***OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS9000 Series Curved Smart TV Thread - Page 44 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 974Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1291 of 4270 Old 08-31-2015, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,566
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12439 Post(s)
Liked: 11619
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryxmd View Post
Hah! You remember. After moving to the JU7500, I kind of prefer the curved now. That black uniformity is amazing. No light bleed and clouding.

Smaller sizes have better uniformity. This trend has been noted quite a few times. Some believe it happens in transportation, and the larger size panels have a harder time staying in place during all the times its transported.

Last edited by ray0414; 08-31-2015 at 09:42 PM.
ray0414 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1292 of 4270 Old 08-31-2015, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hello, do I have any clouding on my js9000
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	387
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	918154  
Don2120 is offline  
post #1293 of 4270 Old 09-01-2015, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Greetings. I am somewhat new to this forum. I do have a JS 9000 but I have had problems not only with this model but also the 8500 and last years 8550. I can hardly believe that every one I received was bad (total of 5). This one is going to have to go back too. Question; Has anyone actually spoken DIRECTLY to a Samsung Engineer on the phone? Do they ever chime in to this forum?

Also, does anyone know if Samsung makes an external media center that supports the same audio and video file codecs (including native 4k content) that these SUHD tvs do?

Lastly, where is a safe place to purchase one of these TVs that actually works properly?

Please let me know. I am in Southern California. Thank you.
efn31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1294 of 4270 Old 09-01-2015, 10:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Anyone see this? Might be a good place to start if you're interested in dialing things in better. I used the full version of Calman5 and it did a pretty damn good job.

http://smile.amazon.com/SpectraCal-C...ZG8JYED3JCHVG7

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is offline  
post #1295 of 4270 Old 09-01-2015, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
peterfram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
Anyone see this? Might be a good place to start if you're interested in dialing things in better. I used the full version of Calman5 and it did a pretty damn good job.

http://smile.amazon.com/SpectraCal-C...ZG8JYED3JCHVG7
No. It's just sucker bait to get people in the door and then force them to pay for an additional upgrade license to actually calibrate with 10-point WB settings. Not impressed by this company. They are not transparent about what's included with different calman versions. See the dedicated thread for the gory details: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...ussion-29.html

If that is not sketchy enough, look at the fine print in your own Amazon link. All over the page it implies the Home Express product includes an Amazon Firestick which appears to be required to use the product. Then hidden way down at the bottom in fine print you see this: "As of September 1, 2015 we have not been able to order Amazon Fire TV Sticks from Amazon. We have included instructions within the box for how to register Home Express and receive a free certificate that covers the cost of an an Amazon Fire TV Stick". Sketchy, why not just drop the price by $35?

Looks pretty much like a typical money grab for OCD compulsive shopping enthusiasts who can't figure out how to adjust their TV to suit their preference. I use color meters for photography all the time. Calibrated many a monitor. These latest Samsung models come fairly well calibrated out of the box, see the out-of-box readings taken from any technical review. The required adjustments are hardly noticeable to the average eye. I've found only small tweaks are needed. I'm able to put patterns up on an adjacent calibrated monitor to help compare core colors, but I don't even think that is required since we are talking about such minor settings tweaks.
peterfram is offline  
post #1296 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 06:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterfram View Post
No. It's just sucker bait to get people in the door and then force them to pay for an additional upgrade license to actually calibrate with 10-point WB settings. Not impressed by this company. They are not transparent about what's included with different calman versions. See the dedicated thread for the gory details: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-di...ussion-29.html

If that is not sketchy enough, look at the fine print in your own Amazon link. All over the page it implies the Home Express product includes an Amazon Firestick which appears to be required to use the product. Then hidden way down at the bottom in fine print you see this: "As of September 1, 2015 we have not been able to order Amazon Fire TV Sticks from Amazon. We have included instructions within the box for how to register Home Express and receive a free certificate that covers the cost of an an Amazon Fire TV Stick". Sketchy, why not just drop the price by $35?

Looks pretty much like a typical money grab for OCD compulsive shopping enthusiasts who can't figure out how to adjust their TV to suit their preference. I use color meters for photography all the time. Calibrated many a monitor. These latest Samsung models come fairly well calibrated out of the box, see the out-of-box readings taken from any technical review. The required adjustments are hardly noticeable to the average eye. I've found only small tweaks are needed. I'm able to put patterns up on an adjacent calibrated monitor to help compare core colors, but I don't even think that is required since we are talking about such minor settings tweaks.

I figured they probably would entice people to upgrade, but even the meter itself lists for more than that. It's at least a good way to see if you're the type pf person that can get into it and calibrate your own set. The Fire Stick thing isn't their fault. It's Amazon's, for needing their stock on hand in their own warehouse. At least you can get it for free straight from Amazon. I used Calman5 Basic on my JS9000 and it did an amazing job dialing the set in. That was just using the free AVS pattern disc (which should work with the Home Express kit too, until you get the fire stick), but I tried mobile forge on my own fire stick yesterday and it works perfectly. Just select the tab you want to measure in the software and the pattern pops up on the display. A real time saver.

Obviously they are a small company, so they are trying to increase awareness about the benefits of calibrating with this package, but even if you have to upgrade to get 10 point greyscale it still seems like a reasonable value, and starter point.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is offline  
post #1297 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
ma1746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Middleboro, Massachusetts
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Settings help

Hi guys, 3 questions.
1. What are you guys using for a sharpness setting?
2. Do you change any settings for HDR content? (Up the dynamic contrast, smart led etc)?
3. What do you think is the best display of HDR you have set to date? I have the wd cinema drive and mgo.

Thanks!
ma1746 is offline  
post #1298 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,219
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3928 Post(s)
Liked: 2934
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma1746 View Post
Hi guys, 3 questions.
1. What are you guys using for a sharpness setting?
2. Do you change any settings for HDR content? (Up the dynamic contrast, smart led etc)?
3. What do you think is the best display of HDR you have set to date? I have the wd cinema drive and mgo.

Thanks!
1 . 10-20 acceptable
2. Hdr put dynamic contrast to medium(high but with blk crush) smartled must be set to high
3. Js9500 followed by Js9000 is best hdr I have seen to date.

My set up
LG 65B7 | Samsung KS8000 |Sony 55XBR 930D |Samsung 55Q7 Samsung 60F8500 |LG Oled 55C8
LG Oled 65C8 |Samsung 65 Q9FNSamsung 55 Q8FN | Sony 65 900F |Samsung 65 NU8000
Onkyo TX-NR545 + Dolby Atmos Speakers |Xbox One X |Ps4 Pro |PS VR |Oculus Rift
AMD Ryzen 1700 + Vega 64 + Mining Rigs Samsung Galaxy S8
player002 is offline  
post #1299 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
ma1746's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Middleboro, Massachusetts
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
1 . 10-20 acceptable
2. Hdr put dynamic contrast to medium(high but with blk crush) smartled must be set to high
3. Js9500 followed by Js9000 is best hdr I have seen to date.
Thank you! What's your favorite HDR movie that you've seen so far? I've watched life of pi and exodus so far. Both looked really good to me but idk if I've been blown away yet.
ma1746 is offline  
post #1300 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,219
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3928 Post(s)
Liked: 2934
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma1746 View Post
Thank you! What's your favorite HDR movie that you've seen so far? I've watched life of pi and exodus so far. Both looked really good to me but idk if I've been blown away yet.
The best has been sample hdr clips then exodus many seem to like kingsman in HDR too. The HDR revolution is just starting don't expect anything amazing until 4k bluray and netfilx start HDR also few more FW updates are expected for HDR.. WE are in early adopter phase temper expectations with that said HDR already is a better quality than regular 4k with more colours and better black and whites just a better image overall.
ma1746 likes this.

My set up
LG 65B7 | Samsung KS8000 |Sony 55XBR 930D |Samsung 55Q7 Samsung 60F8500 |LG Oled 55C8
LG Oled 65C8 |Samsung 65 Q9FNSamsung 55 Q8FN | Sony 65 900F |Samsung 65 NU8000
Onkyo TX-NR545 + Dolby Atmos Speakers |Xbox One X |Ps4 Pro |PS VR |Oculus Rift
AMD Ryzen 1700 + Vega 64 + Mining Rigs Samsung Galaxy S8
player002 is offline  
post #1301 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 4,506
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1092 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by ma1746 View Post
Hi guys, 3 questions.
1. What are you guys using for a sharpness setting?
2. Do you change any settings for HDR content? (Up the dynamic contrast, smart led etc)?
3. What do you think is the best display of HDR you have set to date? I have the wd cinema drive and mgo.

Thanks!
1. for DirecTV 1080i, Sharpness = 65; for 4k UHD, Sharpness = 30
2. yes, but I don't change dynamic contrast (remains Off) or Smart LED (remains High)
3. Exodus (but I've only seen that and Maze Runner), but I don't think it's any better than UHD.

My settings for satellite HD on the JS9000 are here: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post33381609
ma1746 likes this.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #1302 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ghosting is bad on these sets, we just received our replacement panel and its worse than the first especially if you use 3d subtitle's. All the reviews out there saying crosstalk is minimal I wonder if they actually tried using subs on 3d content, it really highlight's the issue.
rover2002 is offline  
post #1303 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 08:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
denpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1322 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
Ghosting is bad on these sets, we just received our replacement panel and its worse than the first especially if you use 3d subtitle's. All the reviews out there saying crosstalk is minimal I wonder if they actually tried using subs on 3d content, it really highlight's the issue.
zero crosstalk or ghosting, subs with 3D content included on my 8500. pretty sure 9000 should perform the same.
denpom is offline  
post #1304 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 08:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
How do we update an app? I saw plex has had V2 available since 8/17 and I was still suffering with V1. Ended up deleting and re-installing to get the new version, but before you just hard pressed the center button and there was an optino to update. Not with Tizen.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is offline  
post #1305 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 08:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by denpom View Post
zero crosstalk or ghosting, subs with 3D content included on my 8500. pretty sure 9000 should perform the same.
Except iv just posted they don't perform the same. Do you have a JS9000? What setting do you have for zero crosstalk? How far do you sit from your set?
rover2002 is offline  
post #1306 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
denpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,727
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1322 Post(s)
Liked: 1176
Quote:
Originally Posted by rover2002 View Post
Except iv just posted they don't perform the same. Do you have a JS9000? What setting do you have for zero crosstalk? How far do you sit from your set?
granted, that was just an assumption. all 3D settings are default (3D Optimize at 1 sometimes). Backlight 20, Contrast 100, Brightness 45, Dynamic Contrast Med, Custom Color Space, Clear Motion Rate Clear, Smart LED Standard or High. i sit about 7.5ft from my set.
denpom is offline  
post #1307 of 4270 Old 09-02-2015, 10:53 PM
Member
 
FooMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Different Firmware Versions

Hey guys. Just wanted to thank everyone that has posted and shared information on this board. It helped me make my first LCD HD/4kTV purchase decision and "enabled" me to get the JS9000 instead of the JS8500. This is coming from a multiple Plasma owner for 8+ years (Pioneer + Panny). I'm quite happy with this LCD's image quality, even though in a fully dark room I can see some clouding from the backlight. I have not professionally calibrated but have used settings found on this board and some review sites. I tend to do my own tweaks to picture settings, multiple times at the start of my movie viewing session, to the annoyance from my GF lol. i guess that OCD part of me comes out to fine tune for best quality.

I have an important question regarding firmware updates for the JS9000. There appears to be several versions of the firmware for this set and I am curious if the firmware for one region can be used for another (ex. a US firmware for a set bought in UK).

Looking at some of the official Samsung support sites:

Samsung US:
Upgrade File(USB type) (Firmware) ver.1220.8 - All OS (MULTI LANGUAGE, 1524.85 MB) ? Aug 19, 2015

Samsung UK:
ALL OS, 1648.42 MB, EXE, MULTI LANGUAGE
VERSION : 1217.0
25 AUG, 2015

Samsung TH (where I purchased and using my set):
ALL OS, 1588.19 MB, EXE, MULTI LANGUAGE
เวอร์ชั่น : 1320.4
2015.08.05


As you can see from the above, my locale has the highest version number, although there have been more recent firmware released to other regions. I hate how Samsung doesn't include any change logs to each firmware.

Does anyone have experience testing out the different region firmwares?
FooMasta is offline  
post #1308 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Please do NOT update to a different region's firmware. Only install firmware designed for your region. Is your TV not picking up the updates when you try to update your firmware?
Ryxmd is offline  
post #1309 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 788
Samsung just released firmware update to enable hdmi 2.0a on all Newer model Samsung TV's . This update enables HDR on video from external devices. Which makes me wonder if those WD cinema drives really was showing HDR.

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php...&id=1441271852
robert9674 is offline  
post #1310 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
robert9674's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,479
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1251 Post(s)
Liked: 788
So why do you think they pushed back release date of the UHD blue ray players. I got and idea why. Maybe they know that the 2015 TVs don't meet the CEA specs for HDR. They want to first make sure their new 2016 models are out first so that they can cover their lying butts... I would bet anything that the SUHD tvs don't really do HDR. Notice how they omitted minimum luminance for HDR sets......im just sayin this reminds me of when "hd compatible" sets first came out only later to find out the tvs will accept and HD signal but wont show it....watch....
robert9674 is offline  
post #1311 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 03:17 PM
Member
 
integ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone upgraded from the 8500 to the 9000? Are the reflection is considerably worse? I was going to buy the 8500 but it's out of stock, But I was given the option to buy the 9000 for a little bit more money. I'm a little concerned about the reflections because I have a window directly across from the TV.
integ3 is offline  
post #1312 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 07:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by integ3 View Post
Has anyone upgraded from the 8500 to the 9000? Are the reflection is considerably worse? I was going to buy the 8500 but it's out of stock, But I was given the option to buy the 9000 for a little bit more money. I'm a little concerned about the reflections because I have a window directly across from the TV.

I have an 8550 and a 9000 and must admit the reflections are a bit more annoying on the curved screen. Reason being, is that the screen stretches the reflection so that not only is the problem exacerbated a bit, the left and right eye get very different reflections so if you focus on them they can get you a bit dizzy.

That said, only dark scenes bother me now, and the PQ of the suhd screen is so killer you'll hardly be annoyed after you get used to it.
integ3 likes this.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is offline  
post #1313 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 08:57 PM
Member
 
integ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
I have an 8550 and a 9000 and must admit the reflections are a bit more annoying on the curved screen. Reason being, is that the screen stretches the reflection so that not only is the problem exacerbated a bit, the left and right eye get very different reflections so if you focus on them they can get you a bit dizzy.

That said, only dark scenes bother me now, and the PQ of the suhd screen is so killer you'll hardly be annoyed after you get used to it.
Thanks, I went in to buy the 8500 and it's going to be out of stock for the next two weeks, and was offered a good deal on the 9000, I'm still undecided on what to do.
integ3 is offline  
post #1314 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,219
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3928 Post(s)
Liked: 2934
Quote:
Originally Posted by integ3 View Post
Thanks, I went in to buy the 8500 and it's going to be out of stock for the next two weeks, and was offered a good deal on the 9000, I'm still undecided on what to do.
9000 has better processing and OCB full upgradeable.

My set up
LG 65B7 | Samsung KS8000 |Sony 55XBR 930D |Samsung 55Q7 Samsung 60F8500 |LG Oled 55C8
LG Oled 65C8 |Samsung 65 Q9FNSamsung 55 Q8FN | Sony 65 900F |Samsung 65 NU8000
Onkyo TX-NR545 + Dolby Atmos Speakers |Xbox One X |Ps4 Pro |PS VR |Oculus Rift
AMD Ryzen 1700 + Vega 64 + Mining Rigs Samsung Galaxy S8
player002 is offline  
post #1315 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 09:11 PM
Member
 
integ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by integ3 View Post
Thanks, I went in to buy the 8500 and it's going to be out of stock for the next two weeks, and was offered a good deal on the 9000, I'm still undecided on what to do.
9000 has better processing and OCB full upgradeable.
Buy better processing Do you mean better motion processing or better upscaleing?
integ3 is offline  
post #1316 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,219
Mentioned: 196 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3928 Post(s)
Liked: 2934
Quote:
Originally Posted by integ3 View Post
Buy better processing Do you mean better motion processing or better upscaleing?
Yes to both .

My set up
LG 65B7 | Samsung KS8000 |Sony 55XBR 930D |Samsung 55Q7 Samsung 60F8500 |LG Oled 55C8
LG Oled 65C8 |Samsung 65 Q9FNSamsung 55 Q8FN | Sony 65 900F |Samsung 65 NU8000
Onkyo TX-NR545 + Dolby Atmos Speakers |Xbox One X |Ps4 Pro |PS VR |Oculus Rift
AMD Ryzen 1700 + Vega 64 + Mining Rigs Samsung Galaxy S8

Last edited by player002; 09-03-2015 at 10:42 PM.
player002 is offline  
post #1317 of 4270 Old 09-03-2015, 10:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Islandborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Weird issue fellas....need some help. I noticed tonight that my sceen looked a little dull like the contrast/backlight was set lower then what I like to use. I go into the menu and I see that picture settings shows on "Entertainment" but all the settings are greyed out. I think maybe I switched game mode on by accident but it is off? WTF? I change to game mode setting which I use for playing games with Dynamic mode and AMP set to standard, but all the picture settings are also greyed out?WTF is going on? I'm about to factory reset but the TV seems to be functioning ok. The only thing I did today is add one of the new Western digital cinema drives to play UHD/DSR 4k movies because I got it free when I bought the TV. Any suggestions?
So my TV is stuck in "entertain" mode in picture settings. Every setting is greyed out and I cannot change anything. Doing a picture reset only resets "entertain mode" but does nothing. Every time I try to click on something is says "Function not available." What is going on here? I also tried to change into store mode just to see if that would reset home mode, and the store mode demo plays for a bit and then locks up on the scene with the lit match. I exited out and reran the store demo an it locks up again on the lit match. Do I have a malfunction problem with the One connect box? Should I have Samsun remote into the TV in the morning and see what is going on? I've had the TV for less then one month. Firmware is 1220 BTW.

Last edited by Islandborn; 09-03-2015 at 10:49 PM.
Islandborn is offline  
post #1318 of 4270 Old 09-04-2015, 04:06 AM
Member
 
FooMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryxmd View Post
Please do NOT update to a different region's firmware. Only install firmware designed for your region. Is your TV not picking up the updates when you try to update your firmware?
It wasn't picking up the current version for my region, and was stuck on version 1313.

I actually tested out to see if the TV would recognize the UK firmware and it did, however it did not give the option to update since the UK version number is less than this region.

So I went and updated my set, the firmware version is now 1320. No idea about change were made.
FooMasta is offline  
post #1319 of 4270 Old 09-04-2015, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Category 5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by integ3 View Post
Thanks, I went in to buy the 8500 and it's going to be out of stock for the next two weeks, and was offered a good deal on the 9000, I'm still undecided on what to do.

Give the 9000 a try. The 8500 has the one connect mini with only 4 cores, instead of the 8 core full power one connect box. It also has cinema black, a feature that shuts off the backlight behind letterbox bars, which is really effective at giving the perception of absolute black when watching movies. The curve bothers me less now that I have the set dialed in. It was an adjustment for the first week or so.

Everything else about the set is great. Super black levels, no cluding (in my case), unbelievable color, perfect motion, and almost imperceptible lag in game mode. Im sure the 8500 is a great set too, but at similar proces I'd go for the 9000 for the additional processing and features.

I have no idea why Samsung is hell bent on curving TVs though. It's something you'll get used too and be less bothered by, but for the life of me I can't see any advantage to it.

Samsung 55" JS8500, 48" JS9000, 65" HU8550, 46" ES7100, 55" D8000 (RIP)

I Like Digital!
Category 5 is offline  
post #1320 of 4270 Old 09-04-2015, 07:23 AM
Member
 
integ3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Category 5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by integ3 View Post
Thanks, I went in to buy the 8500 and it's going to be out of stock for the next two weeks, and was offered a good deal on the 9000, I'm still undecided on what to do.

Give the 9000 a try. The 8500 has the one connect mini with only 4 cores, instead of the 8 core full power one connect box. It also has cinema black, a feature that shuts off the backlight behind letterbox bars, which is really effective at giving the perception of absolute black when watching movies. The curve bothers me less now that I have the set dialed in. It was an adjustment for the first week or so.

Everything else about the set is great. Super black levels, no cluding (in my case), unbelievable color, perfect motion, and almost imperceptible lag in game mode. Im sure the 8500 is a great set too, but at similar proces I'd go for the 9000 for the additional processing and features.

I have no idea why Samsung is hell bent on curving TVs though. It's something you'll get used too and be less bothered by, but for the life of me I can't see any advantage to it.
Thanks for your input! I think I'll go for the 9000. Seems like the pros outweigh the cons for only another couple hundred bucks.
integ3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
2-channel audio js9000 internet , js9000

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off