Samsung JS9500 owners thread - Page 225 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5876Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6721 of 13022 Old 11-24-2015, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
timc1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
As mentioned numerous times, before doing a full reset you will want to write down all your settings.

To make this easy on myself I have developed a Microsoft Word document and have attached a sample thumbnail picture along with a copy of the template file below.

Feel free to edit and modify to suit your needs.

Cheers!
Nice graph! That took some time to create. I see you have a security system connected, I never thought of connecting mine to the OCB b4. What input do you use the coax in?

Here is another JS9500 review that I had not seen b4 and I thought I seen em' all. The 3rd page has more specs etc.

Link: http://www.hdtvsolutions.com/Samsung...TV-Review2.htm

chunon likes this.

If you always do what you always did, you'll always get what you always got.
timc1475 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6722 of 13022 Old 11-24-2015, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
timc1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom03087 View Post
In setting up the 9500 I ended up with the Comcast box and the blue ray going into the denon. The OCB has the denon in hdmi1 the Xbox one in hdmi2 the Apple TV in hdmi 3 and the fire tv in hdmi4. Based on all the issues I had read in this thread I did no use arc instead I am going with the optical out. This was the set up for my Samsung plasma and the way my harmony remote was programmed. Am I loosing anything by running the Comcast and blue ray through the denon instead of straight into the OCB? Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks
If your AVR can pass HDMI 2.0a / HCCP 2.2 / 3D / HDR / pass 444 @ 60Hz 8 bit or 422 & 420 @ 10 bit, then no your not missing a thing & your fairly well future proofed for a few years AFAIK. Most new AVR's are already in line with the aforementioned. IMO


If you always do what you always did, you'll always get what you always got.
timc1475 is offline  
post #6723 of 13022 Old 11-24-2015, 09:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
timc1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 1,589
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 952 Post(s)
Liked: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLeClair12 View Post
Nope, at least once a night on a variety of content. And it overlays the Samsung menus and picture tests as well. It can take different, solid shapes too. Here's another weird one from last night.
Yup you def got bubblitius (I'm a tv doctor) and the script & cure is a hopefully bubble free replacement. Please keep us posted. I know what you are going through as I too had 1 replacement. Wonder where all these and other manufacturer returned sets go to Santa's land of misfit lost toys?

I loved that Rudolf movie btw hard to believe Christmas is next month already!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Misfit toys.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	1078882  
player002 likes this.

If you always do what you always did, you'll always get what you always got.
timc1475 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6724 of 13022 Old 11-24-2015, 10:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,621
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12476 Post(s)
Liked: 11663
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc1475 View Post
Wow those pics look amazing & I am a syfy space futuristic fanatic . I never considered an Amazon streaming option before since I am waiting for broadband 4k HDR, but those pics... Do you use any special settings or just let the JS9500 do as it sees fit based upon the metadata?
yea ive been waiting for a good syfy movie that got a 4k remaster with HDR grading. Elysium sure is a good start. The amazon streaming is actually quite affective. ive NEVER had buffering issues whatsover. it takes it about 20 seconds or so to get up to 4k, but it stays at 4k for the entire movie/tv show. the quality is suprisingly great for streaming, i never realized that streaming could look this good (much better than netflix).

When HDR starts, the backlight goes to 20 and the contrast goes to 100. other than that the settings are your choice. the X-factor settings with the biggest are Dynamic contrast (i use medium), gamma (i use +1 or +2), and smart LED (HIGH is preffered for HDR according to multiple sources including Chad B.)
timc1475 likes this.

75Q9FN*55C8OLED*Galaxy S10+ *Ub820 fed into Oppo 203* XB1X* 4k Denon X4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is online now  
post #6725 of 13022 Old 11-24-2015, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,186
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2635 Post(s)
Liked: 5211
Quote:
Originally Posted by timc1475 View Post
Nice graph! That took some time to create. I see you have a security system connected, I never thought of connecting mine to the OCB b4. What input do you use the coax in?

Here is another JS9500 review that I had not seen b4 and I thought I seen em' all. The 3rd page has more specs etc.

Link: http://www.hdtvsolutions.com/Samsung...TV-Review2.htm

i use the TV coax input. I am in a condo so the cable provider (Shaw) has made all the security cams accessible from both our STB or via coax.

I use the STB HDMI out for all my HD content and the coax from the wall for the security cams which I have filtered under the Menu >> Broadcast options.

I am not sure if I have posted my wiring diagram before so the attached thumbnail may put some clarity around the My TV Settings template.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.png
Views:	187
Size:	173.3 KB
ID:	1078890  

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is online now  
post #6726 of 13022 Old 11-24-2015, 10:15 PM
Senior Member
 
vodil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Reset fixed it

Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
Unique problems (not experienced by others) are frequently solved by resets. First, I would try unplugging the Samsung, keep it unplugged until the red light on the bottom right goes out, then plugging that in again. If that doesn't help, if I were you, I would write down all my settings (other than default) because they must be input again. Then I would try the reset: menu/support/self diagnosis/reset
I unplugged all the components for a few minutes and also reseated the connections to the box. That seemed to do the trick. Could be from the firmware update. I have had a few other weirdnesses that were fixed by unplugging everything from the box and then plugging back in.

P.S. The problem happend with both the Logitech and the OEM remote.
rlb likes this.
vodil is offline  
post #6727 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbrown187 View Post
If you are browsing a category like every does, it won't show the HDR label in the summary at the bottom. You must drill into to the "Overview" portion of the title, where you will see HDR next to the rating, audio channels and closed captioning. For TV Shows, you have to drill into the overview for one of episodes to see the HDR label. It's just more of Amazon's crappy UI to cope with.
Hm, I hear what you're saying, but say like the Edge show that Ray said is supposed to have the HDR label, I just don't see it in the Overview section.

The attached pic is what I see on my laptop. I can't capture what I see on the JS9500 but I don't remember seeing the HDR label there either, and I imagine the display info should be the same either on the computer or the TV, even though the Samsung Amazon app and the computer browser's app are different.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Edge on Amazon Prime.JPG
Views:	161
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	1079074  
Volusiano is offline  
post #6728 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 06:46 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2249 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
yea ive been waiting for a good syfy movie that got a 4k remaster with HDR grading. Elysium sure is a good start. The amazon streaming is actually quite affective. ive NEVER had buffering issues whatsover. it takes it about 20 seconds or so to get up to 4k, but it stays at 4k for the entire movie/tv show. the quality is suprisingly great for streaming, i never realized that streaming could look this good (much better than netflix).

When HDR starts, the backlight goes to 20 and the contrast goes to 100. other than that the settings are your choice. the X-factor settings with the biggest are Dynamic contrast (i use medium), gamma (i use +1 or +2), and smart LED (HIGH is preffered for HDR according to multiple sources including Chad B.)
How about "native" color; or is that automatic like B/L and Contrast?

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is online now  
post #6729 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 07:00 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2249 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom03087 View Post
In setting up the 9500 I ended up with the Comcast box and the blue ray going into the denon. The OCB has the denon in hdmi1 the Xbox one in hdmi2 the Apple TV in hdmi 3 and the fire tv in hdmi4. Based on all the issues I had read in this thread I did no use arc instead I am going with the optical out. This was the set up for my Samsung plasma and the way my harmony remote was programmed. Am I loosing anything by running the Comcast and blue ray through the denon instead of straight into the OCB? Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks
With your use of optical, you don't lose anything by running cable/sat and blu-ray through the Denon.

However, ARC does have an advantage over optical digital because it has "auto lip sync". Plus, if using ARC, there is an advantage to running your cable/sat directly into the OCB if "watching TV" is the Harmony activity that you normally use when turning on the system. With that setup, you can turn on the system with Harmony and your denon will go to the correct input for audio (i.e., TV sound). Last year I was using optical because of perceived problems with ARC, but once I began using the above configuration, I would never go back.

Finally, since you are using HDMI3 on the OCB, the Harmony workaround for directly addressing Samsung HDMI4 gives you full functionality.
Lee Heytow and Musician like this.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is online now  
post #6730 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 07:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Random question not specific to the JS9500, but would it be better to send my Comcast box output to the OneConnect box via HDMI or coaxial?
bluedeep is offline  
post #6731 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,186
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2635 Post(s)
Liked: 5211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluedeep View Post
random question not specific to the js9500, but would it be better to send my comcast box output to the oneconnect box via hdmi or coaxial?
hdmi.

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/unde...-cables-184572

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer

Last edited by Musician; 11-25-2015 at 07:28 AM. Reason: Added link
Musician is online now  
post #6732 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lee Heytow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post

Finally, since you are using HDMI3 on the OCB, the Harmony workaround for directly addressing Samsung HDMI4 gives you full functionality.

My 9500 is coming in Saturday. What is the Harmony workaround.???


Thanks
Lee Heytow is offline  
post #6733 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Samsung Black Friday Deals

Anyone looking to pick up a new Samsung set, here are some black Friday deals.

http://www.samsung.com/us/shop/black-friday/
brickyardz is offline  
post #6734 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 08:17 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2249 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Heytow View Post
My 9500 is coming in Saturday. What is the Harmony workaround.???


Thanks

As you have already read, the 9500 has no discrete IR code, for HDMI4, available for Harmony programming.


Harmony has a workaround. If going to HDMI4, and you have a component providing HDMI3 input to the OCB; the Harmony sends the OCB to HDMI3 and then moves it over to HDMI4. You won't know the difference because you program for HDM4 and the workaround is "behind the scenes".


Hope this makes some sense.
chunon and Musician like this.

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is online now  
post #6735 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,621
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12476 Post(s)
Liked: 11663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volusiano View Post
Hm, I hear what you're saying, but say like the Edge show that Ray said is supposed to have the HDR label, I just don't see it in the Overview section.

The attached pic is what I see on my laptop. I can't capture what I see on the JS9500 but I don't remember seeing the HDR label there either, and I imagine the display info should be the same either on the computer or the TV, even though the Samsung Amazon app and the computer browser's app are different.

Your laptop is not HDR enabled, therefore the hdr tag will never show up on there. There are special recognition tags that allows hdr tvs access to hdr content.
chunon and King Richard like this.
ray0414 is online now  
post #6736 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 08:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,621
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12476 Post(s)
Liked: 11663
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
How about "native" color; or is that automatic like B/L and Contrast?

In the early hdr days switching color spaces would have an affect. But a few firmware updates ago they fixed this. It now automatically switches to DCI and toggling the color modes has no affect.
ray0414 is online now  
post #6737 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Your laptop is not HDR enabled, therefore the hdr tag will never show up on there. There are special recognition tags that allows hdr tvs access to hdr content.
OK, that makes sense, because on my laptop I don't see the 5.1 tag showing up. On my JS9500, I do see the 5.1 tag showing up because I guess the Samsung-built Amazon app knows the TV can handle 5.1, while the Windows desktop version of the Amazon app knows the laptop can't handle 5.1.

But I just checked again on my JS9500 display for the Edge show, and I see TV-MA, 5.1, and CC. But I don't see any HDR tag there.

Now you guys make me very curious why you guys are seeing the HDR tag on your JS9500 for these contents but I don't on my JS9500... Any idea why? Thanks.
Volusiano is offline  
post #6738 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 10:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,621
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12476 Post(s)
Liked: 11663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volusiano View Post
OK, that makes sense, because on my laptop I don't see the 5.1 tag showing up. On my JS9500, I do see the 5.1 tag showing up because I guess the Samsung-built Amazon app knows the TV can handle 5.1, while the Windows desktop version of the Amazon app knows the laptop can't handle 5.1.

But I just checked again on my JS9500 display for the Edge show, and I see TV-MA, 5.1, and CC. But I don't see any HDR tag there.

Now you guys make me very curious why you guys are seeing the HDR tag on your JS9500 for these contents but I don't on my JS9500... Any idea why? Thanks.

Make sure you are searching for "edge" in the specific uhd section!!
ray0414 is online now  
post #6739 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,621
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12476 Post(s)
Liked: 11663
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volusiano View Post
OK, that makes sense, because on my laptop I don't see the 5.1 tag showing up. On my JS9500, I do see the 5.1 tag showing up because I guess the Samsung-built Amazon app knows the TV can handle 5.1, while the Windows desktop version of the Amazon app knows the laptop can't handle 5.1.

But I just checked again on my JS9500 display for the Edge show, and I see TV-MA, 5.1, and CC. But I don't see any HDR tag there.

Now you guys make me very curious why you guys are seeing the HDR tag on your JS9500 for these contents but I don't on my JS9500... Any idea why? Thanks.


Look. special UHD section. then find a show.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20151125_130736.jpg
Views:	177
Size:	145.0 KB
ID:	1079602   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151125_130809.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	160.2 KB
ID:	1079610  
chunon, Musician and tbrown187 like this.

75Q9FN*55C8OLED*Galaxy S10+ *Ub820 fed into Oppo 203* XB1X* 4k Denon X4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is online now  
post #6740 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 10:29 AM
rlb
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rlb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: OH
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2249 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
In the early hdr days switching color spaces would have an affect. But a few firmware updates ago they fixed this. It now automatically switches to DCI and toggling the color modes has no affect.
I know this is true if you have it on "auto"; but what if you are on "custom"?

Sony XBR75Z9D, Samsung 65F9000 , Yamaha CX-A5200 & Outlaw 770
Samsung K8500, OPPO 103-D, Genie 2 and C61Ks, Roku Ultra, ATV4K, and Harmony Elite
rlb is online now  
post #6741 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
I know this is true if you have it on "auto"; but what if you are on "custom"?

I watched part of Man in the High Castle the other night the BL and contrast settings changed automatically but the color space did not change from my calibrated custom settings, when I toggled to native I could clearly see a difference.
rlb, ray0414 and King Richard like this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #6742 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,621
Mentioned: 254 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12476 Post(s)
Liked: 11663
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
I watched part of Man in the High Castle the other night the BL and contrast settings changed automatically but the color space did not change from my calibrated custom settings, when I toggled to native I could clearly see a difference.

Thats interesting. It's the same on all 3 for me but I do not have custom color calibrations.

Did u leave it at custom or did u like native with hdr?
ray0414 is online now  
post #6743 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Thats interesting. It's the same on all 3 for me but I do not have custom color calibrations.

Did u leave it at custom or did u like native with hdr?

Hey Ray, my custom is calibrated to the Rec 709 standard so no I change it to Native for DCI, eventually I will get Chad to come back and do a DCI cms calibration so that it is accurate.
ray0414 likes this.

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #6744 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Make sure you are searching for "edge" in the specific uhd section!!
Wow, you're right. If I'm in the UHD section then I do see the HDR label now. But if I look at the same Edge show outside of the UHD section, then I don't see the HDR label.

It's almost as if they have 2 version of the show or something like that. One with HDR and one without.

Thanks for the clarification!
Volusiano is offline  
post #6745 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 01:23 PM
Member
 
glenngreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volusiano View Post
It's almost as if they have 2 version of the show or something like that. One with HDR and one without.

Not almost, EXACTLY...
ray0414 likes this.

Fear is a path to the Dark Side: Fear leads to Anger, Anger leads to Hate, Hate leads to Suffering.
--- Master Yoda, a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.
glenngreen is offline  
post #6746 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Lee Heytow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlb View Post
As you have already read, the 9500 has no discrete IR code, for HDMI4, available for Harmony programming.


Harmony has a workaround. If going to HDMI4, and you have a component providing HDMI3 input to the OCB; the Harmony sends the OCB to HDMI3 and then moves it over to HDMI4. You won't know the difference because you program for HDM4 and the workaround is "behind the scenes".


Hope this makes some sense.
Actually it does, which is a little scary
Lee Heytow is offline  
post #6747 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,186
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2635 Post(s)
Liked: 5211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Heytow View Post
Actually it does, which is a little scary
OMG. For a moment I thought you were trying to say the JS9500 has a discrete code for HDMI 4 until I realized you were reponding to @rlb 's "hope this makes sense" portion of his post.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is online now  
post #6748 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 03:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Nathan Cardinale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: LA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Hey Ray, my custom is calibrated to the Rec 709 standard so no I change it to Native for DCI, eventually I will get Chad to come back and do a DCI cms calibration so that it is accurate.
Im still angry they haven't fixed it from changing all my calibrated settings! Anytime I go to load an HDR show, I need to make sure I turn it off custom to native, let it sit for a couple of seconds, and then load the show, otherwise the tvs like "Vwaht aür desè intērest-ing nûmbers in colør spacę? Ive better change dem all!"
Nathan Cardinale is offline  
post #6749 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,313
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 3606
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Cardinale View Post
Im still angry they haven't fixed it from changing all my calibrated settings! Anytime I go to load an HDR show, I need to make sure I turn it off custom to native, let it sit for a couple of seconds, and then load the show, otherwise the tvs like "Vwaht aür desè intērest-ing nûmbers in colør spacę? Ive better change dem all!"
Yeah they need to fix that
chunon is offline  
post #6750 of 13022 Old 11-25-2015, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 7
I have spent ages looking atcomments on this forum and others in order to plan a major upgrade to my home cinema. The setups were/are as follows
Epson TW9000 projector
Beamax Dellegno 85nch rising projector stand
Kef 3005 speakers in 7.1 configuration
Sony STR-DH820 AV receiver
PS3 slim as blu Ray player

New set up is
Samsung 78JS9500
Tom Schneider Undulate TV stand
Kef r200C centre
Pair of Kef r500 fronts
4 Kef 305 speakers as rears
Bowers and Wilkins PV1D subwoofer
Oppo 103D
Dune media player running yaDIS with internal 6TB drive
Innuos Spinner to rip my large blu Ray collection just to make it all more accessible.
Four MyBook Duo enclosures, each with 8TB of hard disc space(almost all used up with 1500 bluray rips and about 3500 TV episodes(mostly 1080p). Memory gets used up really quickly.
I've kept the Sony STR-DH820 for now but might upgrade next year to get Dolby Atmos but don't want to do that till the new UHD bluray players are available(hopefully from Oppo).
Only got the Samsung 78JS9500 delivered from John Lewis today.

I am so pleased with the new setup. My old set up was pretty great but the improvements across the board with the new set are simply breath taking. I will give it a little while before I get a calibrator in but I am using tweaked settings from AVforums for now(pretty good actually).

Thanks so much to everyone who has made constructive comments on here, as well as pictures and descriptions of your various setups. All of this made the decisions a little bit easier, though it still took the best part of 8 months to get all of the kit!

I might share some pictures once I figure out how to post pictures on here.
ray0414 likes this.
BayoD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
js9000 , js9500 , suhd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off