**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 78 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10024Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2311 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 03:12 PM
Member
 
thepark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckeegan View Post
I have DirecTV coming Monday to do the RVU/4K install. I was actually able to get it working myself, but I could not access my DVR recordings (couldn't even see a button to do so).

My other major concern is being stuck with using the Samsung remote. I mean, would it have been too much trouble to include freakin number buttons??? And why isnt there a voice navigation button on the remote? Is there an alternative remote we can buy that would work with RVU? It'd honestly be nice if we could use DirecTV's RF remote. I'm actually thinking about paying for a third receiver just so I don't have to re-teach my kids the remote, or my in-laws when they come to visit.
"Press and hold the MUTE & SELECT buttons until the green light at the top of the remote flashes twice, then key in the following manufacture code: 54000."
This got my Genie remote to work with the RVU in my JS9000.
thepark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2312 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 03:23 PM
Member
 
BeyondHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4K Tech View Post
A week or so ago I updated my 65JS8500 to the latest firmware, version T-HKMAKUC-1218.0, and as of a couple of days ago I now see a pop-up overlay animation in the lower-right corner of the screen when I switch to certain channels such as CNN, MSNBC, and ESPN. The pop-up only appears for about 5 seconds and darkens the lower-right corner of the screen during that time, which is what called my attention to it in the first place. It was difficult to read the pop-up because the CNN logo overpowered it, but when I changed channels I was finally able to decipher it, and it said, "Press EXTRA" accompanied by rolling text underneath which said, "Program Info," "Cast," "Tweets." I pressed the EXTRA button on the remote and a few seconds later live Tweets appeared on the screen for the program I was viewing (if the EXTRA button wasn't pressed within a few seconds, the overlay disappeared and the screen returned to its normal brightness in that lower-right corner). I assume this has something to do with the Smart Hub/Samsung Apps, but I haven't been able to find a setting to disable it. Has anyone else experienced this too and can it be disabled? It's no biggie if it can't be disabled, but I'd prefer to not have it appear on any channels, or to just activate it at my own choosing.
It's very easy to do;

1.Press the EXTRA button on the remote control
2.Scroll Down to "Settings"
3.Uncheck the first box to disable the pop-up feature

Done
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	186.0 KB
ID:	799010  
Troy LaMont likes this.
BeyondHD is offline  
post #2313 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
prme19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Anybody who just bought their video packs from Best Buy had any luck downloading UHD/HDR from M-GO? My replacement video pack from Amazon will be arriving on Monday. I doubt if it will work. We'll see.

my JS8500 movie calibration settings as of 8/8/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post34495410
my JS8500 standard calibration settings as of 6/18/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post35124130
prme19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2314 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 03:42 PM
Member
 
techlogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hey guys, I've been getting a lot of I guess what is called judder while watching regular TV shows. Anything that has motion, simple screen panning/movement shots of people moving etc..it studders across the pan real obviously.

I'm using a few of the posted calibration Eruiz and PRME19s settings.

Auto motion clear
Smart LED standard
Cinema black On
All other dynamic things set to Off

Any suggestions to try?

The JU7100 and LG8500 I just replaced this with never showed this behavior.

Good example is during Jeopardy, when a new clue/answer is revealed, and it zooms in to fill the screen with words, it does this judder effect as it goes from the small to large size. Not always, but does it a lot. I was just watching a regular show on TLC and a lot of scenes this was happening as well as it followed people moving, or the camera panned on things.

Thx
techlogik is offline  
post #2315 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
prme19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
Liked: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by techlogik View Post
Hey guys, I've been getting a lot of I guess what is called judder while watching regular TV shows. Anything that has motion, simple screen panning/movement shots of people moving etc..it studders across the pan real obviously.

I'm using a few of the posted calibration Eruiz and PRME19s settings.

Auto motion clear
Smart LED standard
Cinema black On
All other dynamic things set to Off

Any suggestions to try?

The JU7100 and LG8500 I just replaced this with never showed this behavior.

Good example is during Jeopardy, when a new clue/answer is revealed, and it zooms in to fill the screen with words, it does this judder effect as it goes from the small to large size. Not always, but does it a lot. I was just watching a regular show on TLC and a lot of scenes this was happening as well as it followed people moving, or the camera panned on things.

Thx
Go to Picture Options>Auto Motion Plus and try the different presets here, if you still have the Judder. Choose the Custom preset and adjust the judder reduction and blur reduction.

my JS8500 movie calibration settings as of 8/8/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post34495410
my JS8500 standard calibration settings as of 6/18/15 https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...l#post35124130
prme19 is offline  
post #2316 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 03:58 PM
Member
 
techlogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by prme19 View Post
Go to Picture Options>Auto Motion Plus and try the different presets here, if you still have the Judder. Choose the Custom preset and adjust the judder reduction and blur reduction.
Will do and I'll report back. Thx
techlogik is offline  
post #2317 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 05:41 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good day, I am getting light leak at the bottom of my 55js8500 only on some 4k videos not all, source is youtube, can anyone tell me if this is ok?
Diazjoaquin is offline  
post #2318 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
smp0887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Do not buy this tv!!! Complete garbage!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150627_200239_1435453673351.jpg
Views:	833
Size:	98.8 KB
ID:	799226  
smp0887 is offline  
post #2319 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Shawn0413's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
After getting everything set up,and a few days of tweaking the picture,which to be honest I don't know a lot about. I am very impressed with the 48 8500. I have and still have Plasma T.V. In my house and have to say as close to plasma that I have seen in my opinion. Still need to get a good calibration done. The things I really need to figure out is the best auto motion setting,etc.No light bleed and clouding,which I am so thankful for.
Shawn0413 is offline  
post #2320 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by smp0887 View Post
Do not buy this tv!!! Complete garbage!!!
That's what my first set looked like. My exchange unit is almost perfect. It's not the tv, it's the LCD tech. If possible clouding bothers you then you can spend twice as much and grab yourself the 9500 which does a good job at masking clouding using FALD. Other than that your options are a used plasma or an OLED which currently has a few problems of its own. Good luck.
FromPlasma2LCD is offline  
post #2321 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 07:34 PM
Member
 
cozbyrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Van,TX
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diazjoaquin View Post
Good day, I am getting light leak at the bottom of my 55js8500 only on some 4k videos not all, source is youtube, can anyone tell me if this is ok?
Other people have complained about this as well. You might looks several pages back to see if there was a fix.
cozbyrt is offline  
post #2322 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Bought this TV a month ago and just yesterday got it all hooked up as we just bought a new home and had cable and Internet installed finally.

Picture looks great but I do have what appears to be significant clouding. Just curious if this is exchange worthy or par for the course?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150627_202536_1435459238843.jpg
Views:	546
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	799426  
Kramerica11 is offline  
post #2323 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diazjoaquin View Post
Good day, I am getting light leak at the bottom of my 55js8500 only on some 4k videos not all, source is youtube, can anyone tell me if this is ok?
On the YouTube settings on the left side of the YouTube app, click settings then click "show video info" and it will display the info of what you are watching on the screen. Not all videos that say 4k on YouTube mean they are 3840x2160. Some labeled 4k are actually in 1440p. And all 1440p videos I've watched have that multicolored line at the bottom of the tv. So when you see that line check the info of the resolution to see. If you have that line and it's the 1440p resolution then you're in the same boat as everyone else as thoses videos have the same line for everyone.
FromPlasma2LCD is offline  
post #2324 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramerica11 View Post
Bought this TV a month ago and just yesterday got it all hooked up as we just bought a new home and had cable and Internet installed finally.

Picture looks great but I do have what appears to be significant clouding. Just curious if this is exchange worthy or par for the course?
Did you take that picture with a cellphone? Cameras have a tendency to capture a lot more light than your eye might and make clouding look worse in a picture than what your eye can see. Use some of the calibrations posted in this thread and see if that helps any. If you can see that clouding within normal viewing after calibrating it then yes return or exchange the set.
FromPlasma2LCD is offline  
post #2325 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by FromPlasma2LCD View Post
Did you take that picture with a cellphone? Cameras have a tendency to capture a lot more light than your eye might and make clouding look worse in a picture than what your eye can see. Use some of the calibrations posted in this thread and see if that helps any. If you can see that clouding within normal viewing after calibrating it then yes return or exchange the set.
Thanks for the reply. I did use my cellphone, but only after I noticed the clouding during regular viewing. You're correct though that the picture I posted looks worse than what I initially observed with my own eyes. I have read every post on this thread and I calibrated using Prme settings.

Does anyone have decent success with trying to "massage" the screen to reduce/eliminate the clouding?
Kramerica11 is offline  
post #2326 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
crn3371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,488
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by smp0887 View Post
Do not buy this tv!!! Complete garbage!!!
That's it everyone! Sell your TV's and close the thread.
crn3371 is offline  
post #2327 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 489
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 342 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramerica11 View Post
Thanks for the reply. I did use my cellphone, but only after I noticed the clouding during regular viewing. You're correct though that the picture I posted looks worse than what I initially observed with my own eyes. I have read every post on this thread and I calibrated using Prme settings.

Does anyone have decent success with trying to "massage" the screen to reduce/eliminate the clouding?
My only success was an exchange. EVERY LCD has uneven uniformity if you look hard enough. Some are worse than others. Some use FALD to disguise it but at an extreme price. Edge lit tvs usually have the worst issues and the larger the set the worse it can be. Issues like when it was made and where it was made and how it was shipped can add to the uniformity issues. So on top of manufacturing problems and overtightened screws or mishandling the tv and flexing the screen, the issues can get worse over time. You just have to get a set that is acceptable to your eyes and when you find it, keep it. In my opinion, LCDs were never meant to be viewed in a dark room and that is when you see these clouding and flashlight issues. A simple bias light will negate a lot of those issues. Try it. Watch your tv calibrated in a pitch black room. The screen appears dark but maybe grayish dark or grayish blue. Then turn on a light in the room and the screen just seems to absorb the light and automatically turns it to a nice dark black. I'm so used the perfect uniformity of my plasma TV and watching it in a pitch black room that I now have to learn to watch this LCD with a bias light on
techlogik likes this.
FromPlasma2LCD is offline  
post #2328 of 24275 Old 06-27-2015, 09:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmkr27 View Post
This was too dark for me. Any other suggestions?
Eruiz's setting were too dark for me too. Try prme19s settings. Tweak to your preference from there.
TheCrow1994 and filmkr27 like this.
trailryder42 is offline  
post #2329 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
WERA689's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Canton, GA
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Well, I finally redid my setup again today, and I have RVU working now! I tried using the Samsung remote, but it's a mess to use with RVU. I ended up taking a spare RC-71 directv remote and pairing it with the tv.

There are some things about my setup that I can't discuss, but I may be able to help with any general RVU questions anyone may have.
WERA689 is offline  
post #2330 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 06:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jonesky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramerica11 View Post
Bought this TV a month ago and just yesterday got it all hooked up as we just bought a new home and had cable and Internet installed finally.

Picture looks great but I do have what appears to be significant clouding. Just curious if this is exchange worthy or par for the course?
My 750D had that. Really did not like it. Exchanged for 850D and I do not have this. So, personally, I think it is a bad unit. I would exchange. But that is imho and I'm not an expert. Just anecdotal.
Jonesky is offline  
post #2331 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 06:29 AM
Member
 
techlogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by smp0887 View Post
Do not buy this tv!!! Complete garbage!!!
I just received a 55" version, only a few times, using PRME19s settings with a few minor tweaks of my own, have I seen any type of edge bleed, uniformity issues. That looks like the JU7100 and LG8500 I had. They were horrible with this. I'm guessing like others, you got a bad one. Sucks to play the return game, but send it back, get another and see how that goes. If not, jump to the Sony. Next best option for LEDs these days. Nature of the technology.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kramerica11 View Post
Bought this TV a month ago and just yesterday got it all hooked up as we just bought a new home and had cable and Internet installed finally.

Picture looks great but I do have what appears to be significant clouding. Just curious if this is exchange worthy or par for the course?
That looks like the JU7100 and LG8500 I had. They were horrible with this. I'm guessing like others, you got a bad one. As I wrote above, after tweaking, I've only seen a few uniformity/clouding/edge issues, maybe twice so far. Will see how it progresses, got a 60 day return allowance in case any issues arise. So far, the JS8500 55" TH01 panel, tweaks from prme19 with my own minor preferences, this set it miles ahead of the JU7100 and the LG8500 I've had.
techlogik is offline  
post #2332 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 06:34 AM
Member
 
techlogik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by trailryder42 View Post
Eruiz's setting were too dark for me too. Try prme19s settings. Tweak to your preference from there.
Agreed, found this to be true as well, plus my room has more ambient light, and I have light bias above/behind the TV and often behind our seating area. But at night, like all LCDs, it can get a bit bright still.

I think I tweaked the contrast/backlight/brightness just a touch. But it also depends on the source. It is good to have two setups stored, like the Standard/Movie modes, and tweak one for lighter/ambient/day watching, then night/darker watching.

The LG 8500 had this issue really badly...it can be like your corneas are burning out of your eyes. Otherwise, the 8500 is a big improvement over other sets I've tried the past month. Biggest complaint is the upscaling/motion performance...nature of bleeding edge technology and source limitations at time on regular broadcast/Sat TV. Even OTA antenna I have has the same issues as a backup to Sat TV when it rains and it goes out.
techlogik is offline  
post #2333 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
TheCrow1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Is anybody else watching "Mozart" and "Red Oaks" on Amazon Prime video? I know these shows are supposed to steam HDR on our JS8500's, but is there anything I have to do to the settings to get the video to show in HDR? I watched about a 1/2 hour of "Mozart" in Movie mode and the settings never automatically changed (backlight to 20, etc.). I thought I read about people with the JS9500 having their settings automatically change after a few minutes of streaming these same shows. Am I supposed to change to "Natural" mode in the Picture setting to achieve HDR? I believe I am running the latest versions of my apps, because the update apps choice is greyed out in the menu and when I hover over it, the screen says all your apps are up to date. Will restarting the Smart Hub have any affect? Thanks for the help.
TheCrow1994 is offline  
post #2334 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mpgxsvcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 8,921
Mentioned: 57 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2969 Post(s)
Liked: 2627
Looks like the 78" JS8600 has a price($7999 after a $2000 discount). Will that TV be tracked in this thread or will it get its own thread?

It looks like a great TV and fills a big hole in the Samsung lineup. However, it is pricier than I thought it would be.

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN78JS8600FXZA
mpgxsvcd is offline  
post #2335 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
cwdonahue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmkr27 View Post
This was too dark for me. Any other suggestions?
Try my adaptation of those settings. Posted them a few days ago.
filmkr27 likes this.
cwdonahue is offline  
post #2336 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Beefchopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgxsvcd View Post
Looks like the 78" JS8600 has a price($7999 after a $2000 discount). Will that TV be tracked in this thread or will it get its own thread?

It looks like a great TV and fills a big hole in the Samsung lineup. However, it is pricier than I thought it would be.

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN78JS8600FXZA
Is the 78JS8600 edge lit or FALD? Seems like an awfully large screen to be edge lit if it is.
Beefchopper is offline  
post #2337 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by FromPlasma2LCD View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diazjoaquin View Post
Good day, I am getting light leak at the bottom of my 55js8500 only on some 4k videos not all, source is youtube, can anyone tell me if this is ok?
On the YouTube settings on the left side of the YouTube app, click settings then click "show video info" and it will display the info of what you are watching on the screen. Not all videos that say 4k on YouTube mean they are 3840x2160. Some labeled 4k are actually in 1440p. And all 1440p videos I've watched have that multicolored line at the bottom of the tv. So when you see that line check the info of the resolution to see. If you have that line and it's the 1440p resolution then you're in the same boat as everyone else as thoses videos have the same line for everyone.
Thank you for expaining, much appreciated. Good day
Diazjoaquin is offline  
post #2338 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesky View Post
My 750D had that. Really did not like it. Exchanged for 850D and I do not have this. So, personally, I think it is a bad unit. I would exchange. But that is imho and I'm not an expert. Just anecdotal.
Thanks so much both you and FromplasmatoLCD for the feedback. This is a 55JS8500 with a TH01 panel.

I may be out of luck as my return window just passed since I've had the TV a month, even though I only powered it up and calibrated it Friday. My backlight is only at 9 and overall I'm still happy with it. I'm actually more upset the mgo app isn't working with my uhd video pack. I don't understand why it works for some and not others.
Kramerica11 is offline  
post #2339 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 11:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Originally Posted by 4K Tech

A week or so ago I updated my 65JS8500 to the latest firmware, version T-HKMAKUC-1218.0, and as of a couple of days ago I now see a pop-up overlay animation in the lower-right corner of the screen when I switch to certain channels such as CNN, MSNBC, and ESPN. The pop-up only appears for about 5 seconds and darkens the lower-right corner of the screen during that time, which is what called my attention to it in the first place. It was difficult to read the pop-up because the CNN logo overpowered it, but when I changed channels I was finally able to decipher it, and it said, "Press EXTRA" accompanied by rolling text underneath which said, "Program Info," "Cast," "Tweets." I pressed the EXTRA button on the remote and a few seconds later live Tweets appeared on the screen for the program I was viewing (if the EXTRA button wasn't pressed within a few seconds, the overlay disappeared and the screen returned to its normal brightness in that lower-right corner). I assume this has something to do with the Smart Hub/Samsung Apps, but I haven't been able to find a setting to disable it. Has anyone else experienced this too and can it be disabled? It's no biggie if it can't be disabled, but I'd prefer to not have it appear on any channels, or to just activate it at my own choosing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeyondHD View Post
It's very easy to do;

1.Press the EXTRA button on the remote control
2.Scroll Down to "Settings"
3.Uncheck the first box to disable the pop-up feature

Done
Thanks very much for your help! This isn't documented anywhere in the Samsung E-Manual or Apps screens, so I'm grateful for your assistance. I didn't realize that once I pressed the EXTRA button, there are several choices to make by next pressing the up or down arrows on the remote, and that one of those options is "Settings" (so in my case, getting to the Settings option would be an additional Step 1a in your instructions) and from there to then choose the "General" option to modify whether that pop-up App appears, how long it stays on the screen, etc. Thanks again for this insight.
4K Tech is offline  
post #2340 of 24275 Old 06-28-2015, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
allencc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 195 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsisock79 View Post
Speaking of game mode, would anyone mind sharing their game mode calibration settings?
Picture Mode: Game
Backlight 9
Contrast 97
Brightness 42
Sharpness 15 (preference)
Color 57
Tint 50/50

White Balance

2 Pt
R offset 0
G offset 0
B offset 0
R gain 10
G gain 15
B gain 27

Color Space: Native

Gamma: +3
Color Tone: Standard
HDMI Black lvl: Normal
HDMI UHD Color: On
Smart LED: Standard
Cinema Black: Off
Dynamic Contrast: Off
Black Tone: Off
Flesh Tone: 0

PS4 settings: RGB set to FULL and DeepColor: Auto

Keep in mind that I am using PowerSavings: LOW under ECO settings options for TV. This setting lowers backlight for better black levels(for me). So, if you use these settings,
you may have to lower backlight to 6-8. Perfect settings with no black crush. Until someone can post some good custom Color Space settings.
Native color space has bolder and more saturated colors. To balance it out, I used +3 gamma then lowered brightness to 42. Alternately, you can try gamma +2
then brightness at 43. I keep switching between the two but am liking the +3 gamma and 42 bright combo. Feel free to bash if you don't like.
allencc3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off