Official Vizio 2015 "E" series owners thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 115Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1393 Old 03-27-2015, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,396
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 847 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Official Vizio 2015 "E" series owners thread

At least one person (er, web site) is. The specific set is a E60-C3

RTings has their 1st test of 2015 and it is a Vizio 'E' series. Not just a first test, but a whole new look to their web site. Additional tests have been added which is always welcome. Here is a link to the test;
http://www.rtings.com/reviews/tv/lcd.../e-series-2015

Vizio's site has this on the 2015 'E' series ;
http://www.vizio.com/tvs/eseries.html

Specifically for the model tested;
http://www.vizio.com/tvs/eseries/e60c3.html

Owners manual is here;
http://cdn.vizio.com/documents/e60c3/um-e60c3.pdf

In.out connects are about the same as previous years, so is their menu. Clear, easy to use, little reason to change it. It doesn't block half the screen with unnecessary, distracting images like Sony and Samsung uses that only makes adjusting the video even harder.
One big downside is the Goldstar (LG) style stand, er, should I say 'legs'. Rtings comments on this less than idea design.
Vizio has followed others with reducing, almost eliminating the on set controls. Settling for a single power button that is hidden and very hard to find on the rear (not side) of the cabinet. Might as well not have in the first place.

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vizio 2015 E series rear panel.png
Views:	11677
Size:	97.1 KB
ID:	630513   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vizio 2015 on screen menu.png
Views:	7024
Size:	519.5 KB
ID:	630521   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vizuio 2015 E series legs closeup.png
Views:	6705
Size:	111.4 KB
ID:	630529   Click image for larger version

Name:	Vizuio 2015 E series rear panel power button.png
Views:	23649
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	630537  
crackjackx likes this.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??

Last edited by videobruce; 03-27-2015 at 04:26 PM. Reason: updated text & images
videobruce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1393 Old 03-27-2015, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,396
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 847 Post(s)
Liked: 332
They have also re-tested a "P" series set from last year as a basis for comparison for the added tests that are being conducted.
http://www.rtings.com/reviews/tv/lcd-led/vizio/p-series
.
Quote:
Update: We retested the Vizio P Series (P602ui-b3) under our new test bench for 2015, because this model will only get replaced later in fall 2015. With the new pictures and test results, you will be able to compare it using the same methodology as other 2015 models.
.
Additional reviews;
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...YSUZH5P5UI2A7E


.

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??

Last edited by videobruce; 04-03-2015 at 02:52 AM. Reason: added link
videobruce is offline  
post #3 of 1393 Old 03-27-2015, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kleenex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 207
FINALLY an official review of 2015 Vizio E panel TV set.
kleenex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 1393 Old 03-27-2015, 04:05 PM
Member
 
Gary61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Hey guys...

I just pulled the trigger on the new 2015 Vizio E40-C2 and I'm really impressed with it considering i'm moving up from a 2008 Samsung LNT3253H that has just died on me for the second time in a year in a half.

I paid $339.99 plus tax from Costco.
Gary61 is offline  
post #5 of 1393 Old 04-03-2015, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,396
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 847 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Updated 2nd post

.
.
Recording free OTA TV for 'time shifting' has been here since 1975. Will there be DVR's to do the same when ATSC3 obsoletes existing DVR's??
videobruce is offline  
post #6 of 1393 Old 04-07-2015, 06:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just bought a 2014 E series 60" a month and a half ago, so glad to hear this is basically the same panel with a worse stand. I was worried the new panel would be better and I would have buyer's remorse.

It's a good set. I think the normal color temperature is a little too warm, perhaps under 6500k, but I don't have professional equipment to test that with. The middle color temp, labeled "computer," is a little too cool, so it's frustrating. Either way everything else about the set is pretty great. Blacks are rich, motion is pretty solid for LCD, everything pops how you want it too if you calibrate it that way. I had a plasma before (a Toshiba) and this set looks almost as good, very close, without the worries of burn-in and for a lower price. I am satisfied.

Will be interesting to see new people posting calibration thoughts in here. I still mess with mine here and there, struggling to find the perfect settings.
StingingVelvet is offline  
post #7 of 1393 Old 04-11-2015, 09:07 AM
Member
 
otakonx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else seeing the Active Zones and Auto Brightness bug on these sets? I recently received an E70-C3 to replace my older E700i-B3 which had the issue and my E70-C3 has the same problem with Active Zones. Active Zones won't turn off even though they're off in the menu. My firmware is 1.0.2.
otakonx is offline  
post #8 of 1393 Old 04-12-2015, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
mechadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by otakonx View Post
Is anyone else seeing the Active Zones and Auto Brightness bug on these sets? I recently received an E70-C3 to replace my older E700i-B3 which had the issue and my E70-C3 has the same problem with Active Zones. Active Zones won't turn off even though they're off in the menu. My firmware is 1.0.2.
I received an E70-C3 as a replacement for my E701i-A3. I did notice the same bug you mention, where Active Zones are on when I first turn on the TV when using a setting that has them off. What I usually do is change the picture setting back and forth using the pic button on my remote. I am not sure if this is the same bug that has been mentioned for the 2014 B series TV, since I had the 2103 A series TV previously. I hope they fix the firmware.

BTW, does anyone know if the 2014 B series TVs accept 120hz input from a computer? I use to be able to output 1920x1080 120hz from my computer using nVidia custom resolution to the E701i-A3. To my disappointment, this does not work with the E70-C3. I was wondering if this is an inherent hardware limitation of the panel or motherboard components, or if it was a software limitation due to the firmware restrictions. If the E700i-B3 was not able to accept 120hz, then I am more inclined to think that only the A series panels or boards were able to do this.
mechadave is offline  
post #9 of 1393 Old 04-12-2015, 04:35 PM
Member
 
otakonx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechadave View Post
I received an E70-C3 as a replacement for my E701i-A3. I did notice the same bug you mention, where Active Zones are on when I first turn on the TV when using a setting that has them off. What I usually do is change the picture setting back and forth using the pic button on my remote. I am not sure if this is the same bug that has been mentioned for the 2014 B series TV, since I had the 2103 A series TV previously. I hope they fix the firmware.

BTW, does anyone know if the 2014 B series TVs accept 120hz input from a computer? I use to be able to output 1920x1080 120hz from my computer using nVidia custom resolution to the E701i-A3. To my disappointment, this does not work with the E70-C3. I was wondering if this is an inherent hardware limitation of the panel or motherboard components, or if it was a software limitation due to the firmware restrictions. If the E700i-B3 was not able to accept 120hz, then I am more inclined to think that only the A series panels or boards were able to do this.
That's exactly what I've been doing - toggling picture models and seems like the best bandaid at the moment. My 2014 E700i-B3 had blooming (auto brightness) and Active Zone issues so I guess the 2015 model is a little better since I'm only seeing Active Zones being persistent. I think I'll wait a month or so and see if they release new firmware before calling Vizio again. Most of their custserv are useless with issues like this so I'm not in a rush to deal with that again.

As for these being 120hz, according to the rtings.com review these sets are 120hz and accept that signal but for some reason only output at 60. Kind of makes you wonder if it's really a 120hz set...

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtings.com
Our TV was able to accept a 120 hz signal, but only displayed a maximum of 60 fps.
Chroma 4:4:4 is only supported when the TV is receiving a 120 hz signal, which is strange.
otakonx is offline  
post #10 of 1393 Old 04-16-2015, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
raven69david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know the distance between the two stands? I am replacing an older E series with the C3 but do not know if it will fit on my current stand.
raven69david is offline  
post #11 of 1393 Old 04-16-2015, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kleenex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 371 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by raven69david View Post
Does anyone know the distance between the two stands? I am replacing an older E series with the C3 but do not know if it will fit on my current stand.
it is going to depend on the size of the TV set. A 40" 2015 Vizio E panel will have like 29" of stand width:

The 60" is going to be almost 47" of stand width.


This is a vital piece of information you usually see left out of the Tech specs.
kleenex is offline  
post #12 of 1393 Old 04-16-2015, 11:10 AM
Member
 
Gary61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 568
Quote:
Originally Posted by kleenex View Post
it is going to depend on the size of the TV set. A 40" 2015 Vizio E panel will have like 29" of stand width:


This is a vital piece of information you usually see left out of the Tech specs.
It's more like 31 1/2 in. outside to outside of the stand for the E40-C2.
Gary61 is offline  
post #13 of 1393 Old 04-16-2015, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
raven69david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sorry guys...forgot to mention it's the 70".
raven69david is offline  
post #14 of 1393 Old 04-16-2015, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
I am going to buy the 40”, 48”, and 50” 2015 E-series from Costco tomorrow. Along with the 2014 50” P-series and the 55” 2015 M-series when those come in.

It will be interesting to see how the new TVs compare to the 50” p-series. From what I saw in the store the new E-series was outstanding when compared to the 2014 Samsung and LG TVs that were in a similar price range. The highlights and shadows of the e-series was definitely superior to everything but the most expensive Samsung that Costco had on display.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #15 of 1393 Old 04-17-2015, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
raven69david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I contacted Vizio chat and they stated the following for the 70"

Quote:
50.02" on the inner edge, 53.64" to the outer edge.
raven69david is offline  
post #16 of 1393 Old 04-19-2015, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mahomet IL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Picked up the E70-C3 from wallyworld this Friday... played with the settings here is what I have so far

Picture mode - calibrated
Backlight - 60
Brightness - 50
Contrast - 50
Color - 50
Tint - 0
Sharpness - 10

Color Temp - Normal
Black detail - off
Active Led Zones - off
Reduce Judder - medium
Clear Action - off
Film Mode - auto
Color Space - auto
Gamma - 2.4
Justin_Rogers is offline  
post #17 of 1393 Old 04-19-2015, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mahomet IL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Oh and BTW by no means are my choices based on anything.. I just did it by eye.. I am sure others will come up with much better settings
Justin_Rogers is offline  
post #18 of 1393 Old 04-23-2015, 04:39 PM
Senior Member
 
raven69david's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got my E 70C3 and all I can say is BOOOOOO!!!! This is replacing an A3, B2 with the C3 and it's the worst looking picture of all 3. It looks washed out even after trying to adjust the color for 3 hours I'm done with this set. With my B2 I didn't have an issue out of the box. This C3 is horrible and it's going back. All colors do not seem vivid, crisp nor sharp. I hooked it up to my PS4 and it's nowhere as nice as the picture on my last B2 set. This is a replacement set from Square Trade and I opted for a 2014 M702i-B3 instead. We'll see how this set does.
raven69david is offline  
post #19 of 1393 Old 04-23-2015, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just bought the E50-C1. My wife and I cannot get the settings right. We use Netflix/Hulu, PS4, and sports games. We usually use the TV with the living room lights on (so it's not overly bright but definitely not dark).

Any help on the settings?
Fredmu is offline  
post #20 of 1393 Old 04-24-2015, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mahomet IL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
So it's been a frustrating week getting the settings right... used calibration stuff from avsforums but no matter what I did the image looked washed out.. Not only that, dark backgrounds were full if artifacts.. Now if I turned on active leds it looked great except for the anoying halos that come with that..

In the end I said screw it to the calibration images.. used some dark and light scenes from a few shows and compared them to the same scenes from my Yoga laptop with a IPS display ( that passed all the calibration tests with flying colors )

This is what I ended up with atm


Backlight - 60
Brightness - 40
Contrast - 70
Color - 45
Tint - 0
Sharpness - 30

Color Temp - Normal
Black detail - off
Active Led Zones - off
Reduce Judder - medium
Clear Action - off
Film Mode - auto
Color Space - auto
Gamma - 2.4
Justin_Rogers is offline  
post #21 of 1393 Old 04-24-2015, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin_Rogers View Post
So it's been a frustrating week getting the settings right... used calibration stuff from avsforums but no matter what I did the image looked washed out.. Not only that, dark backgrounds were full if artifacts.. Now if I turned on active leds it looked great except for the anoying halos that come with that..

In the end I said screw it to the calibration images.. used some dark and light scenes from a few shows and compared them to the same scenes from my Yoga laptop with a IPS display ( that passed all the calibration tests with flying colors )

This is what I ended up with atm


Backlight - 60
Brightness - 40
Contrast - 70
Color - 45
Tint - 0
Sharpness - 30

Color Temp - Normal
Black detail - off
Active Led Zones - off
Reduce Judder - medium
Clear Action - off
Film Mode - auto
Color Space - auto
Gamma - 2.4
I haven’t been able to do my final calibrations since we are moving this week. However, I recommend starting with the Calibrated Mode and then not adjusting anything on the first page except for perhaps sharpness.

Then try the following settings on the “More picture” settings page.
Color Temp - Normal
Black detail - High
Active Led Zones - on
Reduce Judder - medium
Clear Action - off
Film Mode - auto
Color Space - auto
Gamma – 1.8 or 2.0

These settings may not work for everyone. However, I was very satisfied with the image it produced like that.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #22 of 1393 Old 04-24-2015, 09:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mahomet IL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
I haven’t been able to do my final calibrations since we are moving this week. However, I recommend starting with the Calibrated Mode and then not adjusting anything on the first page except for perhaps sharpness.

Then try the following settings on the “More picture” settings page.
Color Temp - Normal
Black detail - High
Active Led Zones - on
Reduce Judder - medium
Clear Action - off
Film Mode - auto
Color Space - auto
Gamma – 1.8 or 2.0

These settings may not work for everyone. However, I was very satisfied with the image it produced like that.
It would look fine with Active LED zones activated buuuttt the active LED zones drives me nuts.. I do not like that feature
Justin_Rogers is offline  
post #23 of 1393 Old 04-24-2015, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin_Rogers View Post
It would look fine with Active LED zones activated buuuttt the active LED zones drives me nuts.. I do not like that feature
What about it drives you nuts? I haven’t really been able to tell a significant difference with it on.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #24 of 1393 Old 04-24-2015, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mahomet IL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
What about it drives you nuts? I haven’t really been able to tell a significant difference with it on.
Maybe it's the fact that I keep my tv in a darkish family room... but I notice the halo (lightened sections of the backround where something small may be brighter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
What about it drives you nuts? I haven’t really been able to tell a significant difference with it on.
Maybe it's the fact that I keep my tv in a darkish family room... but I notice the blooming (lightened sections of the backround where something small may be brighter) this is due to the low amount of active zones used on the tv..

Also panning from one person to another looks weird as the lighting changes on faces etc..
Justin_Rogers is offline  
post #25 of 1393 Old 04-24-2015, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,898
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2958 Post(s)
Liked: 2617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin_Rogers View Post
Maybe it's the fact that I keep my tv in a darkish family room... but I notice the halo (lightened sections of the backround where something small may be brighter)

Maybe it's the fact that I keep my tv in a darkish family room... but I notice the blooming (lightened sections of the backround where something small may be brighter) this is due to the low amount of active zones used on the tv..

Also panning from one person to another looks weird as the lighting changes on faces etc..
Thanks for that information. I hadn't noticed any of that on the sets I bought but they were in a bright room. I will try to reproduce that issues once I get the TVs setup in darker locations.
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #26 of 1393 Old 04-25-2015, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Yeah the colors are meh at best they match my old lcd so I can live with it until I get a 4k set. Gaming is awesome on this tv blur trail is very short no halo banding. Hopefully they'll allow 120hz on pc with a firmware update.
somethingname is offline  
post #27 of 1393 Old 04-25-2015, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Mahomet IL
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Well I noticed that the tv was turning on active led after turning it off then on... that was the lady straw.. took it back today
Justin_Rogers is offline  
post #28 of 1393 Old 04-25-2015, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Paul33993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by somethingname View Post
Yeah the colors are meh at best they match my old lcd so I can live with it until I get a 4k set. Gaming is awesome on this tv blur trail is very short no halo banding. Hopefully they'll allow 120hz on pc with a firmware update.
I'm assuming you did more than just plugged in an HDMI cable:

http://www.blurbusters.com/overclock/120hz-pc-to-tv/

I was wondering if these sets would be able to do true 120hz input. Sounds like it's currently no
Paul33993 is offline  
post #29 of 1393 Old 04-26-2015, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul33993 View Post
I'm assuming you did more than just plugged in an HDMI cable:

http://www.blurbusters.com/overclock/120hz-pc-to-tv/

I was wondering if these sets would be able to do true 120hz input. Sounds like it's currently no
No havn't tried overclocking yet until someone mentions it's possible after a firmware update. I doubt it though either way I'm content with the tv as is gaming is awesome on it. Movies look great aswell. Blacks are decent after some tweaking and upping the color can bring out a full look though it's artificial.

Active LED is the only bug I've encountered but I knew that before buying it. I only use it as a PC monitor so it's on 24/7

Rtings mentioned only the 65" and 70" models are 120hz native panels which is weird because I havn't heard of a 65" E series tv I have the 70"

Last edited by somethingname; 04-26-2015 at 09:58 AM.
somethingname is offline  
post #30 of 1393 Old 04-26-2015, 05:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
EscapeVelocity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 6,772
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Reproducing my post here for those who may find interest in it...

Quote:
Let me get this out of the way first.

My local Walmart did not have an M50 on display. The set with a special 4K feed is the P502ui-B1e. That is what I saw the motion blurring on a few days ago and reported in this thread.

Of note: The Vizio P502ui-B1e 4K and the Samsung 50JU6500 4K were side by side, and they appear to be using the exact same panel. I dont know if this panel comes in both 60hz & 120hz refresh rates. But the panel type is the same VA. My 10x loupe was barely enough to see good details in the subpixel structures, but I think this is a AUO MVA (3rd ge)n panel in both which has been a pretty popular panel and is very similar to a Samsung S-PVA 10th gen panel in form & operation.

I forgot to bring my remote so I could not adjust any sets. So I did not try to ascertain motion blurring on the 2015 M Series sets.

All the 55" 1080p sets were using AUO MVA 3 panels. That includes the HiSense, Sanyo, LG LF5900, Samsung H6023.

Of note the Vizio M55 4K is NOT an S-IPS panel. It appears to be another AUO MVA3 panel.

None of the 2015 Vizio 4K M-Series are S-IPS panels (43, 55, 60) I didnt get to look at the M50 panel because the P502 was on display but with the M50 sales tag in front of it. They did not have 65", 70", 75" or 80" 2015 M Series on display. But I feel safe in assuming none of those are S-IPS panels including the 50". Last years 2014 M series had S-IPS panels in 49" and 55".

None of the LG sets at Walmart from 32" to 55" had S-IPS panels. In fact the only S-IPS panel I spied was a 42" 1080p Sanyo on the whole wall. The LGs were all using VAs of some sort. The 50" LF6000 was Chei Mei, 55" LG5900 was AUO. 32" LF500B & 42 LF5600 were using an unknown (to me) VA panel, (maybe a Sharp) which was used in last years Vizio M Series 32" & 42" sets.

One other note before we get to the 2015 M-Series 4K sets. The 40" Sony 1080p KDL40R510C is using the same panel as was in last years highly regarded 40" Sony 40W600B with the horizontal orientation of the sub pixels. Might be a gem there. The 48" Sony KDL48R510C had an AUO MVA3 panel.

2015 4K M Series @ Walmart

M43-C1 = AUO MVA3
M50 Not Displayed
M55-C2 = AUO MVA3
M60-C3 = Sharp X-Gen

2015 1080p E Series @ Walmart

E32-C1 = VA panel like the one in the LG (maybe Sharp manufature but unknown)
E32H = TN panel with horizontal orientation
D39H = AUO MVA3
E40-C2 = Chei Mei VA
D43-C1 = AUO MVA3
E50-C1 = AUO MVA3
E55-C2 = AUO MVA3
E60-C3 = Sharp X-Gen VA
E70-? = Sharp X-Gen VA


Hope that helps.

Epson 8350 / Panasonic AX-200u / Optoma Graywolf 92" / Draper Luma 92"
Samsung 51F8500 / Panasonic P50ST60 / Vizio P502ui-B1E / Sony 50W700B
Sony S790 / Panasonic BDT-220 / Roku 2 XS & Roku 2
Sony NT5 / Samsung F550 / Speakercraft CS3 / Yamaha YAS-105

Last edited by EscapeVelocity; 04-26-2015 at 09:16 PM.
EscapeVelocity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off