Sony 2015 XBR-55X850C / XBR-65X850C / XBR-75X850C owners club - Page 129 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11975Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3841 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
tron49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South of Chicago next to the Kankakee River
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsullivan1983 View Post
Put Star Trek: Into Darkness into my S7200 to play around with some settings earlier today. I noticed that I can set different modes using the BDP.... Should I mess with any of that or just use the TV's settings?
I think you are in the wrong FORUM thread... This is the SONY forum for 850C.


SONY XBR75X850C; OPPO 95; DENON AVR-X7200WA; PS Audio P10 Power Plant; Sony FMP-X10; (2) Mirage OMD-15, (2) OMD-R, (2) OMD-5, Omni S10, OMD-C2; Apple AirPort Extreme_ac network; Comcast Internet 350 MBs; Harmony Ultimate Home w/Hub;

Life is but a beautiful dream and death is it's rude awakening.
tron49 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3842 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktownhero View Post
Yeah I think I need to recalibrate.

Sent from my XT1095 using Tapatalk
Curious what you find being the calibration guru, If you recall I used your settings as a base.
I just rechecked black level using AVS HD 709 and see no changes using the black clipping test.

Could be this black level change with the latest firmware didn't affect me though, as I have the 55"
It might have been a change specific to the 65"+ models.
LD-838D is offline  
post #3843 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by tron49 View Post
I think you are in the wrong FORUM thread... This is the SONY forum for 850C.

He has an X850C. That is his BD player.
dalto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3844 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bsullivan1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tron49 View Post
I think you are in the wrong FORUM thread... This is the SONY forum for 850C.

He has an X850C. That is his BD player.
Thanks for backing me, Dalto. Any input on my question?
bsullivan1983 is offline  
post #3845 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
850C screen flicker and audio lag

Im looking for some suggestions on how to correct a couple,of issues I have encountered. First, I have noticed that periodically the screen will, for lack of a better description, insert a blank or black frame. It's somewhat annoying, and I think it may be related to my cable provider because I don't ever see it happen on streaming content.

The second issue is the audio lag on my Sony CT780 sound bar. There is a somewhat noticeable lag on the audio. I have the cable box connected to the TV and the TV to the sound bar on the ARC port.

Any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Jeff Sutton is offline  
post #3846 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsullivan1983 View Post
Thanks for backing me, Dalto. Any input on my question?
I am not sure what settings you are referring to, maybe some examples would be help understand better.

In general though, you want to let your TV do as much of the upscaling/video processing as possible unless you have a high-end video processor.
dalto is offline  
post #3847 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Sutton View Post
Im looking for some suggestions on how to correct a couple,of issues I have encountered. First, I have noticed that periodically the screen will, for lack of a better description, insert a blank or black frame. It's somewhat annoying, and I think it may be related to my cable provider because I don't ever see it happen on streaming content.
Make sure you don't have clearness set to MAX for that HDMI input. It is in the motion settings.
dalto is offline  
post #3848 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 09:24 PM
Senior Member
 
bsullivan1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsullivan1983 View Post
Thanks for backing me, Dalto. Any input on my question?
I am not sure what settings you are referring to, maybe some examples would be help understand better.

In general though, you want to let your TV do as much of the upscaling/video processing as possible unless you have a high-end video processor.
It looks like they're picture quality options.

What is the point in having a BD player with all of these amazing features/technology if you just let the TV do all of the processing all of the time?
bsullivan1983 is offline  
post #3849 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 09:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsullivan1983 View Post
It looks like they're picture quality options.

What is the point in having a BD player with all of these amazing features/technology if you just let the TV do all of the processing all of the time?
Not every TV has the video processing that your Sony has. The video processing capabilities of the S7200 would be more useful if you had a poor quality scalar in your TV.

That being said, feel free to try them out. You might decide you like them better.
dalto is offline  
post #3850 of 14920 Old 09-03-2015, 10:06 PM
Senior Member
 
hifichip76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Since a couple days ago, the Netflix app hasn't worked all of a sudden. It starts, stutters and shuts off. I tried restarting the TV and stopping the app. Anyone else have this? Amazon and other apps work fine. Netflix on my other devices is fine, too.
hifichip76 is offline  
post #3851 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 01:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkieMBR View Post
I did have a similar problem myself, does your Flick Remote (think that's what they call it, the one with the Built-in Mouse Track Pad) work? Reason I ask, is because one Day I had a problem where my 3D Glasses wouldn't work, and then went to use the Flick Remote, and that didn't work either.

Answer was, for some reason Bluetooth had turned itself off for some reason, turned it back on, Flick Remote started working again, and so did my 3D Glasses.

Hope that helps.
Mark.
I havent used it in a couple of weeks but I'll certainly give that a go when I get home from work, thanks!

I actually didn't know the glasses were Bluetooth
Markitron is offline  
post #3852 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 03:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifichip76 View Post
Since a couple days ago, the Netflix app hasn't worked all of a sudden. It starts, stutters and shuts off. I tried restarting the TV and stopping the app. Anyone else have this? Amazon and other apps work fine. Netflix on my other devices is fine, too.
I had the same issue. I'm not in front of my TV right now to guide you, but from the Settings/Apps section you're able to clear each app's locally stored content. This will allow the app to reset and work again. At least it did for me..
jonaholsson is offline  
post #3853 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 04:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: London
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgemboandislic View Post
Yes,mafter reading the HDR press release, I guess we have to wait a few weeks more...
Hi everyone. I've been away and not been keeping up. What's all this about HDR on the x850c? IS it coming in an update?

Sorry I know I could read the posts but there are a lot of them!

I'm loving the 850c still. Amazon and Netflix UHD looks awesome, but some shows still appear grainy to me - someone said the ones shot on film rather than digital?

I have Retrobox and my ps4 controller running great.

I'm selling my HT-CT380 soundbar. I love the wireless sub, but I'm fed up with the sync issues and connection problems using ARC - it often breaks and I need to reboot the soundbar and TV to get it back again. Oh, and it's an eye-sore.
jonny_guitar is offline  
post #3854 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Sutton View Post
Im looking for some suggestions on how to correct a couple,of issues I have encountered. First, I have noticed that periodically the screen will, for lack of a better description, insert a blank or black frame. It's somewhat annoying, and I think it may be related to my cable provider because I don't ever see it happen on streaming content.

The second issue is the audio lag on my Sony CT780 sound bar. There is a somewhat noticeable lag on the audio. I have the cable box connected to the TV and the TV to the sound bar on the ARC port.

Any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
I have the same setup and the same problem with audio lag. I've changed the digital audio output to 'auto 2'. That seems to have made it a only a little better.

I have the 75in. What size is your TV?
Alpha5 is offline  
post #3855 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 07:22 AM
Member
 
zgemboandislic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_guitar View Post
Hi everyone. I've been away and not been keeping up. What's all this about HDR on the x850c? IS it coming in an update?

Sorry I know I could read the posts but there are a lot of them!

I'm loving the 850c still. Amazon and Netflix UHD looks awesome, but some shows still appear grainy to me - someone said the ones shot on film rather than digital?

I have Retrobox and my ps4 controller running great.

I'm selling my HT-CT380 soundbar. I love the wireless sub, but I'm fed up with the sync issues and connection problems using ARC - it often breaks and I need to reboot the soundbar and TV to get it back again. Oh, and it's an eye-sore.
Yes, supposedly in the next update, in a week or two. 4K is pretty nice, but as you said, sometimes it's grainy, like in dark scenes in House of Cards (I don't think it's shot on film though). Other series like Blacklist have overall way better quality, even in dark scenes I haven't noticed any noise. Being able to see every pore and zit on actors' faces from 8 feet away is amazing isn't it?
zgemboandislic is offline  
post #3856 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
I can't believe nobody in the US has tried the HDR clips on the X850C yet.

Aren't you guys curious?
dalto is offline  
post #3857 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Quebec City, Canada
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
I can't believe nobody in the US has tried the HDR clips on the X850C yet.

Aren't you guys curious?
Both links don't work for me

Steve - Blogger at http://www.nextgenhometheater.com
Home Theater: Marantz SR7010 7.2.4 - Emotiva XPA-5/Outlaw 770 - KEF Q Series 2017 Speakers - SVS PB2000 Subs - JVC DLA-X550R - Samsung UBD-K8500
Living Room: Denon S710W 5.2.1 - KEF/Polk Speakers/Sub - LG OLED65C7P - XBox One X
SteveTheGeek is offline  
post #3858 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 86
With the release of the first 4k Blu-ray players, scheduled for around the first quarter of 2016, I suspect that a number of Home Theater enthusiasts who buy into 4k are going to be facing a dilemma of sorts. Those are consumers who enjoy 3D films, and there may still be a fairly large number of them.


I believe that the new players will pass through a Blu-ray 3D signal, allowing it to show 3D on a 4k set in upscaled 1080p, but at present there are no plans for producing 3D 4k discs. If I'm right, this is going to force 3D advocates to make a difficult purchase choice for a movie that is released in both 3D Blu-ray and 4k Blu-ray.


Which to buy? 3D can be an enjoyable viewing experience, but the quality of a pristine 4k release can hardly be ignored, especially by people in this forum who bought the 850c for the exclusive purpose of seeing 4k. Double-dipping could be an option, but hardly a reasonable one. Do we opt for 4k, leaving our 3D collection to whither on the vine? Or do we continue to buy only the 3D versions, missing out on great 4k quality?


At first thought it might almost seem sensible for studios to release 3D and 4k versions in a bonus pack, but I don't see that happening at all. For one thing, as soon as consumers see the 3D logo on the package, they may have a tendency to bypass it. Secondly, the cost of the package would probably be too high to be an attractive sell. A bundled offering of 4k Blu-ray, standard Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray, digital HD and supplements would likely be too expensive for most people's tastes.


Of course, there's another option altogether...


I'm not sure how popular 3D still is in regions outside of the United States, but I know that at one point it had quite an international following. If this is still true, it wouldn't surprise me if at some point companies begin releasing 3D 4k Blu-ray players and discs as a profitable option for these regions, with Region 1 as a future possibility. The beauty of this move is all that double-dipping!


In the meantime people like me are kind of stuck. I've got the 3D versions of Life of Pi and X-Men, and I like them, but if they're released in stellar 4k quality I'm not so sure what I'll do. At least it will be heartening to know I'm in good company.
4kfan is offline  
post #3859 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4kfan View Post
At first thought it might almost seem sensible for studios to release 3D and 4k versions in a bonus pack, but I don't see that happening at all. For one thing, as soon as consumers see the 3D logo on the package, they may have a tendency to bypass it. Secondly, the cost of the package would probably be too high to be an attractive sell. A bundled offering of 4k Blu-ray, standard Blu-ray, 3D Blu-ray, digital HD and supplements would likely be too expensive for most people's tastes.
I am curious to see how they are packaged early on. It seems likely that UHD BDs will sell for very high prices early on so it would not surprise me to see 3D BD discs included in the UHD offerings.
dalto is offline  
post #3860 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ktownhero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,009
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 583 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifichip76 View Post
Since a couple days ago, the Netflix app hasn't worked all of a sudden. It starts, stutters and shuts off. I tried restarting the TV and stopping the app. Anyone else have this? Amazon and other apps work fine. Netflix on my other devices is fine, too.
I had to reboot my TV fully to get Netflix to work last night.

Sent from my XT1095 using Tapatalk
ktownhero is offline  
post #3861 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveTheGeek View Post
Both links don't work for me
Ahh....looks like it was deleted.
dalto is offline  
post #3862 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
tron49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South of Chicago next to the Kankakee River
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Talking My BAD!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
He has an X850C. That is his BD player.
Sorry, I'm bad...

Not

SONY XBR75X850C; OPPO 95; DENON AVR-X7200WA; PS Audio P10 Power Plant; Sony FMP-X10; (2) Mirage OMD-15, (2) OMD-R, (2) OMD-5, Omni S10, OMD-C2; Apple AirPort Extreme_ac network; Comcast Internet 350 MBs; Harmony Ultimate Home w/Hub;

Life is but a beautiful dream and death is it's rude awakening.
tron49 is offline  
post #3863 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
tron49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South of Chicago next to the Kankakee River
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markitron View Post
I havent used it in a couple of weeks but I'll certainly give that a go when I get home from work, thanks!

I actually didn't know the glasses were Bluetooth
I have the same problems as you... and I knew that they were bluetooth.... watching the TV's screen while trying to sync... nothing after 3hrs of BS.

Hope you have better luck.

NOT

SONY XBR75X850C; OPPO 95; DENON AVR-X7200WA; PS Audio P10 Power Plant; Sony FMP-X10; (2) Mirage OMD-15, (2) OMD-R, (2) OMD-5, Omni S10, OMD-C2; Apple AirPort Extreme_ac network; Comcast Internet 350 MBs; Harmony Ultimate Home w/Hub;

Life is but a beautiful dream and death is it's rude awakening.
tron49 is offline  
post #3864 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by tron49 View Post
I have the same problems as you... and I knew that they were bluetooth.... watching the TV's screen while trying to sync... nothing after 3hrs of BS.

Hope you have better luck.

NOT
Are you using the 500A glasses as well. I just can't think of a reason they won't work, I have read it in enough places to know that they work with it.

Hopefully it was a bluetooth problem

Last edited by Markitron; 09-04-2015 at 09:00 AM.
Markitron is offline  
post #3865 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
I am curious to see how they are packaged early on. It seems likely that UHD BDs will sell for very high prices early on so it would not surprise me to see 3D BD discs included in the UHD offerings.
The obvious solution would be to offer 4K 3D versions. I'm sure that the internal marketing guru's will decide what will sell in each region. The US has already missed out on several 3D releases.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #3866 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha5 View Post
I have the same setup and the same problem with audio lag. I've changed the digital audio output to 'auto 2'. That seems to have made it a only a little better.

I have the 75in. What size is your TV?
I have the 55. I set the a/v sync off last night and that actually helped some. Go figure.
Jeff Sutton is offline  
post #3867 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 09:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dalto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,682
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1291 Post(s)
Liked: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
The obvious solution would be to offer 4K 3D versions. I'm sure that the internal marketing guru's will decide what will sell in each region. The US has already missed out on several 3D releases.
I was under the impression that 3D 4K would not easily fit in HDMI 2.0. I thought that was part of the reason we don't have it. Is that not the case?
dalto is offline  
post #3868 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalto View Post
I was under the impression that 3D 4K would not easily fit in HDMI 2.0. I thought that was part of the reason we don't have it. Is that not the case?
I have no idea if that's true but it sounds like a good excuse. Man we would do it if we could but it just won't fit. Where theirs a will theirs a way. Unless there is not enough profit to be made.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #3869 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Calibration Options

My XBR65x850c is being delivered on Monday. Does anyone have a recommendation between the three main calibration discs (Disney Wow, Spears & Munsil, or DVE). I am by no means an AV expert, but I am pretty tech savvy and a quick learner. Has anyone compared the end result between the three to see a noticeable difference? Thanks.
zsl1282 is offline  
post #3870 of 14920 Old 09-04-2015, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How is the XBR55X850C for gaming and movie watching? I am still in the buying mode and given that the Sony TVs would be getting the HDR update, I was wondering if I may as well get the 55 inch over a the Viz M70.
Totobrain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k suhd , android , firmware , hdr , ir blaster , reboot , XBR-55X850C , xbr-65x850c xbr-75x850c

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off