**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 226 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7015Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6751 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 12:46 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Id bet the 930C and 930D are similar.

Thanks for finding this new info.

I was kinda hoping that at this point in time and price that the 930C was not 8 bit + dither
FWIW all the X850C pass the 10 bit panel gradation tests here smooth as butter and my dGPU identifies it as a 10 bit panel so it's probably safe to assume the X930C is a 10 bit panel and not an 8 bit + high FRC overdrive panel
gadgtfreek likes this.
Z1-B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6752 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 12:50 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Regarding software...everyone keeps knocking Sony for buggy Android software. Just remember, there are apps developed by Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, etc. that are also in the equation. I'm not sure the issues reported are all specifically OS related.
unfortunately the instability we see is often outside of the developer apps and part of the core Anrdoid operating operating system and menory management, probably insufficiant sytem memory and persistant casching and a SLOW ARM CPU

OTOH an unstable app can cause instability also and they got plenty of those but this Android TV OS specific to Sony is buggy anyway .

FWIW the 2017 models will have a faster operating CPU and hopefully more syst. memory and better code optimization.

Sent from Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview Evaluation Copy . Build 11099 rs1-1511
CCsoftball7 likes this.

Last edited by Z1-B; 01-15-2016 at 01:24 PM.
Z1-B is offline  
post #6753 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by EJKrew View Post
Question regarding automatic input selection when X940C is powering up.

When I turn on my system I will first turn on my Denon AVR 4308, then DirecTV Genie, then the 940C.
The TV then will randomly select Tuner, HDMI 1, or HDMI 4 ARC.
The Sony HDMI 4 ARC port is connected to the MONITOR out of my Denon.
No other HDMI port on the 940C is being used.
Is there a setting that I can use to force HDMI 4 ARC connection when I turn on the Sony?

Thanks for any input!
Usually the tv turns on to the last input used.
What I do is you can select 1 of the inputs to be configured to the TV button on the remote I then program my harmony to turn to that tv key. That makes sure it always goes to that input no matter what the tv was on previously. It's in settings external input configure tv key..

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
ramtech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6754 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 01:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
The Roku4, which I had and returned, has a major issue when outputting 4K. On many displays, the Sony included, there is a decided red push to the color. This makes flesh tones look decidedly wrong.

Roku is either oblivious (the issue has been reported to them by many people, myself included), doesn't care or simply can't fix it with the current hardware they're using.

The only reason I bought one was for the Vudu 4K which the Sony doesn't have. The Vudu app on the Sony is not yet 4K enabled.
1080p Roku's use RBG limited and maybe the 4K Roku uses RGB full when YCbCr 4:4:4 video levels might be better for the TV on WCG 4K content? .... unless it's 4K bt709 then RGB limited or 4:2:0 would obviously be fine.

Of course like you say Roku probably needs to correct something on the 4K model

Last edited by Z1-B; 01-15-2016 at 03:03 PM.
Z1-B is offline  
post #6755 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 01:31 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
So do you think it is worth spending 129 on a ROKU 4? I was thinking it would be a waste since the aps I would use (netflix, amazon, youtube, and sling) are already built in aps on the X930C. I returned my ROKU 4 when I got the new SONY X930C. The only issue is that when you use the built in sony tv ap, you can not use the WIDE button on sling. I use sling for Indian programming, and the image is very small. In my previous setup (panasonic 4k and roku4) I could hit the "format" button on the remote and I could do H-Fill, Zoom, etc.. and fill the whole screen. Now I am wondering if I need to go buy a ROKU 4 again? ( just for SLING, and also to avoid the difficulties mentioned here with the android OS.)
Don't know a thing about the Rokus.
I have been using Amazon's FireTV and it has been (so far) a tank.
Then again, I rarely use any app but Amazon's and NF.



oink is offline  
post #6756 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:03 PM
Member
 
CSPerera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSPerera View Post
Ok heres what i have found. There is some major issues with this TV and my Pioneer Sclx 86/ SC68 (US)

Firstly heres the list of issues.

1) The receiver only connects to HDMI 4(ARC) and works. Any other inputs on the TV I dont get an image (All I get is no Signal detected)
2) My HTPC via the receiver use to be able to select 4k Resoultion on my Previous Sony tv (X900A) on the X93 maximum resolution selectable is 1080p.
3) When I playback a 3d movie via my Pioneer bluray player via the receiver, the movie plays but unable to select 3d as it states that I need a 3d compatible player and Tv combo. My Oppo player on the other hand
I was able to go into the Oppo menu as select Force 3d and it works. If I turn of the Force 3d it doesnt. Both players direct connection to the TV works. All HDMI inputs on the TV works with other devices to rule out a TV issue. I beleive this issue is an incompatibilty with the Receiver and the TV or unless my receiver has all of a sudden developed a fault.

Anyone with issues remotely like this please let me know a solution if anyone knows.
Does anyone else using this TV with a Pioneer Receiver? Its a brilliant TV and I feel this is a Pioneer issue.
CSPerera is offline  
post #6757 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Don't know a thing about the Rokus.
I have been using Amazon's FireTV and it has been (so far) a tank.
Then again, I rarely use any app but Amazon's and NF.
Does NF and Amazon look better or run better on the FireTV? (instead of using the built in ap)
Bejoy is offline  
post #6758 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,206
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7375 Post(s)
Liked: 8251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
Is VUDU4 expected to be a sony ap? If so, there may not be a need to get or keep a roku4. Is there any other specific ap that the roku4 has that is 4k (that the sony does not have)? I was surprised to see that sony had the ultraflix ap. I wasnt impressed with it, but I only did the free stuff. The only impressive 4k content so far that I have seen is amazon 4kHDR. I wasnt amazed with the netflix 4k or ultraflix 4k. Maybe I need calibration first to get the full benefit of the sony.
Other than Vudu 4K, I don't know of any other 4K app that's unique to the Roku4.

I don't know when/if the Sony will have the 4K version of Vudu.

I've actually found impressive 4K content on both Netflix & Amazon.
Carlos_E and Z1-B like this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6759 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by vman83 View Post
If you can get this tv for a really good price then you're set for a real bargain. It's a great tv. I think a lot of people have a few issues with new tv sets, light bleed, stuck pixels etc... this will happen with any brand. Luckily after playing with the settings ive got it looking great. You just have to have a play with it and use different presets for night/day and whether you're watching sd tv or bluray films. Especially with the motionflow settings. The upscaling is really good too. Now just got to wait for the 4k stuff to come. Even my 1080p bluray films look superb so i cant imagine what the 2160p movies will be like. I came from a bog standard samsung lcd so i was really impressed, even the sound was just as impressing. I think you'll be pleased with your purchase
I haven't even tried a blu-ray yet. I have a Panasonic BDT-310 hooked up to the marantz, but I havent tried using a blu-ray yet. I have only watched tv, and tried the sony built in aps so far. I also bought the SONY BDP-S6500 which was recommended for $99.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/blu-...yers/bdp-s6500

I haven't even opened it yet. My question is, do I need to? Since the tv already upconverts, do I need an upconverting player (S6500) too? or will it be the same if I use the panasonic 3dbluray and let the tv do the upconverting? I havent opened the sony upconverting bluray yet because I dont know if it is worth it, or just use that $100 towards a new 4k bluray player coming in a couple of months... )
Bejoy is offline  
post #6760 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Don't know a thing about the Rokus.
I have been using Amazon's FireTV and it has been (so far) a tank.
Then again, I rarely use any app but Amazon's and NF.
1080p Roku's are fine I have one and it looks about the same as the same TV apps @1080p .
Z1-B is offline  
post #6761 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
I haven't even tried a blu-ray yet. I have a Panasonic BDT-310 hooked up to the marantz, but I havent tried using a blu-ray yet. I have only watched tv, and tried the sony built in aps so far. I also bought the SONY BDP-S6500 which was recommended for $99.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/blu-...yers/bdp-s6500

I haven't even opened it yet. My question is, do I need to? Since the tv already upconverts, do I need an upconverting player (S6500) too? or will it be the same if I use the panasonic 3dbluray and let the tv do the upconverting? I havent opened the sony upconverting bluray yet because I dont know if it is worth it, or just use that $100 towards a new 4k bluray player coming in a couple of months... )
I would save the $100.00 and use it towards a 4K player. For me one of the great things about my 940c is the way it up scales to near 4k which is what makes the picture so impressive.
vman83 and King Richard like this.
mt14942 is offline  
post #6762 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 02:59 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
I haven't even tried a blu-ray yet. I have a Panasonic BDT-310 hooked up to the marantz, but I havent tried using a blu-ray yet. I have only watched tv, and tried the sony built in aps so far. I also bought the SONY BDP-S6500 which was recommended for $99.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/blu-...yers/bdp-s6500

I haven't even opened it yet. My question is, do I need to? Since the tv already upconverts, do I need an upconverting player (S6500) too? or will it be the same if I use the panasonic 3dbluray and let the tv do the upconverting? I havent opened the sony upconverting bluray yet because I dont know if it is worth it, or just use that $100 towards a new 4k bluray player coming in a couple of months... )
Save the Benjamin for something else . The TV's upscaler will most likley be much better than the Sony or Panasonic BD players or most BD players just pass along 1080p BD to the TV like I do with my PS3 .
King Richard likes this.

Last edited by Z1-B; 01-15-2016 at 03:04 PM.
Z1-B is offline  
post #6763 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Other than Vudu 4K, I don't know of any other 4K app that's unique to the Roku4.

I don't know when/if the Sony will have the 4K version of Vudu.

I've actually found impressive 4K content on both Netflix & Amazon.
can you suggest some titles on netflix or amazon that show off the 4k the best?
Bejoy is offline  
post #6764 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
loudog2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 266 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
I haven't even tried a blu-ray yet. I have a Panasonic BDT-310 hooked up to the marantz, but I havent tried using a blu-ray yet. I have only watched tv, and tried the sony built in aps so far. I also bought the SONY BDP-S6500 which was recommended for $99.

http://www.sony.com/electronics/blu-...yers/bdp-s6500

I haven't even opened it yet. My question is, do I need to? Since the tv already upconverts, do I need an upconverting player (S6500) too? or will it be the same if I use the panasonic 3dbluray and let the tv do the upconverting? I havent opened the sony upconverting bluray yet because I dont know if it is worth it, or just use that $100 towards a new 4k bluray player coming in a couple of months... )
If you want 5.1 surround sound via the apps then get it. Remember no 5.1 surround sound on Amazon yet. But I would wait a month for the 4K Samsung UHD player. Shows a February 21st ship date for me.

Sony 940C*Sony HX909*Samsung K8500*Yamaha 3050*klipsch front RP-280's*rear RF-3's*center RP-450C*Sides RP-280's*front heights RP-140's*overhead 5650cii's*SVS-PB2000x4*emotiva XPA-5*Yamaha YSP-1600 sound bar*Sony HT-CT370 sound bar
loudog2 is offline  
post #6765 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 04:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,206
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7375 Post(s)
Liked: 8251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
can you suggest some titles on netflix or amazon that show off the 4k the best?
Marco Polo, House of Cards, Blacklist and some others I can't recall right now. I'll check to see which of the better ones I've forgotten.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6766 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 05:48 PM
 
oink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shuloch
Posts: 34,843
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5299 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt14942 View Post
For me one of the great things about my 940c is the way it up scales to near 4k which is what makes the picture so impressive.
Agreed.
It is particularly impressive at upconverting BDs.



Z1-B likes this.
oink is offline  
post #6767 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 05:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mt14942's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 2,307
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 792 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
can you suggest some titles on netflix or amazon that show off the 4k the best?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Marco Polo, House of Cards, Blacklist and some others I can't recall right now. I'll check to see which of the better ones I've forgotten.

I found the "Chefs Table" to be pretty a impressive 4K documentary and the two I have watched were also pretty interesting. I believe it's on Amazon. Also some of the most impressive 4K I have found has been on You Tube.
mt14942 is offline  
post #6768 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Dallas-Fort Worth
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, just bought the x940c. I also had purchased the LG EF9500 but it's upscaling of non 4K content was basically non existent. Sony X940c is exceptional. Now I do have one question for you experts. I am getting a lot of noise in some movies/shows i.e American Hustle, The walking dead, breaking bad etc. How do I get rid of these crazy noise level without losing out the detail and making the picture smudgy?

I have my x940c on the shootout settings from this forum. Thanks for helping
Saywhat4118 is offline  
post #6769 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 09:28 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6062
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saywhat4118 View Post
Hey guys, just bought the x940c. I also had purchased the LG EF9500 but it's upscaling of non 4K content was basically non existent. Sony X940c is exceptional. Now I do have one question for you experts. I am getting a lot of noise in some movies/shows i.e American Hustle, The walking dead, breaking bad etc. How do I get rid of these crazy noise level without losing out the detail and making the picture smudgy?

I have my x940c on the shootout settings from this forum. Thanks for helping
Well, not sure if relevant, but those flicks you stated are grainy to begin with and you aint removing that. It is the way they were shot.
Saywhat4118 likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #6770 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 09:59 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeteranNewbie88 View Post
I need to grab 3 good HDMI cables for components...I don't mind paying a little more if it actually will make a difference with PQ...but do I really have to go with Audioquest or Monster? I hear polar opposite feedback on this question from people..some say that it's always best to play it safe and get the more expensive ones ($99 each for 9ft) or that it totally wont affect PQ and just go with generic ones that are able to pass 4K-3D signals...what cables do you all use?? Again...thanks for all the advice...

Try THIS ONE.


P.S. If you decide to go with this one, let us all know how you like it and if it's any good

And since I'm the one who gave you the link, you should also buy me one too.

Thanks in advance,

Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #6771 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 10:39 PM
pee
Member
 
pee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Try THIS ONE.





P.S. If you decide to go with this one, let us all know how you like it and if it's any good



And since I'm the one who gave you the link, you should also buy me one too.



Thanks in advance,



Richard

Hilarious!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
King Richard likes this.
pee is offline  
post #6772 of 14413 Old 01-15-2016, 10:48 PM
Lionheart of AVS
 
King Richard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Greenstone, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,287
Mentioned: 86 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1797 Post(s)
Liked: 4367
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Richard View Post
Try THIS ONE.


P.S. If you decide to go with this one, let us all know how you like it and if it's any good

And since I'm the one who gave you the link, you should also buy me one too.

Thanks in advance,

Richard

Just to add a quick note to my previous post.

I know that this HDMI cable is a little on the expensive side, however...

... I think I read somewhere that it will extend your screen size to 120"

... and give you a minimum peak brightness of at least 5,000 nits.

Should be great for viewing the new UHD HDR Blu-ray movies!

Just sayin'

Richard
King Richard is offline  
post #6773 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 01:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Dallas-Fort Worth
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Viewing angles

So I read in the reviews that this TV (xc940c) does a great job with preserving color and details when viewing from side angles. However, I feel like my set isn't doing such a good job at the off axis viewing. Colors fade and seems a bit more muted. I'm on my second set thinking the first one was defective. What are yalls thoughts?

I'm coming from a Panasonic 55" ST60
Saywhat4118 is offline  
post #6774 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 01:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
mt14942
For me one of the great things about my 940c is the way it up scales to near 4k which is what makes the picture so impressive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Agreed.
It is particularly impressive at upconverting BDs.
Same with my Sony 55X850C with 4K X Reality pro . Decent BD's look real good on it coming out of a PS3 and 1080i or just about anything looks better on it also
Z1-B is offline  
post #6775 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 03:32 AM
Member
 
navoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
can you suggest some titles on netflix or amazon that show off the 4k the best?
Chefs table- even if your not a foodie, macro video of food is like moving art.
Z1-B likes this.
navoid is offline  
post #6776 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6062
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saywhat4118 View Post
So I read in the reviews that this TV (xc940c) does a great job with preserving color and details when viewing from side angles. However, I feel like my set isn't doing such a good job at the off axis viewing. Colors fade and seems a bit more muted. I'm on my second set thinking the first one was defective. What are yalls thoughts?

I'm coming from a Panasonic 55" ST60
I came from a VT50, expecting LCD's to have that kinda view angle is setting yourself up for disappointment (unless its a IPS panel with poor blacks). Some people are used to it I think, but as a plasma owner I wasn't.

At 10 feet, I have a bout a 3 cushion couch width for premium PQ.
Z1-B likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #6777 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 08:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by oink View Post
Agreed.
It is particularly impressive at upconverting BDs.
Does it only up convert 1080P fed to it? Or does it up convert anything? I have only tried cable (1080i) and blu-ray (1080p) and it up converts both. Is it supposed to up convert DVDs too? I think some receivers only up convert 1080p, but not anything else, so I didn't know if it is the same with the SONY?
Bejoy is offline  
post #6778 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Bejoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 301 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Other than Vudu 4K, I don't know of any other 4K app that's unique to the Roku4.

I don't know when/if the Sony will have the 4K version of Vudu.

I've actually found impressive 4K content on both Netflix & Amazon.
I saw VUDU listed as one of the aps on the SONY X930C. Is that new? Or has it always been there? I have only had the tv for a week, so I don't know if it is something that just came out.
Bejoy is offline  
post #6779 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,206
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7375 Post(s)
Liked: 8251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saywhat4118 View Post
So I read in the reviews that this TV (xc940c) does a great job with preserving color and details when viewing from side angles. However, I feel like my set isn't doing such a good job at the off axis viewing. Colors fade and seems a bit more muted. I'm on my second set thinking the first one was defective. What are yalls thoughts?

I'm coming from a Panasonic 55" ST60
Well a better job in viewing angle relative to some other LCDs doesn't mean a good job in general. IMO viewing angle is the only significant issue with the 940c. In our situation, viewing angle isn't important and therefore is a non-issue.

However if viewing angle is a critical criteria, then LCDs in general are not the best choice. Those LCDs with the best viewing angles are units with poor black levels, so those aren't great choices either.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #6780 of 14413 Old 01-16-2016, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 33,206
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7375 Post(s)
Liked: 8251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejoy View Post
I saw VUDU listed as one of the aps on the SONY X930C. Is that new? Or has it always been there? I have only had the tv for a week, so I don't know if it is something that just came out.
I'm not sure if it was there from the very beginning, but the VUDU app you get won't be the 4K version of VUDU.
Ken Ross is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off