2015 Samsung SEK-3500U/ZA Evolution Kit - Page 790 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13382Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23671 of 23773 Old 04-26-2019, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm still waiting to get that magic firmware for my 65F9000 that will allow for proper smooth playback of 4K/60FPS via HDMI with SEK-3500U. There is nothing better then having a Xbox One X and Nvidia Shield and watching all the motion artifacts and loss of frames because AMP is locked in Standard mode. I wouldn't even mind the Clear AMP mode that I normally use since anything is better then watching a slideshow. I just had fun dealing with their Facebook support that at first had no clue that the SEK-3500U firmware is different then the original One Connect box. At the end they told me to contact an authorized Samsung repair facility so that a tech could come out and try make the picture quality better. I just filed a BBB complaint on this since the TV can't properly process 4K/60FPS with the SEK-3500U like was advertised. Playing phone tag with the Samsung Office Of The President staff right now. Probably going nowhere...
galonzo, Musician and Surf'sUp like this.

Last edited by hurtz777; 04-26-2019 at 11:38 AM.
hurtz777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23672 of 23773 Old 04-26-2019, 01:26 PM
Member
 
dannyday2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurtz777 View Post
I'm still waiting to get that magic firmware for my 65F9000 that will allow for proper smooth playback of 4K/60FPS via HDMI with SEK-3500U. There is nothing better then having a Xbox One X and Nvidia Shield and watching all the motion artifacts and loss of frames because AMP is locked in Standard mode. I wouldn't even mind the Clear AMP mode that I normally use since anything is better then watching a slideshow. I just had fun dealing with their Facebook support that at first had no clue that the SEK-3500U firmware is different then the original One Connect box. At the end they told me to contact an authorized Samsung repair facility so that a tech could come out and try make the picture quality better. I just filed a BBB complaint on this since the TV can't properly process 4K/60FPS with the SEK-3500U like was advertised. Playing phone tag with the Samsung Office Of The President staff right now. Probably going nowhere...


Yeah, I’ve been wrestling with that on my F9000 (with SEK-3500U) since I bought my first Xbox One S (the dashboard being in 4k60 forced AMP on). Same obviously with my X. Basically makes gameplay impossible, and I cant even run the One Guide/Dashboard in 4K (since it defaults to 60FPS), so it’s a glorified UHD Blu-Ray player (thank goodness 4k24 doesn’t force it on). Been driving me crazy, and I never did figure out a way to defeat it!!! Totally bites!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
galonzo, Musician and Surf'sUp like this.
dannyday2 is offline  
post #23673 of 23773 Old 04-26-2019, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Even Game Mode in 4K/60FPS with all processing turned off looks like a super washed out slideshow. Have you tried Game Mode on your F9000 also? Sometimes being an early adopter really sucks!
hurtz777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23674 of 23773 Old 04-26-2019, 02:01 PM
Member
 
dannyday2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ooltewah, TN
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Sure have, and you’re absolutely right! As best as I’ve been able to tell, if your signal is 4k60, no matter what mode/settings, you’re going to run into the AMP problem. I spent quite awhile back then trying to figure out a way around it (Service Menu stuff, different devices, etc.), but never could figure out how to disable AMP if the signal was 60FPS.

I have two HU8550s as well that I bought just the next year, both with SEK-3500Us, and neither one of them have the problem at all! So it really was just the first-year 4K sets that had the issue, and none of us knew for quite some time since the issue didn’t pop up until we had a OneConnect box that could handle 4k60!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
galonzo and Musician like this.
dannyday2 is offline  
post #23675 of 23773 Old 04-26-2019, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surf'sUp View Post
I'm still waiting for my F9000 to get the 1500 nit OLED black firmware upgrade I've heard was possible in a dream. Doh! I woke up.
If offered $500, take it!

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23676 of 23773 Old 04-28-2019, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 944 Post(s)
Liked: 424
I have these vertical bars on my 75HU8550 set with the SEK 3500 OCB. Can anyone tell me what has failed, and whether it's related to the OCB? If so, I could just remove the OCB.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010492.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	2559452  

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC top front, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #23677 of 23773 Old 04-28-2019, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
I have these vertical bars on my 75HU8550 set with the SEK 3500 OCB. Can anyone tell me what has failed, and whether it's related to the OCB? If so, I could just remove the OCB.
Why not remove the SEK-3500 and see whether the problem is still there?
rlb and Musician like this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #23678 of 23773 Old 04-28-2019, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,433
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 252
T-con board if it does it without the SEK. Bottom middle board:

Ted99, Musician and Surf'sUp like this.

Last edited by doctorwizz; 04-28-2019 at 02:31 PM.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #23679 of 23773 Old 04-28-2019, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Possibly available at shopjimmy.com
Ted99 likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23680 of 23773 Old 04-29-2019, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 944 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Why not remove the SEK-3500 and see whether the problem is still there?
My next step. Thanks.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC top front, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #23681 of 23773 Old 04-29-2019, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 944 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Possibly available at shopjimmy.com
It did it without the OCB, so I looked on shopjimmy and found the exact T-Con board. Listed as out of stock, leave an e-mail for notification, which I did. This is Genius. One presumes that shopjimmy does not keep these things in stock, sources them on request, and then notifies of availability? Hope so, as I don't know how I will get part, otherwise. Many thanks @p5browne . I recall you for a great many very helpful posts back in the day when we first got the SEK 3500.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC top front, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #23682 of 23773 Old 04-30-2019, 07:44 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
It did it without the OCB, so I looked on shopjimmy and found the exact T-Con board. Listed as out of stock, leave an e-mail for notification, which I did. This is Genius. One presumes that shopjimmy does not keep these things in stock, sources them on request, and then notifies of availability? Hope so, as I don't know how I will get part, otherwise. Many thanks @p5browne . I recall you for a great many very helpful posts back in the day when we first got the SEK 3500.
Shopjimmy usually gets his parts from dismantled returns. Have you tried the Samsung parts store?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23683 of 23773 Old 04-30-2019, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,948
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 944 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Shopjimmy usually gets his parts from dismantled returns. Have you tried the Samsung parts store?
Confirmed: Shopjimmy says they can only source from dismantled returns, with no idea when they will get one. Checked Samsung parts and they will provide a re-manufactured T-con board in about 30 days. I ordered one, and they provide about a 30% refund if you ship back the failed part, from which they do their "re-manufacturing". If Shopjimmy had the part, it would be between $75 and $100. After core charge refund, Samsung is about $200. Cheap if it restores an otherwise good TV.

This makes me think very hard about a Square Trade extended warranty. Had I purchased the longest term one, it would be very close to the end. Warranty would probably have provided a replacement TV, since parts not available. Planning to purchase the new 82Q90 Sammy later this year when prices come down (already starting). I suppose any TV can have a T-con board failure, so i'm not railing about Samsung.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC top front, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #23684 of 23773 Old 04-30-2019, 09:26 AM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well after a 30 minute call with Samsung Office Of The President, the rep confirmed with engineering that the F9000 series LCD panel didn't have enough power to process 4K/60FPS from the SEK-3500U. He said the logic board in the panel didn't have enough bandwidth. He said bandwidth at least a million times and compared the F9000 set to a Galaxy S5 and the new QLED sets to a Galaxy S10 in speed. I guess all of us F9000 owner that are left will have to live with a 4K/30FPS set with semi HDR10.
hurtz777 is offline  
post #23685 of 23773 Old 04-30-2019, 09:36 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurtz777 View Post
Well after a 30 minute call with Samsung Office Of The President, the rep confirmed with engineering that the F9000 series LCD panel didn't have enough power to process 4K/60FPS from the SEK-3500U. He said the logic board in the panel didn't have enough bandwidth. He said bandwidth at least a million times and compared the F9000 set to a Galaxy S5 and the new QLED sets to a Galaxy S10 in speed. I guess all of us F9000 owner that are left will have to live with a 4K/30FPS set with semi HDR10.
Black Friday coming in another 7 months! Unbelievable what you can get an 82" TV for these days! (Wife wouldn't go for it. It has to have 3D!)

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23686 of 23773 Old 04-30-2019, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by hurtz777 View Post
Well after a 30 minute call with Samsung Office Of The President, the rep confirmed with engineering that the F9000 series LCD panel didn't have enough power to process 4K/60FPS from the SEK-3500U. He said the logic board in the panel didn't have enough bandwidth. He said bandwidth at least a million times and compared the F9000 set to a Galaxy S5 and the new QLED sets to a Galaxy S10 in speed. I guess all of us F9000 owner that are left will have to live with a 4K/30FPS set with semi HDR10.
I'm curious about this statement from Samsung about the F9000 not being able to handle 4K/60FPS on all inputs. I could swear mine plays back 4K/60FPS on
USB demos I've downloaded to a USB and can also change the motion settings. I'll have to check again tonight however this may be because it's coming from
a USB input and not HDMI?

2013 UN65F9000AFXZA-SEK3500U
Firmware 1422
Acquired from Bestbuy
Samsung UBD K8500 Blu Ray Player
Surf'sUp is offline  
post #23687 of 23773 Old 04-30-2019, 02:19 PM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please let me know if 4K/60FPS plays back from USB without locking AMP to standard. If it works properly then there could still be a SEK-3500U firmware issue here since it basically sends the audio/video via Display Port to the panel.

Last edited by hurtz777; 05-01-2019 at 05:54 AM.
hurtz777 is offline  
post #23688 of 23773 Old 05-02-2019, 02:02 AM
Newbie
 
root.down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need help pairing TV UE65F9000ATXRU and SEK-3500U/ZA
The former owner worked with TV UN55HU8550

Upgrades completed:
- in the original SEK-2500 did export settings to the TV's memory
- unplug power, inserted the SEK-3500, turned on
- about 2-3 minutes there was a black screen, then an image of an un-tuned channel appeared (black and white dots flicker)
- started to press the buttons of the remote, nothing is displayed on the screen - neither the menu, nor the smart-hub, not even the volume control, nothing. But I can hear how the volume is changing, as I enter the menu by sound clicks, I accidentally activate the voice acting of the actions - the woman spoke.

What I tried to do:
- connected the computer through hdmi1, blindly chose the source in the menu, there is an image, the maximum was given to deliver 1920x1080
- connected ethernet, two upnp devices are defined, the model is in the properties of UN65F9000
- went blindly into the service menu - a black screen, but this is it, there are no sounds moving through the menu and adjusting the volume
- made Factory Reset by clicking on the remote in SM "OK-OK-OK" - the screen turned off
- unplug power, five minutes later turned on - a pink screen with graphic garbage, classical music plays, nothing else
- turned off, turned on, again unconfigured program and menu sounds

Request to the owners of SEK-3500U/ZA in SM to see the possibility of choosing the following parameters (taken from the SM of my original SEK-2500):
- OPTION-TYPE = 65A1UUZL
- OPTION-Local Set = EU
- OPTION-SW Model = UF9000
- OPTION-BOM Model = 9000
- OPTION-MRT Option-Front Color = F9000_65

If they are, please make a "blind instruction" for SM:

OK-DOWN-DOWN-DOWN-OK-DOWN-OK-LEFT(to the end)-RIGHT(6 times)

Why LEFT (to the end)-RIGHT (6 times) - I do not see the value that is now set, and LEFT (to the end) is to set the first parameter value, and RIGHT (6 times) will set the desired value

Advice on changing or resetting something can also help. Again in the format of the "blind service menu"

Very interested "blind service menu" for: advanced service menu - scroll to svc/reset and hit data synch reset (press twice to confirm).

Ps. I can also enter the extended service menu

UE65F9000, SEK-3500U/ZA
root.down is offline  
post #23689 of 23773 Old 05-02-2019, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,085
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1304 Post(s)
Liked: 1636
sorry @root.down , but I'm afraid the SEK-3500U/ZA is only for NA sets (i.e UN65f9000FXZA)

HTH
poppagene and Musician like this.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4200W (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.2) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Roku P+
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | AppleTV4K | TiVo Mini
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #23690 of 23773 Old 05-02-2019, 07:04 AM
Newbie
 
root.down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
sorry @root.down , but I'm afraid the SEK-3500U/ZA is only for NA sets (i.e UN65f9000FXZA)

HTH
galonzo, thank
but I know that the SEK-3500U/ZA works without problems with the UE65HU9000, UE55HU9000 (European models)
I believe that with UE65F9000 it will also work
Can you help me blindly set to the parameter in the service menu "SVC-Reset-Data sync Reset"?
I mean how many times you have to press left-right-side-up-ok, after entering the service menu.

UE65F9000, SEK-3500U/ZA
root.down is offline  
post #23691 of 23773 Old 05-02-2019, 08:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by root.down View Post
galonzo, thank
but I know that the SEK-3500U/ZA works without problems with the UE65HU9000, UE55HU9000 (European models)
I believe that with UE65F9000 it will also work
Can you help me blindly set to the parameter in the service menu "SVC-Reset-Data sync Reset"?
I mean how many times you have to press left-right-side-up-ok, after entering the service menu.
North American SEK-3500U/ZAs DO NOT work on European sets!
galonzo and Musician like this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23692 of 23773 Old 05-02-2019, 09:51 AM
Newbie
 
root.down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
North American SEK-3500U/ZAs DO NOT work on European sets!
p5browne may be,
I need help in the form of a photo service menu SEK-3500U/ZA
at least basic sections
at least something
I want to try to go all the way myself

UE65F9000, SEK-3500U/ZA
root.down is offline  
post #23693 of 23773 Old 05-02-2019, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by root.down View Post
p5browne may be,
I need help in the form of a photo service menu SEK-3500U/ZA
at least basic sections
at least something
I want to try to go all the way myself
Alternatively, if you dare, an eeprom reset may be what you need.

See:

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...t57501146.html

and

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...t57392210.html
galonzo and Musician like this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #23694 of 23773 Old 05-03-2019, 04:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Got my SEK-3500 plugged in my UN55HU7250 for a while without any issues up until yesterday.

Now if the tv is plugged in the SEK it won't turn on. Unplugged the one connect cable and the tv turn on

Any of you have seen this kind of behavior?
McCrea is offline  
post #23695 of 23773 Old 05-03-2019, 08:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: S. Florida
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 9
4K/60FPS on F9000

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurtz777 View Post
Please let me know if 4K/60FPS plays back from USB without locking AMP to standard. If it works properly then there could still be a SEK-3500U firmware issue here since it basically sends the audio/video via Display Port to the panel.
Sorry for the delay in replying, long work hours etc. I only had one known 60FPS demo to check last night since I loaned my USB that had all the material on to my brother recently. On a hard drive I had a Sony demo of the Whales from 4K Media.org that was in their listings of 60FPS and HDR and it did indeed lock the AMP on Standard. It did look and track pretty good without any noticeable judder, however these demos are almost always in slow motion. And HDR video does make a file much larger. I'll check others videos that are 60FPS with and without HDR to see if that Bandwidth issue is what they say it is. One note some really spectacular high rate bit depth files look amazing with AMP smooth on but have horrible judder with it off or just on clear ON the F9000.

2013 UN65F9000AFXZA-SEK3500U
Firmware 1422
Acquired from Bestbuy
Samsung UBD K8500 Blu Ray Player
Surf'sUp is offline  
post #23696 of 23773 Old 05-03-2019, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
hurtz777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the confirmation Surf'sUp. Since it locked in to standard mode on AMP that confirms that it isn't just the HDMI ports. I also think the 4K/60FPS HDR clip you played looked fairly smooth because it is in slow motion to begin with. Obviously Xbox One X 4K/60FPS fast moving content would take way more horsepower. I feel like Samsung just rigged the SEK-3500U firmware to play the slow motion demos by locking AMP to standard mode. There is a super small chance that it could be fixed in SEK-3500U firmware but it most likely won't come from Samsung even if it was possible. I have a hard time believing that the Main PCB inside the LCD panel doesn't have enough bandwidth to transfer the 4K/60FPS video to LCD panel. I wish I knew how to program the SEK-3500U firmware or could find somebody that could. I am sure Samsung has that firmware code locked down tight. It would be interesting to compare the Main PCBs between F9000 and HU8550 since the HU8550 works flawless with 4K/60FPS and AMP can be changed or turned off. Thank goodness the upconverted 1080P on the F9000 with SEK-3500U is flawless and smooth. I will hang on to it as long as I can.
hurtz777 is offline  
post #23697 of 23773 Old 05-03-2019, 12:18 PM
Member
 
THXTEX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Samsung did som update on the overseas support webpages. They have added the latest Firmware 1530.1, but with a date from yesterday (2019-05-02). I downloaded it and did a CRC check on the content. IT IS THE SAME firmware, but instead of an .exe file it is a .zip. I have no idea why Samsung has done this.

https://www.samsung.com/de/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/fr/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/es/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/nl/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/it/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/dk/support/m...E65JS9505QXXE/
https://www.samsung.com/ru/support/m...E88JS9500TXRU/
https://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
galonzo likes this.

UE55F9005 - SEK-3500U/ZG
OPPO UDP-205EU
ROTEL RB980 + RB985 poweramps
MKSound 750 Series speakers + 2 V1250 subs
THXTEX1 is offline  
post #23698 of 23773 Old 05-03-2019, 01:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Maybe Samsung Europe is doing a catch up to our NA 1540.3 ?

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #23699 of 23773 Old 05-04-2019, 01:35 AM
Newbie
 
root.down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Alternatively, if you dare, an eeprom reset may be what you need.
thank you, poppagene
I tried this method, reset it three times, after turning on the TV, there is still no menu image, smart hub, etc.
by the way eeprom chip - "winbond 25q16"
Poppagene, can you take a picture or tell where is the SVC-Reset item in the service menu?

UE65F9000, SEK-3500U/ZA
root.down is offline  
post #23700 of 23773 Old 05-04-2019, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by root.down View Post
thank you, poppagene
I tried this method, reset it three times, after turning on the TV, there is still no menu image, smart hub, etc.
by the way eeprom chip - "winbond 25q16"
Poppagene, can you take a picture or tell where is the SVC-Reset item in the service menu?
If you do a SVC reset with a mismatched box - set it will cause problems.

The data sync reset is what you want.

Be careful to use arrow keys to navigate.

Hope these pictures from the standard service menu help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic1.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	539.6 KB
ID:	2562340   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic2.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	508.5 KB
ID:	2562342   Click image for larger version

Name:	pic3.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	416.2 KB
ID:	2562344  
Musician likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
SEK-3500U/ZA

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off