**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 188 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7020Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5611 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobrien1 View Post
This update installed on my 940C a week or so ago. I can't answer in detail about improvements as I haven't had a chance to check things out in any detail. That said, BE AWARE, that you need to copy your settings before applying the update. I let mine rip and at the end there was a message that it had finished and "that some user settings may have been changed"! I had lost my hard won picture settings and had to recreate / recover them.
Hope you had a copy of your settings. There is always a chance of your settings being changed after a FW update. Chad B calibrated a 850C,then did the FW update,sure enough, some of the settings were changed, he had to go back and change them again.
brickyardz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5612 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 11:44 AM
Member
 
tumi05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Amazon Prime UltraHD HRD issue.

After completing the recent x940 software update the picture mode will not remain in HDR Video setting. Manually change the setting to HDR Video and when the video starts it converts to Cinema Pro. Tried several Amazon video selections including Man in the High Castle UltraHD-HDR with the same results.

Auto Picture is in the off setting.

Any suggestions?

Last edited by tumi05; 12-02-2015 at 11:53 AM.
tumi05 is offline  
post #5613 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 11:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Quote:
Originally Posted by nobrien1 View Post
This update installed on my 940C a week or so ago. I can't answer in detail about improvements as I haven't had a chance to check things out in any detail. That said, BE AWARE, that you need to copy your settings before applying the update. I let mine rip and at the end there was a message that it had finished and "that some user settings may have been changed"! I had lost my hard won picture settings and had to recreate / recover them.

Thats odd. my 930C did not lose it's calibrated settings.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5614 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
totdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So...ever since the last update, every time I turn the TV off then back on, the TV switches to putting ALL the audio out through the sony wireless sub. To fix this, I have to go into settings>sound>Headphone/Audio out and switch OFF the subwoofer, then switch it back to subwoofer. This happens every.single.time. I tried unplugging the set, which makes it work normally for 1 or 2 power cycles, then it goes right back to the same problem Any idea how to fix this?
totdoc is offline  
post #5615 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 12:56 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
My 940c arrived today and is in the HT.
It's a little too wobbly with the legs in the optional "center" position for my tastes.
I'll do what the manual suggests and get it anchored to the wall.




Quote:
Originally Posted by tumi05 View Post
Amazon Prime UltraHD HRD issue.

After completing the recent x940 software update the picture mode will not remain in HDR Video setting. Manually change the setting to HDR Video and when the video starts it converts to Cinema Pro. Tried several Amazon video selections including Man in the High Castle UltraHD-HDR with the same results.

Auto Picture is in the off setting.

Any suggestions?
Huh...maybe I shouldn't update mine.



oink is offline  
post #5616 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 01:41 PM
Member
 
GOBAYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Mine 930 wall mounted and I have zero issues.



My only hypothesis is a tech than can go pixel by pixel (OLED) will be the best performer in the future with HDR type content. Second place, depending on zones, will be a FALD, and last place will be edge lit LCD.

I mean lets be honest here, when an LCD with poor zones or that is edge lit has to go super nova in a small area, depending on the dimming tech, it is going to kill contrast in a larger area than the part it had to brighten. Im not saying they are going to look bad, just saying that one tech is setup to do it better than the other two.
Hi gadgtfreek,

Did you wall mount your 930C yourself or get it professionally done? I am just worried that either the small electric drill used to put the screws in the back of the 850B caused the backlight issues and if the way I put the screws in the back of the current 930C which is being replaced caused the issues. I am thinking about either not wall mounting the new 930C or getting it professionally mounted. Any thoughts?

Thanks
GOBAYS is offline  
post #5617 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
I did mine. I just put the spacer in hand tight and snugged them with a screwdriver, same with the screws that hold the bracket to back of the 930.
GOBAYS likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #5618 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 02:17 PM
Member
 
GOBAYS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks mate appreciate the response.
GOBAYS is offline  
post #5619 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,311
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7433 Post(s)
Liked: 8325
Quote:
Originally Posted by sytech View Post
What? I don't think anyone was saying FALD would be a failure with HDR. In fact, quite the opposite. HDR with FALD will look better then edge-lit or even 400 nit OLED. The only negative thing you could say about FALD and HDR would be very slight increase in blooming if the local dimming scheme was not done correctly, but this would show up in SDR as well.
That's not what I read. I saw many posts, particularly from the OLED guys, that FALD would be a real issue with HDR as the result of bright highlights spilling over to adjacent zones. That's just not the case.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5620 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
That's not what I read. I saw many posts, particularly from the OLED guys, that FALD would be a real issue with HDR as the result of bright highlights spilling over to adjacent zones. That's just not the case.
It will be real if it is one of the low level FALD's with not enough zones, a flagship should be just fine.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #5621 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi, I have a question to do with installing Apps, when I select to install an app all I get is install pending scroll bar on any app I select to instal? I am logged into my google account and have a connection. Any ideas? the pre installed apps work fine
andrewpana is offline  
post #5622 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 03:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,376
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
My 940c arrived today and is in the HT.
It's a little too wobbly with the legs in the optional "center" position for my tastes.
I'll do what the manual suggests and get it anchored to the wall.





Huh...maybe I shouldn't update mine.
I feel the same way about the TV being a little to wobbly in the center positions and am considering anchoring it to the wall. I believe I remember there were instruction's that came with the TV on how to do this my problem is I'm far from the most mechanical person in the world.
mt14942 is online now  
post #5623 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 04:39 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Been taking the new TV for a test drive...


Questions:
1) Can I replace my DirecTV Genie box with the Sony built-in app?
2) Does the Amazon and NF apps mean I can get rid of the latest 4K FireTV box I just got?
3) Where can I find explanations for all of the Sony terminology like CineMotion, etc.?
The online manuals/documentation are pretty useless...absolutely no detail.
http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-...ls#/manualsTab



oink is offline  
post #5624 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 04:42 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post
I feel the same way about the TV being a little to wobbly in the center positions and am considering anchoring it to the wall. I believe I remember there were instruction's that came with the TV on how to do this my problem is I'm far from the most mechanical person in the world.
Yes there are instructions.
It doesn't look like a particularly complicated procedure.
I'll go to the hardware store tomorrow and get what I need.



oink is offline  
post #5625 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 05:24 PM
Member
 
defjamz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Just added some Bias lighting to the back of my 940C. The set has a nice little (~1/4") shelf on the back where I applied the LED light strip to. With the black levels on this set, Bias light isn't really necessary, but I had it on my 850B so why not? Does help a little with eye strain since the 940C can melt your retinas if you have the brightness setting up in a dark room.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2102.jpg
Views:	307
Size:	113.5 KB
ID:	1094618   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2100.jpg
Views:	307
Size:	143.8 KB
ID:	1094626  
Freddie Harb likes this.

Rec Room: LG 77C8/Denon X4300/Oppo UDP203/Klipsch RP280F, RP450C, RP140 Atmos, RP150M, R14M/Martin Logan Dynamo1000/PS4 Pro
Living Room: Samsung 82Q90R/Yamaha A1050/Sony UBP-X800/Definitive BP9040, A90 Atmos, BP6/SVS SB2000/Xbox One X
defjamz is offline  
post #5626 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,340
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6140
Yeah, I am running my 930C at 35fL and no backlight is fine.
marcuslaw likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
Panasonic UB820 / ATV4K
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / RP-500SA / FV15HP (5.1.2)
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #5627 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,582
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 604 Post(s)
Liked: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by defjamz View Post
Just added some Bias lighting to the back of my 940C. The set has a nice little (~1/4") shelf on the back where I applied the LED light strip to. With the black levels on this set, Bias light isn't really necessary, but I had it on my 850B so why not? Does help a little with eye strain since the 940C can melt your retinas if you have the brightness setting up in a dark room.
That looks awesome!
brickyardz is offline  
post #5628 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Freddie Harb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Hi guys,

My 940c arrived, unfortunately I'm travelling this week and won't be home until tomorrow night. So this photo, which I don't know how to rotate is all I have.

Freddie
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.jpg
Views:	290
Size:	144.8 KB
ID:	1094746  
Freddie Harb is offline  
post #5629 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 05:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 36
normal Android fix on the "pending install" issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewpana View Post
Hi, I have a question to do with installing Apps, when I select to install an app all I get is install pending scroll bar on any app I select to instal? I am logged into my google account and have a connection. Any ideas? the pre installed apps work fine
If installation does not resume after waiting for a while, please clear the Data & Cache as follows:

Press the HOME button.
Select Settings.
Scroll over to Apps in the first (TV) category.
Select "Google Play services" in the System app category. (it's alphabetical)
Select Clear data then OK, and on the screen that is displayed, select CLEAR ALL DATA then OK.
Select Clear cache then OK.

If that doesn't do it, you may have to unplug the TV and reboot it.
waja, brickyardz and andrewpana like this.
ATechGuy is offline  
post #5630 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 06:05 PM
Member
 
rayons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by defjamz View Post
Just added some Bias lighting to the back of my 940C. The set has a nice little (~1/4") shelf on the back where I applied the LED light strip to. With the black levels on this set, Bias light isn't really necessary, but I had it on my 850B so why not? Does help a little with eye strain since the 940C can melt your retinas if you have the brightness setting up in a dark room.
A full rectangle looks better.
rayons is offline  
post #5631 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 06:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Audio through sub

Quote:
Originally Posted by totdoc View Post
So...ever since the last update, every time I turn the TV off then back on, the TV switches to putting ALL the audio out through the sony wireless sub. To fix this, I have to go into settings>sound>Headphone/Audio out and switch OFF the subwoofer, then switch it back to subwoofer. This happens every.single.time. I tried unplugging the set, which makes it work normally for 1 or 2 power cycles, then it goes right back to the same problem Any idea how to fix this?
Tot doc, I am having the exact same issue! Had this TV for almost 3 months with no problems until this update! Very frustrating!

Tried changing all sub settings numerous times with no luck.

Looking for any ideas to fix also!!!
surp is offline  
post #5632 of 14435 Old 12-02-2015, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATechGuy View Post
If installation does not resume after waiting for a while, please clear the Data & Cache as follows:

Press the HOME button.
Select Settings.
Scroll over to Apps in the first (TV) category.
Select "Google Play services" in the System app category. (it's alphabetical)
Select Clear data then OK, and on the screen that is displayed, select CLEAR ALL DATA then OK.
Select Clear cache then OK.

If that doesn't do it, you may have to unplug the TV and reboot it.
thank you worked great
andrewpana is offline  
post #5633 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 01:32 AM
Member
 
zgemboandislic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainlord View Post
I'm not sure if someone else has run into this issue, but I've been following this thread since it started and I don't think so.

On my 65" X930C, when I turn it on from power off (normal power off), sometimes my screen is just black. The TV menu still works, it shows the source in the top left etc, but it's as if it's ignoring the video part of the HDMI signal, as I can hear the sound but I see nothing. It also doesn't matter if I switch the source to something else, it's black no matter what I do. This has happened quite a few times with some time in between each occasion. The only way I've managed to "cure" it, is to completely restart the TV (unplug, plug back in, start up). I've tried both HDMI1 and HDMI4 (ARC) as inputs but it doesn't seem to matter. I doubt it could be a faulty HDMI cable as it seems if it would be the problem, then the audio would fail too? But I'm no expert in that area.

My second issue is that sometimes the TV goes into what I can only call "stutter" mode, where the video stream gets super choppy. At first I thought it was my media server (QNAP 451) but after a while I realized that it was the TV. Even the menu at this time (which is already slow in general) gets incredibly choppy. Again, the only cure is to restart the TV. This has also happened with some frequency.

I've ensured TV is on latest firmwares etc.

I've contacted Sony support via mail but I reckon I'll have to call them as they've not replied. But before I do I just wanted to check if anyone else has run into something similar?
I have the same issue with my 55x850c...funny because I wanted to replace it for a 930c in hopes of better performance. I have the black screen issue, I have the whole-system-becomes-very-slow issue (UI in general, moving between apps, etc.), and the worst one is where the thing stops responding all together until I have to, you guessed it, unplug it.
zgemboandislic is offline  
post #5634 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 04:49 AM
Member
 
Rizob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Where do you find the Amazon app you guys are using to check out HDR programmes? I have checked both the Google Play Store and Opera TV Store on my 930 with no luck. I'm in the UK so I hope we're not being left out over here!
Rizob is offline  
post #5635 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,376
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Yes there are instructions.
It doesn't look like a particularly complicated procedure.
I'll go to the hardware store tomorrow and get what I need.

Are you going to attach it to the stand or the wall? If I decide to do this I would attach it to the stand so I could move it away from the wall when I need to get behind there to make connection adjustments. While I was looking for the instruction I saw this 4" x 6" yellow paper with some instructions about " Using Your TV Easily" I wish I had seen this sooner as I have had to do a TV reset 4 times to fix an issue I was having with the TV. It reads, "Press and hold the power button on the remote control for about 5 seconds. Release the button when you see (Power Off) displayed on the screen. The TV will turn off and then restart automatically after a short time. Your personal settings will not be lost after the TV restarts (it is the same as unplugging the AC power cord."
mt14942 is online now  
post #5636 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 07:13 AM
Newbie
 
totdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by surp View Post
Tot doc, I am having the exact same issue! Had this TV for almost 3 months with no problems until this update! Very frustrating!

Tried changing all sub settings numerous times with no luck.
Looking for any ideas to fix also!!!
I saw someone a while back that had this problem...for them it apparently went away after unplugging the set and plugging it back it, I believe. No such luck for me. Well, sorry to hear that you are having the same problem. Hopefully, if enough people are having the problem, they will fix it!
surp likes this.
totdoc is offline  
post #5637 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 11:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello Everyone!! New to the Forum but not that new to TV tech...
Getting the 940C Delivered today so I've been trying to catch up on the posts...great stuff!!! Problem is... Im not going to finish by tonight. Hate to bother you guys but does anyone know which post contains the latest recommended calibration settings?
brickyardz and defjamz like this.
johnjbh is offline  
post #5638 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 11:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,720
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1704 Post(s)
Liked: 1304
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnjbh View Post
Hello Everyone!! New to the Forum but not that new to TV tech...
Getting the 940C Delivered today so I've been trying to catch up on the posts...great stuff!!! Problem is... Im not going to finish by tonight. Hate to bother you guys but does anyone know which post contains the latest recommended calibration settings?
This one...
CCsoftball7 is offline  
post #5639 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 12:18 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post
Are you going to attach it to the stand or the wall? If I decide to do this I would attach it to the stand so I could move it away from the wall when I need to get behind there to make connection adjustments.
To the wall, but I will make it a "quick release" setup.



oink is offline  
post #5640 of 14435 Old 12-03-2015, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Thanks CCS!!!
johnjbh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off