**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 186 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5551 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 07:29 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,228
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7386 Post(s)
Liked: 8273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
The Man in the High Castle is the first bit of HDR I've seen on any TV that actually wowed me. Looks absolutely stunning on the 940C!
Interestingly I don't see my 940c kicking into HDR mode with this series. We watched 2 episodes and it's normal SDR on mine. When I force it into HDR, it looks too hyped. I actually see no confirmation in the Amazon description that's it's actually HDR.
C-Dub006 likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5552 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 07:36 PM
Member
 
frapso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Pictures...need pictures,congrats on the tv enjoy Defjamz!
papaleo likes this.
frapso is offline  
post #5553 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Balthazar2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Interestingly I don't see my 940c kicking into HDR mode with this series. We watched 2 episodes and it's normal SDR on mine. When I force it into HDR, it looks too hyped. I actually see no confirmation in the Amazon description that's it's actually HDR.
Are you sure you are watching the UHD stream and not the HD? Amazon's terrible app does split the show into two categories instead of just combining it into a single option and playing the best version for the display. If it isn't HDR then it is the most dynamic UHD I've seen yet.

Inbound: Sony STR-ZA5000ES and Martin Logan ESL-C

Sony 77A9G / Marantz SR-7012 / Martin Logan Motion 60XT, 50XT, Motion 4, Motion FX / 2 x Rythmik FV15HP / AppleTV 4K / ShieldTV (2019) / 170TB Plex Server
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5554 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
neilometer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Interestingly I don't see my 940c kicking into HDR mode with this series. We watched 2 episodes and it's normal SDR on mine. When I force it into HDR, it looks too hyped. I actually see no confirmation in the Amazon description that's it's actually HDR.
You gotta scroll waaaaaaaay down the list in their dumb app to get to the HDR version of the show. I made the same mistake for EP 1.
C-Dub006 likes this.
neilometer is offline  
post #5555 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
neilometer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Interestingly I don't see my 940c kicking into HDR mode with this series. We watched 2 episodes and it's normal SDR on mine. When I force it into HDR, it looks too hyped. I actually see no confirmation in the Amazon description that's it's actually HDR.
You gotta scroll waaaaaaaay down the list in their dumb app to get to the HDR version of the show. I made the same mistake for EP 1.
neilometer is offline  
post #5556 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 08:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,013
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 12155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Interestingly I don't see my 940c kicking into HDR mode with this series. We watched 2 episodes and it's normal SDR on mine. When I force it into HDR, it looks too hyped. I actually see no confirmation in the Amazon description that's it's actually HDR.


As the other guy said, make sure your searching for it in the specific uhd tv section, which is down near the bottom in the list of categories in the newly designed amazon UI.

The first episode wasn't graded properly, episode 2 is better, and 3 and on looks best (multiple people have concured). Look in the episode info to the left of "watch now" and the hdr tag should be next to "CC" and "5.1". I'd definitely like to know if you at least see the tag.

For a full list of the amazon hdr lineup, check out the link in my signature
Ken Ross and brickyardz like this.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #5557 of 14415 Old 11-29-2015, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can someone walk me through using the usb... I have a usb flash drive and a external HDD , what app do i use and what formats work, i downloaded a video clip to my PC and transfered it to the flash drive but it wouldnt play just sound came out , i used the "video" app on the TV, im not that tech savy and have looked online fir solutions but could not find the answers
kronan is offline  
post #5558 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 01:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Couldnt get amazon video app on my 940c so I ordered the amazon 4k fire tv box.

Can anyone comment on their experiences with this device in conjunction with the 940c in terms of 4k / hdr / sound (5.1,7.1,true hd?) pq?
cupell08 is offline  
post #5559 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 01:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,013
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 12155
Quote:
Originally Posted by cupell08 View Post
Couldnt get amazon video app on my 940c so I ordered the amazon 4k fire tv box.

Can anyone comment on their experiences with this device in conjunction with the 940c in terms of 4k / hdr / sound (5.1,7.1,true hd?) pq?

No hdr on those fire boxes.
brickyardz likes this.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #5560 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
rainlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm not sure if someone else has run into this issue, but I've been following this thread since it started and I don't think so.

On my 65" X930C, when I turn it on from power off (normal power off), sometimes my screen is just black. The TV menu still works, it shows the source in the top left etc, but it's as if it's ignoring the video part of the HDMI signal, as I can hear the sound but I see nothing. It also doesn't matter if I switch the source to something else, it's black no matter what I do. This has happened quite a few times with some time in between each occasion. The only way I've managed to "cure" it, is to completely restart the TV (unplug, plug back in, start up). I've tried both HDMI1 and HDMI4 (ARC) as inputs but it doesn't seem to matter. I doubt it could be a faulty HDMI cable as it seems if it would be the problem, then the audio would fail too? But I'm no expert in that area.

My second issue is that sometimes the TV goes into what I can only call "stutter" mode, where the video stream gets super choppy. At first I thought it was my media server (QNAP 451) but after a while I realized that it was the TV. Even the menu at this time (which is already slow in general) gets incredibly choppy. Again, the only cure is to restart the TV. This has also happened with some frequency.

I've ensured TV is on latest firmwares etc.

I've contacted Sony support via mail but I reckon I'll have to call them as they've not replied. But before I do I just wanted to check if anyone else has run into something similar?
rainlord is offline  
post #5561 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,336
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 817 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by arftech View Post
I know this was directed to papaleo but I have the wireless SW as well and it makes a noticeable difference. Sometimes you just want to turn on the TV without firing up your system.

I'm sure papaleo will share his thoughts on the sub soon.

Thanks, I will probably pick up the wireless sub. Since my Direct TV Genie has only one HDMI output which I'm using to connect to my pre/pro for my sound system, this brings up the question that since I have to also connect the Component video outputs along with the left and right analog audio outputs for when I am just using the TV speakers does the component connection do the same 4K up scaling? What about actual 4k software, I am pretty sure you will have to use the HDMI for that and one that has 2.0 spec?
mt14942 is offline  
post #5562 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,228
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7386 Post(s)
Liked: 8273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
Are you sure you are watching the UHD stream and not the HD? Amazon's terrible app does split the show into two categories instead of just combining it into a single option and playing the best version for the display. If it isn't HDR then it is the most dynamic UHD I've seen yet.
Yup, I'm in the UHD section of Amazon and it says in the summary that it's UHD. But likewise there's nothing in the description to indicate it's actually HDR.

With that said, the PQ is certainly very good.
brickyardz likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5563 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,228
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7386 Post(s)
Liked: 8273
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilometer View Post
You gotta scroll waaaaaaaay down the list in their dumb app to get to the HDR version of the show. I made the same mistake for EP 1.
Does the description actually say HDR or just UHD? On mine it just says UHD.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5564 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Balthazar2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Yup, I'm in the UHD section of Amazon and it says in the summary that it's UHD. But likewise there's nothing in the description to indicate it's actually HDR.

With that said, the PQ is certainly very good.
Do any of Amazon's original programs indicate they are UHD HDR? What little I have found around on the web seems to indicate that it is indeed HDR.

Inbound: Sony STR-ZA5000ES and Martin Logan ESL-C

Sony 77A9G / Marantz SR-7012 / Martin Logan Motion 60XT, 50XT, Motion 4, Motion FX / 2 x Rythmik FV15HP / AppleTV 4K / ShieldTV (2019) / 170TB Plex Server
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #5565 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Beefchopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Does the description actually say HDR or just UHD? On mine it just says UHD.
Mine too.
Beefchopper is offline  
post #5566 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Interestingly I don't see my 940c kicking into HDR mode with this series. We watched 2 episodes and it's normal SDR on mine. When I force it into HDR, it looks too hyped. I actually see no confirmation in the Amazon description that's it's actually HDR.
If you click on Ray0414 Master list of HDR videos in his signature, post #2 shows how to look and see if a video from Amazon is HDR
brickyardz is offline  
post #5567 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 09:33 AM
Member
 
mike iuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainlord View Post
I'm not sure if someone else has run into this issue, but I've been following this thread since it started and I don't think so.

On my 65" X930C, when I turn it on from power off (normal power off), sometimes my screen is just black. The TV menu still works, it shows the source in the top left etc, but it's as if it's ignoring the video part of the HDMI signal, as I can hear the sound but I see nothing. It also doesn't matter if I switch the source to something else, it's black no matter what I do. This has happened quite a few times with some time in between each occasion. The only way I've managed to "cure" it, is to completely restart the TV (unplug, plug back in, start up). I've tried both HDMI1 and HDMI4 (ARC) as inputs but it doesn't seem to matter. I doubt it could be a faulty HDMI cable as it seems if it would be the problem, then the audio would fail too? But I'm no expert in that area.

My second issue is that sometimes the TV goes into what I can only call "stutter" mode, where the video stream gets super choppy. At first I thought it was my media server (QNAP 451) but after a while I realized that it was the TV. Even the menu at this time (which is already slow in general) gets incredibly choppy. Again, the only cure is to restart the TV. This has also happened with some frequency.

I've ensured TV is on latest firmwares etc.

I've contacted Sony support via mail but I reckon I'll have to call them as they've not replied. But before I do I just wanted to check if anyone else has run into something similar?
I would contact Sony asap.
mike iuro is offline  
post #5568 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
neilometer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Does the description actually say HDR or just UHD? On mine it just says UHD.
Yes, mine reads TV-MA 5.1 CC HDR
neilometer is offline  
post #5569 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 09:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,257
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6073
Mine blacks out like that when I throw in a blu-ray and it gets a 1080p/24 signal. Its a handshake issue I think with either my denon or the sony blu-ray player. Has happened only twice, but I did have to pull the plug. My only real complaint is the buggy ass software.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #5570 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 10:29 AM
Member
 
jeffs777's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lodi, California
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by neilometer View Post
Yes, mine reads TV-MA 5.1 CC HDR
Ken,

I just checked and it definitely says HDR. Select 'The Man in High Castle' under the Ultra HD section on the Amazon home screen. When it comes up, don't select play, but move the cursor to the left to highlight the episode name, and select. This gives a little more detail on the episode and mine says right below theistic rating 'TV-MA 5.1 CC HDR'.

I'm assuming you have Amazon Prime - I think this is a prerequisite to getting HDR. If you call Amazon, they act like they don't know HDR exist and to me they initially denied they supported it. I think they're fielding a lot of calls from people who don't understand the hardware requirements. They finally checked my registered devices and helped me with a question.

Hope this helps,
Jeff
Ken Ross, brickyardz and C-Dub006 like this.
jeffs777 is offline  
post #5571 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Balthazar2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffs777 View Post
Ken,

I just checked and it definitely says HDR. Select 'The Man in High Castle' under the Ultra HD section on the Amazon home screen. When it comes up, don't select play, but move the cursor to the left to highlight the episode name, and select. This gives a little more detail on the episode and mine says right below theistic rating 'TV-MA 5.1 CC HDR'.

I'm assuming you have Amazon Prime - I think this is a prerequisite to getting HDR. If you call Amazon, they act like they don't know HDR exist and to me they initially denied they supported it. I think they're fielding a lot of calls from people who don't understand the hardware requirements. They finally checked my registered devices and helped me with a question.

Hope this helps,
Jeff
Huh, that is good to know. Keeps the guesswork to a minimum. Crazy part is I've probably noticed that before and since forgot.

Inbound: Sony STR-ZA5000ES and Martin Logan ESL-C

Sony 77A9G / Marantz SR-7012 / Martin Logan Motion 60XT, 50XT, Motion 4, Motion FX / 2 x Rythmik FV15HP / AppleTV 4K / ShieldTV (2019) / 170TB Plex Server
Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #5572 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 12:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Audio through sub issue

Was out of town & just updated the 940 firmware. Now I have the issue of the audio blaring out of the Sub when the TV is turned on. Have to reboot every time.


Never had this problem before with the sub until this update. I know Carlos had the issue (page 84) but never heard what resolved the problem. Tried the crossover settings, but no luck.


Any ideas?!


Thanks!
surp is offline  
post #5573 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,228
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7386 Post(s)
Liked: 8273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4 View Post
Do any of Amazon's original programs indicate they are UHD HDR? What little I have found around on the web seems to indicate that it is indeed HDR.
Well for whatever reason, this time around the HDR did kick in. The downside is that the skin tones seemed to have a bit of a red push relative to the HD version. This is a bit reminiscent of the Roku issue.

The difference is this is the first time I've seen this with a UHD program on any of the Sony apps. I guess it's possible that was the Director's intent.
brickyardz likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5574 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 12:48 PM
Member
 
frapso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by surp View Post
Was out of town & just updated the 940 firmware. Now I have the issue of the audio blaring out of the Sub when the TV is turned on. Have to reboot every time.


Never had this problem before with the sub until this update. I know Carlos had the issue (page 84) but never heard what resolved the problem. Tried the crossover settings, but no luck.


Any ideas?!


Thanks!
Surp I had the same problem ,in my case it was the headphone output option in the sound section,it had changed to headphone instead of subwoofer after the update.
Hope u get it sorted out.
frapso is offline  
post #5575 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 01:31 PM
Member
 
defjamz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by frapso View Post
Pictures...need pictures,congrats on the tv enjoy Defjamz!
Here are a few quick iphone shots of my 940C. Forgive the baby-gate in front, I need to keep it away from 2-year old hands. Pictures don't really do it justice.

Did a quick 2-point WB calibration last night. "Expert 1" color was a little warm (~6100K), so I adjusted to get to 6500K. Did the calibration with Local Dimming off, and then turned it back on (Medium) afterwards. Also found that Brightness of 8 gave me ~65 ft/L with motionflow off. While that's a lot brighter than I usually calibrate too, it provides an insane amount of contrast/pop while maintaining deep blacks and shadow detail. No way my 850B could anywhere near this bright without washing out the black levels.
Overall image quality is simply stunning, and I think surpasses my previous "best tv I've owned", the Panny VT60 plasma.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2097.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	208.7 KB
ID:	1089706   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2095.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	235.9 KB
ID:	1089714  

Rec Room: LG 77C8/Denon X4300/Oppo UDP203/Klipsch RP280F, RP450C, RP140 Atmos, RP150M, R14M/Martin Logan Dynamo1000/PS4 Pro
Living Room: Samsung 82Q90R/Yamaha A1050/Sony UBP-X800/Definitive BP9040, A90 Atmos, BP6/SVS SB2000/Xbox One X
defjamz is offline  
post #5576 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 02:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by frapso View Post
Surp I had the same problem ,in my case it was the headphone output option in the sound section,it had changed to headphone instead of subwoofer after the update.
Hope u get it sorted out.
Yes, when I first updated, the sub didn't work at all and saw that same setting. I just tried resetting all the sub settings and rebooted. See what happens next power up!


Thanks!
surp is offline  
post #5577 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 02:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by defjamz View Post
Here are a few quick iphone shots of my 940C. Forgive the baby-gate in front, I need to keep it away from 2-year old hands. Pictures don't really do it justice.

Did a quick 2-point WB calibration last night. "Expert 1" color was a little warm (~6100K), so I adjusted to get to 6500K. Did the calibration with Local Dimming off, and then turned it back on (Medium) afterwards. Also found that Brightness of 8 gave me ~65 ft/L with motionflow off. While that's a lot brighter than I usually calibrate too, it provides an insane amount of contrast/pop while maintaining deep blacks and shadow detail. No way my 850B could anywhere near this bright without washing out the black levels.
Overall image quality is simply stunning, and I think surpasses my previous "best tv I've owned", the Panny VT60 plasma.
Looks awesome!
brickyardz is offline  
post #5578 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 02:34 PM
Member
 
kevin380's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, I just got the 65X930C and picture quality is amazing. I am trying to set up VPN and cannot find any options under settings. Anyone has any idea? thanks in advance!
GOBAYS likes this.
kevin380 is offline  
post #5579 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,228
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7386 Post(s)
Liked: 8273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffs777 View Post
Ken,

I just checked and it definitely says HDR. Select 'The Man in High Castle' under the Ultra HD section on the Amazon home screen. When it comes up, don't select play, but move the cursor to the left to highlight the episode name, and select. This gives a little more detail on the episode and mine says right below theistic rating 'TV-MA 5.1 CC HDR'.

I'm assuming you have Amazon Prime - I think this is a prerequisite to getting HDR. If you call Amazon, they act like they don't know HDR exist and to me they initially denied they supported it. I think they're fielding a lot of calls from people who don't understand the hardware requirements. They finally checked my registered devices and helped me with a question.

Hope this helps,
Jeff
Jeff, yes, big help and yes, I do have Amazon Prime! I don't know how I missed that more detailed description. The last episode we watched, episode 4, looked very good in UHD/HDR, although at times I got the feeling that some scenes were shot just for the 'look, I'm HDR' thing.

BTW, if you want to see a really hideous example of HDR (actually more the color grading), check out "Z". Much of the episode features beet red faces and horrific color grading. Pretty bizarre.
jeffs777 likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5580 of 14415 Old 11-30-2015, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,013
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12814 Post(s)
Liked: 12155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Jeff, yes, big help and yes, I do have Amazon Prime! I don't know how I missed that more detailed description. The last episode we watched, episode 4, looked very good in UHD/HDR, although at times I got the feeling that some scenes were shot just for the 'look, I'm HDR' thing.

BTW, if you want to see a really hideous example of HDR (actually more the color grading), check out "Z". Much of the episode features beet red faces and horrific color grading. Pretty bizarre.

Im glad I'm not the only one that thought that "Z" was bad, it looked completely putrid on Samsung Tvs too. The other show that has Shaq and flea in it also had overly wild grading. The top 4 so far on amazon are smurfs2, Elysium, edge, and castle.
ray0414 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off