your time.
HeavyHemi is offline  
post #10280 of 10356 Old 10-02-2018, 03:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
I know of no way to disable it. Afraid you're stuck with it. In fact, I haven't seen any TV that it is selectable.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10281 of 10356 Old 10-03-2018, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
HeavyHemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: WA, in the middle of nowhere with the bears
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I know of no way to disable it. Afraid you're stuck with it. In fact, I haven't seen any TV that it is selectable.

One of these days *standards will stop changing..about the time of the next extinction level event. The only certain thing is change. I did manage to find a work around using a tool called 'Borderless Gaming'. It basically forces the game, in this case Madden 19 into a borderless window mode which disables Windows or the games' HDR. It looks and runs as it should. The game itself does not have the option to run in borderless window even though the game clearly supports it. Thanks for your time.
HeavyHemi is offline  
post #10282 of 10356 Old 10-03-2018, 08:20 PM
Member
 
nola4130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just noticed that VUDU has 4K movies, but when I used the app from the tv, I don't get the option to pick 4K option. Is it the app not updated?
nola4130 is offline  
post #10283 of 10356 Old 10-05-2018, 09:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by nola4130 View Post
I just noticed that VUDU has 4K movies, but when I used the app from the tv, I don't get the option to pick 4K option. Is it the app not updated?
It's not on the list. https://forum.vudu.com/forum/vudu/ge...-Devices-List= If you need a device and don't have one, keep an eye on the next batch of Premiere Rokus that just came out for $40/$50.

Last edited by mitch079; 10-05-2018 at 09:11 PM.
mitch079 is offline  
post #10284 of 10356 Old 10-08-2018, 05:15 AM
Member
 
nola4130's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch079 View Post
It's not on the list. https://forum.vudu.com/forum/vudu/ge...-Devices-List= If you need a device and don't have one, keep an eye on the next batch of Premiere Rokus that just came out for $40/$50.
Thanks. I was looking at those the other day. I did try to use the VUDU app through my PS4, but when I tried to select UHD movie, it said that my TV was not compatible.
nola4130 is offline  
post #10285 of 10356 Old 10-09-2018, 11:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Has anyone been able to successfully view 4k @ 60hz on their tv? I recently purchased a sony x700 4k uhd player and no matter what I try to do I cant get it to display at 60hz?
thanks
gtman2012 is offline  
post #10286 of 10356 Old 10-09-2018, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
My Nvidia Shield is set for native framerate, and most Blu rays are 24hz, so that's what my rips play at. Not certain if any of my downloaded clips are encoded at 60 Hz. Will have to take a look.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10287 of 10356 Old 10-17-2018, 12:55 PM
Senior Member
 
abcdefghi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hoping someone can help me out here. I have my JU7100 connected to an Onkyo HT-R590 receiver and an Xbox One X. Anytime I try to play a movie using Plex on the Xbox (the Samsung app has not been updated in who knows how long) if the movie has been encoded with DTS audio, I get complete silence from the receiver no matter what settings I try on the TV.

I have another Xbox One hooked to a Samsung DLP TV and a Pionner receiver and the same movie will play fine, the HT-R590 is compatible with DTS audio, so somewhere along the line something is happening where I get no audio.

Any idea's what to check? Thanks.
abcdefghi is offline  
post #10288 of 10356 Old 10-17-2018, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,121
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1328 Post(s)
Liked: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcdefghi View Post
Hoping someone can help me out here. I have my JU7100 connected to an Onkyo HT-R590 receiver and an Xbox One X. Anytime I try to play a movie using Plex on the Xbox (the Samsung app has not been updated in who knows how long) if the movie has been encoded with DTS audio, I get complete silence from the receiver no matter what settings I try on the TV.

I have another Xbox One hooked to a Samsung DLP TV and a Pionner receiver and the same movie will play fine, the HT-R590 is compatible with DTS audio, so somewhere along the line something is happening where I get no audio.

Any idea's what to check? Thanks.
My guess (I don't have an XBox) is that the audio out settings are not correct for bitstreaming all audio. I know in my Shield I have to specifically tell it to bitstream DD, DTS, TrueHD and Master Audio. Actually, on the Shield I have to set bitstreaming both for the Shield itself (it's not that detailed) and Kodi (with all the specific settings). I also have Plex, and do get DTS from it on the Shield, but can't recall if there's a specific setting in the Plex app itself.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #10289 of 10356 Old 10-18-2018, 06:11 AM
Senior Member
 
abcdefghi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Fixed it, after trying endless combinations of audio settings on the receiver, TV and Xbox, I finally stumbled onto a thread on the Plex forum where someone else was getting no audio from an Xbox. However, in their case it was AAC and AC3 audio, that led to another thread where someone had fixed their audio by turning off "Display Mode Switching" in the Plex Xbox app. Figured why not give it a try on mine, and sure enough, switching that off made the audio work.

I would never have thought to look in the video settings in order to get the audio to work. Makes no sense to me. Going to double check it is playing surround as expected, by the time I got it working last night I was done paying much attention to what was actually playing on the TV.
abcdefghi is offline  
post #10290 of 10356 Old 10-20-2018, 02:07 PM
Member
 
remark900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
All calibrations posted are up to date - oops, forgot to post them ! Will attach.
Note: NO HDR since I no longer watch 4K UHDs on this set. When I went to write up the settings, I noticed I used Gamma of -2 previously, now -1
leading to many negative numbers. Next time, may revert to -2 after next FW update if there gets to be one.
Hey p5browne,

If I wanted to use these settings without making the Service Menu adjustments (don't feel like messing around in there) what would the white balance and RGB values be?

Thanks!
remark900 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off