**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 650 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9814Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19471 of 24073 Old 06-27-2016, 02:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hail2030 View Post
Good thing you didn't go for the KU6300. That's one of their low end 2016 models. There is no comparison to the JS8500. Always research before jumping on electronics. You probably would have been disappointed with the KU6300.

My wife would laugh but I always try to do my homework with purchases like this. If I were to go out and buy a random 4k set and end up disappointed I'd have no one to blame but myself. At least now I know I made an educated decision. I don't buy TVs often (at least not in the past) so I knew I didn't want to squander this opportunity.
King Richard likes this.
gardenstatepkwy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19472 of 24073 Old 06-27-2016, 04:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardenstatepkwy View Post
I'm hoping I don't have to end up playing the 'panel lottery' as I've read about on these forums.

There is no Panel Lottery with the JS Series, all are Samsung made TH01 10bit Panels. Quality TV!
King Richard likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19473 of 24073 Old 06-27-2016, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardenstatepkwy View Post
So I've spent the last couple of hours reading through the history of this thread trying to absorb as much information before the TVs arrival as possible so I can be prepared and get right into watching the thing.

I noticed several posts from about a year ago mentioning HDMI cable types. My current cables are "High speed" HDMI 1.4 cables. Will these give me the full 4k experience without hiccups (barring any problems with the source of the signal) or do I need the HDMI 2.0 cables?

It depends to a point. I've heard a few people in Samsung K8500 thread need to replace their Cables to a newer 2015/2016 made Cable.
I have always bought High Speed with Ethernet Cables, when I bought my K8500 UHD Blu-Ray Player in April, I plugged it in using a 4 year old HDMI Cable & it worked with no problems at all. As long as they are a Category 2 Cable which I'm pretty sure "High Speed" is, you should be ok but be prepared just in case it doesn't work.
King Richard likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19474 of 24073 Old 06-27-2016, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by DThiel View Post
JS or KS model in your opinion? Need help deciding.
JS for the 3d. Why eliminate such a great feature which actually adds to the viewing experience ? The 3d on this set is not mere gimmickry. Hopefully Samsung will take notice of all these comments made about passing up TV's without 3d and bring back this attribute in future sets.
Rudy1, dlbsyst, DThiel and 4 others like this.
TravisBean is offline  
post #19475 of 24073 Old 06-27-2016, 08:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
JS for the 3d. Why eliminate such a great feature which actually adds to the viewing experience ? The 3d on this set is not mere gimmickry. Hopefully Samsung will take notice of all these comments made about passing up TV's without 3d and bring back this attribute in future sets.

I agree, I enjoy 3D & have an extensive range of 3D Blu-Ray's. I was an early adopter to 3D & bought the first C8000 (over $5k in 2010). I was sad to see Samsung drop it in 2016 but like you I hope they listen to consumers & add it back to next years line up.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19476 of 24073 Old 06-27-2016, 09:56 PM
Member
 
hail2030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardenstatepkwy View Post
So I've spent the last couple of hours reading through the history of this thread trying to absorb as much information before the TVs arrival as possible so I can be prepared and get right into watching the thing.

I noticed several posts from about a year ago mentioning HDMI cable types. My current cables are "High speed" HDMI 1.4 cables. Will these give me the full 4k experience without hiccups (barring any problems with the source of the signal) or do I need the HDMI 2.0 cables?
I had some old GE and Vizio cables that I replaced because I wasn't sure what version they where. I ended up going with these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I think someone else in this forum recommended them.
gardenstatepkwy likes this.
hail2030 is offline  
post #19477 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 03:39 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardenstatepkwy View Post
I noticed several posts from about a year ago mentioning HDMI cable types. My current cables are "High speed" HDMI 1.4 cables. Will these give me the full 4k experience without hiccups (barring any problems with the source of the signal) or do I need the HDMI 2.0 cables?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
It depends to a point. I've heard a few people in Samsung K8500 thread need to replace their Cables to a newer 2015/2016 made Cable.
I have always bought High Speed with Ethernet Cables, when I bought my K8500 UHD Blu-Ray Player in April, I plugged it in using a 4 year old HDMI Cable & it worked with no problems at all. As long as they are a Category 2 Cable which I'm pretty sure "High Speed" is, you should be ok but be prepared just in case it doesn't work.
Just to add to this ^^^^

1.4 and 2.0/2.0a are all HDMI connector specs NOT cable specs. Even though they are often advertised as such, there is really no such thing as a HDMI 2.0 cable.

All you need (at least for short cable runs - say under 15') is, as @mc_avs pointed out above, is a "High-speed" "Category 2" cable (which by the way is the same thing). You should also make sure it is rated for a bandwidth of 18Gbps or more (most newer ones are).

As long as you get an image (and audio) with no drop-outs or "sparkles" (snow), you are good-to-go.

Richard
mc_avs and gardenstatepkwy like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #19478 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 249
High Speed HDMI cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by hail2030 View Post
I had some old GE and Vizio cables that I replaced because I wasn't sure what version they where. I ended up going with these:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I think someone else in this forum recommended them.
I went with this one since I wasn't sure whether my 8 y.o. cable was rated at 18 Gbps, plus I read that it works with the UBD-K8500 player/JS8500 TV combo -- I also wanted a braided cord, and the < $10 price tag didn't hurt either:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NQ9OQU2

The cable arrived yesterday and the build quality is very nice. It seems to have helped slightly with picture clarity, but that might just be wishful thinking/placebo on my part.
King Richard likes this.
4K Tech is offline  
post #19479 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Resetting TV following firmware update 1455.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
Have you got any decent True 4K Demo's on a USB drive that you can test on the TV to see what the PQ looks like?
Haven't tried that yet, but will give it a shot when I get the chance. I did stream a few compressed 2160p vids on YouTube via the TV's web browser, including my go-to "WILDLIFE IN 4K (ULTRA HD) 60fps" test clip, and they definitely have a darker appearance than before the 1455.0 firmware update (however the detail/clarity remains mind blowing on this TV):

tmdorsey and mc_avs like this.
4K Tech is offline  
post #19480 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 06:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Resetting TV following firmware update 1455.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by covsound1 View Post
i too notice a difference in picture after last update at first really love how it pulled in more of a solid black look. but also looked like colors took on a black base as well? still on fence weather or not this is better.
That is a very apt description of what I am experiencing too after the 1455.0 update, the picture has a noticeably darker cast to it. Thanks for confirming that I'm not the only one. So far I have tried a brand new high speed HDMI cable, reset Picture option, soft reset the TV (unplugged power cable from outlet, held power button for 30 seconds, and reattached power cable), changed input source, and rebooted cable box, all to no avail. I have yet to perform a Factory Reset since it's not without some risk, I'm leaning towards waiting for another firmware update to see if that corrects things (but next time I'll try the over-the-air method rather than the USB flash drive route).

Just out of curiosity:

1. What size panel do you have? (65" for me)

2. What firmware version were you running prior to the 1455.0 update? (1221.7 for me)

3. Did you update via the Internet or via USB? (USB for me)

4. Did your set perform 2 reboots as part of the update or just 1? (2 for me)

5. Did your TV retain all prior settings following the update? (all retained for me except audio delay which changed from 0 to 100 milliseconds)

Thanks again for the reply, sorry that you have this same PQ issue. Please let me know if you find a way to resolve it.
4K Tech is offline  
post #19481 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Just to add to this ^^^^

1.4 and 2.0/2.0a are all HDMI connector specs NOT cable specs. Even though they are often advertised as such, there is really no such thing as a HDMI 2.0 cable.

All you need (at least for short cable runs - say under 15') is, as @mc_avs pointed out above, is a "High-speed" "Category 2" cable (which by the way is the same thing). You should also make sure it is rated for a bandwidth of 18Gbps or more (most newer ones are).

As long as you get an image (and audio) with no drop-outs or "sparkles" (snow), you are good-to-go.

Richard
Thank you for your follow up. This clears the issue up a bit. These are the HDMI cables I bought when I moved into my new house and mounted my TV:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00L3KNWBU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


Obviously just adequate (at least for my 1080p LG). I don't think they are rated for 18Gbps though. Those KabelDirekt HDMI cables look like they may fit the bill, though.
gardenstatepkwy is offline  
post #19482 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Biggest positive first impression of the UN65JS8500:
Impressive flesh-tones "right out of the box" in all picture modes.
(much more so than the LN52B630)

Biggest negative:
Glitchy user interface. I am however finding that if you give the TV a little extra time to "boot up," and only issue one command at a time things go much more smoothly.
King Richard likes this.
TravisBean is offline  
post #19483 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
CosmoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
...If you give the TV a little extra time to "boot up," and only issue one command at a time things go much more smoothly.
I am the same way after I wake up in the morning. :-D
dlbsyst likes this.

---
Striving to live life in high dynamic range and ultra high definition.
Samsung UN65JS8500 / Denon AVR-X4000 / 5.1 w/ Mixed Speakers / Oppo UDP-203 / TiVo Premiere XL / Apple TV (3rd gen) / Fire TV (1st gen) / Xbox 360 R2-D2 Edition
KC area / Father of 4 / Husband / Video Producer / Skeptic
CosmoNut is offline  
post #19484 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hopefully any glitchy UI issues can be worked out with a future firmware update. I'm actually reading through this thread right now (on page 315 currently) and wondering how well the apps work; mainly Amazon Prime Video and Netflix. Hoping to use the built in apps and keep the Amazon Fire TV Stick with the LG when it gets moved to the wife's office. I'm currently still back in December of 2015 thread-wise but there seems to be widespread reports of crashing and general unreliability in apps. Has this improved at all? As an IT guy I know this could also be caused by network settings and a user's home network environment.
gardenstatepkwy is offline  
post #19485 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Netflix works great. Almost as if the set was designed as a Netflix media center.
King Richard likes this.
TravisBean is offline  
post #19486 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 01:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 463 Post(s)
Liked: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by gardenstatepkwy View Post
Hopefully any glitchy UI issues can be worked out with a future firmware update. I'm actually reading through this thread right now (on page 315 currently) and wondering how well the apps work; mainly Amazon Prime Video and Netflix. Hoping to use the built in apps and keep the Amazon Fire TV Stick with the LG when it gets moved to the wife's office. I'm currently still back in December of 2015 thread-wise but there seems to be widespread reports of crashing and general unreliability in apps. Has this improved at all? As an IT guy I know this could also be caused by network settings and a user's home network environment.


I've had minimal issues with the built-in apps. I use the Netflix, Amazon, and HBO GO apps pretty regularly.
King Richard likes this.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #19487 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
I've had minimal issues with the built-in apps. I use the Netflix, Amazon, and HBO GO apps pretty regularly.
+1. There are occasional glitches or boot time problems but in general they work just fine (I only use Amazon, Netflix and rarely Ultraflix).
King Richard likes this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #19488 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 292 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
+1. There are occasional glitches or boot time problems but in general they work just fine (I only use Amazon, Netflix and rarely Ultraflix).
YouTube works pretty great. I have my PC hooked up to my TV and used to always watch YouTube videos that way but sometimes when a commercial would play it would crash when the video I was watching started back up. The TV's built in app is rock solid and fast.
King Richard likes this.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #19489 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
YouTube works pretty great. I have my PC hooked up to my TV and used to always watch YouTube videos that way but sometimes when a commercial would play it would crash when the video I was watching started back up. The TV's built in app is rock solid and fast.
I agree, YouTube works good too, but I watch YouTube mainly from my PC as I use YouTube for various music/artists/bands and I use my two channel setup for audio using PC/DAC/Amp (also like navigating with my PC better )

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #19490 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Does anyone else think the You Tube scrub bar and controls stay on the screen too damn long before they disappear? I hate that.
trailryder42 is offline  
post #19491 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
Biggest negative:
Glitchy user interface. I am however finding that if you give the TV a little extra time to "boot up," and only issue one command at a time things go much more smoothly.

It can definitely be glitchy after you first turn it on but give it 5 minutes or so & it's fine. It also has a lot to do with the Fast Start Up function of the TV which you can turn off.
TravisBean likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19492 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 07:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I was told by Samsung engineers that they need to conduct extensive testing on the software packages from the streaming companies before they approve them for release to their devices. Things got complicated when they discovered issues with Netflix HDR titles and the 2016 TVs; those had to be resolved first, and now they're working on software for the 2015 models.
so happy I found this forum. just spent a painful 90 minutes on the phone with both a samsung and netflix app with no resolution....

I own the UN55JS8500 and can watch Youtube/Netflix in 4k but no HDR yet (waiting for the 4k bluray player to drop in price). Hopefully we see that September update.

I heard that youtube also had HDR videos now....does anyone know about that app being updated?
Rick268 is offline  
post #19493 of 24073 Old 06-28-2016, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick268 View Post
so happy I found this forum. just spent a painful 90 minutes on the phone with both a samsung and netflix app with no resolution....

I own the UN55JS8500 and can watch Youtube/Netflix in 4k but no HDR yet (waiting for the 4k bluray player to drop in price). Hopefully we see that September update.

I heard that youtube also had HDR videos now....does anyone know about that app being updated?

I am guessing that any Apps that do HDR, will be updated when the move to Tizen 2.0 happens sometime in September/October.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19494 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks for the information

Does HDMI UHD Color setting have to be turned on to watch in HDR?
Rick268 is offline  
post #19495 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 02:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Did anyone try new Nvidia shield update today. It has HDR enabled Netflix app.
HDRFan is offline  
post #19496 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 03:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,826
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRFan View Post
Did anyone try new Nvidia shield update today. It has HDR enabled Netflix app.
No, have to check it out. Must be update day. My Note 4 and Tab S2 got Marshmallow today.

Maybe others already knew but the AMD GPU released today with HDMI 2.0b. First product I know of offering it.
gtgray is offline  
post #19497 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick268 View Post
Thanks for the information

Does HDMI UHD Color setting have to be turned on to watch in HDR?

No, HDMI UHD Colour is for when you have a 4K UHD Blu-Ray Player connected to the TV, you turn it on for that particular HDMI input.
King Richard likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19498 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 06:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 343
So, we're not getting HDR support for Netflix, are we?
wrathloki is online now  
post #19499 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
So, we're not getting HDR support for Netflix, are we?

Yes we are but it won't be until about September/October from what I was told buy a Samsung Rep. I'm guessing it will be in conjunction with the release of Tizen 2.0 to the 2015 SUHD TV's.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.

Last edited by mc_avs; 06-29-2016 at 06:42 PM.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19500 of 24073 Old 06-29-2016, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
compnurd09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I am guessing that any Apps that do HDR, will be updated when the move to Tizen 2.0 happens sometime in September/October.
The Amazon app supports HDR
mc_avs likes this.
compnurd09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off