samsung JU7100 - Page 75 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4827Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
RVU and 1218

I see that after updating to 1218, the RVU on the input menu no longer says "this cool feature will available later" or something like that - it asks for a PIN. Has anyone who's had Directv out and is ready for the RVU tried it yet? I've been waiting to call DTV for the install (and 2 year extension, probably) until I see at least one person who has the RVU working on their 7100.

By the way, I asked earlier about YouTube and anything better than dolby 2.0. Using ARC, I don't see anything other 2.0. I get 5.1 on Netflix and Amazon Prime, so I know it's not the setup.
mlucas128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlucas128 View Post
I see that after updating to 1218, the RVU on the input menu no longer says "this cool feature will available later" or something like that - it asks for a PIN. Has anyone who's had Directv out and is ready for the RVU tried it yet? I've been waiting to call DTV for the install (and 2 year extension, probably) until I see at least one person who has the RVU working on their 7100.
Thanks for reminding me to test this. RVU is officially working on my JU7100! Just set it up and watched the 4K free 2 minute video that DirecTV has and it looked glorious.
ml2517 is offline  
post #2223 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 12:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1522 Post(s)
Liked: 733
I don't have DirecTV, but I'm happy for all of you that have been waiting for this. Enjoy!
syscokid likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2224 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Reading what they say on the DTV site, I'll have to move my Genie to another room. What isn't clear is what actually connects to the tv? Is it a coax off the dish? Or ethernet? Or wireless? Or something else? Thanks.
mlucas128 is offline  
post #2225 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I don't have DirecTV, but I'm happy for all of you that have been waiting for this. Enjoy!
No kidding...I thought there was going to be a class-action lawsuit and/or a riot.

Still no HBO Go though, so I guess we're not out of the woods yet...
syscokid likes this.
BMoreLas is offline  
post #2226 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 01:48 PM
Member
 
dzl13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: OKC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've seen conflicting reports. Can the 7100 play 1080P MKV directly from multiple NAS's (home network)? I just picked it up but have a long wait ahead of me getting home to test it.
dzl13 is offline  
post #2227 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Is it true that JU7100 is HDR capable with one connect box upgrade? I thought someone on the forum mentioned it but I can't seem to find the thread anymore.
dojoman is offline  
post #2228 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Azpen30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzl13 View Post
I've seen conflicting reports. Can the 7100 play 1080P MKV directly from multiple NAS's (home network)? I just picked it up but have a long wait ahead of me getting home to test it.
I can confirm that it can, I have had no issues really. Sometimes it doesn't like DTS sound tracks but 99% of things on my NAS work fine and I have over 1000 movies and shows stored.
Azpen30 is offline  
post #2229 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 03:01 PM
Member
 
kobeSg24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dojoman View Post
Is it true that JU7100 is HDR capable with one connect box upgrade? I thought someone on the forum mentioned it but I can't seem to find the thread anymore.
A member here has verified that it played the HDR sample of the Life of PI. You cant upgrade the one connect mini, the HDR clip played without any update/upgrade.
syscokid likes this.
kobeSg24 is offline  
post #2230 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlucas128 View Post
Reading what they say on the DTV site, I'll have to move my Genie to another room. What isn't clear is what actually connects to the tv? Is it a coax off the dish? Or ethernet? Or wireless? Or something else? Thanks.
They suggested I do that as well but I left my genie directly connected via HDMI to my TV.

I have an HR34 though so the remote that is used for the RVU doesn't work directly with the DirecTV unit, it talks to the TV RVU. If I had a newer Genie I'm thinking this remote could cause some goofiness because it may pick it up on the TV RVU as well as the Genie?
ml2517 is offline  
post #2231 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 04:07 PM
Member
 
Utah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMoreLas View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I don't have DirecTV, but I'm happy for all of you that have been waiting for this. Enjoy!
No kidding...I thought there was going to be a class-action lawsuit and/or a riot.

Still no HBO Go though, so I guess we're not out of the woods yet...
Sweet on the RVU. About time, I'll have to set that up. Now only one more 49.99 trip fee by directv...

As far as HBO go, I've been playing it on my phone and mirroring it to the TV. Has been working great.
Utah is offline  
post #2232 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
deathrattlehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
After my plasma dying, I've been trying to find a good replacement. I tried the Vizio P Series which had way too much vertical banding. Now u have the 2015 M-Series which is better in that department, though still visible DSE on racing games when turning left and right. It also has a bit more blur than I'd like.

How would you all rate the banding/DSE on this set? Are the blacks nice and dark in a dimly lit room, without clouding or bleed?

Thanks!
deathrattlehead is offline  
post #2233 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1522 Post(s)
Liked: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathrattlehead View Post
After my plasma dying, I've been trying to find a good replacement. I tried the Vizio P Series which had way too much vertical banding. Now u have the 2015 M-Series which is better in that department, though still visible DSE on racing games when turning left and right. It also has a bit more blur than I'd like.

How would you all rate the banding/DSE on this set? Are the blacks nice and dark in a dimly lit room, without clouding or bleed?

Thanks!

I think it might be size dependent. I have the 55", and I don't see a trace of banding or bleed. Others here have reported it, although I have no idea what their screen sizes were. I just installed the latest firmware this afternoon, and while the blue band was across the center of the screen I was watching for any lighting anomalies. Didn't see a thing, and was impressed how even the blacks were above and below the blue band. Not jet black of course, since it takes major backlight zone control that the JU doesn't have. It has some, but not a large amount.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #2234 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1522 Post(s)
Liked: 733
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzl13 View Post
I've seen conflicting reports. Can the 7100 play 1080P MKV directly from multiple NAS's (home network)? I just picked it up but have a long wait ahead of me getting home to test it.
I have no issues with 1080p in MKV or MP4 containers. I stream from a Windows computer running Serviio over DLNA and haven't had an issue. I've also streamed from the Windows Media Player as well with no problems.


As Azpen30 said, there are times the DTS sound track may be an issue, but just last night I watched a few minutes of a new rip (Lord of the Rings). It has both DTS and DTS Master Audio. It plays both tracks, although the MA track is only the DTS core, not the HD piece.


The TV will never pass HD audio, so DTS and Dolby Digital will be the best you get. The only streaming player I've been able to get the HD audio to work was with a Sony Blu-Ray player. It would also show the caption track, which the TV itself doesn't recognize either.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #2235 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 09:13 PM
Member
 
sbacpo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Utah View Post
Sweet on the RVU. About time, I'll have to set that up. Now only one more 49.99 trip fee by directv...

As far as HBO go, I've been playing it on my phone and mirroring it to the TV. Has been working great.
I have it working as well. My Genie is in my MBR, I have 2 Samsung TV's hooked up through an RVU and two mini's. I had to call them because the limit is three and they have to authorize the fourth. They wanted to send someone out to install a DECA but YOU DON'T NEED IT. At least I didn't. If your TV can see the Genie over the network, your RVU will work. The only inputs into my TV are an HDMI from my receiver and a network cable from my home network.

TV- Samsung UN65JU7100F
Blu-ray Player - Samsung BD-H6500
Receiver - Onkyo TX-NR636
Fronts - EMP Tek R55Ti Towers; Center - EMP Tek R5Ci
Surround/ Rears - DefTech Promonitor 800 (4); Sub - PSA V1500
sbacpo is offline  
post #2236 of 10393 Old 06-18-2015, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Ponziani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Campbell, CA, USA
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ml2517 View Post
Thanks for reminding me to test this. RVU is officially working on my JU7100! Just set it up and watched the 4K free 2 minute video that DirecTV has and it looked glorious.
How did you find this video? I have the RVU working on my JU7100, but there's no 4k content that I can find (no channel 1102 for 4k VOD)
Ponziani is offline  
post #2237 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 04:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ponziani View Post
How did you find this video? I have the RVU working on my JU7100, but there's no 4k content that I can find (no channel 1102 for 4k VOD)
On my Menu -> "Search and Browse" screen I have a "4K UHD Programs" icon in the right had pane. Everything is accessible from there. I do, however, install beta DirecTV firmware every Friday or Saturday so I'm not sure if that is in the normal firmware or not (I would think that it is though since 4K has been around awhile for the 2014 Samsungs).

Try doing a smart search for 4K. It brings up quite a few for me (You'll also notice that instead of an "HD" icon next to the name it will show "4K".
ml2517 is offline  
post #2238 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 08:08 AM
Member
 
dzl13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: OKC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I have no issues with 1080p in MKV or MP4 containers. I stream from a Windows computer running Serviio over DLNA and haven't had an issue. I've also streamed from the Windows Media Player as well with no problems.


As Azpen30 said, there are times the DTS sound track may be an issue, but just last night I watched a few minutes of a new rip (Lord of the Rings). It has both DTS and DTS Master Audio. It plays both tracks, although the MA track is only the DTS core, not the HD piece.


The TV will never pass HD audio, so DTS and Dolby Digital will be the best you get. The only streaming player I've been able to get the HD audio to work was with a Sony Blu-Ray player. It would also show the caption track, which the TV itself doesn't recognize either.
Excellent, I was able to get it to play most mkv's but on some it would say "file not supported" and then I'd try again immediately and it would play fine.

2 additional questions:
1. I have the NAS's, it only recognized 1 for some reason. I logged into the other 2 and confirmed they were "awake" and online. Is there a way to force the TV to search again or a way to manually enter their locations, like mapping it?

2. Is there a format that the TV recognizes to show cover art? not entirely necessary but would be a nice feature.

Thank you much!
dzl13 is offline  
post #2239 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 08:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1522 Post(s)
Liked: 733
I think cover art is controlled by the DLNA server. I have cover art from my Serviio box. Can't remember if it shows if I look at the Windows Media version, I never use that.

Serviio has the ability to show the cover art in two resolutions. I have mine set on "HD" and it's noticeably improved.

I can't think of any way to force a refresh on the TV. Mine just show up without any effort. Usually there's something amiss on the network when a device doesn't appear.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #2240 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hpp8140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzl13 View Post
Excellent, I was able to get it to play most mkv's but on some it would say "file not supported" and then I'd try again immediately and it would play fine.

2 additional questions:
1. I have the NAS's, it only recognized 1 for some reason. I logged into the other 2 and confirmed they were "awake" and online. Is there a way to force the TV to search again or a way to manually enter their locations, like mapping it?

2. Is there a format that the TV recognizes to show cover art? not entirely necessary but would be a nice feature.

Thank you much!
You need to make sure a DLNA server is running on the NAS

Paradigm PW AMP, KEF Q100, Emotiva B1, Rythmik L12
hpp8140 is online now  
post #2241 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmercer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by dzl13 View Post
I've seen conflicting reports. Can the 7100 play 1080P MKV directly from multiple NAS's (home network)? I just picked it up but have a long wait ahead of me getting home to test it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azpen30 View Post
I can confirm that it can, I have had no issues really. Sometimes it doesn't like DTS sound tracks but 99% of things on my NAS work fine and I have over 1000 movies and shows stored.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobeSg24 View Post
A member here has verified that it played the HDR sample of the Life of PI. You cant upgrade the one connect mini, the HDR clip played without any update/upgrade.
I played the clips on my 7500, flawless

Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
I have no issues with 1080p in MKV or MP4 containers. I stream from a Windows computer running Serviio over DLNA and haven't had an issue. I've also streamed from the Windows Media Player as well with no problems.


As Azpen30 said, there are times the DTS sound track may be an issue, but just last night I watched a few minutes of a new rip (Lord of the Rings). It has both DTS and DTS Master Audio. It plays both tracks, although the MA track is only the DTS core, not the HD piece.
Just so you dont confuse anyone, the TV will not play 'part' of the DTS-HD/MA codec, in your case your steam was ripped with two audio codecs and the TV read just plain DTS. (correct me if I am wrong please)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpp8140 View Post
You need to make sure a DLNA server is running on the NAS
Without going into too much detail, try PLEX if DLNA isnt working or is not an option out for you. PLEX is slowly going up in price FYI so to each his own. I have been able to stream 1080p MKV/MP4 with DTS-HD; either PLEX is down-sampling or the TV is, but its working great.

Video: 75X940E/60E8000 Plasma (Formerly; 78JS9500/58c8000/75hu8550/78ju7500) BD Player: OPPO UDP-203
Audio: Marantz 7010 / SVS PB-13 Ultra / Klipsch RF-7ii RC-64ii Polk M70's IC-5800 (5.1.4)

Last edited by dmercer3; 06-19-2015 at 10:01 AM.
dmercer3 is offline  
post #2242 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Crypter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 57
So is DirecTV 4K content all streamed through the internet connection? Or via Satellite? Are there any plans to have dedicated 4K "Channels" non-streaming on DirecTV? Any idea on the timeframe?

I am only asking because I have internet connection issues where I live and they wont be resolved until the end of the year.
Crypter is offline  
post #2243 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state)
Posts: 2,419
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1522 Post(s)
Liked: 733
dmercer:

To my understanding, with DTS Master Audio tracks, it also contains the standard lossy "core", and devices that don't recognize the HD track still see the core and will play it. That appears to be happening here, as my AV receiver shows both tracks as the standard lossy DTS track. If I play the same video on a Sony BD player, my AV receiver shows MA for one and standard DTS for the other.

Plex is a great media server. However, at this time there's no Plex client for the Tizen OS, which means for these TVs all you can use is the DLNA option that Plex has (but is not enabled by default). So any DLNA issues with his current NAS box will likely also apply with Plex. I have Plex running on the same computers that are running Serviio, primarily to support my Roku players. Since Roku added DLNA support, I rarely use Plex anymore. I mainly use it for cataloging my media, since the web interface lets me see what I have and which drive it's on (I have seven drives!).

Dan
dmercer3 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 and NU7100 4K TVs, Yamaha RX-V583, Nvidia Shield, a number of Roku players and TVs, Windows 10 media server with Serviio and Plex. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is online now  
post #2244 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
George Omoregie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Rochester, NY 14624
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 26
yes, it can play mkv 1080p via streaming and I have tested it with Life of PI hdr sample.
George
George Omoregie is offline  
post #2245 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
ml2517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crypter View Post
So is DirecTV 4K content all streamed through the internet connection? Or via Satellite? Are there any plans to have dedicated 4K "Channels" non-streaming on DirecTV? Any idea on the timeframe?

I am only asking because I have internet connection issues where I live and they wont be resolved until the end of the year.
Right now I believe it is all downloaded over the Internet. Yes, DirecTV has launched a few 4K satellites with more planned. We'll have to wait for new set top boxes in order to use the 4K content though because the existing boxes will only handle 1080p HDMI.
ml2517 is offline  
post #2246 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
smp0887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Can anyone compare the 65 inch version of the JU7100 to the JS8500? I am mainly concerned with black level and vertical banding.. Thanks
smp0887 is offline  
post #2247 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 12:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by smp0887 View Post
Can anyone compare the 65 inch version of the JU7100 to the JS8500? I am mainly concerned with black level and vertical banding.. Thanks
I had the 65 inch JU7100 before I returned, so I can give an honest opinion.

The black level was amazing, probably can't get any more blacker-black levels. The JU7100 is already top of the game when it comes to black levels, so the JS8500 will not improve on it.

Banding and clouding was pretty bad on my set, which is why I returned mine.
pardes3 and smp0887 like this.
Hao Zhou is offline  
post #2248 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
smp0887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hao Zhou View Post
I had the 65 inch JU7100 before I returned, so I can give an honest opinion.

The black level was amazing, probably can't get any more blacker-black levels. The JU7100 is already top of the game when it comes to black levels, so the JS8500 will not improve on it.

Banding and clouding was pretty bad on my set, which is why I returned mine.
Sweet thanks for the reply! I watch a ton of sports so banding for me is pretty much a deal breaker.. Sounds like I will be leaning more towards the 8500..Thanks again!
smp0887 is offline  
post #2249 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
deathrattlehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hao Zhou View Post
I had the 65 inch JU7100 before I returned, so I can give an honest opinion.

The black level was amazing, probably can't get any more blacker-black levels. The JU7100 is already top of the game when it comes to black levels, so the JS8500 will not improve on it.

Banding and clouding was pretty bad on my set, which is why I returned mine.
Well that crosses that set off the list. I miss plasma so damn much.
big-d, smp0887 and venus933 like this.
deathrattlehead is offline  
post #2250 of 10393 Old 06-19-2015, 03:12 PM
ETA
Member
 
ETA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathrattlehead View Post
Well that crosses that set off the list. I miss plasma so damn much.
I find the PQ of my 65JU7100 is at least as good as my 63C8000 and doesn't require the room to be dark. Motion handling is definitely better on the JU7100. The only real advantage of the plasma is that off center viewing doesn't degrade but we tend to all be pretty much in front of the sets when watching anyway.

The *only* time I notice banding / DSE is with hockey when the play is going up and down the ice and with the smart LED option set to low it's pretty hard to notice. From what I've heard even the JS series have some issues.

This is my go-to tv now (the plasma is in the basement and still looks great but, again, only if the room is dark).
ETA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k tv , JU7100 , samsumg , Samsung , uhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off