**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 758 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9639Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #22711 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Gopherboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: WA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
It's best to turn off the video processor and all GUI overlays (volume, info, etc.) and do as "clean" a pass-through as possible.
So between to two- Denon X4300H & Samsung JS8500, my tv is the "better" choice for upscaling?

Samsung UN65JS8500
Denon AVR-X4300H
Samsung UBD-K8500
Gopherboy128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22712 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 07:49 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,357
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4467 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gopherboy128 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
It's best to turn off the video processor and all GUI overlays (volume, info, etc.) and do as "clean" a pass-through as possible.
So between to two- Denon X4300H & Samsung JS8500, my tv is the "better" choice for upscaling?
The Sammy. That's why you disable all video processing and GUI on the 4300.

Last edited by Dan Hitchman; 09-02-2017 at 07:56 AM.
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #22713 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Gopherboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: WA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
The Sammy. That's why you disable all video processing and GUI on the 4300.
Thanks. (Go figure, soon as I want to go play with my new setup, power goes out for 3 hours)

So I have Video Conversion off for all sources, and On Screen Display turned off.

On my Samsung KBD-8500 UHD blu-ray player, would "Auto" "2160p" or "1080p" be best? I figured Auto would let the TV and player decide, as both are Samsung products...? Better to force 1080 to the TV and let it convert or let the player sent the 4k signal?

Samsung UN65JS8500
Denon AVR-X4300H
Samsung UBD-K8500
Gopherboy128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22714 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 11:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gopherboy128 View Post
Thanks. (Go figure, soon as I want to go play with my new setup, power goes out for 3 hours)

So I have Video Conversion off for all sources, and On Screen Display turned off.

On my Samsung KBD-8500 UHD blu-ray player, would "Auto" "2160p" or "1080p" be best? I figured Auto would let the TV and player decide, as both are Samsung products...? Better to force 1080 to the TV and let it convert or let the player sent the 4k signal?
With a tip of the hat to @Musician , you should turn BDWise on in the UBD-K8500 and off in the TV
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post52409241

That way the UBD-K8500 will output 1080p and the JS8500 will upconvert it
King Richard likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #22715 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,357
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4467 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gopherboy128 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
The Sammy. That's why you disable all video processing and GUI on the 4300.
Thanks. (Go figure, soon as I want to go play with my new setup, power goes out for 3 hours)

So I have Video Conversion off for all sources, and On Screen Display turned off.

On my Samsung KBD-8500 UHD blu-ray player, would "Auto" "2160p" or "1080p" be best? I figured Auto would let the TV and player decide, as both are Samsung products...? Better to force 1080 to the TV and let it convert or let the player sent the 4k signal?
To add to your setup in the Samsung, switch to bitstream (unprocessed) and turn off dynamic range control in the audio menu. PCM downconversion off too.
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #22716 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 03:10 PM
Member
 
Gopherboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: WA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
With a tip of the hat to @Musician , you should turn BDWise on in the UBD-K8500 and off in the TV
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post52409241

That way the UBD-K8500 will output 1080p and the JS8500 will upconvert it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
To add to your setup in the Samsung, switch to bitstream (unprocessed) and turn off dynamic range control in the audio menu. PCM downconversion off too.
So what does my Output resolution need to be? Auto or 1080p? Or does it even matter if BD Wise is handling that from the player to the tv?

EDIT: I tried setting the BD Wise setting on the UBD-K8500 to "On" and was met with a message that my TV does not support that feature. I find that odd, as the HDMI-CEC/Anynet+ all works great, and I know the TV can see the blu-ray player connected to my X4300H. Also, when using "Auto" the player is putting out a 4K:24 signal.

Already have the player switched to Bitstream. Thanks!

Samsung UN65JS8500
Denon AVR-X4300H
Samsung UBD-K8500

Last edited by Gopherboy128; 09-02-2017 at 03:33 PM.
Gopherboy128 is offline  
post #22717 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,357
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4467 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gopherboy128 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
With a tip of the hat to @Musician , you should turn BDWise on in the UBD-K8500 and off in the TV
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post52409241

That way the UBD-K8500 will output 1080p and the JS8500 will upconvert it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
To add to your setup in the Samsung, switch to bitstream (unprocessed) and turn off dynamic range control in the audio menu. PCM downconversion off too.
So what does my Output resolution need to be? Auto or 1080p? Or does it even matter if BD Wise is handling that from the player to the tv?

EDIT: I tried setting the BD Wise setting on the UBD-K8500 to "On" and was met with a message that my TV does not support that feature. I find that odd, as the HDMI-CEC/Anynet+ all works great, and I know the TV can see the blu-ray player connected to my X4300H. Also, when using "Auto" the player is putting out a 4K:24 signal.

Already have the player switched to Bitstream. Thanks!
Auto. Just leave BD Wise off then. Sounds like you have TV that doesn't include that feature.
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #22718 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 10:24 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
Auto. Just leave BD Wise off then. Sounds like you have TV that doesn't include that feature.

For the "BD Wise" feature to work, all components in the chain have to support it. (i.e. The player would have to be connected directly to the TV.)


Richard
Rudy1 and Musician like this.
King Richard is offline  
post #22719 of 23873 Old 09-02-2017, 10:36 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gopherboy128 View Post
So what does my Output resolution need to be? Auto or 1080p? Or does it even matter if BD Wise is handling that from the player to the tv?

EDIT: I tried setting the BD Wise setting on the UBD-K8500 to "On" and was met with a message that my TV does not support that feature. I find that odd, as the HDMI-CEC/Anynet+ all works great, and I know the TV can see the blu-ray player connected to my X4300H. Also, when using "Auto" the player is putting out a 4K:24 signal.

On "Auto", 2160p(4K) content is output at its native resolution and all lower resolution content (1080p, 480i, etc) is upscaled by the player and then output at 2160p.

If you want the TV to do the upscaling on lower resolution content, you need to either manually select/change the output resolution of the player when playing back lower resolution content (i.e. 1080p) or try the "BD Wise trick" mentioned by another member (ON in the player / OFF in the TV - although the TV setting shouldn't really matter since you're going through an AVR).

If you can't notice any difference in quality between the player and TV doing the upscaling (and you probably won't), you can just leave it on "Auto" and let the player upscale.


Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #22720 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 06:01 AM
Member
 
Gopherboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: WA
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
For the "BD Wise" feature to work, all components in the chain have to support it. (i.e. The player would have to be connected directly to the TV.)


Richard
I moved my player, from using dual HDMI (1 for audio to my old AVR, 1 for video to the Samsung) to my new AVR using single HDMI since the new AVR supports HDCP 2.2

I assumed that is why BD Wise no longer works, even though my Samsung TV detects the player connected to the AVR. Weird.


Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
On "Auto", 2160p(4K) content is output at its native resolution and all lower resolution content (1080p, 480i, etc) is upscaled by the player and then output at 2160p.

If you want the TV to do the upscaling on lower resolution content, you need to either manually select/change the output resolution of the player when playing back lower resolution content (i.e. 1080p) or try the "BD Wise trick" mentioned by another member (ON in the player / OFF in the TV - although the TV setting shouldn't really matter since you're going through an AVR).

If you can't notice any difference in quality between the player and TV doing the upscaling (and you probably won't), you can just leave it on "Auto" and let the player upscale.


Richard
I will toy around with it. Still happy with picture quality of this TV. Everything looks great. I am looking forward to getting the new X-Box One X on Nov 7!

Samsung UN65JS8500
Denon AVR-X4300H
Samsung UBD-K8500
Gopherboy128 is offline  
post #22721 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 06:51 PM
Member
 
trevkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know how this TV works with a Sonos system? Does the optical allow 5.1 or is it only stereo?
trevkat is offline  
post #22722 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 06:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevkat View Post
Does anyone know how this TV works with a Sonos system? Does the optical allow 5.1 or is it only stereo?
You need to tune to a broadcast TV program (via antenna or your cable TV set top box) that is being aired in Dolby Digital 5.1, then go into the SOUND menu's ADDITIONAL SETTINGS and select DOLBY DIGITAL for the AUDIO FORMAT output, and set HD AUDIO to ON.
King Richard likes this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #22723 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 06:57 PM
Member
 
trevkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
You need to tune to a broadcast TV program (via antenna or your cable TV set top box) that is being aired in Dolby Digital 5.1, then go into the SOUND menu's ADVANCED OPTIONS and select DOLBY DIGITAL for the output.
Thanks for the quick response! Ill be primarily using an Xbox connected to the TV and Sonos. I prob should have been more clear. Will 5.1 work though the Xbox with this setup?
trevkat is offline  
post #22724 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 07:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevkat View Post
Thanks for the quick response! Ill be primarily using an Xbox connected to the TV and Sonos. I prob should have been more clear. Will 5.1 work though the Xbox with this setup?
I believe you have to reboot the console and select LET MY RECEIVER DECODE AUDIO in the Blu-Ray settings page.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #22725 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 07:06 PM
Member
 
trevkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I believe you have to reboot the console and select LET MY RECEIVER DECODE AUDIO in the Blu-Ray settings page.
Thanks! I may have to do some testing to make sure it works for everything. Gaming included. As long as the optical passes 5.1 I should be fine
trevkat is offline  
post #22726 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 07:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevkat View Post
Thanks! I may have to do some testing to make sure it works for everything. Gaming included. As long as the optical passes 5.1 I should be fine
I edited my first response to you to make it clearer. You shouldn't have any issues with your setup, but if you do let us know and we will try to help you get things worked out.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #22727 of 23873 Old 09-03-2017, 07:15 PM
Member
 
trevkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
I edited my first response to you to make it clearer. You shouldn't have any issues with your setup, but if you do let us know and we will try to help you get things worked out.
Will do! Thanks again for your help.
trevkat is offline  
post #22728 of 23873 Old 09-05-2017, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
swanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,481
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Did 1501 break anyone elses Cinema black option? I noticed the TV was a little brighter than normal and for the first time since owning the TV I'm seeing gray bars in letterbox movies which should not happen with cinema black enabled.

I've toggled it on and off and did not help, I can only correlate this happening near the time of 1501.

Is their any physcial issue with my TV that would cause cinema black to break and give the appearance of a brighter picture like some light array problem?
swanlee is offline  
post #22729 of 23873 Old 09-06-2017, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
zerokewlTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Emareica
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copspop View Post
I have OTA also, no cable. I think it is trying to collect the info for extra when it hangs for the long period. I also have the issue where amazon quits in midst of show. Others with same issues so I figure a reset won't fix it. Anybody know what this last update did? Guess I will let it install. Don't think it could get much worse.
Is there any way to turn off the Extra info option that we know off?
zerokewlTV is offline  
post #22730 of 23873 Old 09-06-2017, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
plasmodeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Hey, JS8500 folks! As a recent (and very happy/proud) owner of the 55" version, has anyone heard of a possible HLG update to these units? The processing power/inputs of the JS series should be more than enough to handle this (I've heard HDMI 1.4 is sufficient). That would be a great addition to the HDR10+ update reportedly coming at some point.

Switching gears, I'm thoroughly impressed with the 3D performance of this TV. I watched Kubo and Kong: Skull Island in 3D the other day and they were rock-solid with virtually zero ghosting and great depth. Since movie studios arbitrarily decide whether or not to include the 3D disk in 4K collectors editions, I may permanently settle for 3D over 4K to avoid double dipping. The way the death-knell news goes, any 3D Blu-ray discs on the market (new or old) might as well be collectors items at this point!
plasmodeus is offline  
post #22731 of 23873 Old 09-07-2017, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 238
Disabling "Samsung Extra"

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerokewlTV View Post
Is there any way to turn off the Extra info option that we know off?
This should do it: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post45607769
zerokewlTV likes this.
4K Tech is offline  
post #22732 of 23873 Old 09-07-2017, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
zerokewlTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Emareica
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4K Tech View Post
Thank you
zerokewlTV is offline  
post #22733 of 23873 Old 09-07-2017, 04:16 PM
Member
 
cbatc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmodeus View Post
Hey, JS8500 folks! As a recent (and very happy/proud) owner of the 55" version, has anyone heard of a possible HLG update to these units? The processing power/inputs of the JS series should be more than enough to handle this (I've heard HDMI 1.4 is sufficient). That would be a great addition to the HDR10+ update reportedly coming at some point.

Switching gears, I'm thoroughly impressed with the 3D performance of this TV. I watched Kubo and Kong: Skull Island in 3D the other day and they were rock-solid with virtually zero ghosting and great depth. Since movie studios arbitrarily decide whether or not to include the 3D disk in 4K collectors editions, I may permanently settle for 3D over 4K to avoid double dipping. The way the death-knell news goes, any 3D Blu-ray discs on the market (new or old) might as well be collectors items at this point!
I have this TV and think its a great set. However if you love 3d, you need to get your hand on last year's LG Oled. It's a different world when it comes to 3d. I've been ordering alot of 3d movies from ebay. I like ebay user fstdriver99. I've purchased 4 movies from him with no problems. Shipping is a little slow and they are rental discs. If you don't care about the artwork and just want the 3d disc, it will save you a few bucks. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them was pretty good also.
cbatc is offline  
post #22734 of 23873 Old 09-07-2017, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbatc View Post
I have this TV and think its a great set. However if you love 3d, you need to get your hand on last year's LG Oled. It's a different world when it comes to 3d. I've been ordering alot of 3d movies from ebay. I like ebay user fstdriver99. I've purchased 4 movies from him with no problems. Shipping is a little slow and they are rental discs. If you don't care about the artwork and just want the 3d disc, it will save you a few bucks. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them was pretty good also.
LoL.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D / Denon S720W

Last edited by brazen1; 09-07-2017 at 06:28 PM.
brazen1 is offline  
post #22735 of 23873 Old 09-08-2017, 11:37 AM
Senior Member
 
plasmodeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New York City
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbatc View Post
I have this TV and think its a great set. However if you love 3d, you need to get your hand on last year's LG Oled. It's a different world when it comes to 3d. I've been ordering alot of 3d movies from ebay. I like ebay user fstdriver99. I've purchased 4 movies from him with no problems. Shipping is a little slow and they are rental discs. If you don't care about the artwork and just want the 3d disc, it will save you a few bucks. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them was pretty good also.
Cbatc, I was strongly considering LG's 55" E6 model a few months ago since it's their only 3D flatscreen (even with those speakers, which apparently sound great). Next in line was the C6, but it only has 3 HDMI inputs instead of 4, which is puzzling. HOWEVER...I visited other forums and saw the complaints and petitions to LG about the undefeatable "automatic backlight limiter" (ABL) feature on all of their OLEDs and decided to go with the JS8500. I also own several FandangoNow VIDITY titles that I can access much easier with this TV since USB 3.0 is built in and not external. I had many problems with the SEK-3500 not recognizing the WD Passport drives when plugged in—no problems yet with the JS.

If I'm lucky, I may be able to get another awesome deal on a second 8500, but every Samsung I've owned has served me well for several years. Plus, I prefer active 3D to passive (had a passive 2014 Sony model and didn't care for the effect). Seeing passive 3D on an LG OLED is probably incredible and immersive, but the forums I visited also mentioned burn-in on some models, so...

In other news, this insightful article explains why HDR10+ is very likely to happen for us, among other things — http://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.php...&id=1504871066

"One important detail that we learned is that HDR10+ can be supported over HDMI 2.0b. HDMI 2.1 is not a requirement, said Paul Williams. This opens the door to firmware updates for existing products."

Yay for updates and future-proofing! Boo for what sounds like...Game of Formats.
plasmodeus is offline  
post #22736 of 23873 Old 09-10-2017, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sports on the JS8500

Hi all, I know this has been asked before but does anyone have recommended settings for watching sports on cable for this TV? I've tried a few different setups but still nothing looks very good. Video games, Netflix, and any movies look phenomenal. Its just the Cable that looks awful.


Thanks
corey87 is offline  
post #22737 of 23873 Old 09-12-2017, 09:21 AM
Member
 
toonontherun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Ups

Would plugging a Samsung tv into this UPS be safe? All I need is 30 sec. before the whole home generator kicks on.
toonontherun is offline  
post #22738 of 23873 Old 09-12-2017, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,357
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4467 Post(s)
Liked: 2519
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonontherun View Post
Would plugging a Samsung tv into this UPS be safe? All I need is 30 sec. before the whole home generator kicks on.
You need a product that creates a pure sine wave... like this one:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00429N18S?ref=emc_b_5_t&th=1

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #22739 of 23873 Old 09-14-2017, 09:11 AM
Member
 
esrever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
UHD Color on all the time

Would there be any downside to leaving the UHD Color enabled all the time even when not using a 4K/HDR source, like DirecTV for example? Would this possibly produce color banding or anything of the sort?
esrever is offline  
post #22740 of 23873 Old 09-16-2017, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Dick Laurent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Banding

I've had this TV for almost two years now and all of the sudden I'm seeing banding. Really bad in underwater shots and skies, clouds, etc. Is this just a fluke thing? I'm well out of the warranty period, so no idea what to do as this was a big purchase that started off great, and now is annoying. No banding clouding or anything when first purchased. But now...


Anyone have experience with banding just starting seemingly out of nowhere? Am I just screwed now with this set?


Ugh,

"A skilled TV repairman, or the shop in which you buy your set, can detach the audio section of the unit from the amplifier and plug it into your hi-fi rig." - Martin Mayer, Hi-Fi, 1956
Dick Laurent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off