***OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS9000 Series Curved Smart TV Thread - Page 32 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 974Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #931 of 4269 Old 07-16-2015, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Sting82465's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Well picked up one today and returned one today pixel line . I'll try again tommorow
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1437095389871.jpg
Views:	379
Size:	114.8 KB
ID:	833426  
Sting82465 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 4269 Old 07-16-2015, 10:05 PM
Member
 
KevinPJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterfram View Post
When 4K blu ray players land late this year, we are hoping they will have a secondary HDMI output on the players to send non-HDCP 2.2 audio to receivers and sound bars. The video feed to the TV will need to be direct on an HDCP 2.2 HDMI connection until you upgrade your sound bar/receiver to an HDCP 2.2 compliant device (most of these products are just launching now through this autumn). In other words all devices in the feed to the TV will need to be HDCP 2.2 compliant to feed copy protected 4k/UHD/HDR material to the TV. For now, you can use your TV as the UHD content source of copy protected UHD/HDR content. Use HDMI ARC/CEC over HDMI4 port on the TV, or an optical cable, to your sound bar to get the audio on the sound bar.
What are the chances the 4K Blu Ray players coming out later this year actually have a secondary HDMI output to send non-HDCP 2.2 audio to receiver and sound bars? The sound bar I have is extremely painful to have to upgrade.

http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio...or/ysp-4300_u/

I have just hooked up the JS9000 and the inability of my current blu raya player to not upscale 1080P movies to 4K while hooked up to my sound bar is disappointing. I am trying to find a way right now to get DTS-HD audio with upscaling blu ray movies and it appears its just not possible....

Am I stuck?
KevinPJ is offline  
post #933 of 4269 Old 07-16-2015, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could a ISF calibration fix the 3d ghosting or is it some fault of the hardware?
Thx
rover2002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #934 of 4269 Old 07-17-2015, 04:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCSchoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
Could a ISF calibration fix the 3d ghosting or is it some fault of the hardware?
Thx
I've seen the term ghosting a lot in reading this forum, would just like clarification on this. Is that describing when it's a dark screen and you see some lighting going on? Because I have a lot of that too. Are there settings on the TV that can help with this issue?
CCSchoch is online now  
post #935 of 4269 Old 07-17-2015, 04:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCSchoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I have a question on hooking up external hard drive via USB. i hooked one up the other night, and ever since then when i first turn on the TV, about 10 minutes later I get a pop up on the TV that reads, "Would you like to view your files on your "X" drive?" referring to the hard drive.

Is there a setting on the TV I can go into and turn this notification off?

Is it bad to leave a drive plugged in 100% of the time to the TV if not using it? I could just plug it in when I am going to be using it.

I should mention it's a non powered drive so it's getting powered via the USB input. Is this bad for it over the long haul, should I replace it with one that has it's own AC power adapter?

Thanks for any assistance.
CCSchoch is online now  
post #936 of 4269 Old 07-17-2015, 05:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCSchoch View Post
I've seen the term ghosting a lot in reading this forum, would just like clarification on this. Is that describing when it's a dark screen and you see some lighting going on? Because I have a lot of that too. Are there settings on the TV that can help with this issue?
For example if you turn on subtitles you will see a shadow (ghost) of the same subtitle, kinda like double vision.
rover2002 is offline  
post #937 of 4269 Old 07-17-2015, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCSchoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
For example if you turn on subtitles you will see a shadow (ghost) of the same subtitle, kinda like double vision.
OK, thanks.
What about on a dark screen, where it's mostly black, but you only have 1 image on it and you can see alot of lighting effect on the black portion of the screeen. Is there some setting w/in the TV to help with this?
CCSchoch is online now  
post #938 of 4269 Old 07-18-2015, 12:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Appeal For Help

Hi. I am happy to see that various users of this forum are starting to post questions related to external hard drives being used with the JS 9000 TVs. My question isn't exactly of this type but I wanted to appeal to all of you for help again anyway.

A week or two ago, I posted a question dealing with the fact that when I hook up external hard drives (Western Digital My Book & Passport types) to the USB 3.0 port of the one connect box with only an optical (audioquest vodka) cable connected to my Yamaha Aventage 3000 Series Receiver and attempt to play video files (SD to 4K) I get this funny "flickering" on the display screen of my receiver. It can last between 2-10 seconds and then stops.

The ONLY WAY I can stop this flickering is to set the audio format on the TV to PCM (Sound, Additional Settings, Audio Format To PCM). If I attempt to deviate from this in any way (e.g. changing the audio format to Dolby Digital, DTS or DTS NEO), the flickering will return.

A Samsung "Tech" was here since my last post and after my one connect box was replaced, this problem continued. The tech said I stumped him and that he was going to consult with "engineers" within the company. I am currently waiting for an answer.

If any of you good people start hooking up hard drives to these TVs when they are hooked up to your receivers in a similar fashion, and have any sort of abnormality like this, please chime in on this forum to let others know.

I am currently on my 5th Samsung TV since early April and am about ready to give up.

Sorry for the long post. Thank you in advance for your help.
efn31 is offline  
post #939 of 4269 Old 07-18-2015, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 6
I'll be getting my JS9000 soon, but I have a question regarding upscaling.

I understand that the upscaling is very good on this TV. However, I'm in the market for a blu-ray player. Should I be looking for a player with better 4K upscaling or is the TV's upscaling sufficient?
Currently no audio receiver at the moment. I have a (Audioengine) 2.1 system with a DAC. I figured I could optical out to that system from the OneConnect. No currently plans for anything more than 2.1 at the moment.

Thanks!
matty2ky is offline  
post #940 of 4269 Old 07-19-2015, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone have some good picture settings for this TV? I am using the natural setting right now with minor modifications. I tried doing the AVS recommended settings but the picture looked like crap I thought.
Brent 2 is offline  
post #941 of 4269 Old 07-19-2015, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
ma1746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Middleboro, Massachusetts
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 321
What are everyones thoughts on "digital clean view"? I have most of my settings dialed in and think the picture looks great, but i still toggle clean view fairly often. I know "youre not supposed to" use it for blu rays but i cant stand the overly grainy look some movies have, it really detracts from the picture in my opinion. I understand grain and i am fine with it on most movies, but on some it just looks bad. The only issue with digital clean view that i have is the slight smearing/ghosting whatever you want to call it that appears on camera pans and sudden movements. Do you guys use it? if so, when?
ma1746 is offline  
post #942 of 4269 Old 07-19-2015, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma1746 View Post
What are everyones thoughts on "digital clean view"? I have most of my settings dialed in and think the picture looks great, but i still toggle clean view fairly often. I know "youre not supposed to" use it for blu rays but i cant stand the overly grainy look some movies have, it really detracts from the picture in my opinion. I understand grain and i am fine with it on most movies, but on some it just looks bad. The only issue with digital clean view that i have is the slight smearing/ghosting whatever you want to call it that appears on camera pans and sudden movements. Do you guys use it? if so, when?
I dont use it personally as it messes too much with picture for my liking. Also the smearing is annoying.
ma1746 likes this.
Yiorgos759 is offline  
post #943 of 4269 Old 07-20-2015, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
hello everyone, i wanted to know if someone here can help me please? I just received my 65js9000 yesterday and am loving it so far but am not getting any sound from any of my apps? Is a optical cable need? also what is the best way to have it setup so that i can use the oppo to upscale? i hope am making since lol

my setup:
65js9000
oppo-103d
onkyo-636
fios setup box
Don2120 is offline  
post #944 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCSchoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Question on when I set my receiver (Onkyo TXNR-809) to upscale to 4K from my bluray player.

If I have my receiver on Upscale to 4K, there are some differences in the video reading I do not understand
Direct Upscale
YCbCR 36 bit 24bit
1920 x 1080P 3840x2160p
60Hz 30hz


You see the bits drop and the Hz drop, but the resolution lines double. So, what is the better feed to the TV? To tell the truth, I don't notice any difference in quality between the two, probably because the TV is doing upscaling too? Just curious on what is the differences I am seeing and what I should leave my receiver on, Direct or Upscale so it's less work on the TV?

Thanks
CCSchoch is online now  
post #945 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 10:13 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The TV is already upscaling so you're not doing anything of use
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCSchoch View Post
Question on when I set my receiver (Onkyo TXNR-809) to upscale to 4K from my bluray player.

If I have my receiver on Upscale to 4K, there are some differences in the video reading I do not understand
Direct Upscale
YCbCR 36 bit 24bit
1920 x 1080P 3840x2160p
60Hz 30hz


You see the bits drop and the Hz drop, but the resolution lines double. So, what is the better feed to the TV? To tell the truth, I don't notice any difference in quality between the two, probably because the TV is doing upscaling too? Just curious on what is the differences I am seeing and what I should leave my receiver on, Direct or Upscale so it's less work on the TV?

Thanks
TJtennispro is offline  
post #946 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 10:14 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 14
36 bit is 12 bit
24 bit is 8 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJtennispro View Post
The TV is already upscaling so you're not doing anything of use
TJtennispro is offline  
post #947 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCSchoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJtennispro View Post
The TV is already upscaling so you're not doing anything of use
I know the TV is upscaleing too, but I was "told by an HH Greg Sales Rep"...laugh laugh laugh, ok now continue reading....

...when he was talking about a 4K bluray upscaling to 4K, then the TV upscaling to 4K on top of that, would make for "that much better of a picture" and also, the TV wouldn't be working as hard because it's already receiving an upscaled signal. So that's what got me playing with the receivers upscaling capabilities and noticed the differences in signal #'s when doing so.

So, should I just set the receiver to direct and let the TV do it's thing? Just wanted to know if it matters what signal it's receiving? I don't really understand the bits / Hz's #'s so thought I'd ask here.
CCSchoch is online now  
post #948 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
HotAhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don2120 View Post
hello everyone, i wanted to know if someone here can help me please? I just received my 65js9000 yesterday and am loving it so far but am not getting any sound from any of my apps? Is a optical cable need? also what is the best way to have it setup so that i can use the oppo to upscale? i hope am making since lol

my setup:
65js9000
oppo-103d
onkyo-636
fios setup box

Press Menu on your TV's remote... Point the Remote to the upper left hand corner... Click on the Menu icon.. Go in to your sound options and set it to output sound from your tv to your Receiver. Make sure you've connected your receiver's HDIM Monitor cable to the #4 HDMI connection on the TV's Connection strip, so you get ARC. It should work.

And, I know nothing about Oppo.

Television: Samsung UN65JS9000
A/V Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H (Ordered Dec. 9, 2016)
Subwoofer: HSU VTF Subwoofer
Speakers: Definitive Tech StudioMonitor 65, ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 800, Heos 1 HS2
Digital Video Recorder: Directv 4K DVR
Set Top Box: Apple TV

Last edited by HotAhr; 07-21-2015 at 10:52 AM.
HotAhr is offline  
post #949 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotAhr View Post
Press Menu on your TV's remote... Point the Remote to the upper left hand corner... Click on the Menu icon.. Go in to your sound options and set it to output sound from your tv to your Receiver. Make sure you've connected your receiver's HDIM Monitor cable to the #4 HDMI connection on the TV's Connection strip, so you get ARC. It should work.

And, I know nothing about Oppo.
Thanks for the help but I tried that but receiver on the drop down menu greyed out. Am only able to choose between TV speakers and audio system.
Don2120 is offline  
post #950 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
HotAhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don2120 View Post
Thanks for the help but I tried that but receiver on the drop down menu greyed out. Am only able to choose between TV speakers and audio system.
You must have selected something to grey that out. Try selectig HDMI #4 source from under the heading SOURCE to try to change that greyed out option. You did set up HDMI #4 so your TV knows that it is a source option on your TV, correct?

Television: Samsung UN65JS9000
A/V Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H (Ordered Dec. 9, 2016)
Subwoofer: HSU VTF Subwoofer
Speakers: Definitive Tech StudioMonitor 65, ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 800, Heos 1 HS2
Digital Video Recorder: Directv 4K DVR
Set Top Box: Apple TV

Last edited by HotAhr; 07-21-2015 at 12:45 PM.
HotAhr is offline  
post #951 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotAhr View Post
You must have selected something to grey that out. Try selectig HDMI #4 source from under the heading SOURCE to try to change that greyed out option. You did set that up, correct?
Oh ok, am using hdmi 1 which is going to my onkyo and everything else is connected to my avr. So I need to be using hdmi 4?
Don2120 is offline  
post #952 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
HotAhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don2120 View Post
Oh ok, am using hdmi 1 which is going to my onkyo and everything else is connected to my avr. So I need to be using hdmi 4?
Yes at least with your SmartHub, since you want the audio from it to be sent to your receiver. HDMI #4 has ARC, which allows you to do just that. Look at the HDMI #4 port on the Connect.. it should say ARC. Now, I don't know how Onkyo does things, whether or not it has ARC through the port on it that you are using or not, since I don't own an Onkyo Receiver.

Television: Samsung UN65JS9000
A/V Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H (Ordered Dec. 9, 2016)
Subwoofer: HSU VTF Subwoofer
Speakers: Definitive Tech StudioMonitor 65, ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 800, Heos 1 HS2
Digital Video Recorder: Directv 4K DVR
Set Top Box: Apple TV
HotAhr is offline  
post #953 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Sting82465's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Any body using a different remote, I'm not liking the one provided. I lose the damn thing in the chair!
Sting82465 is offline  
post #954 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
HotAhr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sting82465 View Post
Any body using a different remote, I'm not liking the one provided. I lose the damn thing in the chair!
I am using the Harmony remote. Samsung also has a remote that has the hard numeric buttons that you can order from them, if that helps.
Sting82465 likes this.

Television: Samsung UN65JS9000
A/V Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H (Ordered Dec. 9, 2016)
Subwoofer: HSU VTF Subwoofer
Speakers: Definitive Tech StudioMonitor 65, ProCenter 2000, ProMonitor 800, Heos 1 HS2
Digital Video Recorder: Directv 4K DVR
Set Top Box: Apple TV
HotAhr is offline  
post #955 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by HotAhr View Post
Yes at least with your SmartHub, since you want the audio from it to be sent to your receiver. HDMI #4 has ARC, which allows you to do just that. Look at the HDMI #4 port on the Connect.. it should say ARC. Now, I don't know how Onkyo does things, whether or not it has ARC through the port on it that you are using or not, since I don't own an Onkyo Receiver.
Thank u, I will give it a try once I get home.
Don2120 is offline  
post #956 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hello everyone, I have js9000 am getting a rainbow type glare from the top part of my screen from my ceiling fan light? Is that normal?
Don2120 is offline  
post #957 of 4269 Old 07-21-2015, 10:34 PM
Senior Member
 
peterfram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don2120 View Post
Hello everyone, I have js9000 am getting a rainbow type glare from the top part of my screen from my ceiling fan light? Is that normal?
Yes. The glare on this screen is the worst I have experienced. Mostly because of the evil curved screen any light reflection will stretch across the entire screen. Never again will a buy a curved screen! I have mine on a mount so able to tilt and swivel the TV to resolve this curse from my primary viewing angle.
peterfram is offline  
post #958 of 4269 Old 07-22-2015, 04:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterfram View Post
Yes. The glare on this screen is the worst I have experienced. Mostly because of the evil curved screen any light reflection will stretch across the entire screen. Never again will a buy a curved screen! I have mine on a mount so able to tilt and swivel the TV to resolve this curse from my primary viewing angle.
That's for the response, not feeling it at all.
Don2120 is offline  
post #959 of 4269 Old 07-22-2015, 04:53 AM
 
alexanderg823's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,449
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3128 Post(s)
Liked: 2544
If you think the Samsung SUHD glare is bad, you should take a look at the LG OLEDs - Just nasty purple reflections on the entire screen from lights.
alexanderg823 is offline  
post #960 of 4269 Old 07-22-2015, 04:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCSchoch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 501
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 254 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCSchoch View Post
I know the TV is upscaling too, but I was "told by an HH Greg Sales Rep"...laugh laugh laugh, ok now continue reading....

...when he was talking about a 4K bluray upscaling to 4K, then the TV upscaling to 4K on top of that, he said it would make for "that much better of a picture with two upscales taking place" and also, "the TV wouldn't be working as hard because it's already receiving an upscaled signal".

So that's what got me playing with the receivers upscaling capabilities and noticed the differences in signal #'s when doing so.

So, should I just set the receiver to direct and let the TV do it's thing? Just wanted to know if it matters what signal it's receiving? I don't really understand the bits / Hz's #'s so thought I'd ask here.
Anymore thoughts out there?
CCSchoch is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2-channel audio js9000 internet , js9000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off