Sony 2015 XBR-55X850C / XBR-65X850C / XBR-75X850C owners club - Page 497 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12035Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14881 of 15077 Old 09-29-2019, 08:44 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,976
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10000 Post(s)
Liked: 6660
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Don't forget one of the ports is explicitly USB3.0. Make sure you use that.
That should not make any difference. With my Popcorn hour UHD player, I can use a USB 2.0 drive attached with 100+Mb/s UHD files. They will play the same as when a USB 3.0 drive is attached. They both play without any issues since USB 2.0 is way more than fast enough to stream UHD content.
DoctorM likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14882 of 15077 Old 10-05-2019, 09:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 277
APKMirror is showing an updated Google for Android TV v3.12.0.27081 dated Sept 30.
Oddly it is 10mb as opposed to the usual 26mb... and also doesn't install for me.

Either Google made a radical change or APKMirror has a bad package.
DoctorM is offline  
post #14883 of 15077 Old 10-06-2019, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 4,100
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
APKMirror is showing an updated Google for Android TV v3.12.0.27081 dated Sept 30.
Oddly it is 10mb as opposed to the usual 26mb... and also doesn't install for me.

Either Google made a radical change or APKMirror has a bad package.

It installed and it is functioning correctly on my three 850C TVs.
PaulGo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14884 of 15077 Old 10-06-2019, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Any drastic changes? At half the size, something should be missing.

Edit: Got it. My file manager that I was using to install was getting hung up on Google Play Protect. I've never seen that before.

Google does indeed seem unchanged: https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google...-apk-download/

Last edited by DoctorM; 10-06-2019 at 07:56 PM.
DoctorM is offline  
post #14885 of 15077 Old 10-10-2019, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
XBR-55X850C: 3D question

I bought this TV about four years ago and now I am playing with the 3D option. I also bought some (non Sony) 3D glasses. I have Kodi loaded on the TV and I am using that to stream a 3D movie from my NAS. I stream "Creature from the Black Lagoon" and the TV blends the two side by side picture into one and I can see the 3D effect using the 3D glasses. It actually looks pretty good. I downloaded some IMAX NASA Hubble 3D footage but when I stream that I see two side by side picture and not a combined picture. The TV doesn't combine them. Any idea why? I can see that Kodi detects a 3D picture because on the bottom the Kodi menu says 3D. But the Kodi menu gets split into two side by side picture.

Thanks,
Martin
Martin Jose is offline  
post #14886 of 15077 Old 10-11-2019, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Jose View Post
I bought this TV about four years ago and now I am playing with the 3D option. I also bought some (non Sony) 3D glasses. I have Kodi loaded on the TV and I am using that to stream a 3D movie from my NAS. I stream "Creature from the Black Lagoon" and the TV blends the two side by side picture into one and I can see the 3D effect using the 3D glasses. It actually looks pretty good. I downloaded some IMAX NASA Hubble 3D footage but when I stream that I see two side by side picture and not a combined picture. The TV doesn't combine them. Any idea why? I can see that Kodi detects a 3D picture because on the bottom the Kodi menu says 3D. But the Kodi menu gets split into two side by side picture.

Thanks,
Martin
You need to go into the action menu->3D->3D display->3D (Side-by-Side) and it should work.
aaronwt likes this.
DenisG is online now  
post #14887 of 15077 Old 10-16-2019, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Does anyone know the power output of the USB Ports? Do they put enough out to power a Fire Stick 4k?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #14888 of 15077 Old 10-16-2019, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
Does anyone know the power output of the USB Ports? Do they put enough out to power a Fire Stick 4k?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Don't know the power requirement without looking it up, but I have a 4K FireTV plugged in and it works without issues.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
cheyennebob is offline  
post #14889 of 15077 Old 10-16-2019, 12:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheyennebob View Post
Don't know the power requirement without looking it up, but I have a 4K FireTV plugged in and it works without issues.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
So your 4k Fire Stick is being powered by one of the USB ports on the Sony, correct?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #14890 of 15077 Old 10-16-2019, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
So your 4k Fire Stick is being powered by one of the USB ports on the Sony, correct?

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Sorry, misread. It is plugged in to the wall.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
cheyennebob is offline  
post #14891 of 15077 Old 10-16-2019, 02:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheyennebob View Post
Sorry, misread. It is plugged in to the wall.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
But I also haven't tried it without AC power. Difficult to get to.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
cheyennebob is offline  
post #14892 of 15077 Old 10-16-2019, 08:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenisG View Post
You need to go into the action menu->3D->3D display->3D (Side-by-Side) and it should work.
Actually, I don't believe it is possible to view 3D using Kodi.
Official streaming apps, youtube and Sony's Video App are all that work anymore.
DoctorM is offline  
post #14893 of 15077 Old 10-17-2019, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Actually, I don't believe it is possible to view 3D using Kodi.
Official streaming apps, youtube and Sony's Video App are all that work anymore.
Well I can't say this works with this TV, but on my projector using a PC, SBS mkv and WMPC, I had to go into the projectors 3D settings and manually tell it to go into 3D SBS or there would just be two images.
I don't know about kodi and this TV. I really don't use kodi much if at all.
DenisG is online now  
post #14894 of 15077 Old 10-17-2019, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Actually, I don't believe it is possible to view 3D using Kodi.
Official streaming apps, youtube and Sony's Video App are all that work anymore.
I use Kodi all the time for 3D movies. You have to make sure Kodi is set to output 1080p, because if it's set to output 2160p, your 3D button will be grayed out.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
aaronwt likes this.
biglen is offline  
post #14895 of 15077 Old 10-17-2019, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by biglen View Post
I use Kodi all the time for 3D movies. You have to make sure Kodi is set to output 1080p, because if it's set to output 2160p, your 3D button will be grayed out.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
Are you talking about Kodi installed on your Sony, or are you using an addon device with Kodi installed?
As far as I know, Kodi on Android TVs have the resolution setting greyed out.
DoctorM is offline  
post #14896 of 15077 Old 10-18-2019, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
biglen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Limerick, PA
Posts: 1,617
Mentioned: 63 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1051 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
Are you talking about Kodi installed on your Sony, or are you using an addon device with Kodi installed?
As far as I know, Kodi on Android TVs have the resolution setting greyed out.
My bad, I use Kodi on my Shield.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk
biglen is offline  
post #14897 of 15077 Old 10-31-2019, 09:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 277
I noticed a few days ago the look of YouTube changed, but YouTube hasn't been updated since June.

IIRC, last time that happened it was an issue with a recent Android WebView update.
The thing is WebView WAS updated a few days ago and the timing jives, but manually installing the older version did not restore the look of YouTube.

I'm sure I'm doing something wrong that I should know, but I can't think what. Suggestions?
DoctorM is offline  
post #14898 of 15077 Old 11-01-2019, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 2,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 534
I have the 850C. 4k via streaming looks great. I finally got DirecTV 4k last weekend and the overall look is not good. Colors are somewhat dull, the picture is darker though it looks like brightness has been turned up to compensate for the darkness (kind of hard to explain). 4k on my Roku looks much better. I've messed around with a number of setting and can only slightly help it. Not to mention the colors, contrast, etc. looked different just on regular HD than it did on my older DVR receiver they replaced when I switched to the 4k setup. I'm very disappointed.
MRM4 is offline  
post #14899 of 15077 Old 11-04-2019, 12:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MRM4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Powell, TN
Posts: 2,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 557 Post(s)
Liked: 534
Here's an odd one. I connect my 4k DirecTV receiver to another HDMI port and it looks great. I did a firmware update and it didn't fix the issue with the port. Not sure what to make of that. I left the box connected to the HDMI where it looks great.
MRM4 is offline  
post #14900 of 15077 Old 11-05-2019, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I am not sure if I am posting in the right place, but being this is a X850C I am dealing with I will give it a shot....

I have a X850C which has been a great TV up until about a week ago...and then it just powered down and then would show and alternating green and amber light flashing....continuous.

And through troubleshooting I see where it needed a firmware upgrade, snd upon getting the correct firmware file on the USB I plugged in the USB, powered on the TV and it went through its paces in what appeared to be updating it's firmware. I tend left it to its devices and went on to do other things and came back within 30 minutes. When I returned the TV had powered down and was off.... I have not gotten anything out of it since...the TV appears dead, no lights or LED whatsoever.

Could a failed firmware upgrade/restore cause this? And is there a fix where anybody succeded in repairing their X850C? I am cautiously optimistic as I have read several comments elsewhere....and not very promising. I do really like the TV,and t really want to try and salvage this one instead of just tossing it..

Any help would be appreciated.........thanks!
thebigguy1 is offline  
post #14901 of 15077 Old 11-06-2019, 12:48 PM
Member
 
fortnerw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Forsyth, Ga.
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to watch 3-D Blue ray

After many months of not looking at 3-D material I decided to watch a 3D movie I had watched before. I have a Samsung 3D disc player. The TV detects a 3D signal. You can tell the picture is 3D with its blurred look. The 3D glasses say registered on the screen. No 3D. When check the Display mode the top item says 3D on but is not bright like the other parameters which are bright. When try to select the top item says Feature Currently Unavailable. I have tried seemingly all options. Does any one have an idea. Thanks in advance
fortnerw is offline  
post #14902 of 15077 Old 11-07-2019, 05:03 AM
Member
 
The Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by fortnerw View Post
After many months of not looking at 3-D material I decided to watch a 3D movie I had watched before. I have a Samsung 3D disc player. The TV detects a 3D signal. You can tell the picture is 3D with its blurred look. The 3D glasses say registered on the screen. No 3D. When check the Display mode the top item says 3D on but is not bright like the other parameters which are bright. When try to select the top item says Feature Currently Unavailable. I have tried seemingly all options. Does any one have an idea. Thanks in advance
Last time I watched a 3D movie, I found my 3D glasses were paired, and charged, but they were not going into 3D mode. My solution ended up being to go in the TV's Bluetooth menu and unpair them. Then place them 1 foot from the TV and re-pair the glasses.


Also, I found to avoid momentary black frames with a 3D movie, go in the TV menu and disable or reduce one of the image enhancing features such as Reality Creation, for the duration of your movie.
aaronwt likes this.

-The Jedi
The Jedi is offline  
post #14903 of 15077 Old 11-07-2019, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
lufters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ballston Lake, NY
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Video Players

I wouldn't bother with any of the video players other than the native Sony Video Player.
They broke the 5.1 on everything but the native one with the last major update over a year ago. All the other apps will play 2.0 only
You might not care about 5.1, etc. I posted this a while back with a link to the detailed explanation.
https://community.sony.cz/t5/android...o/td-p/2337294


Also 3D stopped working on Youtube a while ago.
My workaround is I download the video from YouTube to my NAS and stream it from their using the native video app.

John
lufters is offline  
post #14904 of 15077 Old 11-07-2019, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PaulGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: North Potomac, MD
Posts: 4,100
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 196
3D from YouTube will work from a Blu-ray player app.. If you have a 4K player you need to force it to 1080p. If the Blu-ray player upscales YouTube to 4K 3D will not work.
PaulGo is offline  
post #14905 of 15077 Old 11-12-2019, 05:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRM4 View Post
Here's an odd one. I connect my 4k DirecTV receiver to another HDMI port and it looks great. I did a firmware update and it didn't fix the issue with the port. Not sure what to make of that. I left the box connected to the HDMI where it looks great.
Try setting the HDMI port to enhanced and see if that corrects the display issue on the first port
crazysim is offline  
post #14906 of 15077 Old 11-13-2019, 04:15 AM
Member
 
redskull09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is there any way to disable HDR? I’m not a fan of how it looks in Netflix and the Disney plus app, but I cannot find a way to disable it.
redskull09 is offline  
post #14907 of 15077 Old 11-13-2019, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: a packer fan in michigan
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I've wooed another

I found a great price on an open box, brand new, never used Vizio M Quantum 658-G1. It will replace my faithful 850C, which I have thoroughly enjoyed, in the tv room. The Sony is going to find its way into the bedroom for sleepy viewing. I have really appreciated this forum for all of your wisdom and insight over the last several years. Happy Thanksgiving!
aaronwt, BryanSD and Theetjuh like this.

Sony XBR-55X850C
Onkyo TX-SR444
PS4
Polk Audio 5.1.2

Packer fan living in Michigan.
brilithos is offline  
post #14908 of 15077 Old 11-15-2019, 08:38 PM
Member
 
fortnerw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Forsyth, Ga.
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Jedi View Post
Last time I watched a 3D movie, I found my 3D glasses were paired, and charged, but they were not going into 3D mode. My solution ended up being to go in the TV's Bluetooth menu and unpair them. Then place them 1 foot from the TV and re-pair the glasses.


Also, I found to avoid momentary black frames with a 3D movie, go in the TV menu and disable or reduce one of the image enhancing features such as Reality Creation, for the duration of your movie.
Thank you very much The Jedi. That solved the problem. I do like to watch a movie occasionally in 3 D.
fortnerw is offline  
post #14909 of 15077 Old 11-16-2019, 10:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DoctorM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,198
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by lufters View Post
I wouldn't bother with any of the video players other than the native Sony Video Player.
They broke the 5.1 on everything but the native one with the last major update over a year ago. All the other apps will play 2.0 only
You might not care about 5.1, etc. I posted this a while back with a link to the detailed explanation.
https://community.sony.cz/t5/android...o/td-p/2337294


Also 3D stopped working on Youtube a while ago.
My workaround is I download the video from YouTube to my NAS and stream it from their using the native video app.
I was going to call bull on 3D being broken in YouTube, but it is true. You can access the 3D options and enable SBS or OU, but the video never actually becomes 3D. Yikes. That might be a YouTube issue though, but Sony should have fixed it at their end.

As far as 'other apps' not supporting 5.1 that isn't completely true. Dolby Digital will output as multi channel. I've been trying to work with people at Serviio to improve support for our TVs to transcode multichannel DTS/AAC/WAV to DD, but no luck yet in getting any help.

Btw
, there is a new version of Google app for Android TV out. Now up to v3.13.0.278974704: https://www.apkmirror.com/apk/google...-apk-download/

Although the newer versions provide improved features and fixes the broken text to voice, you will lose the ability to search by entering text. It's voice search only.
DoctorM is offline  
post #14910 of 15077 Old 11-19-2019, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
LD-838D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, El Segundo
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I've been using HDMI input #1 since i got the display.
Today I found this on the Sony site: 4096 X 2160/24P (HDMI 2/3) - Yes
Found it on this page under "Video Signal"
https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...specifications

My question is, should I have been using input 2/3 this entire time?
Is this an error on Sony's part? or do some of the inputs "1/4" not have full bandwidth HDMI?

I certainly do have handshake issues but not very often.
LD-838D is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
4k suhd , android , firmware , hdr , ir blaster , reboot , XBR-55X850C , xbr-65x850c xbr-75x850c

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off