**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 724 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9745Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21691 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
The VP9 Profile 2 which is required for YouTube HDR seems need hardware support. So I think it is out of question for us JS owners.

A complete Tizen 2.0 update is not possible, according to some earlier posts. Some HW/SW limitations of JS series would not allow to run Tizen 2.0 but would only support the present version, though some changes in UI and features may be possible.
Rudy1 and King Richard like this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!

Last edited by JaytheDreamer; 01-10-2017 at 12:25 PM.
JaytheDreamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21692 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manuxs1806 View Post
Back in September, Rudy1 claimed to have exclusive insider information about a release in December.
Please do let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.
tmdorsey, dlbsyst, bp787 and 4 others like this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #21693 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Please do let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.
So any info on when this gets to the JS9000 and/or to the UBD-K8500?
King Richard likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21694 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
BTW thanks to @Rudy1 for all the information and news about this update. Those made me waiting.
Rudy1 likes this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21695 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
desistyle3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
Whoa! Cool cool. Kudos to Samsung for keeping the word.

dlbsyst or poppagene, could list couple of shows in HDR? Would like to test as soon as I get home.
Whoahhh! Awesome!

For folks that have tried Netflix HDR on the JS8500 - how does it look?
desistyle3 is offline  
post #21696 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Manuxs1806's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Please do let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.

Sure. How about another piece of reliable, insider information ?
Manuxs1806 is online now  
post #21697 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:52 PM
Senior Member
 
desistyle3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by hail2030 View Post
I have that line issue in Game Mode as well. It doesn't always happen to me though. Also, it tends to occur when the image in the game is black, so I don't notice in some games.
Same here - it definitely appears more with blacks/dark grays. I think it has something to do with dynamic contrast/dark tone.
desistyle3 is offline  
post #21698 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:53 PM
Senior Member
 
desistyle3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Please do let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.
Rudy1 - if you can get any insight into the flickering line issue that is affecting multiple samsung models (2015 and 2016's), that would be great. See my thread here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...sung-tv-s.html
desistyle3 is offline  
post #21699 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 12:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
1467 not showing up for me when I try doing the firmware update via the TV (Canada). I'm still at 1464. If I download it from the website, can I just plug it into a USB on the TV and do an update that way? Shouldn't be a big deal right?
Robert Byrne is offline  
post #21700 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Byrne View Post
1467 not showing up for me when I try doing the firmware update via the TV (Canada). I'm still at 1464. If I download it from the website, can I just plug it into a USB on the TV and do an update that way? Shouldn't be a big deal right?
That's how all of us are getting it. Download the zip file and extract it. Grab a USB flash drive and format it to FAT32. Copy the folder you just extracted to the drive and plug into the USB3 port on the back of your set. Now go to the update section on your TV and have it check the drive for the update, sit back for a couple of minutes and after your set reboots you are all set.
King Richard and Robert Byrne like this.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #21701 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Quote:
Originally Posted by desistyle3 View Post
Rudy1 - if you can get any insight into the flickering line issue that is affecting multiple samsung models (2015 and 2016's), that would be great. See my thread here:
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...sung-tv-s.html
Briefly, the product support manager told me that they need for all affected users to go online to the Samsung support chat and open tickets, due to the wide range of models that are affected. Affected owners will need to specify the hardware they have connected to their displays, the frequency of the glitching, and the specific circumstances under which it occurs. They recommend also that affected owners either take screenshots or short videos in the event they should later be asked to upload those to Samsung. As it was with the disappearing icons and, more recently, the pop-up requiring owners to accept the intrusive ads before they could use the Smart Hub, they'll need time to try to replicate the issue in their labs before they can even begin to figure out what is wrong and attempt a solution.

Please pass this information on to as many people as you can. There is strength in numbers.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #21702 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 03:15 PM
Member
 
toonontherun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Is it just me or did the 1467 update improve the upscaling in the tv as well?
dlbsyst likes this.
toonontherun is offline  
post #21703 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonontherun View Post
Is it just me or did the 1467 update improve the upscaling in the tv as well?
It might have. It definitely looks good. It seems like the color looks punchier too. I'm still in the discovery stage but it seems like YouTube is better. It seems more snappy during scrolling and loads much faster. All of this could just be placebo though and I did just install a new firmware on my Asus wireless router.

Last edited by dlbsyst; 01-10-2017 at 04:38 PM.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #21704 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 05:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 308
I'm 1480 here in Australia so I'm hoping the next update has Netflix HDR for us, awesome to see it FINALLY materialize!!
Can you guys post some pics of the shows that display the HDR Logo etc, that would be great.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #21705 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 05:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
It makes me so happy that Samsung is still supporting our sets. Netflix HDR is awesome. I just checked out Jessica Jones and Marco Polo and both look excellent.
mc_avs likes this.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #21706 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,782
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 893 Post(s)
Liked: 619
now everyone LOOOOOVES samsung lol. yesterday, they were the devil.

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
post #21707 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I'm 1480 here in Australia so I'm hoping the next update has Netflix HDR for us, awesome to see it FINALLY materialize!!
Can you guys post some pics of the shows that display the HDR Logo etc, that would be great.
mc_avs, when you receive your Netflix HDR update (hopefully soon), just scroll through the UHD 4K section and it will show you which shows and movies are available with HDR.
mc_avs likes this.

Last edited by dlbsyst; 01-10-2017 at 05:26 PM.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #21708 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 05:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
mc_avs, when you receive your HDR update (hopefully soon), just scroll through the UHD 4K section and it will show you which shows and movies are available with HDR.

I just checked the Australian Samsung Website & it still says 1480. With this delightful news, i'll be checking a couple of times a day to hopefully see a new Firmware.
I'll update once I have it.
So what is the actual quality like, impressive?

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #21709 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlbsyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I just checked the Australian Samsung Website & it still says 1480. With this delightful news, i'll be checking a couple of times a day to hopefully see a new Firmware.
I'll update once I have it.
So what is the actual quality like, impressive?
Well have to wait for others to chime in but I'm impressed. It looks just as good, if not better than other external devices that support Netflix HDR. You wont be disappointed.
Rudy1 and mc_avs like this.
dlbsyst is offline  
post #21710 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 06:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 303 Post(s)
Liked: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbsyst View Post
Well have to wait for others to chime in but I'm impressed. It looks just as good, if not better than other external devices that support Netflix HDR. You wont be disappointed.

Thanks mate, appreciate the info. Looking forward to hearing other JS8500 owners thoughts.
My set is Professionally Calibrated so I can't wait to see it for myself.
dlbsyst likes this.

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is offline  
post #21711 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 103
I was going to jokingly post that new update comes with Netflix HDR and what do you know it's for real.

It looks like my Roku is going back to store don't need this buggy box anymore.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Rudy1 and dlbsyst like this.
dojoman is offline  
post #21712 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
tibimakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Which Roku is buggy? I'm considering buying the Ultra.
tibimakai is offline  
post #21713 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
Which Roku is buggy? I'm considering buying the Ultra.


Premiere+. Last few FW updates had lots of issues and I got HDCP handshake glitch with JS8500 as well. Could be my hdmi switch but it's not consistent. I bought it just for Netflix HDR but wasn't that impress with the box in general.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
dojoman is offline  
post #21714 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
 
tibimakai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 180 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I'm a WD Live user, but since it is discontinued, I have started selling them, I had three of them. Now I'm considering switching to Roku.
If the Premier+ is buggy, then I assume that the Ultra is buggy as well, since it is almost the same player, right?
tibimakai is offline  
post #21715 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 08:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Just updated the new FW through USB. Watched Marco Polo on Netflix for few minutes, HDR is amazing. App interface seems a little slow but who cares we got Netflix HDR on our TV.
tnengr, King Richard and mc_avs like this.

Samsung UN65JS8500, Onkyo TX-NR747, Oppo UDP-203, Samsung UBD-K8500, Focal speakers, SVS dual subs.
srijan is offline  
post #21716 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
I'm a WD Live user, but since it is discontinued, I have started selling them, I had three of them. Now I'm considering switching to Roku.

If the Premier+ is buggy, then I assume that the Ultra is buggy as well, since it is almost the same player, right?


Yes, I believe they are the same.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
dojoman is offline  
post #21717 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 08:58 PM
Member
 
brian2305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sound decoding


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
brian2305 is offline  
post #21718 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 09:43 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Netflix app is not opening for me anymore. It was fine and I watched some HDR few hours before.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21719 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
Netflix app is not opening for me anymore. It was fine and I watched some HDR few hours before.
You try powering the TV off and back on?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
thegoldenone is offline  
post #21720 of 23987 Old 01-10-2017, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegoldenone View Post
You try powering the TV off and back on?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
I tried it with remote, then unplugged and did a hard power cycle. No luck. Every other app works fine except Netflix. Connected to Samsung support and one tech is remotely checking now.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off