JS8500 owners thread - Page 17 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 162Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 570 Old 06-30-2015, 07:54 PM
Member
 
IronWaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
From what I understand, the differences are pretty significant. The 850D is made in China and has the chinese panel and an 8-bit chip rather than the 10-bit. It does not support full 4:4:4 chroma. Some sites sell this model as the JS8500 without specifying the lower specs.

I hadn't read this. Everything I've seen on this board suggests it's the same panel. Not doubting you, but can you post a link? If you're correct then quite a few people may adjust their purchase plans.


Pioneer Elite SC-LX701 Receiver | Oppo 203 4k Blu-Ray | Samsung 65JS850D UHDTV
PSB Imagine T2, C Centre & Imagine S Surround | SVS SB-2000 Subwoofer
Mac mini (2012) iTunes Server | Logitech Harmony Smart Control & Hub
Amazon Echo Dot | Samsung SmartThings Hub
IronWaffle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 570 Old 06-30-2015, 08:14 PM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronWaffle View Post
I hadn't read this. Everything I've seen on this board suggests it's the same panel. Not doubting you, but can you post a link? If you're correct then quite a few people may adjust their purchase plans.
That's not true.. It is just Costco specif different sku so it can't be price matched... Same panel only difference maybe frame or different remote or colour etc...None of the SUHD are 8 bits .You need 10 bits for the WCG combined with Quantum dots giving 93% of DCI-p3..Cannot be achieved without a 10 bit panel. This is incorrect ..
player002 is offline  
post #483 of 570 Old 06-30-2015, 08:54 PM
Newbie
 
unkellsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronWaffle View Post
I hadn't read this. Everything I've seen on this board suggests it's the same panel. Not doubting you, but can you post a link? If you're correct then quite a few people may adjust their purchase plans.
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
That's not true.. It is just Costco specif different sku so it can't be price matched... Same panel only difference maybe frame or different remote or colour etc...None of the SUHD are 8 bits .You need 10 bits for the WCG combined with Quantum dots giving 93% of DCI-p3..Cannot be achieved without a 10 bit panel. This is incorrect ..
I just spoke with a TV retailer to verify this. You are correct, they are not all inferior, but they mix TH01, AU, and QS04 versions at Costco and Sears. Best Buy only carries TH01. I was told that the QS04 version has an inferior Novatek chipset that causes the 10-bit chip to run at 8-bits, and that 4:4:4 chroma cannot be achieved.

IronWaffle, can you confirm that the QS04 version supports 4:4:4 chroma? Is it otherwise significantly worse than the TH01 or should they be the same?
unkellsam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #484 of 570 Old 06-30-2015, 09:37 PM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
I just spoke with a TV retailer to verify this. You are correct, they are not all inferior, but they mix TH01, AU, and QS04 versions at Costco and Sears. Best Buy only carries TH01. I was told that the QS04 version has an inferior Novatek chipset that causes the 10-bit chip to run at 8-bits, and that 4:4:4 chroma cannot be achieved.

IronWaffle, can you confirm that the QS04 version supports 4:4:4 chroma? Is it otherwise significantly worse than the TH01 or should they be the same?
What are you talking about? Those problems where with HU8550 not the JS8500. Nova was in HU8550 and it lowered performance of panel but they still had some 10 bits..BB sells all panels you play the panel lottery @ retail . QS04 on the HU8550 sucked worst panel out the bunch.. Anyways Costco version is the same .. Please make sure ur info is correct you are way off..
iatacs19 and TheCrow1994 like this.
player002 is offline  
post #485 of 570 Old 06-30-2015, 11:52 PM
Newbie
 
unkellsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
What are you talking about? Those problems where with HU8550 not the JS8500. Nova was in HU8550 and it lowered performance of panel but they still had some 10 bits..BB sells all panels you play the panel lottery @ retail . QS04 on the HU8550 sucked worst panel out the bunch.. Anyways Costco version is the same .. Please make sure ur info is correct you are way off..
What makes you think QS04 doesn't have the same issues on the JS8500 as the HU8550? Please share your sources.
unkellsam is offline  
post #486 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 04:43 AM
Member
 
IronWaffle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
I just spoke with a TV retailer to verify this. You are correct, they are not all inferior, but they mix TH01, AU, and QS04 versions at Costco and Sears. Best Buy only carries TH01. I was told that the QS04 version has an inferior Novatek chipset that causes the 10-bit chip to run at 8-bits, and that 4:4:4 chroma cannot be achieved.



IronWaffle, can you confirm that the QS04 version supports 4:4:4 chroma? Is it otherwise significantly worse than the TH01 or should they be the same?

Mine is TH01 so I can't. It's a good question.

My Costco restocked the set this week. I may check the panels out of curiosity.

I'm becoming stranger by the day.


Pioneer Elite SC-LX701 Receiver | Oppo 203 4k Blu-Ray | Samsung 65JS850D UHDTV
PSB Imagine T2, C Centre & Imagine S Surround | SVS SB-2000 Subwoofer
Mac mini (2012) iTunes Server | Logitech Harmony Smart Control & Hub
Amazon Echo Dot | Samsung SmartThings Hub
IronWaffle is offline  
post #487 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 04:48 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronWaffle View Post
Mine is TH01 so I can't. It's a good question.

My Costco restocked the set this week. I may check the panels out of curiosity.

I'm becoming stranger by the day.
they all support 444 on js8500 the problem was on Hu8550 and it was the chips. Hu8550 had 2 chips golf and nova the nova chip would not do 444 some tv's came with nova...This issue no longer exists as all tv's this year in their model line have the same chips.
mpgxsvcd and TheCrow1994 like this.
player002 is offline  
post #488 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 04:51 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
What makes you think QS04 doesn't have the same issues on the JS8500 as the HU8550? Please share your sources.
because they are not the same panel or the same production run....Example QS02 was a excellent screen on Hu8550 QS04 was not . They numbers might be the same but the production run is different so one would have to see the QS04 in order to know if it is good or bad... Regardless you want a Samsung made screen so TH01,Ts01,Td01,Us01 etc
player002 is offline  
post #489 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
From what I understand, the differences are pretty significant. The 850D is made in China and has the chinese panel and an 8-bit chip rather than the 10-bit. It does not support full 4:4:4 chroma. Some sites sell this model as the JS8500 without specifying the lower specs.
That simply is not true at all. The only differences between the 850D and the JS8500 are cosmetic. They have the different models simply so Best Buy does not have to price match Costco because each store does not sell the model that the other store does.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #490 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
unkellsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
they all support 444 on js8500 the problem was on Hu8550 and it was the chips. Hu8550 had 2 chips golf and nova the nova chip would not do 444 some tv's came with nova...This issue no longer exists as all tv's this year in their model line have the same chips.
Can somebody with a QS04 model please chime in and confirm? Also on overall display quality.
unkellsam is offline  
post #491 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC Metro
Posts: 1,669
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
Can somebody with a QS04 model please chime in and confirm? Also on overall display quality.
You can ask on the HU8550 thread. This thread is for the new 2015 JS8500.

.

OLED65C9PUA, NVIDIA SHIELD TV Pro, BDI 8179
iatacs19 is offline  
post #492 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
unkellsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iatacs19 View Post
You can ask on the HU8550 thread. This thread is for the new 2015 JS8500.
I am asking about the JS8500. It also comes in TH01, AU, and QS04 versions.

And from what I have been told, the JS8500's QS04 version may be just as bad as the HU8550's.

Last edited by unkellsam; 07-01-2015 at 10:47 AM.
unkellsam is offline  
post #493 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
unkellsam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Arnold View Post
premierTVs, shopsmart and nice etc. run a 'bait and switch. They and several others insist on having your tel. number. Then they call and tell you the exact model you ordered is actually an 'AU' or AU/CA 'commercial model' with an inferior panel and you need to pay the regular retail price which they try to make sound like a bargain. THere is no 'commercial' model with the same Samsung model number. Their purpose is to get you on the phone to sell you the same tv at the regular price. Classic 'bait and switch.' From what Samsung tells me these 'AU' versions with different panels in the UNJS8500 series simply do not exist. I've even called their bluff and told them, "Sell it to me anyway, as long as it is a genuine Samsung with all Samsung original parts at the price we contracted for." They hang up and cancel the Paypal order. They do not have this imaginary version to sell. Never did. Does not exist. At least they don't take your money.
Why would you assume that the AU and QS04 versions with inferior panels don't exist when they did for previous models? Samsung TVs are infamous for the "Samsung lottery," these retailers just sell the different versions at different price points.
unkellsam is offline  
post #494 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Dan Arnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
Why would you assume that the AU and QS04 versions with inferior panels don't exist when they did for previous models? Samsung TVs are infamous for the "Samsung lottery," these retailers just sell the different versions at different price points.
Because when you call their bluff and demand exactly what you ordered, exactly what you agreed to pay for, they refuse to sell at that price when you demand it be a genuine Samsung with the model number they promised. None of these shops are authorized Samsung resellers.
TheCrow1994 likes this.
Dan Arnold is offline  
post #495 of 570 Old 07-01-2015, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,967
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6874 Post(s)
Liked: 6871
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
Why would you assume that the AU and QS04 versions with inferior panels don't exist when they did for previous models? Samsung TVs are infamous for the "Samsung lottery," these retailers just sell the different versions at different price points.
Any retailer that sell panel versions for different price points is a scam company. If there are different panel versions for 2015-2016 we would have to test 3 of each to see which one is best, otherwise it is just hear-say. Just like last year, no independent tests where done on panels so which one is best is just plain hear-say. To each his own though, ever one can believe what they wish.
TheCrow1994 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #496 of 570 Old 07-02-2015, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've looked for this information on the Forum and also google, I cannot seem to get a definitive answer. I was hoping the JS8500 owners could help me. My question is, where is the JS8500 manufactured? I currently have a JU7100 and it's manufactured in Mexico I am thinking of getting an 8500 as well, is it also manufactured in the same plant in Mexico? Specifically I'm looking at the 48" model.

Thank you.
crudes8 is offline  
post #497 of 570 Old 07-03-2015, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by crudes8 View Post
I've looked for this information on the Forum and also google, I cannot seem to get a definitive answer. I was hoping the JS8500 owners could help me. My question is, where is the JS8500 manufactured? I currently have a JU7100 and it's manufactured in Mexico I am thinking of getting an 8500 as well, is it also manufactured in the same plant in Mexico? Specifically I'm looking at the 48" model.

Thank you.
My bestbuy 8500 is a tho1 hecho en Mexico
FromPlasma2LCD is offline  
post #498 of 570 Old 07-07-2015, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Every js8500 and js850d I've seen at legitimate retailers have been TH01 panels made in Mexico. The only difference between the js850d is the color (dark brushed charcoal vs. brushed silver). The js850d is only sold at Costco and Sam's Club.

These are the US versions. The European version is curved with different panels (to the best of my knowledge).
TheCrow1994 likes this.
drewcjm is offline  
post #499 of 570 Old 07-07-2015, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by IronWaffle View Post
Mine is TH01 so I can't. It's a good question.

My Costco restocked the set this week. I may check the panels out of curiosity.

I'm becoming stranger by the day.
I just got my JS850D from Costco (65") and it has a TH01 panel.
yngdiego is offline  
post #500 of 570 Old 07-07-2015, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeninsulaMark View Post
So do you folks NOT purchase extended policies ? Don't know about them ? Don't care ? Has anyone here had their Samsung go bad after the one year Samsung warranty ?

I purchased the $89 Squaretrade deal from Costco. Normally I don't get extended warranties, but I figured 5 years of protection is worth a measly $89. If it was more like the other warranties in the $150+ range I would have opted out.
yngdiego is offline  
post #501 of 570 Old 07-07-2015, 06:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by yngdiego View Post
I purchased the $89 Squaretrade deal from Costco. Normally I don't get extended warranties, but I figured 5 years of protection is worth a measly $89. If it was more like the other warranties in the $150+ range I would have opted out.


If people don't buy their the set @ Costco, they need to pay for that SquareTrade with an AMEX card, or another card which doubles the manufacturer's warranty. You'll get five years of protection instead of four. One secret is to NOT register that ST plan until after the second year of ownership, or never register it unless and until you must make a claim.

Last edited by PeninsulaMark; 07-07-2015 at 06:40 PM.
PeninsulaMark is offline  
post #502 of 570 Old 07-07-2015, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by unkellsam View Post
Can somebody with a QS04 model please chime in and confirm? Also on overall display quality.


My HS01 and TH02 look fantastic.
PeninsulaMark is offline  
post #503 of 570 Old 07-07-2015, 11:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeninsulaMark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 665 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by crudes8 View Post
I've looked for this information on the Forum and also google, I cannot seem to get a definitive answer. I was hoping the JS8500 owners could help me. My question is, where is the JS8500 manufactured? I currently have a JU7100 and it's manufactured in Mexico I am thinking of getting an 8500 as well, is it also manufactured in the same plant in Mexico? Specifically I'm looking at the 48" model.

Thank you.
Why do you care where it is constructed ?
PeninsulaMark is offline  
post #504 of 570 Old 07-08-2015, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
yngdiego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
In my Costco 65" JS850D box there was a card for a $100 M-Go movies/videos. When I went to redeem it on the web site it only showed a $75 credit for the 65", whereas if I picked the 55" it showed the full $100.


Has anyone had success in getting the full $100 credit for the 65" Costco model? Seems odd the cheaper model would get $25 more in credits, and the card in the box clearly states $100.
yngdiego is offline  
post #505 of 570 Old 07-11-2015, 01:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Blu Ray settings?
filmkr27 is offline  
post #506 of 570 Old 07-19-2015, 12:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Question

I just ordered the JS8500 and also purchased a Samsung HW-H7501 soundbar to go with it that I found on clearance. I will also be connecting an HD receiver/DVR, a PS3, and a PS4 to the television (all with HDMI cables; the PS4 will serve as my Blu-Ray player). How should I connect the devices to ensure the best picture and sound quality? Will I need to get an optical cable, or will the HDMI cables be sufficient? I've never done this before, so I don't know what I should connect to the TV and what I should connect to the soundbar. Any advice or assistance would be appreciated.
algood17 is offline  
post #507 of 570 Old 07-19-2015, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
vagos1103gr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Un55js8500fau/ca

Hi i am intertesting to buy this model UN55JS8500FAU/CA from premiertvs.com has it for 1059 usd, whats the difference with the fxza model?
vagos1103gr1 is offline  
post #508 of 570 Old 07-23-2015, 08:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Resetting frozen apps

Anyone know of a quick way to reset/restart frozen apps? My Amazon app has now frozen a couple of times. I tried unplugging the TV for several minutes and the issue remains. There doesn't appear to be any way to delete and reinstall some of the apps, like Amazon. The only solution I have found is to reset the entire Hub, which then requires me to re-enter login information for all the apps.
aejonesia is offline  
post #509 of 570 Old 07-23-2015, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Upscaling with a receiver

At first I was watching everything through the embedded TV apps, assuming the TV's upscaling was better than that in my receiver (a 2013 Pioneer SC-71 with 4K upscaling and pass-through). I started to compare 1080p Netflix content played with a PS4 and AppleTV running through my receiver with 4K upscaling applied versus 1080p Netflix content through the TV app. Surprisingly, the latter looks much better. When checking the Info with the TV, it indicates that the material coming from the receiver is 4K. And, I really don't see any difference between a 4K program viewed through the TV app and a 1080 version of the program viewed through AppleTV and the receiver.
aejonesia is offline  
post #510 of 570 Old 07-28-2015, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Blackbeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toledo Ohio USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any predictions for price drops on this, my current KDL-46V3000 is starting to have powering up issues after close to 8 years of seamless use so this is pushing me to jump. I have been in the market since the start of 2015 & originally had my eyes on the UN55HU8550 but at this point I thought it might just be better to opt for this model if I can get it closer to $1500 than $2000.
Blackbeen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off