**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 725 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9639Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21721 of 23872 Old 01-10-2017, 10:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
I tried it with remote, then unplugged and did a hard power cycle. No luck. Every other app works fine except Netflix. Connected to Samsung support and one tech is remotely checking now.
Oh wow! OK, good luck and keep us posted. Hopefully they'll figure it out.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
thegoldenone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21722 of 23872 Old 01-10-2017, 10:58 PM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Had to do a factory reset . But Netflix is back now with HDR again . Now the hard task of setting all to previous values.
dlbsyst likes this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21723 of 23872 Old 01-10-2017, 11:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
Had to do a factory reset . But Netflix is back now with HDR again . Now the hard task of setting all to previous values.
Sorry you had to go through that but glad Netflix is back to normal.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
JaytheDreamer likes this.
thegoldenone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21724 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 01:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Please do let me know if there's anything else I can do for you.
I am sorry rudy but I seem to misunderstand... wasn't last firmware 1470 ?

PS :. Did somebody have the bug that HDR mode works only on movie mode? If I engage HDR on standard mode, the luminance is mantained for a short amount of time, even if it sayse BL20/CR100.
simolnx is offline  
post #21725 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 03:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by simolnx View Post
I am sorry rudy but I seem to misunderstand... wasn't last firmware 1470 ?

PS :. Did somebody have the bug that HDR mode works only on movie mode? If I engage HDR on standard mode, the luminance is mantained for a short amount of time, even if it sayse BL20/CR100.
Im on 1480. Its different from country to country.
Simon1994 is offline  
post #21726 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 06:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Can someone with an Oppo 203 and an older receiver that doesn't have HDMI 2.0 (preferably HDMI 1.3) and is using both HDMI outs of the Oppo let me know how that's working for you with this tv?

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
post #21727 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 06:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon1994 View Post
Im on 1480. Its different from country to country.
You're on 1480 but you don't have netflix HDR?

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
post #21728 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 07:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 3253
Quote:
Originally Posted by simolnx View Post
I am sorry rudy but I seem to misunderstand... wasn't last firmware 1470 ?
US firmware should be 1467.0; the Netflix app should then be version 6XXX, which I believe was released in December.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #21729 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Updated last night through USB for the Netflix HDR. Feels good not to be second-class HDR citizens anymore.
dlbsyst, sfumat0 and mc_avs like this.
tmdorsey is online now  
post #21730 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 3253
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
The VP9 Profile 2 which is required for YouTube HDR seems need hardware support. So I think it is out of question for us JS owners.

A complete Tizen 2.0 update is not possible, according to some earlier posts. Some HW/SW limitations of JS series would not allow to run Tizen 2.0 but would only support the present version, though some changes in UI and features may be possible.
Here's an article basically confirming what I'd been told by Samsung earlier in 2015. Looks like they weren't even able to update the UI:

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php...&id=1484128565
JaytheDreamer likes this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #21731 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Here's an article basically confirming what I'd been told by Samsung earlier in 2015. Looks like they weren't even able to update the UI:

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php...&id=1484128565
Thanks Rudy. I have no complaints. I think they supported the 2015 series the best way they can, even this late, considering the HW/SW limitations. Netflix HDR, a big thing for me and all of us.
dlbsyst likes this.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21732 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Is everybody manually updating the 1467 update for HDR in the states or has anybody had it auto update if that is selected in your settings?? Just hoping I don't lose all my custom settings if I have to manually install and then factory reset like some other users mentioned. Thanks for any feedback!!
Jimmythelocke is offline  
post #21733 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
JaytheDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmythelocke View Post
Is everybody manually updating the 1467 update for HDR in the states or has anybody had it auto update if that is selected in your settings?? Just hoping I don't lose all my custom settings if I have to manually install and then factory reset like some other users mentioned. Thanks for any feedback!!
As of now it is a manual install. It might come as an auto update later. BTW its was me who had to do a factory reset. I updated the FW and it played well after for couple of hours including Netflix HDR. But later that night after I came back from gym/dinner, Netflix failed on me. I connected the remote support but after trying many things they had to do the factory reset. I am not sure what happened but I don't think it is any wide spread issue as nobody else reported it so.

______________
Thanks, Jay
Spoiler!
JaytheDreamer is offline  
post #21734 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
As of now it is a manual install. It might come as an auto update later. BTW its was me who had to do a factory reset. I updated the FW and it played well after for couple of hours including Netflix HDR. But later that night after I came back from gym/dinner, Netflix failed on me. I connected the remote support but after trying many things they had to do the factory reset. I am not sure what happened but I don't think it is any wide spread issue as nobody else reported it so.
I agree with the assessment that your situation is a pretty isolated case. I manually installed the update and have had zero issues.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk
JaytheDreamer likes this.
thegoldenone is offline  
post #21735 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp787 View Post
You're on 1480 but you don't have netflix HDR?
nope not yet, version 1480 and netflix ver. 5.0434.
Simon1994 is offline  
post #21736 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
compnurd09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
US firmware should be 1467.0; the Netflix app should then be version 6XXX, which I believe was released in December.
My netflix update date is showing 1/11
compnurd09 is offline  
post #21737 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
desistyle3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Of course this update is released and I seem to have lost my USB flash drive! Any alternatives to getting this? I assume this update won't be available for awhile directly from the TV itself?
desistyle3 is offline  
post #21738 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
TimGoodwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by desistyle3 View Post
Of course this update is released and I seem to have lost my USB flash drive! Any alternatives to getting this? I assume this update won't be available for awhile directly from the TV itself?
Buy a new one?

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
TimGoodwin is offline  
post #21739 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,772
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 889 Post(s)
Liked: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon1994 View Post
nope not yet, version 1480 and netflix ver. 5.0434.
So this goes back to what many of us on this board were saying... versions from other countries may not be suitable, the same, etc... for other countries.

Simon's version 1480 is a "higher" version number than the US releases, but is different, doesn't contain the HDR netflix update, etc...

This is why you don't install other country's updates. you just don't know what's in them.

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
post #21740 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
JGrana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 85
As an experiment, I wanted to see if there were any color or gamma enhancement/changes/improvements with this new firmware. And, I wanted to do this in a more scientific way. Try to minimize the placebo effect.

I had calibrated my set a few months ago - using HCFR (open source calibration software) and a good meter/probe - i1 Display Pro aka i1D3.

I run the patterns on an NVidia Shield TV using SPMC (a version of Kodi) connected to a Denon X2200W AVR (all video processing on the AVR disabled). UHD Color on the JS8500 is on and most of my settings are based on DenPom and KingRichards advised settings.
My deltaE's (the % of error from standard) are all 4 or less. In other words, pretty good ;-). The gamma curve is within reason as well.

Before updating the JS8500, I ran through a complete measurement cycle - 10 step grey scale, primary and secondary colors and gamma.
I ran the measurement cycle twice - and compared the 2 runs. As expected, identical within statistical differences (i.e. probe accuracy etc.).

I then installed the 1467 update. Ran another measurement cycle.

Identical, all grey scale, primary, secondary colors as well as the gamma curve - within statistical differences as above.

Samsung might have improved up scaling, dynamic stuff, etc. but as far as my set, the colors and gamma are no different from the previous firmware.
JGrana is offline  
post #21741 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,738
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1954 Post(s)
Liked: 3253
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp787 View Post
So this goes back to what many of us on this board were saying... versions from other countries may not be suitable, the same, etc... for other countries.

Simon's version 1480 is a "higher" version number than the US releases, but is different, doesn't contain the HDR netflix update, etc...

This is why you don't install other country's updates. you just don't know what's in them.
I agree. And this holds true for other brands, such as Sony and LG as well. I've had the Samsung engineers warn me many times about installing software that is not intended for my models and/or geographic area, and the couple of times that I chose not to heed their warnings I paid the price.
bp787 likes this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #21742 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 11:12 AM
Member
 
raidflex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I agree. And this holds true for other brands, such as Sony and LG as well. I've had the Samsung engineers warn me many times about installing software that is not intended for my models and/or geographic area, and the couple of times that I chose not to heed their warnings I paid the price.
This most likely all has to do with DRM I suspect, which of course complicates everything.

Samsung JS8500 65in
Pioneer VSX-53
Mains: Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE
Center: Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 SE
Surrounds: Ascend Acoustics HTM-200 SE
Sub: HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
raidflex is offline  
post #21743 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
desistyle3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGrana View Post
As an experiment, I wanted to see if there were any color or gamma enhancement/changes/improvements with this new firmware. And, I wanted to do this in a more scientific way. Try to minimize the placebo effect.

I had calibrated my set a few months ago - using HCFR (open source calibration software) and a good meter/probe - i1 Display Pro aka i1D3.

I run the patterns on an NVidia Shield TV using SPMC (a version of Kodi) connected to a Denon X2200W AVR (all video processing on the AVR disabled). UHD Color on the JS8500 is on and most of my settings are based on DenPom and KingRichards advised settings.
My deltaE's (the % of error from standard) are all 4 or less. In other words, pretty good ;-). The gamma curve is within reason as well.

Before updating the JS8500, I ran through a complete measurement cycle - 10 step grey scale, primary and secondary colors and gamma.
I ran the measurement cycle twice - and compared the 2 runs. As expected, identical within statistical differences (i.e. probe accuracy etc.).

I then installed the 1467 update. Ran another measurement cycle.

Identical, all grey scale, primary, secondary colors as well as the gamma curve - within statistical differences as above.

Samsung might have improved up scaling, dynamic stuff, etc. but as far as my set, the colors and gamma are no different from the previous firmware.
Interesting - thanks for doing that and posting the results!

Is the upscaling really better or is it placebo?
desistyle3 is offline  
post #21744 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
Updated last night through USB for the Netflix HDR. Feels good not to be second-class HDR citizens anymore.
Never feel that way. We've got a top notch set that has great 3d.
Even LG has discontinued 3d for it's 2017 OLED models.
It would not suprise me if when it came time to sell this TV, it commands higher than normal resale prices.
tmdorsey, King Richard and srijan like this.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21745 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TravisBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,044
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 285
Please wait for a Samsung Agent to respond.
Chat InformationYou are now chatting with 'Prashant SA'. The reference number for this chat.....................
Prashant SA: Hi, thank you for reaching out to Samsung technical support. How may I assist you?
Prashant SA: Just to confirm, are we connected on the chat?
Visitor: I have a 5 month old UN65JS8500 with Software version 1464. Auto update says this is current, however this website shows a download for a newer version. Should I download and install using a usb drive or wait till it auto updates over wi-fi ?
Prashant SA: Let me assist you with the information about the firmware version.
Prashant SA: Thank you for the model number.
Prashant SA: What is the latest software version on the site?
Visitor: 1467
Prashant SA: Let me check it.
Prashant SA: Thank you for the model number.
Prashant SA: Yes, you are correct.
Prashant SA: I can see that there is update available 1467.0
Visitor: Well should I download and install or wait for the auto-update ?
Prashant SA: You can do it with your convenience. I can assist you through USB drive update.

Last edited by TravisBean; 01-11-2017 at 11:35 AM.
TravisBean is offline  
post #21746 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaytheDreamer View Post
As of now it is a manual install. It might come as an auto update later. BTW its was me who had to do a factory reset. I updated the FW and it played well after for couple of hours including Netflix HDR. But later that night after I came back from gym/dinner, Netflix failed on me. I connected the remote support but after trying many things they had to do the factory reset. I am not sure what happened but I don't think it is any wide spread issue as nobody else reported it so.

Ahhhh Ok, thanks for the heads up Jay. I will roll the dice and just take pictures of my settings in case. Enjoy your HDR everybody!
JaytheDreamer likes this.
Jimmythelocke is offline  
post #21747 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ThePrisoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmythelocke View Post
Ahhhh Ok, thanks for the heads up Jay. I will roll the dice and just take pictures of my settings in case. Enjoy your HDR everybody!
Exactly what i was thinking of doing, taking pics of the settings especially custom color space since I had my set professionally calibrated.
ThePrisoner is offline  
post #21748 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePrisoner View Post
Exactly what i was thinking of doing, taking pics of the settings especially custom color space since I had my set professionally calibrated.

Didn't you guys get a report from your Calibrator of your new Calibrated settings for future instances like this?
My Calibrator gave me a detailed report plus all of my new picture settings, colour space etc etc.


For those of you on the discussion about Firmware versions. We here in Australia have pretty much followed the US version for version about a fortnight after you guys get it except for the last 2 months where we have had 3 more ahead of the US, 1467 then 1470 & finally 1480. I've checked every time for Netflix HDR but nothing. I always check for App updates & it is always greyed out too.
Here's to hopefully our next Firmware Update being HDR!!

Lounge - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, JBL Studio 180 Speaker Series, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.1.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite. Bedroom - Samsung UA55C8000 3D LED, Sony PS3.
mc_avs is online now  
post #21749 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp787 View Post
now everyone LOOOOOVES samsung lol. yesterday, they were the devil.
Just give me everything I want NOW.... or else you're the devil

I have to say I am quite pleased with the new firmware update. I wonder if they have anything more planned.
bp787 likes this.
Niall Blehein is offline  
post #21750 of 23872 Old 01-11-2017, 02:09 PM
Member
 
glemigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp787 View Post
Can someone with an Oppo 203 and an older receiver that doesn't have HDMI 2.0 (preferably HDMI 1.3) and is using both HDMI outs of the Oppo let me know how that's working for you with this tv?
I have a Onkyo TX-NR838 and while it has HDMI 2.0, it cannot do 2.0b required to pass HDR, so I connect using the 2 HDMI ports on the 203 and it works fantastic, the Onkyo needs lipsync turned off though.
dlbsyst and bp787 like this.

Home Theater:
Samsung UN55JS8500, Onkyo TX-NR838, Oppo UDP-203, Motorola QIP7232, Harmony 650 Remote
Computer Screen:
Samsung UN49MU6500
Mediabridge HDMI cables everywhere.
glemigh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off