**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 651 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9816Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19501 of 24077 Old 06-29-2016, 07:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
Yes we are but it won't be until about September/October from what I was told buy a Samsung Rep. I'm guessing it will be in conjunction with the release of Tizen 2.0 to the 2015 SUHD TV's.
Beginning to wonder if we'll ever get Tizen 2.0 as well.
wrathloki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19502 of 24077 Old 06-29-2016, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd09 View Post
The Amazon app supports HDR

Unfortunately us plebs down in Australia don't get Amazon & all of the other ones you guys in the States get. The only Streaming App in Australia that does 4K shows is Netflix, we won't be getting HDR until Tizen 2.0.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19503 of 24077 Old 06-29-2016, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Beginning to wonder if we'll ever get Tizen 2.0 as well.

We are definitely getting Tizen 2.0, it has been confirmed many times.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19504 of 24077 Old 06-29-2016, 08:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
We are definitely getting Tizen 2.0, it has been confirmed many times.
I'll believe it when I see it. Corporations are often full of empty promises.
wrathloki is offline  
post #19505 of 24077 Old 06-29-2016, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
I'll believe it when I see it. Corporations are often full of empty promises.

I understand what you are saying but this will definitely be happening. It's obviously not an easy roll out as they would have to do significant testing on the 2015 TV's & not just one lot of testing but testing for different countries as well. Like I said, I have been told on numerous occasions that it will be September/October.
King Richard likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19506 of 24077 Old 06-29-2016, 11:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I understand what you are saying but this will definitely be happening. It's obviously not an easy roll out as they would have to do significant testing on the 2015 TV's & not just one lot of testing but testing for different countries as well. Like I said, I have been told on numerous occasions that it will be September/October.
Lets hope the HDR functionality comes with it if it does in fact come out this fall. I've been waiting much too long to watch Daredevil season 2.
King Richard and mc_avs like this.

Living Room
Samsung 65JS8500
Onkyo NR-737
Onkyo SKF-4800 Fronts w/ HTP-980 Surrounds & Center and Klipsch R-12SW
Bedroom
Samsung 55JS8500 w/ Yamaha YAS-105 Soundbar
wrathloki is offline  
post #19507 of 24077 Old 06-30-2016, 05:30 AM
Senior Member
 
compnurd09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrathloki View Post
Lets hope the HDR functionality comes with it if it does in fact come out this fall. I've been waiting much too long to watch Daredevil season 2.
The only app missing HDR is Netflix which is still rolling out to hdr capable devices
compnurd09 is offline  
post #19508 of 24077 Old 06-30-2016, 07:12 AM
Member
 
covsound1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4K Tech View Post
That is a very apt description of what I am experiencing too after the 1455.0 update, the picture has a noticeably darker cast to it. Thanks for confirming that I'm not the only one. So far I have tried a brand new high speed HDMI cable, reset Picture option, soft reset the TV (unplugged power cable from outlet, held power button for 30 seconds, and reattached power cable), changed input source, and rebooted cable box, all to no avail. I have yet to perform a Factory Reset since it's not without some risk, I'm leaning towards waiting for another firmware update to see if that corrects things (but next time I'll try the over-the-air method rather than the USB flash drive route).

Just out of curiosity:

1. What size panel do you have? (65" for me)

2. What firmware version were you running prior to the 1455.0 update? (1221.7 for me)

3. Did you update via the Internet or via USB? (USB for me)

4. Did your set perform 2 reboots as part of the update or just 1? (2 for me)

5. Did your TV retain all prior settings following the update? (all retained for me except audio delay which changed from 0 to 100 milliseconds)

Thanks again for the reply, sorry that you have this same PQ issue. Please let me know if you find a way to resolve it.
sorry for late response. i have the 65 850D same set just black frame paid 1799 at bjs. did the off air 1455 upgrade. tv rebooted 1 time never did a reset. others (had to upgrade fois 1080I cable box to 1080P cable box. have all 3 streaming devices roko 4 nivdia shield and 4k amazon box. as of last night the shield only one with hdr. netflex and vudo. settings maybe primes 19? changed to taste. brightness stays around 38 to 40. with change of gamma -2 to +2 depending on film.
covsound1 is offline  
post #19509 of 24077 Old 06-30-2016, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,752
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3271
CalMAN Workflow Solution for HDR10

Per my contacts at Samsung, they will be releasing a workflow solution for calibrating HDR10 displays shortly.
King Richard likes this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #19510 of 24077 Old 06-30-2016, 10:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
CosmoNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 299
I discovered last night that the Netflix app is the one streaming app that CAN'T be used with the multilink screen. That sucks since we often watch stuff on Netflix while I'd like to view the Royals game on Sling TV coming in from our Fire TV. I can do it with Hulu and Amazon ... but not Netflix. Maybe with the Tizen update, too? (fingers crossed)

---
Striving to live life in high dynamic range and ultra high definition.
Samsung UN65JS8500 / Denon AVR-X4000 / 5.1 w/ Mixed Speakers / Oppo UDP-203 / TiVo Premiere XL / Apple TV (3rd gen) / Fire TV (1st gen) / Xbox 360 R2-D2 Edition
KC area / Father of 4 / Husband / Video Producer / Skeptic
CosmoNut is offline  
post #19511 of 24077 Old 06-30-2016, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wrathloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by compnurd09 View Post
The only app missing HDR is Netflix which is still rolling out to hdr capable devices
That is what I was referring to.
wrathloki is offline  
post #19512 of 24077 Old 06-30-2016, 08:44 PM
Member
 
hail2030's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRFan View Post
Did anyone try new Nvidia shield update today. It has HDR enabled Netflix app.
Supposedly Marco Polo is the only show at the moment in HDR on Netflix. I updated my Nvidis Shield yesterday, but Marco Polo still says Ultra HD 4K instead of HDR. I started episode 1 and my picture settings didn't change like they do with HDR shows on the Amazon Video app.
hail2030 is offline  
post #19513 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 04:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by hail2030 View Post
Supposedly Marco Polo is the only show at the moment in HDR on Netflix. I updated my Nvidis Shield yesterday, but Marco Polo still says Ultra HD 4K instead of HDR. I started episode 1 and my picture settings didn't change like they do with HDR shows on the Amazon Video app.
If you go into Netflix on the TV & go into the search function & search just "HDR", it comes up with Marco Polo & that's it.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19514 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
tehowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
If you go into Netflix on the TV & go into the search function & search just "HDR", it comes up with Marco Polo & that's it.

I can confirm that Marco Polo through Netflix on the Nvidia Shield puts my TV into HDR mode, and looks good.
OrlandoD, JaytheDreamer and HDRFan like this.

Samsung UN65JS8500 65" SUHD TV (FW 1530); Yamaha RX-A750BL Receiver (FW 2.60); Arris DCX-3600M Cable STB; Nvidia Shield Android TV (SysExp 7.2.3), Sony UBP-X800 (FW M36.R.0239, Oct. 2018), Logitech Harmony 650 iR remote.
tehowell is offline  
post #19515 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by hail2030 View Post
Supposedly Marco Polo is the only show at the moment in HDR on Netflix. I updated my Nvidis Shield yesterday, but Marco Polo still says Ultra HD 4K instead of HDR. I started episode 1 and my picture settings didn't change like they do with HDR shows on the Amazon Video app.
I don't have a Shield, but considering Shield is an external device have you turned HDMI deep color on for that specific HDMI port your Shield is plugged into?

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #19516 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehowell View Post
I can confirm that Marco Polo through Netflix on the Nvidia Shield puts my TV into HDR mode, and looks good.
Good to know that at least one device now started the support. I will wait until Sep/Oct for new sw roll out, also getting a 4K player around that time (waiting for more brands to show up) so expecting one or the other, TV or a player could cover all HDR apps.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #19517 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 03:41 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
If you go into Netflix on the TV & go into the search function & search just "HDR", it comes up with Marco Polo & that's it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
I don't have a Shield, but considering Shield is an external device have you turned HDMI deep color on for that specific HDMI port your Shield is plugged into?

Someone on another thread also said that you need to set the Shield to output at 60Hz (not 24Hz).


Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #19518 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 06:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Someone on another thread also said that you need to set the Shield to output at 60Hz (not 24Hz).


Richard
What I was meaning when I said search was, even though the Netflix App on the TV doesn't do HDR, if you search "HDR" it still comes up with Marco Polo even though nowhere in the description of Marco Polo, it says nothing about HDR.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #19519 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 06:29 PM
Member
 
rinconmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi.

I have the Samsung UNJS8500. I have a a computer hooked up to the HDMI2. Verizon Fios box on HDMI 1. The max resolution I get is 1920x1080 at 60hz. The video card supprts 3,840 x 2,160 but that is not an option under the display settings on the computer. I have Win 10 x64 and Dual Nvidia K620 video cards.

Should I be able to get 3,840 x 2,160 at 60hz?

thanks,

Last edited by rinconmike; 07-01-2016 at 06:52 PM.
rinconmike is offline  
post #19520 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 06:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,826
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinconmike View Post
Hi.

I have the Samsung UNJS8500. I have a a computer hooked up to the HDMI2. Verizon Fios box on HDMI 1. The max resolution I get is 1920x1080 at 60hz. The video card supprts 3,840 x 2,160 but that is not an option under the display settings on the computer. I have Win 10 x64 and Dual Nvidia K600 video cards.

Should I be able to get 3,840 x 2,160 at 60hz?

thanks,
The TV will do 3840x2160 at 60HZ just fine. If UHD Color is enabled on the TV then it supports that 444 at that resolution. I have a Nvidia GTX 950.
gtgray is offline  
post #19521 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 06:52 PM
Member
 
rinconmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post
The TV will do 3840x2160 at 60HZ just fine. If UHD Color is enabled on the TV then it supports that 444 at that resolution. I have a Nvidia GTX 950.

thanks. It is not showing up as an option for that resolution. I tired with both UHD on and Off. Default was off. I set to on and rebooted computer as well and still 1920x1080 is the max resolution listed on with windows display settings and Nvidia Control Panel. My Card is a Quadro K620.
rinconmike is offline  
post #19522 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 07:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,826
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinconmike View Post
thanks. It is not showing up as an option for that resolution. I tired with both UHD on and Off. Default was off. I set to on and rebooted computer as well and still 1920x1080 is the max resolution listed on with windows display settings and Nvidia Control Panel. My Card is a Quadro K620.
It is your card or driver. I also have a GTX 750ti and it runs 4k 60 but only at 420. The 750ti is HDMI 1.4. Your card need HDMI 2.0 to do 4K 60 444. Some older cards used duallink dvi to do 4K. The Quadro is not a consumer card. I don't know much about it. It probably is not designed for this use.
gtgray is offline  
post #19523 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 07:12 PM
Member
 
rinconmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post
It is your card or driver. I also have a GTX 750ti and it runs 4k 60 but only at 420. The 750ti is HDMI 1.4. Your card need HDMI 2.0 to do 4K 60 444. Some older cards used duallink dvi to do 4K. The Quadro is not a consumer card. I don't know much about it. It probably is not designed for this use.
I have two K620 cards in the system. One runs a LG 34UC88 at 3440 x 1440 fine.

The other one I have a DVI display connected at 1920x1080 to the DVI port and the Samsung connected to the DP.

Card Spec notes Max DP 1.2 Resolution 3840 x 2160 at 60 Hz

Last edited by rinconmike; 07-01-2016 at 07:23 PM.
rinconmike is offline  
post #19524 of 24077 Old 07-01-2016, 11:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,826
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinconmike View Post
I have two K620 cards in the system. One runs a LG 34UC88 at 3440 x 1440 fine.

The other one I have a DVI display connected at 1920x1080 to the DVI port and the Samsung connected to the DP.

Card Spec notes Max DP 1.2 Resolution 3840 x 2160 at 60 Hz
The Samsung is connected via DP? OK, that is a trick. So you have a DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter of some sort? Nobody can help you with that.
gtgray is offline  
post #19525 of 24077 Old 07-02-2016, 04:34 AM
Member
 
rinconmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post
The Samsung is connected via DP? OK, that is a trick. So you have a DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter of some sort? Nobody can help you with that.
It is a DP to HDMI Cable. I just check the spec of the cable and it maxes out at 1920 x 1200.

I will try a new cable.

thanks,

Last edited by rinconmike; 07-02-2016 at 04:38 AM.
rinconmike is offline  
post #19526 of 24077 Old 07-02-2016, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
Ok guys below is my Professional Calibrated settings using a UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray Player set to Auto for 1080p Standard Blu-Ray's. For UHD HDR Discs, I change Brightness to 44 & set Colour Space to Native. It was Calibrated in a Dark Environment & the results are brilliant.

Picture Mode - MOVIE
Backlight - 10
Contrast - 92
Brightness - 43
Sharpness - 8
Colour - 48
Tint (G/R) - G50/R50

Picture Size - 16:9/Fit To screen

Dynamic Contrast - OFF
Black Tone - OFF
Flesh Tone - 0
RGB Only Mode - OFF
Colour Space - CUSTOM
Gamma - 0
Expert Pattern - OFF

Colour Tone - WARM2
Digital Clean View - OFF
MPEG Noise Filter - OFF
HDMI Black Level - NORMAL
HDMI UHD Colour - ON
Film Mode - OFF
Auto Motion Plus - CUSTOM
Smart LED - STANDARD

White Balance
R-OFFSET -2
G-OFFSET 0
B-OFFSET -8
R-GAIN -9
G-GAIN 0
B-GAIN 11

10pt White Balance
10% - Red 2, Green 0, Blue -50
20% - Red 7, Green 0, Blue -9
30% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
40% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
50% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
60% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
70% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
80% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
90% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0
100% - Red 0, Green 0, Blue 0

Custom Colour Space
RED - Red 43, Green 6, Blue 0
GREEN - Red 57, Green 48, Blue 7
BLUE - Red 0, Green 7, Blue 50
YELLOW - Red 52, Green 49, Blue 4
CYAN - Red 47, Green 6, Blue 0
MAGENTA - Red 30, Green 15, Blue 57
I just tried your settings, comparing them to the other settings that were posted.

I noticed that your Custom Colour Space yields very purple results on 1080p Blu-Ray disks, mostly Transformers. (Don't have UHD to test)
Do you experience the same results?

Proud UN55JS8500 Owner :)
EAClarke is offline  
post #19527 of 24077 Old 07-02-2016, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehowell View Post
I can confirm that Marco Polo through Netflix on the Nvidia Shield puts my TV into HDR mode, and looks good.
How do you know when the TV goes in to HDR mode? Is there any indication on the info menu or somewhere else?
SarhoshAmiral is offline  
post #19528 of 24077 Old 07-02-2016, 11:39 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
JS for the 3d. Why eliminate such a great feature which actually adds to the viewing experience ? The 3d on this set is not mere gimmickry. Hopefully Samsung will take notice of all these comments made about passing up TV's without 3d and bring back this attribute in future sets.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I agree, I enjoy 3D & have an extensive range of 3D Blu-Ray's. I was an early adopter to 3D & bought the first C8000 (over $5k in 2010). I was sad to see Samsung drop it in 2016 but like you I hope they listen to consumers & add it back to next years line up.
^^^ AMEN to that my friends! Totally agree!

I totally understand that 3D is not for everyone, and that's okay.

However, I for one LOVE 3D - both at home and at the theater.

I always choose to watch movies at the theater in 3D (when available).

I purchase many of my Blu-ray movies in 3D format (it usually comes with a 2D version as well so this way I can choose to watch it in 3D or 2D - and that's just it: I have a choice). 3D was very much a "must have" feature when I was shopping for a new TV. It really saddens me that new Samsung TVs will no longer support it.

Do I think that every movie should be seen in 3D? No, of course not. As many have already stated, there are some great 3D movies, some average 3D movies, and some terrible ones that should never have been made/released in 3D. Not all are created equal.

That said, I believe a "great" (or "very good") 3D movie looks fantastic on my TV. The TV gets really bright so, by simply turning up the brightness (Backlight), the 3D movie looks every bit as bright as the 2D version. And with a few other minor adjustments to the picture, it looks every bit as good as the 2D version.

I also LOVE viewing HDR content as well. It looks great on this TV. However, if I had to pick only one, I would probably still pick a "great" 3D movie in SDR over the same movie in HDR (as long as the 3D was done really well of course). Of course I will probably end up "double-dipping" on many of my favorites.

It really bothers and saddens me that 3D TVs are being "phased-out" . I really hope that my current Samsung TV doesn't break down anytime soon. Heck, if I could afford it, I would go out and buy another 3D TV right now - just in case.

Richard
Rudy1, MALICIOUS ONE and mc_avs like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #19529 of 24077 Old 07-02-2016, 11:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,792
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4748 Post(s)
Liked: 2780
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarhoshAmiral View Post
How do you know when the TV goes in to HDR mode? Is there any indication on the info menu or somewhere else?
If it's a Samsung, the backlight and contrast settings will jump to the max. The only way of knowing on those sets.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #19530 of 24077 Old 07-03-2016, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 582
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 310
Quote:
Originally Posted by EAClarke View Post
I just tried your settings, comparing them to the other settings that were posted.

I noticed that your Custom Colour Space yields very purple results on 1080p Blu-Ray disks, mostly Transformers. (Don't have UHD to test)
Do you experience the same results?
No, as my TV was Professionally Calibrated, my TV is very accurate as you can see from my pics that I posted as well.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off