samsung JU7100 - Page 345 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4827Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10321 of 10380 Old 11-07-2018, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
abcdefghi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yep, out of warranty. Assuming the back cover comes off pretty easily as well as the board if needed? I have no problems dismantling electronics, just like to have some idea of what to expect before digging into them.
abcdefghi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10322 of 10380 Old 11-07-2018, 03:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Quote:
Originally Posted by abcdefghi View Post
Yep, out of warranty. Assuming the back cover comes off pretty easily as well as the board if needed? I have no problems dismantling electronics, just like to have some idea of what to expect before digging into them.
Also, while there, tighten down any mounting screws holding the boards to the chassis. Loose screws, cause grounding issues. (You may find this also improves your PQ!
Make sure to lie the set down on the bed, or a quilt on the floor. Note the second suggestion is not appropriate for people with small children, or people who have a tendency to trip over things!

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 11-07-2018 at 09:04 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #10323 of 10380 Old 12-28-2018, 05:07 AM
Member
 
Yorchz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Having issues with my JU7100 for some reason I assuming software update my anynet + stopped working.....

I have 3 Samsung TV JU7100, KS8000 and KU7000 connected to 3 Nvidia shields the “K” Tvs as soon as I start the shield the TV turns on and switch to the correct hdmi input or if I turn on the ps4 same.

With the JU is not the case is not turning on or switching hdmi inputs but I can control my devices with the samsung remote once the tv is manually on and switched to the correct hdmi any ideas?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yorchz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10324 of 10380 Old 12-28-2018, 05:08 AM
Member
 
Yorchz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyodee View Post
Have a Google mini controlling the shield which turn on and off the TV via anynet

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Is this still working for you? My TV Stopped turning on and off automatically


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yorchz is offline  
post #10325 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 03:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorchz View Post
Is this still working for you? My TV Stopped turning on and off automatically


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not sure what changed... But sometime it worked and other times it does not.

So I tweaked the setup.

The tv is plugged to a smart switch.
This solves all the issues.

Ok Google, turn on something for example turns on all the components I need , TV(smart switch), sound bar(Samsung smart things), shield, tv light strip which is connected to TV

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
heyodee is offline  
post #10326 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Yorchz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyodee View Post
Not sure what changed... But sometime it worked and other times it does not.

So I tweaked the setup.

The tv is plugged to a smart switch.
This solves all the issues.

Ok Google, turn on something for example turns on all the components I need , TV(smart switch), sound bar(Samsung smart things), shield, tv light strip which is connected to TV

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Yeah something happened since I can turn on every single TV on my house with Google.. except the JU7100.. also seems the HDMI-CEC (Anynet+) is broken since if I turn on my PS4 it won’t turn on the TV or in case the TV is on it doesn’t change the input to the PS4 HDMI do you have something similar?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yorchz is offline  
post #10327 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 07:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorchz View Post
Yeah something happened since I can turn on every single TV on my house with Google.. except the JU7100.. also seems the HDMI-CEC (Anynet+) is broken since if I turn on my PS4 it won’t turn on the TV or in case the TV is on it doesn’t change the input to the PS4 HDMI do you have something similar?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I totally agree. Not sure happened but something definitely did. The TV + CEC is broken. The smart switch is a good work around though.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
heyodee is offline  
post #10328 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Yorchz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyodee View Post
I totally agree. Not sure happened but something definitely did. The TV + CEC is broken. The smart switch is a good work around though.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


Which firmware do you have?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yorchz is offline  
post #10329 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 08:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorchz View Post
Which firmware do you have?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Current firmware version is 1530

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
heyodee is offline  
post #10330 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Yorchz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyodee View Post
Current firmware version is 1530

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk


1540 Here..... weird but definitely broke... Contacting Samsung now to see if they have a solution.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yorchz is offline  
post #10331 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyodee View Post
I totally agree. Not sure happened but something definitely did. The TV + CEC is broken. The smart switch is a good work around though.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
CEC still works on mine. I turn the TV on and the AVR powers up and switches to the TV audio in (ARC). If I hit a button on my Shield remote the AVR and TV both change their inputs as necessary. Not certain what firmware it's on but it auto-updates so should be the same.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #10332 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Yorchz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
CEC still works on mine. I turn the TV on and the AVR powers up and switches to the TV audio in (ARC). If I hit a button on my Shield remote the AVR and TV both change their inputs as necessary. Not certain what firmware it's on but it auto-updates so should be the same.
Can you check your TV firmware please?, In fact I have 2 JU7100 and both Tvs have same issue Anynet is broken
Yorchz is offline  
post #10333 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 01:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorchz View Post
Can you check your TV firmware please?, In fact I have 2 JU7100 and both TVs have same issue Anynet is broken
I'm on 1530. Checked for an update and said there was none. Perhaps they pulled 1540 because of the problems you've noted.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #10334 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I'm on 1530. Checked for an update and said there was none. Perhaps they pulled 1540 because of the problems you've noted.
1540.3 still available here on Canada's Samsung website:


https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N75JU7100FXZC/

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10335 of 10380 Old 12-29-2018, 10:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 59 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
1540.3 still available here on Canada's Samsung website:


https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N75JU7100FXZC/
I was referring to the self-check for updates. I've downloaded updates before, but if 1540 really broke CEC I'm in no hurry to install it.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #10336 of 10380 Old 12-31-2018, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Sorry, I never use the CEC to know if it is broken.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10337 of 10380 Old 12-31-2018, 10:00 AM
Member
 
remark900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Coming from a 55 inch Samsung JU7100 I am looking at upgrading to a 65 inch TV...and I am interested in the 900f and Z9D...

My main question - am I going to notice a huge improvement besides the 10 inch screen size or am I best waiting for CES for something like microLED?
remark900 is offline  
post #10338 of 10380 Old 12-31-2018, 10:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1540 Update

All my picture settings were maxed in brightness and contrast. Had to reset (setup menu) to restore. CEC was not broken.
Brandon Anderson is offline  
post #10339 of 10380 Old 01-01-2019, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My JU7100 seems to be reverting back to factory settings despite showing the correct settings. i.e. Soap opera mode is definitely in full force and no setting changes make a difference. I have to factory reset the TV, and set it back up at least weekly. Any ideas?
Ryan Shevchik is offline  
post #10340 of 10380 Old 01-02-2019, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Shevchik View Post
My JU7100 seems to be reverting back to factory settings despite showing the correct settings. i.e. Soap opera mode is definitely in full force and no setting changes make a difference. I have to factory reset the TV, and set it back up at least weekly. Any ideas?
You may have a Power Supply board that needs fixing, or replacing.
Check here re pricing. Maybe cheaper to fix.

https://www.shopjimmy.com/tvs

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10341 of 10380 Old 02-04-2019, 12:27 PM
Newbie
 
khundkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any one had an issue where playstation 4 pro would show saturated bright colors when UHD mode was turned on?


It has happened twice so far, and going in and turning off UHD deep color mode fixes the problem, and then turning it back on works just fine as well.
khundkar is offline  
post #10342 of 10380 Old 02-11-2019, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by khundkar View Post
Any one had an issue where playstation 4 pro would show saturated bright colors when UHD mode was turned on?


It has happened twice so far, and going in and turning off UHD deep color mode fixes the problem, and then turning it back on works just fine as well.



I have this problem too. Usually with my UBP-800. Its very very annoying.

TV - UN65J71000 | AVR-X4400H | BR - UBP-X800 | L/R - Canton GLE 490 | C - Paradigm Monitor 1 v7 | R - Canton 865 | Atmos - Canton 465 | Sub - SVS PB-2000
mnmsrt89 is offline  
post #10343 of 10380 Old 02-19-2019, 04:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

Have any of you had problems with the tv having more clouding over time and also that apps turnes off/hdmi input switches completely random?

Even the Tizen menu is very slow, I have tried to make one full reset without any improvements.
Lazarevic is offline  
post #10344 of 10380 Old 03-06-2019, 08:24 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Have bumped my 7100 back to JS Mod

After being totally dissatisfied as to how Black Panther 4K UHD looked on this set, have now bumped it back to the JS Mod to see if this will improve the PQ.
Will keep Forum posted. Possible calibration this weekend to see what changes re settings and PQ.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10345 of 10380 Old 03-09-2019, 06:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
JS Mod calibrations

Notes:
# 1 JS Mod Settings almost the same as the non JS Mod settings - so, interchangeable See # 4 note.
# 2 Nit levels for HDR have dropped by a 1/3 on my set
# 3 HDR, in order to calibrate CMS without a lot of Zeros, Gamma dropped to 0 from the SDR -2
# 4 SmartLED dropped to Low from Standard due to Blue Spike at Zero in Standard - this also aligns JS Mod settings to non JS Mod in Standard. So if using these settings on a non JS Mod, leave SmartLED on Standard.

Addendum: Retried watching Black Panther. Improved, but spoiled by watching UHD 4K Movies on my KS9800. Wife's TV, and it does her 3D movies and Satellite shows just fine.
Attached Files
File Type: txt SamsungJU7100_SDR_HDR_March_9_2019.txt (2.6 KB, 59 views)
stanhere likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 03-09-2019 at 04:50 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #10346 of 10380 Old 04-01-2019, 03:32 PM
Member
 
musaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have roku stick+ hooked up to my TV. UHD color is turned on. When playing HDR content from Netflix, its quite dark. Any suggestion to improve the screen? Do i need to perform the JS mod to it?

Thanks!
musaji is offline  
post #10347 of 10380 Old 04-02-2019, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Quote:
Originally Posted by musaji View Post
I have roku stick+ hooked up to my TV. UHD color is turned on. When playing HDR content from Netflix, its quite dark. Any suggestion to improve the screen? Do i need to perform the JS mod to it?

Thanks!
JS Mod didn't help. HDR Nit levels are dropping on my set. Don't know about others? Anyone else checking their Nit levels?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10348 of 10380 Old 04-03-2019, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SpenceJT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by musaji View Post
I have roku stick+ hooked up to my TV. UHD color is turned on. When playing HDR content from Netflix, its quite dark. Any suggestion to improve the screen? Do i need to perform the JS mod to it?

Thanks!
I saw something similar many months back where the auto-brightness (whatever it is called) was enabled, and my screen would start out normal when powered up, and then the brightness would begin to drop, almost to the point where I could not make out images.

The issue went away when I disabled it.

Check your settings when you get a chance?

SpenceJT


"Someone ever tries to kill you, you try to kill 'em right back!"
- Malcolm Reynolds, Capt. "Serenity" -
SpenceJT is offline  
post #10349 of 10380 Old 04-03-2019, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,184
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3175
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpenceJT View Post
I saw something similar many months back where the auto-brightness (whatever it is called) was enabled, and my screen would start out normal when powered up, and then the brightness would begin to drop, almost to the point where I could not make out images.

The issue went away when I disabled it.

Check your settings when you get a chance?
Are you referring to Dynamic Contrast?
Mine is always Off.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #10350 of 10380 Old 04-10-2019, 02:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Are you referring to Dynamic Contrast?
Mine is always Off.
He's referring to the auto backlight brightness adjustment under the Eco settings. I haven't bothered updated to 1540 since you mentioned the drop in NIT continued.
mitch079 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off