**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9742Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
prme19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by allencc3 View Post
Can I borrow your white balance and color space settings? lol. I tried Eruiz's but seemed to not have enough color for what I am used to. To get the saturation that you speak of, I used native and bumped the color up a bit. One last thing, if I post my settings, can you test with your device for me? I don't have any calibration hardware or software. I think my picture looks awesome but want to see how it compares to "PROFESSIONAL" standard.
I can tell you now it won't have the same results. I tried testing ERuiz' settings on my set and it didn't produce the same numbers that he got and posted with his calibrated settings (although his settings on my set still got considerable better numbers than the default TV settings). Now, if you use my white balance and color settings but used a different color space and tweaked the color a bit, the numbers will be changed and the measurements will be off, thus changing the overall picture, from what I intended it be for my set. It may look alright on yours, but the numbers will be off.
On another note, due to the holiday weekend, I was able to do some more calibration with the tv and will post the updated settings when I get done. I didn't like that I did too much red adjustments for white balance and I was able to find another way to correct it (thanks to some helpful tips from other calibrators from another forum)

my JS8500 movie calibration settings as of 8/8/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post34495410
my JS8500 standard calibration settings as of 6/18/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post35124130
prme19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Lonnie1892's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by truwarrior22 View Post
Did you try calling Amazon? If so, I'm curious what they said since it's not direct from them.
Amazon said they wont adjust. I'm trying through Paul's TV support. Sent an email but no replyy yet
Lonnie1892 is offline  
post #963 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
allencc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by prme19 View Post
I can tell you now it won't have the same results. I tried testing ERuiz' settings on my set and it didn't produce the same numbers that he got and posted with his calibrated settings (although his settings on my set still got considerable better numbers than the default TV settings). Now, if you use my white balance and color settings but used a different color space and tweaked the color a bit, the numbers will be changed and the measurements will be off, thus changing the overall picture, from what I intended it be for my set. It may look alright on yours, but the numbers will be off.
On another note, due to the holiday weekend, I was able to do some more calibration with the tv and will post the updated settings when I get done. I didn't like that I did too much red adjustments for white balance and I was able to find another way to correct it (thanks to some helpful tips from other calibrators from another forum)
OK. Post the new settings when you are done. I'll post mines as well. Currently tweaking game mode PS4 settings. The only thing I dont like about the TV is its motion handling. It suxx compared to my HX850 which is a 240Hz with Motionflow 960. Other than that, TV is OK. What I do like is that the input lag is good. I literally went from being on the bottom of the list on Call of Duty, to the top of the list. The input lag has made a difference. Therefore, I guess I except the crappy motion on this TV. Yes, I am using smooth. Maybe I'll try custom.
allencc3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
david4455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
I just ordered mine and should have this week. Excited!

Quick question from a newb. I also ordered the 4k Onkyo receiver and was thinking I just had to have one HDMI connection from TV to receiver, and then plug in all my other devices to the receiver (blu ray, cable box, etc). However I see other people on here utilizing all 4 HDMI ports to go directly from TV to their device.

Is there a specific reason for this? With my set up, it will be hard to run 4 separate cables all the way to my TV.

Thanks!
I have the same equipment and I have all my HDMI cables going directly from each device to the TV's mini connect box. I do have a HDMI cable going from the receiver to one the TV's hdmi slots only so that I can see the onscreen menu for the receiver but not as a pass-through for cable or dvd. I use a digital optical cable for sound as I couldn't set up ARC with this receiver to my satisfaction.
david4455 is offline  
post #965 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fjerina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 1,741
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 278 Post(s)
Liked: 70
For all of you that are updating your entire system then you should be aware of the new line of A/V receivers that will support HDMI 2.0a and also the new audio formats like ATMOS. See the link. I am planning on buying the Onkyo 646 in the future months after I get my new HDR capable Samsung. I have an old Onkyo SR605 with only 2 HDMI inputs. That is a big limitation for me right now.

http://www.twice.com/news/receivers/...hdmi-20a/57128
fjerina is offline  
post #966 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
palermo22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Trilogy - Central Coast, CA.
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
The price dropped overnight to $2999.

So you don't have to go though all the hoops I did to get a refund. Any CSR can make the adjustment now.
One of the pleasures of dealing with Crutchfield - great Customer Service. Just had to point out the new price and bingo they are crediting my Amex Card for the $500 difference. I felt like I was paying a real premium to be among the first to have this set - now with the price under $3,000 - I feel it was a fair price for a premium TV.
WERA689 and TheCrow1994 like this.
palermo22 is offline  
post #967 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
david4455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by palermo22 View Post
One of the pleasures of dealing with Crutchfield - great Customer Service. Just had to point out the new price and bingo they are crediting my Amex Card for the $500 difference. I felt like I was paying a real premium to be among the first to have this set - now with the price under $3,000 - I feel it was a fair price for a premium TV.
Couldn't agree with you more. I have become a big fan of Crutchfield because of their CS. Especially when I read about other retailers like Amazon refusing to credit after a price break.
WERA689 likes this.
david4455 is offline  
post #968 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:17 AM
Member
 
maskgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
I have the same equipment and I have all my HDMI cables going directly from each device to the TV's mini connect box. I do have a HDMI cable going from the receiver to one the TV's hdmi slots only so that I can see the onscreen menu for the receiver but not as a pass-through for cable or dvd. I use a digital optical cable for sound as I couldn't set up ARC with this receiver to my satisfaction.
Oh OK thank you. I am way behind so I have no idea what the mini connect box does or what it's funtion would be. Do you mind elaborating?
maskgordon is offline  
post #969 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
david4455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
Oh OK thank you. I am way behind so I have no idea what the mini connect box does or what it's funtion would be. Do you mind elaborating?
Much written about it on this forum. There are NO HDMI sockets on the TV itself... instead there is a mini box that you plug all that ( including your optical audio cable) into and then a proprietary cable goes from this mini box to the TV.

try the last page of this manual...there is a diagram.

http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...30565J8500.PDF
david4455 is offline  
post #970 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
Much written about it on this forum. There are NO HDMI sockets on the TV itself... instead there is a mini box that you plug all that ( including your optical audio cable) into and then a proprietary cable goes from this mini box to the TV.

try the last page of this manual...there is a diagram.

http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...30565J8500.PDF
I see in the diagram the inputs are labeled, HDMI 1 (STB), HDMI 2 (DVI), HDMI 3 (MHL) and HDMI 4 (ARC). Am I correct in assuming that all four inputs function the same and it would make no differences which ones you use for whatever components? In other words if I plugged in a cable box to HDMI 2 instead of HDMI 1, it would work the same, correct?
Gator1 is offline  
post #971 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
david4455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator1 View Post
I see in the diagram the inputs are labeled, HDMI 1 (STB), HDMI 2 (DVI), HDMI 3 (MHL) and HDMI 4 (ARC). Am I correct in assuming that all four inputs function the same and it would make no differences which ones you use for whatever components? In other words if I plugged in a cable box to HDMI 2 instead of HDMI 1, it would work the same, correct?
As far as I can tell...correct. The labeling is only "suggested".
david4455 is offline  
post #972 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Gator1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Orlando
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
The price dropped overnight to $2999.

So you don't have to go though all the hoops I did to get a refund. Any CSR can make the adjustment now.
I see they dropped the price as you mentioned on the 65" but they did not drop the price on the 55". It is still $500. more than the other guys.
Gator1 is offline  
post #973 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:48 AM
Member
 
maskgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
Much written about it on this forum. There are NO HDMI sockets on the TV itself... instead there is a mini box that you plug all that ( including your optical audio cable) into and then a proprietary cable goes from this mini box to the TV.

try the last page of this manual...there is a diagram.

http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...30565J8500.PDF
Thanks so much David I will check it out. Got to figure out what this ARC thing is
maskgordon is offline  
post #974 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
david4455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gator1 View Post
I see they dropped the price as you mentioned on the 65" but they did not drop the price on the 55". It is still $500. more than the other guys.
They will either come around or you can force the issue like I did on the 65"... I wrote, called and sent screen shots of the lower price on the other retailers.
david4455 is offline  
post #975 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
dja2189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 16
does anyone suffer from bad edge light bleed or clouding? I have the ju7100 right now and it doesn't have bad edge light bleed but there is some major clouding issues during dark scenes. I was watching Game of Thrones yesterday and it was pretty unbearable to watch during some of the scenes. Anyone experience it on this set? Should I exchange for the JS8500 instead of the ju7100?
dja2189 is offline  
post #976 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 11:08 AM
Member
 
MatthewW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Here is my results from calibration, keep in mind I am fairly new at this but have attained some pretty decent results. As prme19 stated a few posts back, my settings may not work for every set as his settings and mines are quite different.

65” JS8500 Version TH01 - manufactured March 2015

i1 Display Pro 3 Retail
Chromapure 2.5.7 using internal signal Fields generated at 75% signal intensity, AVSHD 709 & Disney WoW

Picture Mode: Movie
Backlight: 9 (about 45ftL)
Contrast: 100
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 10
Color: 50
Tint: G50/R50
Picture Size: 16:9
Fit to screen: ON

Advanced Settings
Dynamic Contrast: OFF
Black Tone: OFF
Flesh Tone: 0
RGB Only Mode: OFF
Color Space: Custom
Gamma: 0

COLOR SPACE (R, G, B)
Red: 27, 4, 0
Green 24, 45, 5
Blue: 0, 6, 39
Yellow: 45, 46, 5
Cyan: 22, 53, 57
Magenta: 24, 7, 50

WHITE BALANCE (2 point)
R-Offset: -1
G-Offset: 1
B-Offset: -9
R-Gain: -1
G-Gain: -11
B-Gain: 0

WHITE BALANCE (10 point) (R, G, B)
10%: 10, 3, -47
20%: 0, -1, 0
30%: -6, -4, 4
40%: 0, -1, 6
50%: 1, 2, 6
60%: 0, 1, 0
70%: 0, -1, -3
80%: 1, 0, 0
90%: 5, 0, -1
100%: 2, 0, -2

Picture Options
Color Tone: Warm2
Digital Clean View: OFF
MPEG Noise Filter: OFF
HDMI Black Level: Auto
HDMI UHD Color: OFF
Auto Motion Plus: Custom (Blur Reduction: 8, Judder Reduction: 0, LED Clear Motion: OFF)
Smart LED: Standard
Cinema Black: OFF
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	grey.JPG
Views:	368
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	736018   Click image for larger version

Name:	gray.JPG
Views:	359
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	736034   Click image for larger version

Name:	gamma.JPG
Views:	312
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	736042   Click image for larger version

Name:	cie.JPG
Views:	353
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	736050   Click image for larger version

Name:	chromam.JPG
Views:	337
Size:	102.0 KB
ID:	736058  

MatthewW is offline  
post #977 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
truwarrior22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2189 View Post
does anyone suffer from bad edge light bleed or clouding? I have the ju7100 right now and it doesn't have bad edge light bleed but there is some major clouding issues during dark scenes. I was watching Game of Thrones yesterday and it was pretty unbearable to watch during some of the scenes. Anyone experience it on this set? Should I exchange for the JS8500 instead of the ju7100?
What's your picture mode, back light, smart led, and brightness settings at? How dark is the room?
truwarrior22 is offline  
post #978 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Legion6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
Thanks so much David I will check it out. Got to figure out what this ARC thing is
ARC = Audio Return Channel

If you have all your devices plugged into your receiver and the output of the receiver going to the TV, you'd normally have a problem if you tried to watch Netflix from the TV's native app since audio wouldn't be sent to the receiver. With ARC your TV can send audio back through the receiver's HDMI out. This way you can watch shows via the TV's native apps and still have audio come out of your receiver.
IronWaffle likes this.
Legion6789 is offline  
post #979 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 11:47 AM
Member
 
Legion6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
As far as I can tell...correct. The labeling is only "suggested".
Except for ARC. From my testing I've only be able to get ARC to work on HDMI input 4 (labeled ARC).
Legion6789 is offline  
post #980 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dja2189's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by truwarrior22 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dja2189 View Post
does anyone suffer from bad edge light bleed or clouding? I have the ju7100 right now and it doesn't have bad edge light bleed but there is some major clouding issues during dark scenes. I was watching Game of Thrones yesterday and it was pretty unbearable to watch during some of the scenes. Anyone experience it on this set? Should I exchange for the JS8500 instead of the ju7100?
What's your picture mode, back light, smart led, and brightness settings at? How dark is the room?
When I experienced the clouding while watching game of thrones, my room was completely dark. I have it on standard picture mode, brightness 45 and I believe I tried it with smart led on and off and the clouding was still unbearable during the dark scenes. This is on my ju7100 by the way, how is it on the js8500?
dja2189 is offline  
post #981 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 12:44 PM
Member
 
Lonnie1892's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by truwarrior22 View Post
Did you try calling Amazon? If so, I'm curious what they said since it's not direct from them.
Paul's TV says they wont adjust and I have to contact Amazon. I'm getting the runaround apparently.

Surely, either Amazon or Paul's TV has to be willing to adjust the difference? There cant be some gap in between the vendors where the customer is completely screwed
Lonnie1892 is offline  
post #982 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
truwarrior22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 432 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonnie1892 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by truwarrior22 View Post
Did you try calling Amazon? If so, I'm curious what they said since it's not direct from them.
Paul's TV says they wont adjust and I have to contact Amazon. I'm getting the runaround apparently.

Surely, either Amazon or Paul's TV has to be willing to adjust the difference? There cant be some gap in between the vendors where the customer is completely screwed
Does your credit card have any price protection? Not sure if they will honor if it wasn't sold and shipped by Amazon.
truwarrior22 is offline  
post #983 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Lonnie1892's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by truwarrior22 View Post
Does your credit card have any price protection? Not sure if they will honor if it wasn't sold and shipped by Amazon.
I bought it with the AMEX Premier Rewards Gold card. Doesnt have price protection as far as I know.. Amazon told me they cant match because of the reason you just said. Seems like I'm ****ed
Lonnie1892 is offline  
post #984 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 02:37 PM
Member
 
jezapala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 8
firmware update 1214

Has anyone had any major issues after the latest firmware update? My Blu Ray player is now randomly turning itself on and going to that input when I am watching cable. I am able to get around it by disabling anynet+, but now I have to manually go to that input after inserting a blu ray disc. It is a minor inconvenience but it started right after the firmware update. Anyone else with an issue after the update?
jezapala is offline  
post #985 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
david4455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonnie1892 View Post
I bought it with the AMEX Premier Rewards Gold card. Doesnt have price protection as far as I know.. Amazon told me they cant match because of the reason you just said. Seems like I'm ****ed
return it?
david4455 is offline  
post #986 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 03:32 PM
Member
 
maskgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legion6789 View Post
ARC = Audio Return Channel

If you have all your devices plugged into your receiver and the output of the receiver going to the TV, you'd normally have a problem if you tried to watch Netflix from the TV's native app since audio wouldn't be sent to the receiver. With ARC your TV can send audio back through the receiver's HDMI out. This way you can watch shows via the TV's native apps and still have audio come out of your receiver.
oh ok. Thanks Legion!
maskgordon is offline  
post #987 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 04:20 PM
Member
 
Lonnie1892's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by david4455 View Post
return it?

amazon would only give partial refund i believe. I've got a good panel too, so wouldn't want to risk it.

I just don't understand how both people can just keep pointing the finger at each other

Only solution is return TV for full refund and re-order at reduced price

I've got a good panel, don't see any of the issues others are reporting.. so if I was happy with the Tv @ $2000, I shouldn't be upset if I cant get it at $1500 =/

Last edited by Lonnie1892; 05-25-2015 at 05:29 PM.
Lonnie1892 is offline  
post #988 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
prme19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 394
As I said earlier, here's my updated Movie Mode calibrations. I've mainly adjusted my 2 point and 10 point white balance to achieve a better greyscale. Color settings also changed a little bit. Like I and others here have mentioned before, the different calibrated settings posted here will not have the same effect on another JS8500, but it's a good starting point to start tweaking from compared to the default settings. I will probably stick to these updated settings for a little while now, as Im happy with it. (Unless my fingers start to itch again)

TV: 65 inch JS8500 Panel: THO1; Colorimeter: Colormunki Display, Software: HCFR, Discs: AVS 709, Disney WoW

Backlight 8 (38 ftL) * Ideally, it should be between 35-40 ftL if you have a light controlled room, I left mine at Backlight of 9 (42-43ftL) because I have a couple windows at the front and side of the TV. Backlight of 7 is only about 34 ftL
Contrast 100
Brightness 45
Sharpness 20 (preference) * It should be no more than 25% to avoid any artifacts.
Color 50
Tint 50/50

White Balance

2 Pt
R offset 3
G offset 8
B offset -3
R gain -3
G gain -12
B gain 2

10 Pt
1. 30, 25, -43
2. 2, 0, 1
3. -7, 0, 4
4. -4, 0, 1
5. -7, 0, 5
6. -5, 0, 0
7. -5, 0, -3
8. -4, 0, -3
9. 0, 0, 0
10. 0, 0, 0

Color Space: Custom * I used 100% saturation at this time (STILL), because at default settings, the colors were more closer to reference levels compared with 75% saturation, but I will also try to calibrate with 75% in the future just to compare. (I know, I said this before already)
Red 36 7 2
Green 34 48 7
Blue 1 7 49
Yellow 55 48 5
Cyan 30 56 62
Magenta 28 11 58

Gamma: -1
Color Tone: Warm 2
Auto Motion Plus: Clear (preference) * Although I have been using Standard recently and I'm liking the soap-opera effect)
Smart LED: Standard
Cinema Black: On
All other dynamic settings are off

my JS8500 movie calibration settings as of 8/8/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post34495410
my JS8500 standard calibration settings as of 6/18/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post35124130

Last edited by prme19; 08-08-2015 at 06:30 PM.
prme19 is offline  
post #989 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 07:18 PM
Member
 
madgrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: so cal
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Swooped the 65JS850D from Costco yesterday. I had my doubts if the JS8500 was the same TV or not, but they share the same user manual so that is squashed. If anyone is on the fence go for it. Could we posssibly change the title of this thread?

Netflix is buggy and will randomly shut of my tv. Anyone else have experiencing this?

Otherwise really enjoying the set. Watched Life of Pi 3D on Bluray last night via Xbox One and the picture was amazing. (I don't have any other experience watching 3D other than in theater environment, but I was really impressed regardless.)

The contrast is amazing on the Sammy. Input lag is reasonable if you play fighters.

HDR where you at?

Last edited by madgrab; 05-25-2015 at 07:24 PM.
madgrab is offline  
post #990 of 23985 Old 05-25-2015, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
have been thinking of also picking up UN65JS850D from costco, esp at $2980 price. Recently returned 70R550 Sony
to Costco just short of 2 yrs as they couldn't repair it & got credit- Can't decide if I'll be happy going down in size- as
i look at their 75", 70" & 65" screens next to each other at Costco - 65" seems much smaller than 70.- Wish they carried other make/model TV anywhere near the JS850D quality, in 70 or 75". I'm sold on buying at Costco with their 2 yr warranty, 90 day no questions return, squaretrade warranty, etc.

Last edited by bgrpph; 05-25-2015 at 08:04 PM.
bgrpph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off