**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 189 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5641 of 14414 Old 12-03-2015, 09:02 PM
Member
 
mike iuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Back to the Amazon Prime Ultra HD thing for a moment if we can.....
I go into Amazon Prime app, into Ultra HD, and pick a show...Lets take Man in the High Castle....
Supposedly I get Ultra HD but I dont see anything about HDR, in fact the tv defaults to Vivid and if I switch to HDR I get a black screen and the show stops.
I see no option for HDR, how are you guys getting HDR?

Thanks
mike iuro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5642 of 14414 Old 12-03-2015, 09:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike iuro View Post
Back to the Amazon Prime Ultra HD thing for a moment if we can.....
I go into Amazon Prime app, into Ultra HD, and pick a show...Lets take Man in the High Castle....
Supposedly I get Ultra HD but I dont see anything about HDR, in fact the tv defaults to Vivid and if I switch to HDR I get a black screen and the show stops.
I see no option for HDR, how are you guys getting HDR?

Thanks
Check out post #194 here
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lc...d-often-7.html
Rich5616 likes this.
brickyardz is offline  
post #5643 of 14414 Old 12-03-2015, 10:06 PM
Member
 
mike iuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
I dont see HDR on anything.....
Maybe Im being stupid and over looking something but thats why Im asking....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20151203_230017_resized.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	191.8 KB
ID:	1097010   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151203_224911_resized.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	138.6 KB
ID:	1097018   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151203_224547_resized.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	203.3 KB
ID:	1097026   Click image for larger version

Name:	20151203_224613_resized.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	1097034  
mike iuro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5644 of 14414 Old 12-03-2015, 10:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,573
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 594 Post(s)
Liked: 598
brickyardz is offline  
post #5645 of 14414 Old 12-03-2015, 11:04 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,011
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12811 Post(s)
Liked: 12153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike iuro View Post
I dont see HDR on anything.....
Maybe Im being stupid and over looking something but thats why Im asking....
click on the episode info. none of your pictures have you showing episode info. instead of "watch now" scroll to the LEFT and click on the episode info. how many times do I have to say episode info :P lol
iatacs19 likes this.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #5646 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 01:44 AM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Anyone know if the built-in NF app will allow the streaming of Ultra HD?



oink is offline  
post #5647 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 05:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,225
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7386 Post(s)
Liked: 8266
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
click on the episode info. none of your pictures have you showing episode info. instead of "watch now" scroll to the LEFT and click on the episode info. how many times do I have to say episode info :P lol
Some of us are slow learners, Ray. I only learned about this a few days ago. Maybe we should make the technique a sticky!
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5648 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Anyone know if the built-in NF app will allow the streaming of Ultra HD?
What is the built in NF app? Not sure I remember seeing it in the Home menu.
mt14942 is online now  
post #5649 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 09:02 AM
Newbie
 
cfh11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Anyone know if the built-in NF app will allow the streaming of Ultra HD?
assuming you mean Netflix, then the answer is yes. you need to upgrade to the UHD streaming plan though.
cfh11 is offline  
post #5650 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 11:18 AM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by cfh11 View Post
assuming you mean Netflix, then the answer is yes. you need to upgrade to the UHD streaming plan though.
Great, thank you.



oink is offline  
post #5651 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 11:36 AM
Member
 
mike iuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
click on the episode info. none of your pictures have you showing episode info. instead of "watch now" scroll to the LEFT and click on the episode info. how many times do I have to say episode info :P lol
Well ok, it shows the HDR designation.
The problem is that the tv reverts to "Vivid" in the picture adjustment mode and if I swith the tv to HDR mode I just get a black screen.
mike iuro is offline  
post #5652 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 04:49 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Is anyone having problems with the latest FW for the 940?



oink is offline  
post #5653 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2830
Guys JS9500 or Sony 930?
losservatore is offline  
post #5654 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 05:31 PM
Member
 
frapso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Is anyone having problems with the latest FW for the 940?
All ok here,what issue are you having?
frapso is offline  
post #5655 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 05:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Guys JS9500 or Sony 930?
The 9500 is a better TV if that's what your asking?
FlexLinear is offline  
post #5656 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 07:48 PM
Member
 
bermise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Guys JS9500 or Sony 930?
Compare apples to apples and use the 940c to compare. The 930c is a scaled down budget version of the 940C.
bermise is offline  
post #5657 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 08:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2830
Quote:
Originally Posted by bermise View Post
Compare apples to apples and use the 940c to compare. The 930c is a scaled down budget version of the 940C.
Well the 65" 930C is at the same price range of the 65" JS9500 , I know one is fald and the other edge lit , The 930 have better native contrast with local dimming off ,One is cuve the other is flat ,the dimming on both work well. specially the sony that only have vertical zones.

is not really much apple to orange.

sometimes a halo can be more distracting than an a slight increase in black levels in one area of the image.
losservatore is offline  
post #5658 of 14414 Old 12-04-2015, 11:47 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by frapso View Post
All ok here,what issue are you having?
Some posters above mentioned they were having problems.


I updated my FW tonite and it went smoothly.


Has the HDR and the other announced updates been released yet?



oink is offline  
post #5659 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 12:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,011
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12811 Post(s)
Liked: 12153
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike iuro View Post
Well ok, it shows the HDR designation.
The problem is that the tv reverts to "Vivid" in the picture adjustment mode and if I swith the tv to HDR mode I just get a black screen.
this is sounding like a specific issue with sony. im not sure if this is a glitch or not. if it is, a firmware update could correct it. I know this thread isnt particularly active, but hopefully other sony owners can chime in with what mode the tv goes into when HDR is detected. i know a few others in the past said it would go into vivid mode, but i thought that was before it was fixed.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #5660 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 01:18 AM
Newbie
 
totdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Is anyone having problems with the latest FW for the 940?
Mine keeps putting all sound output through the headphone jack to the subwoofer instead of recognizing that the wireless sub is connected. This happens every time the set is turned off then back on. Works fine once you switch off the sub output then turn it back on via the settings sound menu....
totdoc is offline  
post #5661 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 02:50 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by totdoc View Post
Mine keeps putting all sound output through the headphone jack to the subwoofer instead of recognizing that the wireless sub is connected. This happens every time the set is turned off then back on. Works fine once you switch off the sub output then turn it back on via the settings sound menu....
This has happened a few times to me as well. The problem goes away after a factory reset for me. It's a pain to do the reset, but switching from headphones every time you turn it on is too
downtownLA is offline  
post #5662 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,335
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by downtownLA View Post
This has happened a few times to me as well. The problem goes away after a factory reset for me. It's a pain to do the reset, but switching from headphones every time you turn it on is too

Check out my post #5636 on the previous page. This makes doing a factory reset a lot easier.
mt14942 is online now  
post #5663 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 05:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gillietalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,185
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1536 Post(s)
Liked: 1593
Complete Shutdown?

On another note. Is there a way to shut the tv completely off? I've read that the tv will go into 'standby' mode when the power button is hit. However, I just added biased lighting to the back of my tv which plugs in through the USB ports. When I cut the tv off the LED strips stay on. I would like for them to shut off when the TV shut off. Thanks...
Gillietalls is online now  
post #5664 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 06:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,252
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6065
930 vs 9500 is easy for me, curved vs flat and curved I am not a fan of. If curved is not an issue, then the 9500 is most likely "better".

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #5665 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Well the 65" 930C is at the same price range of the 65" JS9500 , I know one is fald and the other edge lit , The 930 have better native contrast with local dimming off ,One is cuve the other is flat ,the dimming on both work well. specially the sony that only have vertical zones.

is not really much apple to orange.

sometimes a halo can be more distracting than an a slight increase in black levels in one area of the image.
If you can get the 9500 for the price of a 930 then it's a no-brainer. Go for the 9500! A lot of people would argue the 9500 is better than the even the 940. The 9500 also received more votes than the 940 at the 2015 Value Electronics Shoot Out.
FlexLinear is offline  
post #5666 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 08:02 AM
Member
 
tumi05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike iuro View Post
Well ok, it shows the HDR designation.
The problem is that the tv reverts to "Vivid" in the picture adjustment mode and if I swith the tv to HDR mode I just get a black screen.
Having the same issue with the reverting to Vivid from the HDR Video picture setting, however, not the black screen.
tumi05 is offline  
post #5667 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 08:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Well the 65" 930C is at the same price range of the 65" JS9500 , I know one is fald and the other edge lit , The 930 have better native contrast with local dimming off ,One is cuve the other is flat ,the dimming on both work well. specially the sony that only have vertical zones.

is not really much apple to orange.

sometimes a halo can be more distracting than an a slight increase in black levels in one area of the image.
The 9500 should be able to perform better than the 930 in dark/semi-dark scene(especially at night with all lights turned off) since it is FALD. But in terms of bright scene performance, the difference between the two should be very minimal, this is especially true with the 930's contrast. I had the 930 before and I highly doubt if any of the edge lit tvs can rival the 930 in bright scene performance given its great blacks, superb rendering of natural colors and deep contrast. With that said, if I were you, I might prefer 9500 over the 930 since it has the FALD, the One Connect Box and the better Tizen OS. However, if between the 9500 and the 940c, then it will be a hands-down 940c for me.
gerie likes this.

Last edited by Kahn1988; 12-05-2015 at 09:02 AM.
Kahn1988 is offline  
post #5668 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 09:13 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I thought you were a fan of edge lit Samsung mid tier models?

Quote:
Originally Posted by losservatore View Post
Guys JS9500 or Sony 930?
Amzie Williams is offline  
post #5669 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlexLinear View Post
If you can get the 9500 for the price of a 930 then it's a no-brainer. Go for the 9500! A lot of people would argue the 9500 is better than the even the 940. The 9500 also received more votes than the 940 at the 2015 Value Electronics Shoot Out.
Flex it is fully noted that you don't like your 930 or Sony products in general. The showdown between the sets didn't really show much. Actually the 940 won in the areas of most importance if I'm not mistaken. So if all your going to do is bash something without justification then go on the oled and 9500 threads. More people than not like the 940 over the 9500. But everything is really all preference. If you don't prefer the 940 then ok, we know already. Isn't angled viewing worse on the 9500 verses the 940/930?
gerie likes this.

Sony 940C*Sony HX909*Samsung K8500*Yamaha 3050*klipsch front RP-280's*rear RF-3's*center RP-450C*Sides RP-280's*front heights RP-140's*overhead 5650cii's*SVS-PB2000x4*emotiva XPA-5*Yamaha YSP-1600 sound bar*Sony HT-CT370 sound bar
loudog2 is offline  
post #5670 of 14414 Old 12-05-2015, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
Posts: 7,043
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2987 Post(s)
Liked: 2830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amzie Williams View Post
I thought you were a fan of edge lit Samsung mid tier models?
When did I say that? are you looking at my recent history when I tried a JS8500 for a week , few days ago?

If you dont have a clue of my post why even come with the question?

Last edited by losservatore; 12-05-2015 at 10:32 AM.
losservatore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off