**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 197 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5881 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 06:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,925
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12748 Post(s)
Liked: 12064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decadent_Spectre View Post
Anyone?

Some help would be appreciated...
yes same models, theyve been doing this for years actually.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5882 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 06:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,925
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12748 Post(s)
Liked: 12064
Quote:
Originally Posted by New24K View Post
A Magnolia Area Manager (manages the Magnolia stores inside Best Buy stores in several states) told me that this is what he heard.

Now, whether this is actually true or not - who knows.

That is why I called it a rumor.

He also said that Sony was doing something "different" with the speakers on the 930/940 or whatever they will be called next year - but they will still have the same high wattage speakers.

He didn't know exactly what "different" meant.

I wonder if sony is going to put them on top/bottom insead of the sides. On that new vizio R series, they are on the bottom I believe.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #5883 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Ray, I'm still scratching my head on the last scene of the last episode!

As for that comparison, I'm sure you are 100% right. As I said, I really felt that the HDR in the last episode came in to its own. The outdoor scenes in particular, looked absolutely awesome.

Ray, I should mention that I adjusted the available HDR controls and then went back and took another look at some of the scenes that bothered me in a few previous episodes. The adjustments I made were to back off on contrast and lower or turn off the extended DNR control. The many scenes that were shot in front of windows looked better, but were, IMO, still too bright for comfortable viewing with all ambient lighting off. This is how we normally watch TV. Without knowing how the Director intended those scenes to look, it's difficult to know if the window whites were clipped or the detail in those windows was simply limited, as they would normally be if you exposed properly for the indoor lighting.

The unfortunate thing with the current state of HDR, as I had previously mentioned, is once you've adjusted controls to look right on one show or movie, they often need readjustment for the next program. I'm sure one day we'll have standardazation of HDR, but until then, it's kind of a free-for-all.

With that said, I really did enjoy, for the most part, the HDR in this series. I think for fun, I'll try doing the experiment you suggested and watch a bit of SDR before switching back to HDR.
Ken, I watched the beginning of the first episode of this program and I thought that the picture mode would automatically go to HDR? I had to scroll all the way to the bottom in the Picture Mode settings and select HDR Video and than I resumed the show from where I left off. Is this way it's supposed to work.
mt14942 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5884 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,925
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12748 Post(s)
Liked: 12064
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post
Ken, I watched the beginning of the first episode of this program and I thought that the picture mode would automatically go to HDR? I had to scroll all the way to the bottom in the Picture Mode settings and select HDR Video and than I resumed the show from where I left off. Is this way it's supposed to work.
make sure you are watching the UHD version and not the 1080P version.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #5885 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 06:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
I wonder if sony is going to put them on top/bottom insead of the sides. On that new vizio R series, they are on the bottom I believe.
Yep, on the 65" Vizio R, speaker is on the bottom
brickyardz is online now  
post #5886 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 07:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6062
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Yeah. Robert Busch told me firmware updates wipe out the settings. That's not cool. I'll have to make sure I have them.
It did on the Fall update, at least some posted it did, but the one we just got (Nov I think) did not. I updated after Chad was here and was able to confirm.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5887 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
johndoejohndoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I NEED HELP! Lol

I have the Sony Sub (SWF-BR100) and it worked great with my 930c for the last 2 months.

But recently it's been acting weird and plays most the sound through the Sub with a lot distortion. And what I mean by that is the sound isn't really coming from the TV speakers, but through the Sub. If I turn the TV Off/On it still sounds bad.

I have to restart/reboot the TV (by holding the Power button) and then the Sub acts like it's supposed to.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
johndoejohndoes is offline  
post #5888 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6062
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATechGuy View Post
Assuming some consistency across units, would you mind posting your Cal notes for other 930C owners? I would love to put the "preference vs reference" decision to bed. Right now I'm running on the posted 940C Cal notes with a few tweaks and the set sure looks good. I do enjoy watching movies with some mild back lighting behind the set, and this set is nothing but incredible to watch. I encourage others to post their settings for "Standard" and "Sports". Besides, this IS supposed to be the 930/940C OWNERS thread. Who cares about all the discussions of Samsung vs Sony, vs OLED, or FALD vs whatever. These two sets are incredible, and the owners all know it. Why waste time in this thread trying convince the non-believers? Let's share our settings and discussion on what the settings actually DO, since Sony doesn't seem to want to write documentation for their flagship TVs any more. Now we just need an android app that will save the settings (and ideally upload a saved set)!
I can send them to you. Im not sure on the consistency among models though, I know settings sharing with plasmas never worked well.
arftech and andrewpana like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #5889 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoejohndoes View Post
I NEED HELP! Lol

I have the Sony Sub (SWF-BR100) and it worked great with my 930c for the last 2 months.

But recently it's been acting weird and plays most the sound through the Sub with a lot distortion. And what I mean by that is the sound isn't really coming from the TV speakers, but through the Sub. If I turn the TV Off/On it still sounds bad.

I have to restart/reboot the TV (by holding the Power button) and then the Sub acts like it's supposed to.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
Is your FW updated to the latest version?
brickyardz is online now  
post #5890 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
johndoejohndoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Is your FW updated to the latest version?
I have the latest software. There's another thread here...I would hate to have to do this.

https://community.sony.com/t5/4K-Ult...em/td-p/521124
johndoejohndoes is offline  
post #5891 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoejohndoes View Post
I have the latest software. There's another thread here...I would hate to have to do this.

https://community.sony.com/t5/4K-Ult...em/td-p/521124
Factory resets suck,but sometimes that is the only way to get things working correctly again, make sure you have all of your setting copied.
papaleo likes this.
brickyardz is online now  
post #5892 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 10:22 PM
Newbie
 
totdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rizob View Post
Just a shout from the UK, we received an update today and it has fixed the issue with all the audio being sent to the subwoofer until you switch the headphone/subwoofer option in the settings menu. For reference, i am using a wired KEF sub rather than the Sony wireless one.


I am still getting the issue with 3D blurays constantly showing the Screen Format notification though.
Oh man, I sure hope that comes stateside soon...
totdoc is offline  
post #5893 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 11:03 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoejohndoes View Post
I NEED HELP! Lol

I have the Sony Sub (SWF-BR100) and it worked great with my 930c for the last 2 months.

But recently it's been acting weird and plays most the sound through the Sub with a lot distortion. And what I mean by that is the sound isn't really coming from the TV speakers, but through the Sub. If I turn the TV Off/On it still sounds bad.

I have to restart/reboot the TV (by holding the Power button) and then the Sub acts like it's supposed to.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
Wow, same problem, I've had the sub for few months and never had a problem until this week. Turn on tv and all the sound goes to sub. The way I got around it was switch to headphones then back to sub. I eventually turned off the sub because it gets in that state every time I turn it on now. Have not contacted Sony yet but will this week. They will probably give me some SB about the sub not being compatible. lol
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #5894 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 11:07 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by brickyardz View Post
Is your FW updated to the latest version?
Oh look, it's Captain Obvious.
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #5895 of 14413 Old 12-14-2015, 11:18 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoejohndoes View Post
I have the latest software. There's another thread here...I would hate to have to do this.

https://community.sony.com/t5/4K-Ult...em/td-p/521124
Don't do factory rest, I did that twice as a recommendation by Sony tech and it has never fixed anything but be a PITA to re-setup Netflix, amazon, etc.. There so many gremlins living in the Sony android TVs that I don't even think Sony know where to start fixing then. I power reset my 930c at least once a week now down from every 2-3 days. I love the tv and android tv potential but these bugs are killing my excitement and just not sure if Sony will ever resolve them.

Last edited by SolidState9311; 12-14-2015 at 11:21 PM.
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #5896 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 05:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
make sure you are watching the UHD version and not the 1080P version.

I was watching the UHD version and it even showed HDR in the description. So is it supposed to automatically go to the HDR Picture Mode setting or do you have to select it in the Picture Mode options?
mt14942 is online now  
post #5897 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 05:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 5,442
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1862 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by C-Dub006 View Post
After talking to Jeff @ AccuCal about this he said with this tv (940c) and most others now a days, he doesn't even need to go into the service menu to calibrate. All the picture tweaking can be achieved using the same picture adjustments the consumer uses while using his equipment. The advantage is once it is calibrated professionally and the settings saved/printed/etc. if a reset is needed, you can just go back in and re-adjust the settings.
This basically eliminates the risk in paying for it to be done right and accurately.

For around 6% of the original purchase price, you can get a professionally calibrated, accurate display.
It won't work if Sony changes the baseline settings for the TV. Which I believe they've already done.
KidHorn is offline  
post #5898 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 05:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 5,442
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1862 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
I got prompted for new software this morning. I kicked it off and left for work. The updates take a long time. Anyone know what the update entails?

Hopefully it fixes a lot of bugs.
KidHorn is offline  
post #5899 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 06:42 AM
Newbie
 
rainlord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgemboandislic View Post
I have the same issue with my 55x850c...funny because I wanted to replace it for a 930c in hopes of better performance. I have the black screen issue, I have the whole-system-becomes-very-slow issue (UI in general, moving between apps, etc.), and the worst one is where the thing stops responding all together until I have to, you guessed it, unplug it.
Just contacted Sony support for it (yeah, bit late but wanted to see if it happened after the new firmware update) and they said to "do a factory reset and see if still happens, and if yes, call us back and we'll send a service team". So I'll do it, although I reckon it'll still happen, and see. If yes, service team time.
rainlord is offline  
post #5900 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 07:19 AM
Member
 
zgemboandislic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainlord View Post
Just contacted Sony support for it (yeah, bit late but wanted to see if it happened after the new firmware update) and they said to "do a factory reset and see if still happens, and if yes, call us back and we'll send a service team". So I'll do it, although I reckon it'll still happen, and see. If yes, service team time.
Please keep us posted, I've been away from home for a month now so I couldn't try the factory reset yet. I'm thinking of returning it all together and getting the 930C instead (although I'm perfectly happy with picture quality, except motion)
zgemboandislic is offline  
post #5901 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,211
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7378 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post
Ken, I watched the beginning of the first episode of this program and I thought that the picture mode would automatically go to HDR? I had to scroll all the way to the bottom in the Picture Mode settings and select HDR Video and than I resumed the show from where I left off. Is this way it's supposed to work.
No, it should do it automatically. As Ray said, make sure you're actually watching the UHD version. It's an easy mistake to make.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #5902 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,744
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6765 Post(s)
Liked: 6772
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
There is no gaurantee that sony will have a Dolby Vision tv, gotta wait and see.
There is no guarantee on anything..........Especially manufacturers saying they will do something.
bluemoon737 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #5903 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
arftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post
I got prompted for new software this morning. I kicked it off and left for work. The updates take a long time. Anyone know what the update entails?

Hopefully it fixes a lot of bugs.
Don't know what it fixes or improves but I hope it don't break my incredible picture!

Oppo UDP-203, Anthem AVM50V 3D, Proceed Amp 3, B&K ST-125.2, Cary Audio 306/200, Apple TV 4K, PS Audio PerfectWave DAC Mk2 W Bridge2, Audeze LCD-2 F 2016, Mac Mini-Tidal HiFi/Roon, Apple iPad Pro/Roon Remote, Sony XBR65X930C, Sonus faber Luito Towers, Sonus faber Luito Monitors, Sonus faber Smart Center Channel, REL T2, Sony SWF-BR100W Wireless Subwoofer for 930C
arftech is offline  
post #5904 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 09:03 AM
Member
 
C-Dub006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidHorn View Post
It won't work if Sony changes the baseline settings for the TV. Which I believe they've already done.

If they already have changed the original baseline, then it should work moving forward, yes? If not, then why would anyone get it calibrated in the first place?

As long as the calibrated settings are recorded in order to reset at some point, you still should be good to go.

C-Dub006
XBR75X940C, XBR60LX900, PDP5020FD, 3 other Sony LCD's
Polk, Infinity with Velodyne subs
3808ci, 3805
UBP-X800, BDT-101ci, BDP-95FD, BDP-94FD, DV-970HD
HD-XA2
C-Dub006 is offline  
post #5905 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 09:09 AM
Member
 
zgemboandislic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by arftech View Post
Don't know what it fixes or improves but I hope it don't break my incredible picture!
From Sony's website:

Benefits and improvements:
This firmware update improves the stability of the TV
zgemboandislic is offline  
post #5906 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 10:26 AM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgemboandislic View Post
From Sony's website:

Benefits and improvements:
This firmware update improves the stability of the TV
Good.
I hope it does improve "the stability."
It's the biggest weakness of the 940c IMO (not the hardware, the SOFTWARE).



oink is offline  
post #5907 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 10:28 AM
Member
 
zgemboandislic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Good.
I hope it does improve "the stability."
It's the biggest weakness of the 940c IMO.
Not the hardware, the SOFTWARE.
I didn't know 940 had the same issues...and here I was hoping to replace my 850 for a 930

Android........
zgemboandislic is offline  
post #5908 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 10:30 AM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by zgemboandislic View Post
I didn't know 940 had the same issues...and here I was hoping to replace my 850 for a 930

Android........
Not a big fan of Sony's implementation of Android.
Gives me a lot teeth-grinding moments....



oink is offline  
post #5909 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 10:32 AM
Member
 
zgemboandislic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Not a big fan of Sony's implementation of Android.
Gives me a lot teeth-grinding moments....
That's putting it mildly
zgemboandislic is offline  
post #5910 of 14413 Old 12-15-2015, 10:45 AM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Just checked FW version on my 940c.
At the moment, it shows PKG.017.0080.NAB



oink is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off