2015 Samsung SEK-3500U/ZA Evolution Kit - Page 774 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13433Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23191 of 23808 Old 03-26-2018, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Mnat0712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 80


I do not see a audio out.
Mnat0712 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23192 of 23808 Old 03-26-2018, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Mnat0712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmizzoufan View Post
It’s on the side of sek near the antenna


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I just posted 2 picture. Nothing is label audio out that a 3.5 mm jack can connect to like on the tv
Mnat0712 is offline  
post #23193 of 23808 Old 03-26-2018, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mnat0712 View Post
I just posted 2 picture. Nothing is label audio out that a 3.5 mm jack can connect to like on the tv


Sorry I was wrong I was thinking optical cord


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bigmizzoufan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23194 of 23808 Old 03-26-2018, 01:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mnat0712 View Post
I just posted 2 picture. Nothing is label audio out that a 3.5 mm jack can connect to like on the tv
There's a cable that came with the SEK-3500U that looks like this https://www.samsungparts.com/BN39-01900A.html . It plugs into the audio out in the back of the SEK-3500 and there is a connection on it for the 3.5mm plug.
galonzo, PJL99 and Musician like this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000

Last edited by poppagene; 03-28-2018 at 06:12 AM.
poppagene is online now  
post #23195 of 23808 Old 03-28-2018, 10:10 PM
Member
 
meohman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Luling, LA (15 miles upriver from New Orleans on the west bank of the Mississippi River)
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm late to the party, but I need some help.

I have the Samsung UNHU9000 65" TV. I just replaced the original OCB with the SEK-3500U/ZA. Everything went well, and I am blown away with PQ, but I have questions about sound. I have a Vizio Soundbar with remote speakers and sub. I also have this wired to my Home Theater system. With the original OCB, I could use TV speakers, the Vizio, and the Pioneer system all at the same time as I chose. I can't seem to get the Vizio to work except by Bluetooth (before it was optical out from OCB) nor can I get the Pioneer to work (before it was optical out from the OCB). And I can't get all of them to work at the same time if I really want to blast a crowd with broadcast audio - i.e. Superbowl, special events, concerts, etc!

Anybody have any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance!


Mike 'Paw-Paw' Peters
Luling, Louisiana
meohman1 is offline  
post #23196 of 23808 Old 03-29-2018, 04:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by meohman1 View Post
I'm late to the party, but I need some help.

I have the Samsung UNHU9000 65" TV. I just replaced the original OCB with the SEK-3500U/ZA. Everything went well, and I am blown away with PQ, but I have questions about sound. I have a Vizio Soundbar with remote speakers and sub. I also have this wired to my Home Theater system. With the original OCB, I could use TV speakers, the Vizio, and the Pioneer system all at the same time as I chose. I can't seem to get the Vizio to work except by Bluetooth (before it was optical out from OCB) nor can I get the Pioneer to work (before it was optical out from the OCB). And I can't get all of them to work at the same time if I really want to blast a crowd with broadcast audio - i.e. Superbowl, special events, concerts, etc!

Anybody have any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance!


Mike 'Paw-Paw' Peters
Luling, Louisiana
Hey guys, looking for some help on the following:

I have an UN65F9000AG, brazillian model of f9000, but since samsumg in my country sucks, they suddenly stop giving support to the clients that bought the tvs that needed this evolution kits, and now the kits aren't sold here anymore.

I'm wondering if anyone could tell me if the SEK-3500u/za works fine with this tv version or not, because the sek that was being sold here was the SEK-3500u/zd... I will be travelling to the US in june, so if it works i'll be buying it there.

Thanks for the attention and forgive my english mistakes.
Gustavo Berlitz is offline  
post #23197 of 23808 Old 03-29-2018, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by meohman1 View Post
I'm late to the party, but I need some help.

I have the Samsung UNHU9000 65" TV. I just replaced the original OCB with the SEK-3500U/ZA. Everything went well, and I am blown away with PQ, but I have questions about sound. I have a Vizio Soundbar with remote speakers and sub. I also have this wired to my Home Theater system. With the original OCB, I could use TV speakers, the Vizio, and the Pioneer system all at the same time as I chose. I can't seem to get the Vizio to work except by Bluetooth (before it was optical out from OCB) nor can I get the Pioneer to work (before it was optical out from the OCB). And I can't get all of them to work at the same time if I really want to blast a crowd with broadcast audio - i.e. Superbowl, special events, concerts, etc!

Anybody have any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance!


Mike 'Paw-Paw' Peters
Luling, Louisiana
I don't have a soundbar and don't know which connections are available to you on your specific model. I have optical out to my Yamaha AVR. In the sound menu under speaker list I have TV speakers selected. This allows the sound to come from the TV speakers and the AVR at the same time for me. If I instead select optical out, that works like an optical out only choice and I get sound only from the AVR.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #23198 of 23808 Old 03-29-2018, 11:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Mnat0712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
There's a cable that came with the SEK-3500U that looks like this https://www.samsungparts.com/BN39-01900A.html . It plugs into the audio out in the back of the SEK-3500 and there is a connection on it for the 3.5mm plug.


I didnt receive anything like that. But if someone here is welling to help me out i would very greatful
Mnat0712 is offline  
post #23199 of 23808 Old 03-30-2018, 06:07 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustavo Berlitz View Post
Hey guys, looking for some help on the following:

I have an UN65F9000AG, brazillian model of f9000, but since samsumg in my country sucks, they suddenly stop giving support to the clients that bought the tvs that needed this evolution kits, and now the kits aren't sold here anymore.

I'm wondering if anyone could tell me if the SEK-3500u/za works fine with this tv version or not, because the sek that was being sold here was the SEK-3500u/zd... I will be travelling to the US in june, so if it works i'll be buying it there.

Thanks for the attention and forgive my english mistakes.
Should work.
player002 is offline  
post #23200 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 09:12 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
ok so I switched SEK3500 back to original with tv so I unmodded js9000.. I am selling Tv seperate from OCB. Do I need to reset OCB? Do I do from Service menu or just reset from it hooked up to Tv. Been so long I forgot.. Lol
player002 is offline  
post #23201 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3176
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
ok so I switched SEK3500 back to original with tv so I unmodded js9000.. I am selling Tv seperate from OCB. Do I need to reset OCB? Do I do from Service menu or just reset from it hooked up to Tv. Been so long I forgot.. Lol
HUB Reset, then,
Normal Menu Reset should do the trick, but stop at the Setup when it restarts.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23202 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 10:20 AM
Member
 
ThatTVGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Has anyone had issues with their tv getting darker and darker. I can bearly see HDR content with brightness, contrast, and led screen brightness turned all the way up. Even the gama is maxed out. This is on a 4K roku while watching Netflix’s a series of unfortunate events.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ThatTVGuy is online now  
post #23203 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 10:43 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
HUB Reset, then,
Normal Menu Reset should do the trick, but stop at the Setup when it restarts.
Hub reset? do you mean the smart hub?
player002 is offline  
post #23204 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
CyberScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
Hub reset? do you mean the smart hub?
Reset the Smart Hub. That should clear any personal data. You could also do a factory reset which will clear all setting back go factory. Let the next owner have fun with it.
galonzo and player002 like this.

LG OLED65C9PUA; Denon AVR-X4500H, 7.2.4 ATMOS
LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X6300H also rocking 7.2.4 ATMOS goodness!
Samsung UN65HU9000FXZA (TS01) with SEK-3500U/ZA Evolution Kit, Onkyo TX-RZ1100
CyberScott is online now  
post #23205 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 07:55 PM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberScott View Post
Reset the Smart Hub. That should clear any personal data. You could also do a factory reset which will clear all setting back go factory. Let the next owner have fun with it.
Thanks did it and it's ready to go.. Man bitter sweet this box was awesome.. Sold Hu8700 today.. Somebody is picking up Sek later this week.. Q9 here I come
ray0414 likes this.
player002 is offline  
post #23206 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 07:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,828
Mentioned: 260 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12679 Post(s)
Liked: 11914
Quote:
Originally Posted by player002 View Post
Thanks did it and it's ready to go.. Man bitter sweet this box was awesome.. Sold Hu8700 today.. Somebody is picking up Sek later this week.. Q9 here I come

I sold my hu9000+sek3500 years ago. to a family friend. I asked him if he wanted the original OCB and he didn't want it. I sold it to another member here on the forums. I found out last year that if anything major happens to the hu9000, you NEED to have the original OCB to restart the tv. WHOOPS lol so if my buyer ever needs that original OCB, its long gone now!
player002 likes this.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #23207 of 23808 Old 04-02-2018, 08:28 PM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
I sold my hu9000+sek3500 years ago. to a family friend. I asked him if he wanted the original OCB and he didn't want it. I sold it to another member here on the forums. I found out last year that if anything major happens to the hu9000, you NEED to have the original OCB to restart the tv. WHOOPS lol so if my buyer ever needs that original OCB, its long gone now!
lol fortunately for my buyer the Hu8700 never had a OCB.
ray0414 likes this.
player002 is offline  
post #23208 of 23808 Old 04-03-2018, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4474 Post(s)
Liked: 5488
I encased my SEK-3500 in a block of amber to preserve it and it's now a paper weight.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #23209 of 23808 Old 04-03-2018, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
I was trying to check the Korean web for any firmware updates. It seems that samsung has shutdown all of their korean websites.

edit: working for me today.

Some info I found:

http://www.koreaherald.com/view.php?ud=20170403000922

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000

Last edited by poppagene; 04-04-2018 at 03:10 AM.
poppagene is online now  
post #23210 of 23808 Old 04-03-2018, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hello all,

if any of you guys have a North American SEK-3500 I would be really interested.

Please let me know

I'm located in Canada.

Thanks!
McCrea is offline  
post #23211 of 23808 Old 04-03-2018, 09:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3176
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
I was trying to check the Korean web for any firmware updates. It seems that samsung has shutdown all of their korean websites.
You must of missed checking this one: If Google NOT accessing the following (I go in with Google), reset your Google. (Settings > Advanced > bottom of the page > Reset)

Still on # 1521

http://www.samsung.com/sec/support/model/UN65JS9500F

and this one:

http://www.samsung.com/sec/support/model/UN65JS9000F/

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 04-04-2018 at 05:25 AM.
p5browne is offline  
post #23212 of 23808 Old 04-03-2018, 09:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3176
How about this ?

Update to an old question

AutoCal for 2017 QLED TVs will be in CalMAN 2017. It will also include 2015 and 2016 High end Samsung TVs.

Now, try to find out which to use for the calibration: LCD (LED), LCD (Blue Green), LCD XYZ, etc. Calman's C6 has the actual Model listed, but Retail, OEM, i1Display Pro and C3 meters don't.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23213 of 23808 Old 04-05-2018, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatTVGuy View Post
Has anyone had issues with their tv getting darker and darker. I can bearly see HDR content with brightness, contrast, and led screen brightness turned all the way up. Even the gama is maxed out. This is on a 4K roku while watching Netflix’s a series of unfortunate events.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
same problem after installing 1530.1 on 55f9000 with sek 3500 in all sources hdmi and watching tv channel
. Which is the best video settings for this new release, ?
Carlo Daolio is offline  
post #23214 of 23808 Old 04-05-2018, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4474 Post(s)
Liked: 5488
^^^
I think what you are seeing is Netflix, Amazon and other streaming services are tone mapping their HDR content differently because the newer sets can display the higher luminance levels. I don't believe they are doing anything special for the older sets to compensate for their lower luminance capabilities. Hope this helps.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #23215 of 23808 Old 04-05-2018, 06:53 AM
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,246
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3935 Post(s)
Liked: 2944
Quote:
Originally Posted by McCrea View Post
Hello all,

if any of you guys have a North American SEK-3500 I would be really interested.

Please let me know

I'm located in Canada.

Thanks!
PM me
player002 is offline  
post #23216 of 23808 Old 04-06-2018, 05:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,227
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 5321
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
^^^
I think what you are seeing is Netflix, Amazon and other streaming services are tone mapping their HDR content differently because the newer sets can display the higher luminance levels. I don't believe they are doing anything special for the older sets to compensate for their lower luminance capabilities. Hope this helps.
I think what you are doing is continuing to spread misinformation regarding the SEK-3500 in your continued zeal over your 'new' LG technology versus our TVs which continue to bring us happiness. Based on the lack of `Likes`it appears no one on this thread thought much of your recent attempt at humour trolling this, the SEK-3500 owners, thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
I encased my SEK-3500 in a block of amber to preserve it and it's now a paper weight.
If this issue reported by @ThatTVGuy and @Carlo Daolio was affecting others I expect we would have heard a lot of complaints by now from actual owners of both the SEK-3500 and JS series. Also if you digested Carlo's post you would see he posted that it is also present when he is watching TV channels which would have nothing to do with HDR or streaming apps mentioned in your reply.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlo Daolio View Post
same problem after installing 1530.1 on 55f9000 with sek 3500 in all sources hdmi and watching tv channel
. Which is the best video settings for this new release, ?
If it is any help to Carlo, I have posted my most recent settings below which haven`t changed in months.

For what it`s worth Carlo and @ThatTVGuy might want to check the following settings and make sure they are both OFF...

Menu >> System >> Eco Solution

Energy Saving

Reduces the power consumption by adjusting the screen brigtness

Eco Sensor

Automatically optimizes TV screen brightness in response to the room lighting


Other than that, I am at a loss as to why they are experiencing this phenomenon since both my TVs with SEK-3500`s attached are working flawlessly like they always have.

galonzo, PJL99 and pilotart like this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is online now  
post #23217 of 23808 Old 04-06-2018, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 5,429
Mentioned: 193 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4474 Post(s)
Liked: 5488
^^^
I wasn't kidding about the tone mapping comment. I was trying to offer a possible reason why this user is experiencing a dark picture with HDR if i understood him correctly.

It's a real problem on all TVs because most content is mastered between 1000 and 4000 nits and some games to 10,000 nits. Tone mapping attempts to take content mastered at 1000 nits, for example, and squeeze it down to what the set is capable of. In doing so, it's either retaining the brightness and clipping over a certain nit level resulting in a brighter picture or it will try to retain the detail at the expense of loosing brightness. You can't have both unless the TV is capable of reproducing the native signal. These are facts and not opinion.

As for streaming services, they don't have a "switch" that says, this is XYZ TV so send the content with XYZ tone mapping to give the best PQ. They are mostly sending content now, based on the 1000 nit level, i believe, which is why a set with 1000 nit capability will be able to render the content "better" than a set with less capability.

Even with the new OLEDs, their peak luminance is in the range of 700 - 850 nits for the 2018 sets and all of them have an option that "throws away" the HDR10 meta data and performs tone mapping on the fly, frame by frame, similiar to HDR10+ in order to render the best PQ for the sets capabilities just to address this specific problem.

Just trying to help explain some of the issues that HDR presents to all TVs.
p5browne likes this.

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G Gen2
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
post #23218 of 23808 Old 04-06-2018, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,227
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 5321
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
^^^
I wasn't kidding about the tone mapping comment. I was trying to offer a possible reason why this user is experiencing a dark picture with HDR if i understood him correctly.

It's a real problem on all TVs because most content is mastered between 1000 and 4000 nits and some games to 10,000 nits. Tone mapping attempts to take content mastered at 1000 nits, for example, and squeeze it down to what the set is capable of. In doing so, it's either retaining the brightness and clipping over a certain nit level resulting in a brighter picture or it will try to retain the detail at the expense of loosing brightness. You can't have both unless the TV is capable of reproducing the native signal. These are facts and not opinion.

As for streaming services, they don't have a "switch" that says, this is XYZ TV so send the content with XYZ tone mapping to give the best PQ. They are mostly sending content now, based on the 1000 nit level, i believe, which is why a set with 1000 nit capability will be able to render the content "better" than a set with less capability.

Even with the new OLEDs, their peak luminance is in the range of 700 - 850 nits for the 2018 sets and all of them have an option that "throws away" the HDR10 meta data and performs tone mapping on the fly, frame by frame, similiar to HDR10+ in order to render the best PQ for the sets capabilities just to address this specific problem.

Just trying to help explain some of the issues that HDR presents to all TVs.
Not really all that helpful when you don't own the SEK-3500 so you can't say one way or another if it is affecting the rest of us. And if you read the question you arrowed up to ^^^^ here is is again...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlo Daolio View Post
same problem after installing 1530.1 on 55f9000 with sek 3500 in all sources hdmi and WATCHING TV CHANNEL
. Which is the best video settings for this new release, ?
But nice try attempting to make him think it had to do with HDR and drumming up your old rant comparing old vs new technology when he is having the same problem watching TV channels.

Off to Cabo now so have a nice day.
PJL99 likes this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is online now  
post #23219 of 23808 Old 04-06-2018, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,185
Mentioned: 240 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4000 Post(s)
Liked: 3176
Unfortunately in NA, we can't test this issue.
Samsung appears to have given up in this market, and is currently still back 2 FWs ago. (1510.3)
Even the Korean websites are now, what appears to be, 1 back. (1521.0)
The FW Europeans are getting could be related to an issue they're having with their sets for those regions. So we may, or may not see another FW update.
galonzo and Musician like this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 04-06-2018 at 12:09 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #23220 of 23808 Old 04-06-2018, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,227
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 5321
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Unfortunately in NA, we can't test this issue.
Samsung appears to have given up in this market, and is currently still back 2 FWs ago.
Even the Korean websites are now, what appears to be, 1 back.
The FW Europeans are getting could be related to an issue they're having with their sets for those regions. So we may, or may not see another FW update.
Excellent point but the fact that you are not having the issue nor am I nor have I read any similar posts (other than the setting for Menu >> System >> Eco Solution I mentioned earlier that can cause the phenomenon they are reporting) it is still a wee bit mystifying that @ThatTVGuy is having issues who, like us, is also in North America as evidenced by past posts of his indicating he subscribes to DirectTV... which as far as I know is only available in the states.

As you and I have mentioned in the past it sure would help if guys updated their User Profiles to show where they are located and also helpful knowing exactly what other equipment they own, the firmware they are on, and the user settings they are using when posting a question.

Taxi's here!!! Gotta go!!!
galonzo likes this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
SEK-3500U/ZA

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off