**OFFICIAL** 2015 Samsung 4K SUHD JS8500 Series TV Thread - Page 791 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10054Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23701 of 24327 Old 12-09-2018, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,885
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by maestreaux View Post
Anyone have any tips or tricks to get ARC (Audio Return Channel) to work? I've been trying for 2 years and it never seems to work?

I've been using it from day one. Works fine most of the time. You have to have an HDMI cable that supports Arc (HDMI 1.3a or higher), use HDMI 4 in the one connect, use the HDMI port on your audio device marked for Arc, set up the device to use Arc, and set the tv t ok use HDMI out for audio. I also set it to bitstream out.
TravisBean likes this.

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23702 of 24327 Old 12-10-2018, 09:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bp787's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,885
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 948 Post(s)
Liked: 653
I know this is a TV thread, but I need some advice in switching to something other than the built in apps on the tv...

I have been using amazon/netflix/plex apps on the tv with audio over ARC. I have a 7.1/5.2.1 audio setup.

I'm getting annoyed at losing audio quality when using plex. I have a ton of movies that support 7.1, etc... Not so much a problem with netflix/amazon, of course.

I've been looking at the Nvidia Shield TV. It has all the apps and appears to get what I want.

users of the Shield, do you recommend getting one?

I want:
7.1/5.2.1/atmos from plex. netflix/amazon if possible.
4k HDR from plex, netflix, and amazon at a minimum

I'm also testing out youtube tv, hulu, and playstation vue as cord cutting options, which the shield has apps for. How do they work?

I have chromecast, which works fine. I also have a 4k BR player with most of the apps, but it's slow as snot to load/boot, etc... I don't want apple tv. This leaves me with few options.

Sony xbr65x850c Side Blooming test clips:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...br65x850c.xlsx
bp787 is offline  
post #23703 of 24327 Old 12-10-2018, 07:53 PM
Newbie
 
M.House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone have experience with the JS8500 and the Samsung UBD-M7500 Ultra HD Blu-ray player? I've been trying to get the two to work together for a couple of days now without any luck.

I switched on UHD Color, tried a few different inputs, got new HDMI cables that are certified for [email protected] 4:4:4, switched Anynet+ on/off, etc. but still can't get a signal. I also tried the UBD-M7500 on a newer TCL set and didn't have any luck there either. At this point, I'm thinking that the player is DOA. The remote will open and close the tray so it's not entirely dead, but definitely no signal so far.

Any tips/tricks/ideas to try before I return it to Best Buy would be appreciated.
M.House is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23704 of 24327 Old 12-10-2018, 08:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.House View Post
Anyone have experience with the JS8500 and the Samsung UBD-M7500 Ultra HD Blu-ray player? I've been trying to get the two to work together for a couple of days now without any luck.

I switched on UHD Color, tried a few different inputs, got new HDMI cables that are certified for [email protected] 4:4:4, switched Anynet+ on/off, etc. but still can't get a signal. I also tried the UBD-M7500 on a newer TCL set and didn't have any luck there either. At this point, I'm thinking that the player is DOA. The remote will open and close the tray so it's not entirely dead, but definitely no signal so far.

Any tips/tricks/ideas to try before I return it to Best Buy would be appreciated.
I would just take it straight back to Best Buy & plug it into one of their TV's, if it's faulty there, exchange it straight away & perhaps test the replacement before you leave.

Theatre - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, Klipsch R820F Fronts, Klipsch R-52C Centre, Klipsch R-51 Surrounds, Klipsch R-100SW Sub x2, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.2.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite.
mc_avs is offline  
post #23705 of 24327 Old 12-11-2018, 08:47 AM
Member
 
HondaF17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bp787 View Post
I know this is a TV thread, but I need some advice in switching to something other than the built in apps on the tv...

I have been using amazon/netflix/plex apps on the tv with audio over ARC. I have a 7.1/5.2.1 audio setup.

I'm getting annoyed at losing audio quality when using plex. I have a ton of movies that support 7.1, etc... Not so much a problem with netflix/amazon, of course.

I've been looking at the Nvidia Shield TV. It has all the apps and appears to get what I want.

users of the Shield, do you recommend getting one?

I want:
7.1/5.2.1/atmos from plex. netflix/amazon if possible.
4k HDR from plex, netflix, and amazon at a minimum

I'm also testing out youtube tv, hulu, and playstation vue as cord cutting options, which the shield has apps for. How do they work?

I have chromecast, which works fine. I also have a 4k BR player with most of the apps, but it's slow as snot to load/boot, etc... I don't want apple tv. This leaves me with few options.
I just did the same thing, except I opted for the Roku Ultra. I generally think the Samsung TV apps suck, which is why I looked for a 3rd option. Roku Ultra has been fine for me thus far. I also have an Atmos setup but getting a device that works all apps Atmos has been frustrating.

I do NOT get Atmos from Amazon on Roku Ultra. I have no idea why not. Jack Ryan is an Atmos title and my Denon AVR says DD +.
I do NOT get Atmos from Netflix. I think Netflix is very particular about which devices it supports with Atmos?
I DO get Atmos from Vudu...some titles work, some titles don't. I haven't figured out why some do and some don't. The ones that don't my AVR says DD +.

It has been frustrating but I do not fault the Roku Ultra.

Anyone have other thoughts?
HondaF17 is offline  
post #23706 of 24327 Old 12-11-2018, 09:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by HondaF17 View Post
I just did the same thing, except I opted for the Roku Ultra. I generally think the Samsung TV apps suck, which is why I looked for a 3rd option. Roku Ultra has been fine for me thus far. I also have an Atmos setup but getting a device that works all apps Atmos has been frustrating.

I do NOT get Atmos from Amazon on Roku Ultra. I have no idea why not. Jack Ryan is an Atmos title and my Denon AVR says DD +.
I do NOT get Atmos from Netflix. I think Netflix is very particular about which devices it supports with Atmos?
I DO get Atmos from Vudu...some titles work, some titles don't. I haven't figured out why some do and some don't. The ones that don't my AVR says DD +.

It has been frustrating but I do not fault the Roku Ultra.

Anyone have other thoughts?

I agree with Roku Ultra or Roku SS+ being probably a good solution.

Last edited by Adored Black Stray-Cat; 12-11-2018 at 09:51 AM.
Adored Black Stray-Cat is offline  
post #23707 of 24327 Old 12-11-2018, 11:11 AM
Member
 
wraithrsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by HondaF17 View Post
I just did the same thing, except I opted for the Roku Ultra. I generally think the Samsung TV apps suck, which is why I looked for a 3rd option. Roku Ultra has been fine for me thus far. I also have an Atmos setup but getting a device that works all apps Atmos has been frustrating.

I do NOT get Atmos from Amazon on Roku Ultra. I have no idea why not. Jack Ryan is an Atmos title and my Denon AVR says DD +.
I do NOT get Atmos from Netflix. I think Netflix is very particular about which devices it supports with Atmos?
I DO get Atmos from Vudu...some titles work, some titles don't. I haven't figured out why some do and some don't. The ones that don't my AVR says DD +.

It has been frustrating but I do not fault the Roku Ultra.

Anyone have other thoughts?
I've had no issues on my Apple TV 4K with Atmos on either Amazon, Netflix, or Vudu.

KDL40S2000 (still in use), UN55D7000 (10+ dead pixels, returned), TC-L32DT30 (still in use), KDL55HX820 (sold), 55JU7500 (cracked screen OOB, returned), 55JS8500 (light bleeding, returned after shady dealing by Samsung which involved BBB), OLED65C9PUA
Denon X1600H, Klipsch R-26FA x2, SVS PB-1000, Paradigm SE 2000C, Dayton B652-Air (surrounds).
wraithrsw is offline  
post #23708 of 24327 Old 12-17-2018, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
M.House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mc_avs View Post
I would just take it straight back to Best Buy & plug it into one of their TV's, if it's faulty there, exchange it straight away & perhaps test the replacement before you leave.
Good idea. As an update, I took it back to Best Buy and Geek Squad tested the UBD-M7500 on one of their TVs in the back. It worked just fine for him and he couldn't think of anything that I didn't try at home, so I went ahead and swapped it for a different unit (same model). I took it home and hooked everything up with exactly the same cables, inputs etc. and it worked immediately. Works well so far and does 24p.

Are there any real differences between what kind of signal the various HDMI inputs on the TV can handle? I'm currently using HDMI3.
M.House is offline  
post #23709 of 24327 Old 12-17-2018, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
mc_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 632
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by M.House View Post
Good idea. As an update, I took it back to Best Buy and Geek Squad tested the UBD-M7500 on one of their TVs in the back. It worked just fine for him and he couldn't think of anything that I didn't try at home, so I went ahead and swapped it for a different unit (same model). I took it home and hooked everything up with exactly the same cables, inputs etc. and it worked immediately. Works well so far and does 24p.

Are there any real differences between what kind of signal the various HDMI inputs on the TV can handle? I'm currently using HDMI3.
The only difference I can think of is, have turned on the HDMI UHD Colour for the particular inputs that will be using a 4K HDR Signal?

Theatre - Sony 65" A8F OLED, Pioneer SC-LX59 9.2 Receiver, Oppo UDP-203 UHD Blu-Ray Player, Klipsch R820F Fronts, Klipsch R-52C Centre, Klipsch R-51 Surrounds, Klipsch R-100SW Sub x2, ELAC Debut A4 Atmos Modules setup as 5.2.4, Sony PS4 Pro, Logitech Harmony Elite.
mc_avs is offline  
post #23710 of 24327 Old 12-17-2018, 04:47 PM
Member
 
sfsilicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Has anyone had issues with the JS8500 apps crashing? I've been experiencing this a bit with the Netflix app and also with Youtube app. Not sure if Samsung is maintaining the apps or testing them on the JS8500 at all. Just trying to figure out if it is just my set or if this is a more general problem. I have a UN40MU6300 and used several LG smart TVs and they are much more stable than my JS8500.
sfsilicon is online now  
post #23711 of 24327 Old 12-17-2018, 06:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tmdorsey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfsilicon View Post
Has anyone had issues with the JS8500 apps crashing? I've been experiencing this a bit with the Netflix app and also with Youtube app. Not sure if Samsung is maintaining the apps or testing them on the JS8500 at all. Just trying to figure out if it is just my set or if this is a more general problem. I have a UN40MU6300 and used several LG smart TVs and they are much more stable than my JS8500.


The apps crash on my set as well. At some point I’m going to get a dedicated streaming device.
tmdorsey is offline  
post #23712 of 24327 Old 12-18-2018, 09:46 AM
Member
 
sfsilicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmdorsey View Post
The apps crash on my set as well. At some point I’m going to get a dedicated streaming device.
Thanks tmdorsey, good to know it is not just me. I don't have my set in a cabinet so I'm assuming this is not a temperature issue or more of a design problem. I already have a firetv and chromecast, its just more convenient to use the TV apps. Also if using external streaming device make sure they support hdmi2.0 and 60hz 4k. Youtube, Netflix and Amazon video have 4k content.
sfsilicon is online now  
post #23713 of 24327 Old 12-18-2018, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rockland, Taxachusetts
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Looks like after about 4 years my 65" 8500 is getting those pink bands that people have indicated meaning that the panel is going bad.

I still have time left on my Square trade warranty from Costco. Will they replace the panel on a 4 year old TV, or give me credit for a new model?

What is the current equivalent of the 8500 if I have to replace (not necessarily from Costco) ?

Home theater:
Samsung QN65Q80RAFXZA
Onkyo TX-RZ900 Receiver
Mirage 3si, Mcsi, OM-R2, BPSS-210
Tivo Roamio, AppleTV 4K, Harmony Ultimate One, Oppo BDP-103D
thos19 is offline  
post #23714 of 24327 Old 12-18-2018, 11:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lower Delaware
Posts: 1,106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 157
I think the UN800 is the current model. I just installed one in my neighbors house and I looks great.
thos19 likes this.

My set up: Samsung UN82nu8000 LED TV, Marantz SR7012, Emotiva XPA3, Sony UBP-X800
Roku 4k Premier, Panamax MR4000, 2 Marantz MA-500U, Klipsch KLF10 (L/R),
RC62II (center), R-1650-W (surrounds), RB81II (Rear Surrounds),
Monoprice 6.5" in ceiling speaker (top front/rear), Two Klipsch R-10SW subwoofer
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/show....php?t=1227096
jnnt29 is offline  
post #23715 of 24327 Old 12-18-2018, 01:32 PM
Member
 
locob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfsilicon View Post
Has anyone had issues with the JS8500 apps crashing? I've been experiencing this a bit with the Netflix app and also with Youtube app. Not sure if Samsung is maintaining the apps or testing them on the JS8500 at all. Just trying to figure out if it is just my set or if this is a more general problem. I have a UN40MU6300 and used several LG smart TVs and they are much more stable than my JS8500.

I've been watching a show series on Amazon Prime. No issues for this app with my TV.
locob is offline  
post #23716 of 24327 Old 12-20-2018, 04:32 AM
Member
 
rbrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 15
pink/purple bands

Quote:
Originally Posted by thos19 View Post
Looks like after about 4 years my 65" 8500 is getting those pink bands that people have indicated meaning that the panel is going bad.

I still have time left on my Square trade warranty from Costco. Will they replace the panel on a 4 year old TV, or give me credit for a new model?

What is the current equivalent of the 8500 if I have to replace (not necessarily from Costco) ?
I started noticing the same horizontal bands on my set while watching the snow scenes in the movie Alpha. I searched for information regarding the banding issue, but didn't see anything until your post. I wish I had purchased an extended warranty. I am done with Samsung products. Every Samsung appliance I own has failed and now a three year old TV. My next TV will probably be a Sony.
thos19 and pilotart like this.
rbrog is offline  
post #23717 of 24327 Old 12-20-2018, 04:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by thos19 View Post
Looks like after about 4 years my 65" 8500 is getting those pink bands that people have indicated meaning that the panel is going bad.

I still have time left on my Square trade warranty from Costco. Will they replace the panel on a 4 year old TV, or give me credit for a new model?

What is the current equivalent of the 8500 if I have to replace (not necessarily from Costco) ?
My experience with Squaretrade is that if the repair is equal or less than the dollar range of the extended warranty value, they will repair the set if possible. Otherwise they will cut you a check for the dollar value of the extended warranty you pruchased (typically the purchase price of the TV). If you have already had service on the extended warranty, then the dollar value of the warranty will have decreased by the amount square trade has already paid for service earlier.
thos19 likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #23718 of 24327 Old 12-20-2018, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry if I am hijacking here.

I have a 65 inch js8500 and I love it. I have a 4k netflix account and amazon prime video.

The picture quality on 4k HDR videos from you samsung YoutTube app is AMAZING, but picture on the netflix app is ok, and on the Amazon app is pretty much unwatchable due to artifacting and just crap image quality. Is this something other owners of this TV have found?

I have tried some 4k files with the built in Plex app and they are about the same quality as Netflix.

Is the poor image quality due to my settings? or just the internal apps being very poor. My thinking is that since the YouTube app looks so great it is the other 3 apps. If this is the case would a 4k apple TV or 4k Roku premiere resolve these issues?

Thank you in advance

Phad.
Phaddie is offline  
post #23719 of 24327 Old 12-20-2018, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 24
The poor image is coming from the source! Streaming apps with hdr rarely look good on anu tv compared to a 4k bluray device!! Get a good 4k player! Its a huuuge difference in quality compared to the built in apps
Cev8500 is offline  
post #23720 of 24327 Old 12-21-2018, 04:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phaddie View Post
Sorry if I am hijacking here.

I have a 65 inch js8500 and I love it. I have a 4k netflix account and amazon prime video.

The picture quality on 4k HDR videos from you samsung YoutTube app is AMAZING, but picture on the netflix app is ok, and on the Amazon app is pretty much unwatchable due to artifacting and just crap image quality. Is this something other owners of this TV have found?

Phad.

Nothing wrong with your settings. As has been said above, Both Netflix and Amazon 4k look pretty rubbish in comparison to Youtube 4k or the recent BBC 4k iplayer trials (world cup, Dynasties)


I use a Roku SS+ and the image quality is exactly the same from the TV apps. It's not the broadband speed either, I have 50meg.
Adored Black Stray-Cat is offline  
post #23721 of 24327 Old 12-21-2018, 11:52 AM
Member
 
allanlaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think 4k on Amazon (Prime, I assume you are talking about) is just fine. HOWEVER, make sure you are watching the 4k content. By default, Amazon will load the HD version of everything regardless of your TV being 4k HDR capable. So, go to the line on the main menu that reads "Included with Prime:Movie Genres" [click] and then select either "Prime 4k Ultra HD Prime Movie" or "Prime 4k Ultra HD TV." The selections under those headings are the 4k, or 4k HDR versions - note the "UHD" in the upper left portion of the selection. I've gone astray many times, most recently with "The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel," with the HD version because I loaded the program from the splash on the opening Amazon menu.

Also, I use the "movie" settings posted earlier on this thread, with gamma set to +1 or +2, for HDR content.

Of course, other sources of programming may be better, but I think Amazon UHD is certainly not unwatchable.
poppagene likes this.
allanlaw is offline  
post #23722 of 24327 Old 12-27-2018, 06:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Long time reader, first time posting. So my beautiful js8500 died on me. Barely three years old. Being a disabled vet with limited income I passed on the $500 extended warranty, thinking a $3k tv would last more than 5 years. Lessons learned. Needless to say samsung customer service is horrible. Acted like their tvs don't have a history of capacitor problems. Now, I am having to try and youtube sodering irons and powerboards. My wife won't let me junk it and get the lg oled.

Anyone else have this problem? TV clicks to act like it is turning on. Red light comes on for 5 seconds or so, then flashes for like 10 seconds. Then clicks on and this cycle goes for ever....black screen.
Andrew Higginbotham is offline  
post #23723 of 24327 Old 12-27-2018, 08:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 5
So...opened up the back and the capacitors are not blown. I guess I owe "Sharon" from India and apology. Any idea what this could be. When I hit power the tv clicks and red light at bottom of tv comes on. After a few seconds it starts to flash for twenty or so seconds. Then it clicks and light goes solid then blinks. Cycles like this until I unplug it.
Andrew Higginbotham is offline  
post #23724 of 24327 Old 12-28-2018, 06:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Higginbotham View Post
So...opened up the back and the capacitors are not blown. I guess I owe "Sharon" from India and apology. Any idea what this could be. When I hit power the tv clicks and red light at bottom of tv comes on. After a few seconds it starts to flash for twenty or so seconds. Then it clicks and light goes solid then blinks. Cycles like this until I unplug it.

Have you googled about the sequence of flashing lights? A few years ago I had a Panasonic that would only flash red a number of times, then repeat. It was a code that indicated what was wrong, Luckily it got fixed by John Lewis under guarantee. Count the exact number of flashes and see if you can find out the problem. If it indicates it is a capacitor problem then change all of them, they can be faulty and NOT look like they're bulging or leaking. If you feel confident enough to do the repair, you'll have nothing to lose and hopefully plenty to gain. Best of luck!
TravisBean likes this.
Adored Black Stray-Cat is offline  
post #23725 of 24327 Old 12-28-2018, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
JS8500 apps that play UHD

Is there an updated list of apps on the JS8500 that play UHD? I know that the JS8500 VUDU app still does not play UHD at all even though newer Samsung models do. Prime video and Netflix are also capable of UHD. Are there any other mainstream apps that play UHD?
sven98 is offline  
post #23726 of 24327 Old 12-28-2018, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by sven98 View Post
Is there an updated list of apps on the JS8500 that play UHD? I know that the JS8500 VUDU app still does not play UHD at all even though newer Samsung models do. Prime video and Netflix are also capable of UHD. Are there any other mainstream apps that play UHD?
FandangoNow can play UHD and UHD HDR. YouTube can play 4K (not HDR).

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #23727 of 24327 Old 12-28-2018, 12:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RMSko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Westfield, NJ 07090
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I posted this in its own thread, but didn't get any responses and so I apologize in advance for multiple posts, but figured that someone in this thread may know the answer to my question. Anyway, I have a Samsung HU8550 4K TV and it has an option to add "UHD color" to the HDMI inputs. I'm running all HDMI inputs into my AVR and then running that to my Samsung. As a result, some of the devices connected to the TV will be 4K compatible and others won't be. My question is whether it is advisable to add the "UHD color" functionality to the Samsung HDMI input from the AVR and have it on all the time even though a lot of the content that will be watched through that input is just 1080p? If that is the recommendation, are there any disadvantages?

Rich S
TiVo since 1999
RMSko is offline  
post #23728 of 24327 Old 12-28-2018, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adored Black Stray-Cat View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Higginbotham View Post
So...opened up the back and the capacitors are not blown. I guess I owe "Sharon" from India and apology. Any idea what this could be. When I hit power the tv clicks and red light at bottom of tv comes on. After a few seconds it starts to flash for twenty or so seconds. Then it clicks and light goes solid then blinks. Cycles like this until I unplug it.

Have you googled about the sequence of flashing lights? A few years ago I had a Panasonic that would only flash red a number of times, then repeat. It was a code that indicated what was wrong, Luckily it got fixed by John Lewis under guarantee. Count the exact number of flashes and see if you can find out the problem. If it indicates it is a capacitor problem then change all of them, they can be faulty and NOT look like they're bulging or leaking. If you feel confident enough to do the repair, you'll have nothing to lose and hopefully plenty to gain. Best of luck!
I have proper voltage from powerboard, and if I disconnect the mainboard it doesn't keep clicking. So I "think" my problem is a short on the mainboard. Ordered one today. Will know when it gets here in ten days.

Will look into the blinking thing tomorrow. Thanks for the reply.
Andrew Higginbotham is offline  
post #23729 of 24327 Old 12-30-2018, 06:27 PM
wux
Member
 
wux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Need help

Can someone tell me what is and why the image as attached appears on the left (or should it be called right) lower corner of my JS8500? The more serious problem, not sure if they are related, is that programs like YouTube have been doing play/pause back and forth constantly by itself after the TV is on a few minutes. Playing over the air programs is fine. Wired internet connection is fine. Reset the TV and reinstalled the YouTube did not solve the problem. Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JS8500.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	103.9 KB
ID:	2503092  
wux is offline  
post #23730 of 24327 Old 12-31-2018, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,036
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 380
That's the manual directional button for the panel settings located on the bottom right on the rear of the set. Just press the center button to disengage.
TravisBean likes this.

HOW TO - Kodi 2D - 3D - UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1909 / MPC-BE\HC / PotPlayer / PowerDVD 19 / DVDFab Player 3,5&6 / KODI 19 videoplayer
GTX960 4GB / RGB Full 4:4:4 / 8bit Desktop mode =60Hz / 10/12bit Video mode = Matched Refresh rates IE 23,24,25,60Hz
Samsung 82" Q90R / Denon S720W
brazen1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
JS8500 , reflection , screen flashing black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off