2015 Samsung SEK-3500U/ZA Evolution Kit - Page 791 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 13372Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #23701 of 23768 Old 05-04-2019, 09:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by THXTEX1 View Post
Samsung did som update on the overseas support webpages. They have added the latest Firmware 1530.1, but with a date from yesterday (2019-05-02). I downloaded it and did a CRC check on the content. IT IS THE SAME firmware, but instead of an .exe file it is a .zip. I have no idea why Samsung has done this.

https://www.samsung.com/de/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/fr/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/es/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/nl/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/it/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
https://www.samsung.com/dk/support/m...E65JS9505QXXE/
https://www.samsung.com/ru/support/m...E88JS9500TXRU/
https://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/SEK-3500U/XC/
Hi,

On the swiss website, the recent firmware for the JS95XX mentions "All OS", whereas the previous one mentions "All Wndows"... both for version 1530.1

https://www.samsung.com/ch_fr/suppor...E78JS9580QXZG/

So the only difference seems to be in the packaging.

W.

TV: Samsung UE78JS9580 (4K HDR10); AUDIO: Denon AVR-X3100W (4K HDCP 1.4)
Media players: Minix U9-H (4K HDR), OpenHour Chameleon (4K SDR), PopcornHour C200 (HD)
Matrix switches: HDfury DIVA & Integral (rev. 1, 600 MHz)
Game consoles: Sony PlayStation 4, Nintendo Wii
Multimedia NAS: Qnap TVS-671 (4K30 SDR)
Walky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23702 of 23768 Old 05-05-2019, 12:12 AM
Member
 
THXTEX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walky View Post
Hi,

On the swiss website, the recent firmware for the JS95XX mentions "All OS", whereas the previous one mentions "All Wndows"...
Most likely Samsung has had a lot of calls from MacOS and Linux users, who have had trouble unpacking the firmware files. This could be a general change on the support pages for all TV's.

UE55F9005 - SEK-3500U/ZG
OPPO UDP-205EU
ROTEL RB980 + RB985 poweramps
MKSound 750 Series speakers + 2 V1250 subs
THXTEX1 is offline  
post #23703 of 23768 Old 05-17-2019, 09:17 AM
Newbie
 
root.down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
If you do a SVC reset with a mismatched box - set it will cause problems.

The data sync reset is what you want.

Be careful to use arrow keys to navigate.

Hope these pictures from the standard service menu help
poppagene, thank you very much
I tried to make data sync reset, but did not help
may i ask you for another favor?
look, please, is there my matrix type in the service menu - 65A1UUZL
this is in "option - type"

UE65F9000, SEK-3500U/ZA
root.down is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23704 of 23768 Old 05-18-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by root.down View Post
poppagene, thank you very much
I tried to make data sync reset, but did not help
may i ask you for another favor?
look, please, is there my matrix type in the service menu - 65A1UUZL
this is in "option - type"
See pictures for further information.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	menu1.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	543.0 KB
ID:	2568278   Click image for larger version

Name:	menu2.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	333.8 KB
ID:	2568280   Click image for larger version

Name:	panel1.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	564.6 KB
ID:	2568282   Click image for larger version

Name:	panel2.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	598.2 KB
ID:	2568284   Click image for larger version

Name:	panel3.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	570.9 KB
ID:	2568286  

Click image for larger version

Name:	panel4.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	566.5 KB
ID:	2568288  
Musician and root.down like this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000

Last edited by poppagene; 05-19-2019 at 03:14 AM.
poppagene is offline  
post #23705 of 23768 Old 05-18-2019, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Not in this case. All panel types listed have 9 characters. See pictures for further information.
Actually his model # is in the first photo of model numbers, left hand side, and there are anywhere from 7 to 10 characters.

(Note: service remote or Android app required to get into the ASM.)
poppagene and Musician like this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #23706 of 23768 Old 05-19-2019, 03:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Actually his model # is in the first photo of model numbers, left hand side, and there are anywhere from 7 to 10 characters.

(Note: service remote or Android app required to get into the ASM.)
Good catch.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #23707 of 23768 Old 05-19-2019, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Good catch.
I don't think he has a choice like in the past years when we did the JS Mod.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #23708 of 23768 Old 05-22-2019, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
root.down's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
See pictures for further information.
thanks poppagene, you are always extremely informative
I see my model of the matrix in the list, it is the sixth under NONE
Can I have a couple of clarifying questions?
- after entering the SM "options - type" section, is the cursor placed on the NONE or on its matrix model?
- how to scroll through the list and get on NONE? If I press "left" and "up" many times, will I get there?
- Navigating through the list using the up and down buttons, and selecting the matrix model by pressing the Enter(Ok) once?

UE65F9000, SEK-3500U/ZA
root.down is offline  
post #23709 of 23768 Old 05-22-2019, 11:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by root.down View Post
thanks poppagene, you are always extremely informative
I see my model of the matrix in the list, it is the sixth under NONE
Can I have a couple of clarifying questions?
- after entering the SM "options - type" section, is the cursor placed on the NONE or on its matrix model?
- how to scroll through the list and get on NONE? If I press "left" and "up" many times, will I get there?
- Navigating through the list using the up and down buttons, and selecting the matrix model by pressing the Enter(Ok) once?
You'll end up in the panel list wherever the system info thinks your setup is. Cursor to the left as many times as necessary. Mine doesn't go past the farthest left column. Cursor up to get to none. From there cursor down to your panel and exit the menu
poppagene is offline  
post #23710 of 23768 Old 05-25-2019, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Is there a way to reset just the WiFi on the SEK-3500 without resetting the entire unit?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Bigmizzoufan is offline  
post #23711 of 23768 Old 05-25-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,183
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2634 Post(s)
Liked: 5203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmizzoufan View Post
Is there a way to reset just the WiFi on the SEK-3500 without resetting the entire unit?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Go into Menu >> Network >> Network Settings which will bring up the screen shown in the first thumbnail below and then follow the prompts based on your desired parameters.

Or alternatively you can go into Menu >> Network >> Network Status as shown in the second thumbnail and then select Change Network which would bring up the same screen. You’d also use this same option if you were only interested in changing your IP Settings (including your DNS settings).

And just so you are aware as you can see the only thing a Reset won’t do is reset the Network settings as evidenced by the onscreen text that reads “All settings will return to factory defaults except network settings” as shown in the third thumbnail so much better to use one of the aforementioned options to change your network settings so you don’t have to reenter all your other settings which can be very cumbersome!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7E6B0A65-6A3E-4385-87C6-96867B1C6646.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	2571782   Click image for larger version

Name:	922FAE74-00C8-42CD-BB63-CA10042A1500.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	71.2 KB
ID:	2571812   Click image for larger version

Name:	9B663D2D-A624-45C7-8A91-BB6042CAB36A.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	107.0 KB
ID:	2571816  

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer

Last edited by Musician; 05-25-2019 at 05:25 PM.
Musician is offline  
post #23712 of 23768 Old 05-26-2019, 06:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pilotart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,202
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 651 Post(s)
Liked: 502
I prefer to just use an Ethernet cable (a 7k 100'/30 meter coil is about $20), but if you want to easily control your 'smart' TV's access to your network through WiFi, you can set up a "guest" account:

https://www.lifewire.com/guest-netwo...utorial-818204

This is also recommended for your "Ring-Doorbell" which has no possible Ethernet capability.
Art
galonzo likes this.
pilotart is offline  
post #23713 of 23768 Old 05-26-2019, 05:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
Go into Menu >> Network >> Network Settings which will bring up the screen shown in the first thumbnail below and then follow the prompts based on your desired parameters.



Or alternatively you can go into Menu >> Network >> Network Status as shown in the second thumbnail and then select Change Network which would bring up the same screen. You’d also use this same option if you were only interested in changing your IP Settings (including your DNS settings).



And just so you are aware as you can see the only thing a Reset won’t do is reset the Network settings as evidenced by the onscreen text that reads “All settings will return to factory defaults except network settings” as shown in the third thumbnail so much better to use one of the aforementioned options to change your network settings so you don’t have to reenter all your other settings which can be very cumbersome!


Thank you!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Musician likes this.
Bigmizzoufan is offline  
post #23714 of 23768 Old 05-27-2019, 04:55 AM
Member
 
Asfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

we can't have HDR-HLG (via Satellite) with SEK 3500 ?

Thx
Asfi is offline  
post #23715 of 23768 Old 05-27-2019, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,183
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2634 Post(s)
Liked: 5203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asfi View Post
Hello,

we can't have HDR-HLG (via Satellite) with SEK 3500 ?

Thx
The short answer is no.

The long answer is do a Google search for...

SEK-3500 HLG site:www.avsforum.com

...and other than some rumours back in the day it never came to fruition as the consensus was that this would require HDMI 2.0b which the SEK-3500 (nor the SEK-4500) supports.
galonzo likes this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is offline  
post #23716 of 23768 Old 05-27-2019, 06:55 AM
Member
 
Asfi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
The short answer is no.

The long answer is do a Google search for...

SEK-3500 HLG site:www.avsforum.com

...and other than some rumours back in the day it never came to fruition as the consensus was that this would require HDMI 2.0b which the SEK-3500 (nor the SEK-4500) supports.
That's what I did ... a Goolge seach, just like that.

But yes I see it require HDMI 2.0b ... but for HDMI, and my question was for Satellite (DVB-S). As I know, it doesn't use a HDMI port ...

Thank you for your answer.
Asfi is offline  
post #23717 of 23768 Old 05-27-2019, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,183
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2634 Post(s)
Liked: 5203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asfi View Post
That's what I did ... a Goolge seach, just like that.

But yes I see it require HDMI 2.0b ... but for HDMI, and my question was for Satellite (DVB-S). As I know, it doesn't use a HDMI port ...

Thank you for your answer.
I was trying to avoid the real long answer.

You never mentioned (DVB-S) in your initial post which I assume is a port only available on the European version of the SEK-3500 now that I have searched other posts of yours and see you are in France but in the USA and Canada most folks use a Satellite Tuner connected via HDMI or Component provided by their service provider... or Coax through an antenna.

Anyways like I mentioned other than a few rumours started by hopeful owners in Europe (see attached thumbnail) there have been no confirmed cases on AVS Forum of the SEK-3500 of owners in any country obtaining HLG via any connection method at any time including Smart Hub application (e.g. Direct TV) or the USB ports.

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	7400EE82-EEB3-41A7-996F-689527D14D0B.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	2572282  
galonzo and Asfi like this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer

Last edited by Musician; 05-27-2019 at 08:25 AM.
Musician is offline  
post #23718 of 23768 Old 06-03-2019, 06:25 PM
Member
 
dax45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Having not an Evolution kit,
Can "Uhd evolution kit backup" function be used to save TVs settings? /Restore them after a Reset. Thank you
dax45 is offline  
post #23719 of 23768 Old 06-03-2019, 09:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by dax45 View Post
Having not an Evolution kit,
Can "Uhd evolution kit backup" function be used to save TVs settings? /Restore them after a Reset. Thank you
no
dax45 likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #23720 of 23768 Old 06-03-2019, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
Pen/pencil and paper, or photo will do the trick.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #23721 of 23768 Old 06-04-2019, 10:13 AM
Member
 
dax45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Pen/pencil and paper, or photo will do the trick.
Right... but there are so many modes each with its own settings, recently discovered another. Then comes the restoration again for every mode apart, then I'm not sure this will fix the bug which doesn't let me anymore watch certain youtube videos till the end. Same videos play without interruption from a PC.

Many bugs encountered to this Samsung 55JS9000
dax45 is offline  
post #23722 of 23768 Old 06-04-2019, 11:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
Quote:
Originally Posted by dax45 View Post
Right... but there are so many modes each with its own settings, recently discovered another. Then comes the restoration again for every mode apart, then I'm not sure this will fix the bug which doesn't let me anymore watch certain youtube videos till the end. Same videos play without interruption from a PC.

Many bugs encountered to this Samsung 55JS9000
So it doesn't reset your settings, have you done the hub reset?
Hub reset, leave off overnight, then restart backup the next day.
Re-install YouTube.

Timer off - shut off? Some videos appear to the system, that nothing is actually happening, and it shuts off.
There's so many factors in this from router timeout, system timeout, etc. So, it might not even be the actual TV at issue here..
Is this only happening certain times of the day, like lunch time when everyone checks their e-mail, kids get home from school and get on the internet, after supper until 10 week days, after 1 weekends when everyone is streaming. Try 2 to 3 AM, no issue, then this is your problem, too many people online. Why one of my clients sleeps all day, and does what ever, after midnight.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 06-04-2019 at 11:34 AM.
p5browne is online now  
post #23723 of 23768 Old 06-05-2019, 08:18 AM
Member
 
dax45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
So it doesn't reset your settings, have you done the hub reset?
Hub reset, leave off overnight, then restart backup the next day.
Re-install YouTube...
Didn't reset SmartHub, just reinstalled Youtube, restarted my router, deleted some of the devices from Network> Multimedia device manager, and reset to defaults that silly **** joke of Web browser which can't open more and more web sites... and no alternative to it, or is it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
So it doesn't reset your settings, have you done the hub reset?
...then restart backup the next day....
backup?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
...
Timer off - shut off? Some videos appear to the system, that nothing is actually happening, and it shuts off.
There's so many factors in this from router timeout, system timeout, etc. So, it might not even be the actual TV at issue here.....
First i suspected Youtube, then my internet provider and router, then the Samsung Connect Box and checked if warms too much.
Timers shut off/on the TV not only get out/stop a youtube video.

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
...
Is this only happening certain times of the day, like lunch time when everyone checks their e-mail, kids get home from school and get on the internet, after supper until 10 week days, after 1 weekends when everyone is streaming. Try 2 to 3 AM, no issue, then this is your problem, too many people online. Why one of my clients sleeps all day, and does what ever, after midnight.
I wanted to exclude traffic and switched to the lowest resolution, it was like 240 and that video stopped like before.

What can I now suspect is Tizen together with the generous 1Gb of RAM -> fatal combination
just 1Gb RAM for this huge TV!!!

Last edited by dax45; 06-05-2019 at 08:23 AM.
dax45 is offline  
post #23724 of 23768 Old 06-05-2019, 10:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
I have installed the Amazon Firestick 4K - it's browser Amazon Silk has it's own particular peculiarities, but is newer. Firefox can also be installed.

It appears manufacturers are no longer interested in models older than 1 year, and their answer is to purchase plugins for upgrades.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #23725 of 23768 Old 06-05-2019, 12:47 PM
Member
 
dax45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
I have installed the Amazon Firestick 4K - it's browser Amazon Silk has it's own particular peculiarities, but is newer. Firefox can also be installed.
No results were found. Are you sure JS9000 is the case? Software ver: T-HKPDEUC-1530.1 , BT - S
... i think i understand now, you are using an external mediabox with those browsers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
...plugins for upgrades.
What's that, if i may ask?

Last edited by dax45; 06-05-2019 at 12:52 PM.
dax45 is offline  
post #23726 of 23768 Old 06-05-2019, 12:51 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
FW 1540.3 available

https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N65JS9000FXZC/

Manufacturer's don't want to bother spending monies on upgrading older than 1 year old models, and prefer you buy Rokus, Comcasts, Fire Sticks, etc to do your upgrading.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #23727 of 23768 Old 06-05-2019, 01:15 PM
Member
 
dax45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good to know. Canada SUHDs might have different hardware because my TV doesn't update to ver 1540.3 which is dated 2018-08-28.
All SUHD TVs have been evaporated from my country's site. https://www.samsung.com/ro/tvs
dax45 is offline  
post #23728 of 23768 Old 06-05-2019, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,167
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3990 Post(s)
Liked: 3161
Quote:
Originally Posted by dax45 View Post
Good to know. Canada SUHDs might have different hardware because my TV doesn't update to ver 1540.3 which is dated 2018-08-28.
All SUHD TVs have been evaporated from my country's site. https://www.samsung.com/ro/tvs
I guess the European support fell behind. NA FW won't work.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 06-06-2019 at 12:07 PM.
p5browne is online now  
post #23729 of 23768 Old 06-07-2019, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,183
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2634 Post(s)
Liked: 5203
I came across this step-by-step guide on the NVidia website that includes a number of screen shots from an owner of a 2015 JS series television that would pretty much cover most of the TV settings for guys who are looking to use their Samsung TV as a computer monitor:

2015 Samsung 4k TV as a Monitor Set Up Guide

I presume similar steps would be followed for those hooking up a game console as well.

Just to save you guys some time, to make a long story short we were mystified why some guys could see the options to Edit Device Type while others, like myself, could not which had been discussed over the course of many posts on this thread. To make a long story short, if you have setup the Samsung Universal Remote to control your equipment hooked up to your HDMI ports you end up loosing that option which ends up getting replaced by Delete Universal Remote.

For more on that you can read the following post of mine that includes some screen shots as well:

Let Me Entertain Us!

In order to get the Edit Device Type to return to the list you would need to click on Delete Universal Remote but not something I am prepared to do because I have my gear running just the way I want without remote clutter.

But what I did find out while reading the guide on the NVidia site is if you still want the Game setting as your Picture Mode you can merely go into Menu >> System >> General >> Game Mode and turn it On there where you can then modify the picture settings to your hearts content and also maintain your unique settings on the other HDMI inputs. For the next little while I will be experimenting with this setting on the input I have my HTPC plugged into which I primarily use for watching HDR YouTube videos and doing my email, word processing and spreadsheets on the big screen.

Perhaps the die hard gamers would want to eliminate every single bit of lag and therefore forego using the Universal Remote Control feature and activating the Game settings in both the Edit Device Type menu and the General menu as depicted in the guide and the thumbnails below.

Edit

After experimenting with the Game Mode turned On I have turned it Off and gone back to my original settings. Although I have read a number of posts saying that the Game mode does have a negative effect on picture quality (presumably to reduce lag), I have come to realize that this is a trade off most gamers are willing to accept and rightfully so since every nanosecond can have a consequence when playing computer games.

For my purposes, since I don't use my HU9000 + SEK-3500 as a gaming monitor, I prefer the Movie picture mode with my usual array of settings which also happen to be customized for each of my HDMI inputs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Edit Device Type.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	2577200   Click image for larger version

Name:	Edit Device Type - PC.JPG
Views:	21
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	2577202   Click image for larger version

Name:	General - Game Mode.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	78.6 KB
ID:	2577204  
rlb, galonzo and pilotart like this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer

Last edited by Musician; 06-07-2019 at 04:30 PM.
Musician is offline  
post #23730 of 23768 Old 06-07-2019, 06:02 PM
Member
 
dax45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
I ...I prefer the Movie picture mode with my usual array of settings which also happen to be customized for each of my HDMI inputs.
Me too but Auto Motion Plus is not available anymore

Very interesting your post!

Last edited by dax45; 06-09-2019 at 04:14 PM.
dax45 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
SEK-3500U/ZA

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off