Sony 2015 XBR-55X850C / XBR-65X850C / XBR-75X850C owners club - Page 393 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 11992Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11761 of 14995 Old 10-24-2016, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
bassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach_N85 View Post
To get it to work you need to do the following:

1. In the TV settings, enable the "Enhanced HDMI" signal for the HDMI port you're using the PS4 on: Settings -> External Inputs -> HDMI Signal Format
2. You also need to enable HDR within the PS4's settings: Settings -> Sound and Screen -> Video Output Settings -> Set HDR and Deep Color output settings to Automatic.
3. Make sure you're using a high speed HDMI 2.0 cable with your PS4.
4. If your PS4 is connected to the TV through an AV receiver, the receiver needs to be capable of passing through 4K resolution.

After all is done, set the TV to Game mode, then launch an HDR capable game and check the Picture settings, it should say HDR.

Tnks all for the help. Its working now. Not sure if this was the issue, but the HDR mode only kiked in when I selected the "choose the best mode" to on (in the game mode - second option o think...).
bassin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11762 of 14995 Old 10-24-2016, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by platocplx View Post
Really? What does the 4k HDR gaming update bring with it? makes a lot of sense to prep their TVs for the Pro.


You know what I know... I'm just appreciative of a bit of advance warning and/or hope...
mrdjman is offline  
post #11763 of 14995 Old 10-24-2016, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdjman View Post
You know what I know... I'm just appreciative of a bit of advance warning and/or hope...
So are they thinking this week or first week of Nov for the update. I know the pro comes out on the 10th. It would make sense to have the update at least 2 weeks prior.
platocplx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11764 of 14995 Old 10-24-2016, 01:29 PM
Member
 
neggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
X55x850C with HT-CT790

what is the proper way to install my PS4 and X1 cable box to this sound bar and TV?
im having so many issue tyring to figure this installation out. the tv keeps switching it back to TV Speakers and not the Soundbar. Do i just hook up my ps4 and X1 to the TV via HDMI then optical to the soundbar? what will give me the best results and experiance.

my TV is XBR55x850C
soundbar is the Sony HT-CT790

thanks in advance everyone
neggie is offline  
post #11765 of 14995 Old 10-24-2016, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by platocplx View Post
So are they thinking this week or first week of Nov for the update. I know the pro comes out on the 10th. It would make sense to have the update at least 2 weeks prior.


I was told THIS week for the update...and later in Nov for Marshmallow.
mrdjman is offline  
post #11766 of 14995 Old 10-24-2016, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 268
This is about the third time I've seen this on my 55", never on our 75".
I turned on the TV, set it to the RCA input line, attempted to change the display to full from zoom. The TV restarted with Sony logo (no Android splash) and this came up. Any suggestions? Should I select 'Always' next time I see it? I have no idea since I'm not very knowledgeable about android OS.

Edit: After selecting "Once", the TV then goes to the Settings/Location screen.
This is very weird.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	zuh.jpg
Views:	363
Size:	642.3 KB
ID:	1733817  
DoctorM is offline  
post #11767 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Zach_N85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel.
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by neggie View Post
what is the proper way to install my PS4 and X1 cable box to this sound bar and TV?
im having so many issue tyring to figure this installation out. the tv keeps switching it back to TV Speakers and not the Soundbar. Do i just hook up my ps4 and X1 to the TV via HDMI then optical to the soundbar? what will give me the best results and experiance.

my TV is XBR55x850C
soundbar is the Sony HT-CT790

thanks in advance everyone
You'll need to connect your PS4, XONE and Cable Box through an HDMI cable directly to the TV and use an Optical cable from the TV to your Soundbar, or if your Soundbar has HDMI out you can connect it to the TV's ARC channel (Should be HDMI 4). Then you need to configure that the TV will output sound only from HDMI 4 for signals coming through HDMI 1-3. This will mean sound degradation though, as the ARC channel cannot output more than Dolby Digital, means no DTS or higher for you... Better get a proper AV receiver with HDMI/4K+HDR passthrough for the ultimate experience, oh and some speakers as well.
bassin likes this.
Zach_N85 is offline  
post #11768 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
bassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, can someone help?


If i connect a soundbar (LG LAS550H) to the TV (using the ARC HDMI) it will be possible to control de sound level usign the TV remote?


THANKS!!
bassin is offline  
post #11769 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 06:56 AM
Newbie
 
bassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just received a whatsapp from a friend saying that an Update Call apeared in his 55" one.. Maybe the HDR or Android one?
bassin is offline  
post #11770 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassin View Post
Just received a whatsapp from a friend saying that an Update Call apeared in his 55" one.. Maybe the HDR or Android one?

It's not showing up on the support site...yet...but it would be the HDR one. Marshmallow is in November.
mrdjman is offline  
post #11771 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I updated my 850C. Took about 20 minutes so is a significant update but cannot confirm what changes/updates are included

Last edited by Freddypop; 10-25-2016 at 11:30 AM.
Freddypop is offline  
post #11772 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 10:04 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,851
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9932 Post(s)
Liked: 6574
Quote:
Originally Posted by neggie View Post
what is the proper way to install my PS4 and X1 cable box to this sound bar and TV?
im having so many issue tyring to figure this installation out. the tv keeps switching it back to TV Speakers and not the Soundbar. Do i just hook up my ps4 and X1 to the TV via HDMI then optical to the soundbar? what will give me the best results and experiance.

my TV is XBR55x850C
soundbar is the Sony HT-CT790

thanks in advance everyone
I have my PS4 and XBOne S going to an HDMI 2.0a switch. Which then goes to Input 1 on my Sony 850C. Then it uses the ARC to send audio to my Sony HT-NT3. this has worked flawlessly. I have no issues getting 5.1 DTS or 5.1 DD over the ARC to my Sony speaker bar. And I've had no issues getting HDR from the PS4 or XBOne S this way.

This is much easier than dealing with an old legacy optical connection. One cable for audio and video has always been so much better. It's why I started dumping optical in 2005 as I switched all my devices to HDMi..

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11773 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 10:09 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,851
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9932 Post(s)
Liked: 6574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach_N85 View Post
You'll need to connect your PS4, XONE and Cable Box through an HDMI cable directly to the TV and use an Optical cable from the TV to your Soundbar, or if your Soundbar has HDMI out you can connect it to the TV's ARC channel (Should be HDMI 4). Then you need to configure that the TV will output sound only from HDMI 4 for signals coming through HDMI 1-3. This will mean sound degradation though, as the ARC channel cannot output more than Dolby Digital, means no DTS or higher for you... Better get a proper AV receiver with HDMI/4K+HDR passthrough for the ultimate experience, oh and some speakers as well.
???
The ARC on the 850C models handle 5.1 DD as well as 5.1 DTS. I have zero issues sending 5.1 DTS over the ARC. it's what I have my PS4 and XBOne S set to output. 1.5Mb/s 5.1 DTS is sent over the ARC from those gaming systems. If I switch them to 5.1 DD, then they send 640Kb/s 5.1 DD over the ARC.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11774 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Gitaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
???
The ARC on the 850C models handle 5.1 DD as well as 5.1 DTS. I have zero issues sending 5.1 DTS over the ARC. it's what I have my PS4 and XBOne S set to output. 1.5Mb/s 5.1 DTS is sent over the ARC from those gaming systems. If I switch them to 5.1 DD, then they send 640Kb/s 5.1 DD over the ARC.
Someone from thr sony community said this updated was released a couple of weeks ago in europe and have nothing to do with hdr. Anyone received an update last week.
Gitaroo is offline  
post #11775 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1024 Post(s)
Liked: 504
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdjman View Post
It's not showing up on the support site...yet...but it would be the HDR one. Marshmallow is in November.
My 75 is currently running the update.. You said the "HDR" one.. What is this update suppose to do as far as HDR (if this is the case)?
Gerry

Sony XBR 77A9G - Sony STR-DH790 ATMOS - Sony UBP-X700 UHD BD Player - 2019 Shield TV Pro - 2019 Roku Ultra
ggw2000 is offline  
post #11776 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Grubs92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
DOwnloading update on my 55 850c can anyone chime in on what this update is?
Grubs92 is offline  
post #11777 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
My 75 is currently running the update.. You said the "HDR" one.. What is this update suppose to do as far as HDR (if this is the case)?
Gerry
All I know is what I posted before...it has something to do with HDR/gaming and also provides 5.1 in the Amazon app... It should give a definition on the software page, when it's there...
mrdjman is offline  
post #11778 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Zach_N85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel.
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdjman View Post
All I know is what I posted before...it has something to do with HDR/gaming and also provides 5.1 in the Amazon app... It should give a definition on the software page, when it's there...
It's the HDR fix for 4K res: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answer.../c/66/kw/75736
Displaced Husker likes this.
Zach_N85 is offline  
post #11779 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Got the update on my 55" today. Anyone have a full list of changes?

Also, that Complete Using pop-up I got? I think it's because I turned the Location setting on.
DoctorM is offline  
post #11780 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 01:25 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,851
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9932 Post(s)
Liked: 6574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitaroo View Post
Someone from thr sony community said this updated was released a couple of weeks ago in europe and have nothing to do with hdr. Anyone received an update last week.
No idea about the update. The 850C handled DTS over the ARC back in 2015.

I'll need to download it when I get home tonight.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11781 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 02:12 PM
Member
 
GBarber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I just downloaded and installed the latest update and immediately checked the Amazon app due to the previous report that this update would enable 5.1 DD surround sound in this app. I can confirm that the report was correct. The Amazon app on my TV finally outputs 5.1 DD surround sound over ARC to my AV receiver.
aaronwt, flugelboy and DoctorM like this.

TV: Sony XBR55X850C
Blu-ray: Oppo UDP-203
Receiver: Denon AVR-X4300H
GBarber is online now  
post #11782 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 02:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know what this is on my tv? How do I get rid of it. It's a little icon now it's an android icon to the right of the picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1002_1477431711786.jpg
Views:	384
Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	1735129  
CooleyRobb is offline  
post #11783 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,162
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 268
Quote:
Originally Posted by CooleyRobb View Post
Does anyone know what this is on my tv? How do I get rid of it. It's a little icon now it's an android icon to the right of the picture
That's new.

Edit: Btw, firmware update still contains no Video App AR fix. Not surprised. That's only a year old, the Amazon 5.1 issue is older.

Last edited by DoctorM; 10-25-2016 at 02:58 PM.
DoctorM is offline  
post #11784 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrdjman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBarber View Post
I just downloaded and installed the latest update and immediately checked the Amazon app due to the previous report that this update would enable 5.1 DD surround sound in this app. I can confirm that the report was correct. The Amazon app on my TV finally outputs 5.1 DD surround sound over ARC to my AV receiver.


As I mentioned a few posts back - my source hasn't led me astray yet...and again was accurate. He does attempt to assist with 'fixes' if he sees issues on boards or sometimes if I mention things (if there are supporting posts, etc., which i'm sure there are here).


I haven't wanted to press my luck with him though...
mrdjman is offline  
post #11785 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdjman View Post
As I mentioned a few posts back - my source hasn't led me astray yet...and again was accurate. He does attempt to assist with 'fixes' if he sees issues on boards or sometimes if I mention things (if there are supporting posts, etc., which i'm sure there are here).


I haven't wanted to press my luck with him though...
Very very nice! Looking forward now to try HDR gaming with the pro in two weeks.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
platocplx is offline  
post #11786 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Grubs92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by platocplx View Post
Very very nice! Looking forward now to try HDR gaming with the pro in two weeks.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
Same here! Hopefully it reduces input lag in HDR gaming.
Grubs92 is offline  
post #11787 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grubs92 View Post
Same here! Hopefully it reduces input lag in HDR gaming.
Reading the kb article I would assume it would be equal to 1080p game mode by removing motionflow which is a huge offender in that regard

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
platocplx is offline  
post #11788 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 04:15 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,851
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9932 Post(s)
Liked: 6574
Quote:
Originally Posted by platocplx View Post
Reading the kb article I would assume it would be equal to 1080p game mode by removing motionflow which is a huge offender in that regard

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
Motionflow should be set off when playing any games. this has always been the case.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11789 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Grubs92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by platocplx View Post
Reading the kb article I would assume it would be equal to 1080p game mode by removing motionflow which is a huge offender in that regard

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
Interesting. Doyou have a link to that article?
Grubs92 is offline  
post #11790 of 14995 Old 10-25-2016, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grubs92 View Post
Interesting. Doyou have a link to that article?
Here you go https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answer.../c/66/kw/75736

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
platocplx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k suhd , android , firmware , hdr , ir blaster , reboot , XBR-55X850C , xbr-65x850c xbr-75x850c

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off