**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 722 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9639Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21631 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
edb4164's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Not true...you have various choices for HDMI output with the Roku Premiere Plus. Under SETTINGS, choose AUDIO MODE "Auto", and HDMI "Dolby D" or "Dolby D, DTS" for an AVR that cannot decode DD+ or for HDMI/ARC connections.
Yes sir! That makes sense now that I think about it. I actually did go in and switch it to Dolby D, DTS. I then went back to the Netflix App, played a DD movie and still am only getting "STEREO" sound on my Denon receiver. Also, the DD sound mode in my Samsung's TV Audio settings is still grayed out.

Works fine with my XBOX One S though......

Any thoughts?
edb4164 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21632 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan5150 View Post
Hi all,
Today I gived my JS8500 to my father and purchased a LG OLED 55B6V
For those who are wondering to change the Samsung, let me tell you... this is another planet totally!
Finally I can get Netflix with Dolby Vision! YouTube HDR, etc
The software is twice faster than the Samsung
The JS8500 is a great TV but simple cannot compete with the LG OLED series
LG certainly has a better remote/user interface, but I chose the 65 inch JS8500 over the LG because you could sit closer to the set while watching 3d without any cross-talk (in respect to the 65 inch LG's- the 55 inch LG's were OK). In most other respects the LG's are better TV's, but not enough so to spend another 5 grand to switch if you already have a JS8500.
King Richard likes this.

Last edited by TravisBean; 01-04-2017 at 07:11 AM.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21633 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
I am considering this for my next TV purchase (if I can ever figure out a place to put it).

http://www.lemall.com/us/tv/leeco_umax85/index.html
TravisBean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21634 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by edb4164 View Post
Yes. The sound mode is set to auto. Do you have it working with DD or DD+ over ARC?
No, I just have it plugged in directly to the receiver.

Take it out of auto and put it into DD. then make sure you play a movie on amazon or netflix that indicates it should play in DD 5.1

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
post #21635 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bargervais's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Tampa Bay Florida
Posts: 3,759
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1755 Post(s)
Liked: 1090
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
I am considering this for my next TV purchase (if I can ever figure out a place to put it).

http://www.lemall.com/us/tv/leeco_umax85/index.html
Easy to say considering.

DEN Samsung UN65KS8000 / 2017 Roku Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ710 5.2.2 Atmos / Sam. UBD-M8500 Blu-Ray Player
Living Room TCL 55R617 55-Inch 4K Ultra / Onkyo TX-RZ920 7.2.4 Atmos / M-5010 Amplifier / Sam. UBD-K8500 Blu-Ray Player . BEDROOM Samsung 55JS8500 / 2016 Roku Ultra / LG UP870 3D Ultra High Definition Blu-Ray 4K Player
bargervais is online now  
post #21636 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rhodesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,158
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1009 Post(s)
Liked: 600
Anyone having issues with the Amazon app freezing up? Never used to have this problem, but the TV likes auto-updating its firmware, and now it just dies. Have to pull the power or turn off the Samsung Instant On and power cycle to get back in.
rhodesj is offline  
post #21637 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 06:41 PM
wux
Member
 
wux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
replace un55js8500 panel

Samsung is sending a tech to replace the panel. Is there anything I need to be concerned? also, tech said the panel costs about $1000. With the labor, it will cost more than getting a new one. would it makes sense to simply replace the TV? Thanks
wux is offline  
post #21638 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 06:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravisBean View Post
LG certainly has a better remote/user interface, but I chose the 65 inch JS8500 over the LG because you could sit closer while watching 3d without any cross-talk (in respect to the 65 inch LG's- the 55 inch LG's were OK). In most other respects the LG's are better TV's, but not enough so to spend another 5 grand to switch if you already have a JS8500.
Nah, you can get an OLED 55" for about $1600 and 65" for around $2500 (2016 models).



65JS8500, Vizio P50-C1, 55C6P, Nvidia Shield, XB1S, PS4 Pro, KS8500
buju22 is offline  
post #21639 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 06:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,161
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by wux View Post
Samsung is sending a tech to replace the panel. Is there anything I need to be concerned? also, tech said the panel costs about $1000. With the labor, it will cost more than getting a new one. would it makes sense to simply replace the TV? Thanks
So you originally spent $400 for the TV and now you have to $1000+ to get it repaired? Return the TV and get your money back if that's the case. You may as well get a 2016 65" KS8000 for that price. Honestly, look into getting a 2016 LG OLED. I bought myself a brand new 55" OLED (55C6P) for $1700 two months ago.

65JS8500, Vizio P50-C1, 55C6P, Nvidia Shield, XB1S, PS4 Pro, KS8500
jfwilliams1 likes this.

Last edited by buju22; 01-03-2017 at 07:06 PM.
buju22 is offline  
post #21640 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 07:07 PM
wux
Member
 
wux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju22 View Post
So you originally spent $400 for the TV and now you have to $1000+ to get it repaired? Return the TV and get your money back if that's the case. You may as well get a 2016 65" KS8000 for that price. Honestly, look into getting a 2016 LG OLED. I bought myself a brand new 55" OLED (55C6P) for $1700 two months ago.

65JS8500, Vizio P50-C1, 55C6P, Nvidia Shield, XB1S, PS4 Pro, KS8500
It is repaired under the warranty. Seems cost more for Samsung to repair it than replacing it.
wux is offline  
post #21641 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 07:17 PM
wux
Member
 
wux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju22 View Post
So you originally spent $400 for the TV and now you have to $1000+ to get it repaired? Return the TV and get your money back if that's the case. You may as well get a 2016 65" KS8000 for that price. Honestly, look into getting a 2016 LG OLED. I bought myself a brand new 55" OLED (55C6P) for $1700 two months ago.

65JS8500, Vizio P50-C1, 55C6P, Nvidia Shield, XB1S, PS4 Pro, KS8500
There was a display 65EF9500 for $1100 but was told to get 2017 model because of true HDR
wux is offline  
post #21642 of 23872 Old 01-03-2017, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by wux View Post
It is repaired under the warranty. Seems cost more for Samsung to repair it than replacing it.

I would say 99.9% that Samsung no longer stock the JS8500 so they would have to give you a 2016 equivalent model which in turn would be more expensive than repairing your 2015 JS8500, hence why they will just repair it.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #21643 of 23872 Old 01-04-2017, 06:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by bargervais View Post
Easy to say considering.
Sorry, I don't follow.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21644 of 23872 Old 01-04-2017, 06:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by buju22 View Post
Nah, you can get an OLED 55" for about $1600 and 65" for around $2500 (2016 models).



65JS8500, Vizio P50-C1, 55C6P, Nvidia Shield, XB1S, PS4 Pro, KS8500
I still would not spend $2500 to replace my 65 inch js8500 with a 2016 model OLED. Not that much of a diffference. Granted there is some difference, but not enough to for me to make the exchange. 3d works better for me on the Samsung. If you have a larger viewing room, the passive 3d on the LG's is better.
Rudy1 and King Richard like this.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21645 of 23872 Old 01-04-2017, 01:58 PM
Senior Member
 
desistyle3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 34
HDMI 2.1 was announced today:
http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...tions-revealed

Seems that it can be applied to 2.0 compatible sets, but I'm sure they won't get all the bells and whistles of the new tech.

Wonder if Samsung will retroactively apply this to older sets?

Additionally - are 2015 TV's capable of dynamic HDR?
desistyle3 is offline  
post #21646 of 23872 Old 01-04-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by desistyle3 View Post
HDMI 2.1 was announced today:
http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/di...tions-revealed

Seems that it can be applied to 2.0 compatible sets, but I'm sure they won't get all the bells and whistles of the new tech.

Wonder if Samsung will retroactively apply this to older sets?

Additionally - are 2015 TV's capable of dynamic HDR?
We can't even get them to update the Netflix app on our sets for HDR, so I would not get your hopes up on a firmware update to the HDMI ports if it's even possible.
King Richard and mc_avs like this.
tmdorsey is online now  
post #21647 of 23872 Old 01-05-2017, 08:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danielson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Just had the netflix app stop a few seconds from the end of an episode of Breaking Bad.
All other apps stopped working.
Smarthub is not and can not be connected to the wireless modem.

I was thinking my tv probably auto-updated it's firmware which is what caused this.
Unplugged the tv and plugged it back in, didn't help.
Reset the Smarthub, didn't work.
Reset my modem, didn't help.

Anyone have this happen?
Danielson99 is offline  
post #21648 of 23872 Old 01-05-2017, 08:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
fmedrano1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danielson99 View Post
Just had the netflix app stop a few seconds from the end of an episode of Breaking Bad.
All other apps stopped working.
Smarthub is not and can not be connected to the wireless modem.

I was thinking my tv probably auto-updated it's firmware which is what caused this.
Unplugged the tv and plugged it back in, didn't help.
Reset the Smarthub, didn't work.
Reset my modem, didn't help.

Anyone have this happen?
Try a factory reset?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
fmedrano1977 is offline  
post #21649 of 23872 Old 01-05-2017, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Danielson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 2,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmedrano1977 View Post
Try a factory reset?

Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
No, didn't feel like re-doing all my settings.

EDIT: It's running again.

Last edited by Danielson99; 01-05-2017 at 09:41 PM.
Danielson99 is offline  
post #21650 of 23872 Old 01-06-2017, 10:04 AM
Member
 
sfumat0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I would say 99.9% that Samsung no longer stock the JS8500 so they would have to give you a 2016 equivalent model which in turn would be more expensive than repairing your 2015 JS8500, hence why they will just repair it.
And that is why the thought of zapping my TV that has an extended 5 year Best Buy replacement SOMETIMES crosses my mind.

I did once get "lucky" with the Xbox replacement plan when they changed the hardware for it a year or two after release....just took my xbox that was having some issues to best buy and they replaced it with the new version.

On that note I just checked Best Buy and saw this... hmmmm


This item is no longer available.

Samsung - 65" Class (64.5" Diag.) - LED - 2160p - Smart - 3D - 4K Ultra HD TV - Silver

  • Model: UN65JS8500FXZA
  • SKU: 5184121

Last edited by sfumat0; 01-06-2017 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Added info
sfumat0 is offline  
post #21651 of 23872 Old 01-06-2017, 12:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Don't be so hell bent on wishing for the demise of your JS8500. Sometimes you don't know what you've got till it's gone. Great PQ and 3d. I'll put up with the user-interface.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21652 of 23872 Old 01-06-2017, 01:43 PM
Member
 
raidflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danielson99 View Post
No, didn't feel like re-doing all my settings.

EDIT: It's running again.
I would make sure fast startup is off. I have kept mine off and never had any issues with apps.
King Richard likes this.

Samsung JS8500 65in
Pioneer VSX-53
Mains: Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE
Center: Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE
Surrounds: Ascend Acoustics HTM-200 SE
Sub: HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
raidflex is offline  
post #21653 of 23872 Old 01-06-2017, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Google Play

I had Google Play app till yesterday, today its gone and Samsung Smart hub site says it is no longer supported in JS series. What a ****** crap? Why do they do this??

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21654 of 23872 Old 01-06-2017, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
tibimakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 48
That is, how it was removed the Skype app as well. I have purchased a fairly expensive Samsung camera, that I have used only for 4 months. That is not fair either.
If I remember well, there is a setting in the apps setting, if you want them to auto update the apps automatically. You should un-ckeck that.
JaytheDreamer likes this.
tibimakai is offline  
post #21655 of 23872 Old 01-06-2017, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
If I buy a Chromecast Ultra would it stream Netflix 4K with HDR and any YouTube HDR and GooglePlay(no UHD or HDR yet)?? Which is the best stream device recommended that plays Netflix HDR with some good value app additions for this TV?

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21656 of 23872 Old 01-07-2017, 04:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
I don't know if many of you have the UHD video pack CY-SUC10SH1. After the latest firmware, several of the movies and documentaries no longer play for me. Try the Counselor or Cappadocia for example.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #21657 of 23872 Old 01-07-2017, 07:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 611
I just used the Google play app a week ago... Can't get Dolby digital from it. Just stereo. So why even bother?
bp787 is offline  
post #21658 of 23872 Old 01-07-2017, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
TimGoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
I don't know if many of you have the UHD video pack CY-SUC10SH1. After the latest firmware, several of the movies and documentaries no longer play for me. Try the Counselor or Cappadocia for example.


I tried it. It came to a lock screen, I entered four zeros and it started playing. This was on the Counselor.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
TimGoodwin is online now  
post #21659 of 23872 Old 01-07-2017, 08:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimGoodwin View Post
I tried it. It came to a lock screen, I entered four zeros and it started playing. This was on the Counselor.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Lucky for you. Is your firmware on 1464? After I enter the 4 zeros, I get to a message that the file I've selected is not supported. Same on my HU6950 with the SEK-3500 installed. However, all the files play back without problem on the HU6950 if I remove the SEK-3500 evolution kit.

Edit: Also all the files play as expected, when I attach the UHD pack to my UBD-K8500

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000

Last edited by poppagene; 01-07-2017 at 09:31 AM.
poppagene is offline  
post #21660 of 23872 Old 01-08-2017, 12:12 AM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4366
Quote:
Originally Posted by desistyle3 View Post
HDMI 2.1 was announced today...

Seems that it can be applied to 2.0 compatible sets, but I'm sure they won't get all the bells and whistles of the new tech.

Wonder if Samsung will retroactively apply this to older sets?

Additionally - are 2015 TV's capable of dynamic HDR?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
We can't even get them to update the Netflix app on our sets for HDR, so I would not get your hopes up on a firmware update to the HDMI ports if it's even possible.

^^^ Exactly!

As to whether or not the HDMI 2.0a ports can be upgraded to the new HDMI 2.1 standard...

It will depend on the individual device and manufacturer. Some HDMI 2.0(a/b) devices may only need a firmware update while other equipment will require a hardware upgrade.

Also, keep in mind that "every piece of equipment in the ecosystem must be 2.1"

In the words of Rob Tobias, HDMI Licensing Administrator president:
Quote:
How an individual piece of equipment will meet the 2.1 standard will depend on the manufacturer and the features. Some manufacturers may be able to achieve 2.1 compliance with just a firmware upgrade; others will require new hardware.

Now as for Dynamic HDR(10)...

Yes, Dynamic HDR10 could be possible with a simple firmware update on this TV (although I wouldn't hold my breath). We just don't know.

According to the HDMI.org 2.1 FAQs (referencing Dynamic HDR in the 2.1 Specification), it asks:

Q: Is this [Dynamic HDR] accessible via a firmware upgrade?

A: Manufacturers will be implementing this in various ways


This does NOT address whether or not Dynamic HDR10 will be possible with previous HDMI versions (it very well might be, we don't yet know), only that it will be with HDMI 2.1 - it is part of the HDMI 2.1 Specification. (The HDMI 2.0a and HDMI 2.0b spec. pages make NO mention of Dynamic HDR. Dynamic HDR is NOT part of the HDMI 2.0a/b Specification.)

Note: Dynamic HDR will not only require the "correct" HDMI connection (2.1?) for HDMI connected devices, but will also require a sufficiently "capable" SoC in the TV itself to implement it.

For more, you can check out: > HDMI 2.1 PDF (PowerPoint Presentation) <


As to HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma) HDR, we know that it requires HDMI 2.0b

From the > HDMI.org website <
Quote:
Previously, HDMI Specification Version 2.0b (HDMI 2.0b) only supported HDR (High Dynamic Range) video transport in the SMPTE ST 2084 EOTF (as applied in the media profile commonly known as HDR10), by referencing the CTA861.3 specification. The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) has recently notified the HDMI Forum of the adoption of a new version of the CTA-861 Specification, CTA-861-G. This new version provides additional support for HDR Video transport by including (among others) an extension to the static metadata signaling to include the HLG (Hybrid Log Gamma) EOTF. The HDMI Forum has assessed the applicability of the CTA-861-G Specification to HDMI 2.0b. The HDMI Forum has confirmed that the extension of the static metadata signaling to include HLG can be utilized under the existing HDMI 2.0b Specification. This means that HLG Video Transport functionality may be implemented on HDMI 2.0b compliant devices.

Richard
King Richard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off