**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 710 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9749Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21271 of 23990 Old 12-01-2016, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 247
HDMI cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
I'm still not entirely sure what a proper 18 Gbps cable is. I thought all modern HDMI cables are pretty much the same (other than higher/lower quality components and build quality).
Correct me if I'm mistaken, but the speed at which electrons travel through a cable is pretty much constant, unless your dealing with high tech superconductive materials.
Quote:
Originally Posted by raidflex View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
And these work with all of my UHD/HDR devices:

http://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfwilliams1 View Post
+1 for Monoprice
These get the job done for me, nice build quality too (also available on Amazon, etc.):

http://www.ebay.com/itm/HDMI-Cable-6...-/301882672746

Last edited by 4K Tech; 12-01-2016 at 04:05 PM.
4K Tech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21272 of 23990 Old 12-01-2016, 03:57 PM
Member
 
rahimtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Game mode

Im not sure if theres been a post about this. If so feel free to send me the link. Im currently playing in Game mode using my ps4 pro. I was wandering if you had some suggestions on tweaking the settings to make the games look better. I have my pro set up the way it should be so thats not the problem. In all honestly it looks good as is. I was just wanting to see if I could get it to look better. The only adjustment Ive made was to turn down the sharpness to 0. I had it at 20. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
rahimtx is offline  
post #21273 of 23990 Old 12-01-2016, 04:24 PM
Member
 
ToonTonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahimtx View Post
Im not sure if theres been a post about this. If so feel free to send me the link. Im currently playing in Game mode using my ps4 pro. I was wandering if you had some suggestions on tweaking the settings to make the games look better. I have my pro set up the way it should be so thats not the problem. In all honestly it looks good as is. I was just wanting to see if I could get it to look better. The only adjustment Ive made was to turn down the sharpness to 0. I had it at 20. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
2160p RGB set?

Toon
ToonTonic is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21274 of 23990 Old 12-01-2016, 05:29 PM
Member
 
rahimtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToonTonic View Post
2160p RGB set?

Toon
If you are asking if thats what my ps4 is saying thats being displayed, then, yes sometimes it does. The reason being I have it on auto. Sometimes it says Yuv4120. It depends on what game Im playing.
rahimtx is offline  
post #21275 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 08:27 AM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
There are pages after pages about this on the PS4 Pro Threads.

[LINK]

It is a known issue with the PS4 Pro - not really TV related.


Richard

King Richard, first, thank you for your input on this. I too have noticed horrible color banding issues when playing Final Fantasy XV with HDR on a PS4 Pro. After changing the PS4 Pro resolution to YUV420, it seemed to help with it but didn't completely stop the banding. To your knowledge is there any other measures I could take to help with this issue? Seems like it's poor implementation of HDR on the PS4 Pro rather than an issue with the JS8500. Could there be any potential picture fidelity loss when running YUV420? If I completely disable HDR in Final Fantasy XV the banding will completely go away.

Thanks
King Richard likes this.
esrever is offline  
post #21276 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 09:23 AM
Member
 
maestreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lousiana
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Need some advice. Just got a new Xbox One S and I'm going to hook it up this weekend. My problem is that my current A/V receiver which i run everything thru is not HDR compliant. It is 4k compatible. How do you suggest I go about hooking up my Xbox to my JS8500 and to my receiver? Is it even worth the trouble to bypass my receiver for the HDR feature in the first place? Or should look into getting a new receiver? Thoughts? Ideas?
maestreaux is offline  
post #21277 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 10:08 AM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by maestreaux View Post
Need some advice. Just got a new Xbox One S and I'm going to hook it up this weekend. My problem is that my current A/V receiver which i run everything thru is not HDR compliant. It is 4k compatible. How do you suggest I go about hooking up my Xbox to my JS8500 and to my receiver? Is it even worth the trouble to bypass my receiver for the HDR feature in the first place? Or should look into getting a new receiver? Thoughts? Ideas?
I'm in the same boat. Marantz 4K receiver, but only has HDMI 1.4 inputs so it can't pass HDR. I have a PS4 Pro and what I've done is ran HDMI out to my TV, then optical out to the receiver. Optical can't pass lossless audio though so that's the big limitation in doing it this way. IMO, if you have games that you play that support HDR, I would hook it up similarly to what I've done to take advantage of it. HDR is really nice if you have a display that supports it properly, although it seems to be hit or miss for now so it really depends on what's more important to you and your setup. Only other options is to upgrade your receiver, or just not use HDR.
King Richard likes this.
esrever is offline  
post #21278 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 10:42 AM
Member
 
raidflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by esrever View Post
I'm in the same boat. Marantz 4K receiver, but only has HDMI 1.4 inputs so it can't pass HDR. I have a PS4 Pro and what I've done is ran HDMI out to my TV, then optical out to the receiver. Optical can't pass lossless audio though so that's the big limitation in doing it this way. IMO, if you have games that you play that support HDR, I would hook it up similarly to what I've done to take advantage of it. HDR is really nice if you have a display that supports it properly, although it seems to be hit or miss for now so it really depends on what's more important to you and your setup. Only other options is to upgrade your receiver, or just not use HDR.
You could use something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Orei-Splitter.../dp/B016O5NMMC

Samsung JS8500 65in
Pioneer VSX-53
Mains: Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE
Center: Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE
Surrounds: Ascend Acoustics HTM-200 SE
Sub: HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
raidflex is online now  
post #21279 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 10:52 AM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by raidflex View Post
I wonder how that splitter handles HDR signals. HDR itself seems to be finicky at this point; couldn't imagine throwing another link in the mix.
esrever is offline  
post #21280 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 11:37 AM
Member
 
rahimtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Game mode

I tried searching for Js8500 settings for gaming with my ps4 pro in game mode. I haven't been able to find any, but I was able to find a video with recommendations for a ks9000. He suggested to turn the backlight up to 20, turn the sharpness down to 0, put it in warm1, and to put dynamic contrast and smart led on high. I was wondering if anybody thinks these recommendations are good in general and how you feel they would translate to the Js8500?
rahimtx is offline  
post #21281 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 02:22 PM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahimtx View Post
I tried searching for Js8500 settings for gaming with my ps4 pro in game mode. I haven't been able to find any, but I was able to find a video with recommendations for a ks9000. He suggested to turn the backlight up to 20, turn the sharpness down to 0, put it in warm1, and to put dynamic contrast and smart led on high. I was wondering if anybody thinks these recommendations are good in general and how you feel they would translate to the Js8500?
Personally I just use the same 'Movie' settings from Prme19 when in Game mode. Check out the first page of the thread. There is a calibration section under the first post with links to the settings.
esrever is offline  
post #21282 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by esrever View Post
Personally I just use the same 'Movie' settings from Prme19 when in Game mode. Check out the first page of the thread. There is a calibration section under the first post with links to the settings.
You cannot turn on Game mode while in Movie settings. It has to be in Standard picture setting if I remember correctly.
dojoman is offline  
post #21283 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 02:59 PM
Member
 
bluethor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by esrever View Post
I wonder how that splitter handles HDR signals. HDR itself seems to be finicky at this point; couldn't imagine throwing another link in the mix.
I just ordered and will find out.
bluethor is offline  
post #21284 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 03:04 PM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by dojoman View Post
You cannot turn on Game mode while in Movie settings. It has to be in Standard picture setting if I remember correctly.
What I mean is that I use the same calibration settings that are used in Movie mode while in Game mode.
esrever is offline  
post #21285 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 03:32 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by esrever View Post
King Richard, first, thank you for your input on this.

I too have noticed horrible color banding issues when playing Final Fantasy XV with HDR on a PS4 Pro. After changing the PS4 Pro resolution to YUV420, it seemed to help with it but didn't completely stop the banding. To your knowledge is there any other measures I could take to help with this issue?

Could there be any potential picture fidelity loss when running YUV420?

You're welcome!

I'm assuming you have the TV's "HDMI UHD Color" setting turned ON for that HDMI port?

Unfortunately, since the problem appears to be with the PS4 Pro (or the games themselves) there is not much more you can do to completely eliminate the "color banding".

As to 4:2:0 Chroma Subsampling vs. 4:2:2 or 4:4:4/RGB, I don't think it makes much of a difference in games as very few people will be able to actually notice the difference between the two. Chroma Subsampling, or lack thereof, will matter more with PC content (which is why a "Full-range" RGB output is usually recommended for PC).

For more on this, see >> RGB, YCbCr, and Chroma Subsampling <<


Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #21286 of 23990 Old 12-02-2016, 03:48 PM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
You're welcome!

I'm assuming you have the TV's "HDMI UHD Color" setting turned ON for that HDMI port?

Unfortunately, since the problem appears to be with the PS4 Pro (or the games themselves) there is not much more you can do to completely eliminate the "color banding".

As to 4:2:0 Chroma Subsampling vs. 4:2:2 or 4:4:4/RGB, I don't think it makes much of a difference in games as very few people will be able to actually notice the difference between the two. Chroma Subsampling, or lack thereof, will matter more with PC content (which is why a "Full-range" RGB output is usually recommended for PC).

For more on this, see >> RGB, YCbCr, and Chroma Subsampling <<


Richard
Oh yeah, HDMI UHD Color is on and the PS4 Pro shows 2K/4K Supported with HDCP 2.2. When researching this issue it seems to be pretty hit or miss from a wide range of TV's. Some say it's because the JS8500 has issues with the forced 12bit output from the PS4 Pro. That statement, if true, seems to point out that it could be an issue with the JS8500. To me it just seems like there really isn't a set standard to HDR that applies to everything, hence the sporadic experiences people are having. At this point I really can't say for sure if it's the Samsung or PS4 Pro or if the Final Fantasy game itself is just implementing it poorly.
esrever is offline  
post #21287 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 08:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
You are mistaken in presuming that all most hdmi cables have the same quality of build. Quality of build determines the capability to pass various signals.

I lifted this chart from the UBD-K8500 thread:


I never said that there aren't differences in build quality.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
I'm still not entirely sure what a proper 18 Gbps cable is. I thought all modern HDMI cables are pretty much the same (other than higher/lower quality components and build quality).
Correct me if I'm mistaken, but the speed at which electrons travel through a cable is pretty much constant, unless your dealing with high tech superconductive materials.
I question if other than differences in actual connector type/wiring configuration has an effect on the ability to playback 4k material. Length of a cable may or may not have some effect. Indubitably there are differences in cable quality. Gold plated terminals are less susceptible to corrosion, and not all connectors are designed to handle stress relief to the same degree. Whether or not any of this has to do with the ability to maintain proper digital transfer integrity is what I question. And of course those $200 Monster branded cables will last longer than the $12 Dollar General generic brand, but do they actually work better ?

Last edited by TravisBean; 12-03-2016 at 08:16 AM.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21288 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
I never said that there aren't differences in build quality.
Agreed. That's why I said you presumed as your contention regarding equality of performance depends upon such a presumption. All cables are not built alike and the variance in performance is quite large if one believes the posts in the UBD-k8500 owner's thread. I don't know about monster brand cables, but we're not really concerned about the longevity of the cable but rather the performance. There are many high prices cables that don;t perform to the standards of some of the medium priced hdmi cables rated for 18 Gbps.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #21289 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 829 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Anybody figure out how to get rid of those annoying Anynet+ and Samsung Extra popups? I've searched and searched through the menu, and I haven't been able to find anything.
BiggAW is offline  
post #21290 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
There are many high prices cables that don;t perform to the standards of some of the medium priced hdmi cables rated for 18 Gbps.
And in what way do they perform differently ? Are these cables actually configured differently ?
TravisBean is offline  
post #21291 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Anybody figure out how to get rid of those annoying Anynet+ and Samsung Extra popups? I've searched and searched through the menu, and I haven't been able to find anything.
To get rid of anynet:
Menu > System > Anynet+ > Off.

If you are using ARC this will disable that as well.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #21292 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
And in what way do they perform differently ? Are these cables actually configured differently ?
For example, when the UBD-K8500 powers up, it sends the menu in 8-bit 4K60 which requires 17.8 Gbps from the hdmi cable. many owners have posted that they are unable to display the start up screen with hdmi cables rated to 10.2 Gbps.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #21293 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 10:22 AM
Member
 
chainwallet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix123 View Post
Post all your settings. I have had this issue and defeated it with a few setting changes.
Sorry I'm just now getting back to this, I've spent the last couple months playing with settings periodically.

I'm using the Rtings calibration settings, with slightly increased backlight (8-10 normally). I've determined that when Cinema Black is enabled, the bottom letterbox is periodically illuminating and dimming, which is causing the bottom portion of the viewable/non-black image to brighten/darken. I've disabled Cinema Black for now. Any other ideas?

EDIT: Saw your post on flashing bars settings from 12/1, updated my settings and I'll post if it improves. I also noticed at some point I'd disabled Smart LED with Cinema Black on, which made the flashing bars exponentially worse.

Samsung UN55JS8500
Sony UBP-X800
Denon X3300
Energy RC-50, Energy RC-LCR, Mirage OMD-5
PSA S1801

Last edited by chainwallet; 12-03-2016 at 10:38 AM.
chainwallet is offline  
post #21294 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
matrix123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 787
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by chainwallet View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix123 View Post
Post all your settings. I have had this issue and defeated it with a few setting changes.
Sorry I'm just now getting back to this, I've spent the last couple months playing with settings periodically.

I'm using the Rtings calibration settings, with slightly increased backlight (8-10 normally). I've determined that when Cinema Black is enabled, the bottom letterbox is periodically illuminating and dimming, which is causing the bottom portion of the viewable/non-black image to brighten/darken. I've disabled Cinema Black for now. Any other ideas?

EDIT: Saw your post on flashing bars settings from 12/1, updated my settings and I'll post if it improves. I also noticed at some point I'd disabled Smart LED with Cinema Black on, which made the flashing bars exponentially worse.
Yea, try those settings. It helped my set. Hope it helps yours.
matrix123 is offline  
post #21295 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 829 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
To get rid of anynet:
Menu > System > Anynet+ > Off.

If you are using ARC this will disable that as well.
Thanks! Anyone know about getting rid of Samsung Extra?
BiggAW is offline  
post #21296 of 23990 Old 12-03-2016, 02:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 260 Post(s)
Liked: 247
How to disable "Samsung Extra"

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggAW View Post
Anyone know about getting rid of Samsung Extra?
Here you go:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post45607769
BiggAW likes this.
4K Tech is offline  
post #21297 of 23990 Old 12-04-2016, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
For example, when the UBD-K8500 powers up, it sends the menu in 8-bit 4K60 which requires 17.8 Gbps from the hdmi cable. many owners have posted that they are unable to display the start up screen with hdmi cables rated to 10.2 Gbps.
I'm still not convinced. The lower bandwidth cables must be a different cable type that happens to have the same connectors.
You might be right, I wish someone else would chime in and add some clarification.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21298 of 23990 Old 12-04-2016, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
GaspodeX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK

So .. I'm having issues with getting HDR to work over a longer cable - I've got several devices (ps4 pro/xbox1 s/k8000 UHD) all rigged into my Marantz sr7010 AVR.

With some experimentation I have worked out that if I turn on UHD Colour I don't get a picture over the long cable I use from the AV center at the back of the room to TV at the front - its around 11m

The old cable I have works fine for everything including for 4K as long as I don't turn on UHD Colour. Then I don't get a picture.

So ... I need to know a reliable cable (or other method) that will carry the whole shebang from the AVR to the front of the room - say a 15 m cable.

Suggestions ?

Best

J
GaspodeX is offline  
post #21299 of 23990 Old 12-04-2016, 12:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaspodeX View Post
OK

So .. I'm having issues with getting HDR to work over a longer cable - I've got several devices (ps4 pro/xbox1 s/k8000 UHD) all rigged into my Marantz sr7010 AVR.

With some experimentation I have worked out that if I turn on UHD Colour I don't get a picture over the long cable I use from the AV center at the back of the room to TV at the front - its around 11m

The old cable I have works fine for everything including for 4K as long as I don't turn on UHD Colour. Then I don't get a picture.

So ... I need to know a reliable cable (or other method) that will carry the whole shebang from the AVR to the front of the room - say a 15 m cable.

Suggestions ?

Best

J
suggest you look at this thread:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-hd...hat-works.html

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #21300 of 23990 Old 12-04-2016, 05:11 PM
Member
 
emailcraigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by raidflex View Post
Sounds great, I use Kodi for most everything so not a big deal if I cant go directly into an app. I was just trying to find a way to completely remove the remote from my setup and only use my S7 phone.
Check out the Anymote app. I just started using it and it also integrates with Amazon echo.
emailcraigs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off