**Official** Sony X930C / X940C Owners Thread - Page 461 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7020Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13801 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Has anyone else noticed their screen's power supply clicking on and off since upgrading to Nougat?

This is (so far) only happening with the TV "off".
randompersonx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13802 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by randompersonx View Post
Has anyone else noticed their screen's power supply clicking on and off since upgrading to Nougat?

This is (so far) only happening with the TV "off".
Haven’t noticed that yet since the 940 is pretty much always on. But it has been rebooting itself since the update.
daimler2015 is offline  
post #13803 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 08:39 PM
Member
 
R8tedm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by randompersonx View Post
Has anyone else noticed their screen's power supply clicking on and off since upgrading to Nougat?

This is (so far) only happening with the TV "off".
Nothing what you described is happening on my end! Since i updated to Nougat, tv stopped giving me errors about apps stopping to work, and no more random reboots. Hope it stays this way! Although i did a factory reset once i updated, maybe try that...
R8tedm3 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13804 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8tedm3 View Post
Nothing what you described is happening on my end! Since i updated to Nougat, tv stopped giving me errors about apps stopping to work, and no more random reboots. Hope it stays this way! Although i did a factory reset once i updated, maybe try that...
Embarrassed to say, I have forgot how to do a factory reset. Help!
Thanks in advance
daimler2015 is offline  
post #13805 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 08:49 PM
Member
 
R8tedm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
Embarrassed to say, I have forgot how to do a factory reset. Help!
Thanks in advance
Click home, go all the way down into settings, then click storage & reset, and reset from there! Hopefully that helps your case?

And you're welcome!
daimler2015 likes this.
R8tedm3 is online now  
post #13806 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 09:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8tedm3 View Post
Click home, go all the way down into settings, then click storage & reset, and reset from there! Hopefully that helps your case?

And you're welcome!
Hey, that’s easy enough. Last time it was unplugging, then a special sequence of button pushing on the remote and on the back of the tv.
daimler2015 is offline  
post #13807 of 14435 Old 01-22-2018, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by R8tedm3 View Post
Nothing what you described is happening on my end! Since i updated to Nougat, tv stopped giving me errors about apps stopping to work, and no more random reboots. Hope it stays this way! Although i did a factory reset once i updated, maybe try that...
From my experience, this most probably has nothing to do with the current firmware. I went through lots of FW updates. Sometimes I had those annoying "app XY stopped working" popups, then, after an update, they disappeared, just to come back again after next update. Those Sony ATVs are nothing but flaky.
Daniel Bechter is offline  
post #13808 of 14435 Old 01-23-2018, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Stephen Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Littleton, Co , USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Since the update, I was getting a chirp whenever changing to a dvr program. A couple days after the update, one morning the TV would not produce a picture ( but I could see the input in the upper left corner). I had to run a quick errand so I unplugged the 940D. When I got back about 10 minutes later and plugged it back it in, chirps were gone and TV has been rock solid since. So I recommend unplugging/resetting after the update.
Stephen Terry is offline  
post #13809 of 14435 Old 01-24-2018, 06:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidState9311 View Post
Installed the Android 7.0/Nougat update on my x940c and x930c last night, so far, nothing bad to report. Update went as expected. After playing around with it, I have not noticed thing new to get excited about. I was hoping with this update I would see the following:

1) The "Featured Apps" is still on the home screen and not configurable. I have to at least 10 shifts just to get to the VUDU app, not sure how I get the VUDU app in the Apps bar. I was hoping this would be gone and let you configure the apps you use in the App bar. At the very list reorder the "Featured Apps" to the ones most frequently used or allow to remove apps you don't use. I thought this would be similar to what is on the nvidia shield.
2) twin picture only works with hdmi. I was hoping it would work with live TV streaming. I use a network tuner for live TV distribution throughout the house. I sometimes watch two football games at the same time. It would be nice to do this without a cablebox.
3) Like the nvidia shield, I was hoping Google Assistant would be available.

Other than that, if all I got was operation stability, I'm OK with that but only time will tell. I still hope sony do something about the Featured Apps bar.
You can reorder the Featured Apps. It's found in "Settings/Home Screen/Apps and games row"

Sony XBR65X930C
ATechGuy is offline  
post #13810 of 14435 Old 01-24-2018, 06:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Has anyone had trouble using the TX100U remote after the nougat upgrade? I can't talk to it any more.

Sony XBR65X930C
ATechGuy is offline  
post #13811 of 14435 Old 01-24-2018, 07:47 PM
Member
 
EricQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATechGuy View Post
You can reorder the Featured Apps. It's found in "Settings/Home Screen/Apps and games row"
You can also remove it so that the home screen has a cleaner look and not bloated with useless apps. Here are instructions from another site to cleanup the home screen.

Remove Featured Apps Section
Open Settings > Apps
Find Sony Shelf and click on it
Force Close it
Set Notifications to off

Another thing that is annoying is the Sony Select app, which also suggests apps to get that Sony recommends.

Remove Everything Related To Sony Select
Open Settings > Apps
Find Sony Select and click on it
Force Close it
Set Notifications to off

Organizing Apps
You can also move apps around in the apps section by going to it and holding down the ok/enter button on the remote for a few seconds. It should then let you move the app where you want it in the app bar.

And there you have it, your Android TV experience has just been organized and debloated
iatacs19, jcusick and daimler2015 like this.

"Guns at dawn, swords at dusk."
EricQ is offline  
post #13812 of 14435 Old 01-25-2018, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATechGuy View Post
Has anyone had trouble using the TX100U remote after the nougat upgrade? I can't talk to it any more.
Mine quit working a couple releases back. I have to go and try it now on Nougat; maybe a miracle happened?
nobrien1 is offline  
post #13813 of 14435 Old 01-25-2018, 03:11 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATechGuy View Post
You can reorder the Featured Apps. It's found in "Settings/Home Screen/Apps and games row"
That only works for the Apps and Games rows, not the Featured Apps row, unless I'm missing something. I tried reordering the Featured Apps when I first got the TVs. It takes 15 shifts to get to VUDU. Still, I wonder what was Sony thinking when they decided on adding this, it seems half cooked at best.

XBR-46HX909 (King), XBR-55X900B, XBR-65X930C, XBR-75X940C
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #13814 of 14435 Old 01-25-2018, 04:15 PM
Member
 
EricQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidState9311 View Post
That only works for the Apps and Games rows, not the Featured Apps row, unless I'm missing something. I tried reordering the Featured Apps when I first got the TVs. It takes 15 shifts to get to VUDU. Still, I wonder what was Sony thinking when they decided on adding this, it seems half cooked at best.
Why do you want to use Featured section for your apps? The home screen looks better without it. Remove the Featured Apps Section as outlined above and all the Apps you use will be brought down into the Apps Section where you can move the apps where you want it. Try it, I think you will like it.

Also you will need to reboot the tv once done for the changes to take place.

"Guns at dawn, swords at dusk."

Last edited by EricQ; 01-25-2018 at 04:28 PM.
EricQ is offline  
post #13815 of 14435 Old 01-25-2018, 05:54 PM
Member
 
EricQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricQ View Post
Why do you want to use Featured section for your apps? The home screen looks better without it. Remove the Featured Apps Section as outlined above and all the Apps you use will be brought down into the Apps Section where you can move the apps where you want it. Try it, I think you will like it.

Also you will need to reboot the tv once done for the changes to take place.
Here's a pic of my home screen. Has all the apps I use within a click or two away and the top section only contains trending youtube videos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2839.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	631.0 KB
ID:	2351134   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2840.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	624.6 KB
ID:	2351136  

"Guns at dawn, swords at dusk."
EricQ is offline  
post #13816 of 14435 Old 01-26-2018, 03:54 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricQ View Post
You can also remove it so that the home screen has a cleaner look and not bloated with useless apps. Here are instructions from another site to cleanup the home screen.


And there you have it, your Android TV experience has just been organized and debloated
Hey thanks, that worked like a charm. I got rid of the Sony Shelf, it's was useless. I was hesitant at first because I thought I would not see Amazon or VUDU show up in the Apps row. A few other apps showed up in the Apps row but they are at the end of the row.

I kept the sony select because we have it configured only for YouTube and Netflix.
EricQ likes this.

XBR-46HX909 (King), XBR-55X900B, XBR-65X930C, XBR-75X940C
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #13817 of 14435 Old 01-26-2018, 04:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
al210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Trying to decide between this or the 900e in 75 inch size. I watch mostly sports ( football, basketball & hockey) Blu-ray and 4K Blu-ray movies. My tv package is streaming from PSVue so that PQ is not the best. I currently am using a 65” LG Oled that is 3 generations old. It has great PQ but is a bit bad with motion blur. So I guess my question is what made you all buy this model over the 900e?

LG 77C9 OLED Theatre Room- LG 65EF9500 OLED Living Room
Panasonic UB820 Blu-Ray Player - Denon X4500H AVR
Chord 2Qute DAC - Rogue RP-1 Pre Amp - Rogue Atlas Magnum II Tube Amp

Vienna Acoustics Mozart Grand SE Speakers--B&W HTM62 Center--Axiom QS4 surrounds, PSB Imagine XA Atmos Speaker Addons -- SVS PC-2000 SUBWOOFER
al210 is offline  
post #13818 of 14435 Old 01-27-2018, 02:34 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by al210 View Post
Trying to decide between this or the 900e in 75 inch size. I watch mostly sports ( football, basketball & hockey) Blu-ray and 4K Blu-ray movies. My tv package is streaming from PSVue so that PQ is not the best. I currently am using a 65” LG Oled that is 3 generations old. It has great PQ but is a bit bad with motion blur. So I guess my question is what made you all buy this model over the 900e?
You can still get the 940C/930C? It's 3 gens back. I don't know much about the 900e but I'm happy with my 930C and I love my 940C. Love the PQ on the 940C. I got them because of the speakers. The speakers, you either love them or hate them. I hated the speakers at first until I got the 900B, the sound quality was so good I didn't need to use my receiver on all that time. So when the 940C/930C came out, I jumped on them because of Android and it would be the last models with speakers. The speakers blend in and you don't notice them. If you had to buy a sound bar then the 940C/930C was a better deal. just my 2 cents.

I'm always surprised with I read reviews that complain about the sound quality from a high end TV. Who buys a main TV for the sound quality? I would think 99% of the time it's mated with a receiver. I never understood complaints about sound quality for flat screen TV, there is only so much you can do and still keep it flat.

XBR-46HX909 (King), XBR-55X900B, XBR-65X930C, XBR-75X940C
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #13819 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Anyone with a 940c notice a very faint vertical line right down the middle of the panel? today I noticed that while the tv was rebooting i could see a very faint line right down the middle of the screen. While watching a movie today I kept focusing on the middle of the screen and depending on the scene or color of the background the line was visible. I pointed it out to my roommate and he immediately noticed the line.

After the movie was over I factory reset the tv hoping it would help. It did not. Its so faint that if it was not pointed out to someone viewing the tv they would probably never notice it (Roommate did not notice till I pointed it out).

I fell sick to my stomach thinking about having to possibly get the tv serviced as Ive had it less than two years.

Any advice? any picture setting suggestions that could help?

I will try to upload a picture.
brianmorris82 is offline  
post #13820 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 04:01 PM
Member
 
SolidState9311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmorris82 View Post
Anyone with a 940c notice a very faint vertical line right down the middle of the panel? today I noticed that while the tv was rebooting i could see a very faint line right down the middle of the screen. While watching a movie today I kept focusing on the middle of the screen and depending on the scene or color of the background the line was visible. I pointed it out to my roommate and he immediately noticed the line.

After the movie was over I factory reset the tv hoping it would help. It did not. Its so faint that if it was not pointed out to someone viewing the tv they would probably never notice it (Roommate did not notice till I pointed it out).

I fell sick to my stomach thinking about having to possibly get the tv serviced as Ive had it less than two years.

Any advice? any picture setting suggestions that could help?

I will try to upload a picture.
No. Perfect here and has been mounted for 2 years.

Is the TV mounted or standing. I only ask because I faintly remember something in the forum about incorrect mounting can warp a panel after some time, especially if the panel is big and thin. But the 940c is so heavy and rigid that I'm not sure if this is the cause or if the warping is true or not. Regardless, I would still make sure the mound is not over tighten and is aligned as much as possible when ever I mount the TV. That said, if mounted I would take off mount and let stand to see if that makes a difference. It's a long shot.

XBR-46HX909 (King), XBR-55X900B, XBR-65X930C, XBR-75X940C
SolidState9311 is offline  
post #13821 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Houston Area - Texas
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1027
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmorris82 View Post
Anyone with a 940c notice a very faint vertical line right down the middle of the panel? today I noticed that while the tv was rebooting i could see a very faint line right down the middle of the screen. While watching a movie today I kept focusing on the middle of the screen and depending on the scene or color of the background the line was visible. I pointed it out to my roommate and he immediately noticed the line.

After the movie was over I factory reset the tv hoping it would help. It did not. Its so faint that if it was not pointed out to someone viewing the tv they would probably never notice it (Roommate did not notice till I pointed it out).

I fell sick to my stomach thinking about having to possibly get the tv serviced as Ive had it less than two years.

Any advice? any picture setting suggestions that could help?

I will try to upload a picture.
Nothing on mine - it's a possibility it was always there and you just now noticed it. Did you recently install the new update? Is it there on all sources, or just certain?

Routh Family Theater - My Dedicated Home Theater Build - 7.1.4 Atmos Setup
Seymour AV 100" Electronic Masking Screen - Klipsch RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II's, RS-52 II's, CDT-5650 II-C x 4 - PSA V3600I Sub
Marantz AV7705 with TK421 Modification - Panasonic UBD 820
Emotiva XPA -7 & XPA-5 - Sony XBR-75x940c with Ideal-Lume Panelight (Living Room)
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #13822 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 05:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Houston Area - Texas
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1027
I installed the new update this morning via USB. Took about 30 minutes overall, which isn't that bad. I haven't had a chance to watch much on it since. I don't see much difference in the menus, and I may be crazy, but I thought it was mentioned somewhere the platform was changed? I may have dreamed it, lol. Everyone's menus the same?

Routh Family Theater - My Dedicated Home Theater Build - 7.1.4 Atmos Setup
Seymour AV 100" Electronic Masking Screen - Klipsch RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II's, RS-52 II's, CDT-5650 II-C x 4 - PSA V3600I Sub
Marantz AV7705 with TK421 Modification - Panasonic UBD 820
Emotiva XPA -7 & XPA-5 - Sony XBR-75x940c with Ideal-Lume Panelight (Living Room)
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #13823 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 06:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brianmorris82 View Post
Anyone with a 940c notice a very faint vertical line right down the middle of the panel? today I noticed that while the tv was rebooting i could see a very faint line right down the middle of the screen.
Is it a line of pixels or a dark band?

If it's the later I returned several 940s and all of them had vertical banding in the middle to a certain extent... even the final one I kept. More noticeable with motion on bright backgrounds. No that you've seen it, you won't be able to unsee it. I'd just try to ignore it.
gutter24 is offline  
post #13824 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
I installed the new update this morning via USB. Took about 30 minutes overall, which isn't that bad. I haven't had a chance to watch much on it since. I don't see much difference in the menus, and I may be crazy, but I thought it was mentioned somewhere the platform was changed? I may have dreamed it, lol. Everyone's menus the same?
The menus are totally different with the latest update. The menu overlays on the picture and the menus are on the right instead of being full screen.
Tom Riddle likes this.
gutter24 is offline  
post #13825 of 14435 Old 01-28-2018, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Tom Riddle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Greater Houston Area - Texas
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 1027
Quote:
Originally Posted by gutter24 View Post
The menus are totally different with the latest update. The menu overlays on the picture and the menus are on the right instead of being full screen.
Thanks @gutter24 - I see it now. Was scratching my head for a minute.

I was hoping to do this update a week ago, but just never had time. Will report back on my thoughts on the picture after I watch a movie. So far just watching The Grammys, I've noticed some color vibrancy differences; all good so far.

Routh Family Theater - My Dedicated Home Theater Build - 7.1.4 Atmos Setup
Seymour AV 100" Electronic Masking Screen - Klipsch RF-7 II's, RC-64 II, RS-62 II's, RS-52 II's, CDT-5650 II-C x 4 - PSA V3600I Sub
Marantz AV7705 with TK421 Modification - Panasonic UBD 820
Emotiva XPA -7 & XPA-5 - Sony XBR-75x940c with Ideal-Lume Panelight (Living Room)
Tom Riddle is offline  
post #13826 of 14435 Old 01-29-2018, 07:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Riddle View Post
Nothing on mine - it's a possibility it was always there and you just now noticed it. Did you recently install the new update? Is it there on all sources, or just certain?
Honestly its probably been that way and just never noticed. I did recently install the newest update. Last night while watching tv and playing ps4 I could not see the issue. I think My biggest problem is that now I know of the issue I cannot stop looking for it. It seemed more noticeable while watching the movie American Dream.

I searched this thread last night and found a few people that had this problem and exchanged the tv (still within return period). Wish I would have noticed it when I bought the tv.
brianmorris82 is offline  
post #13827 of 14435 Old 01-29-2018, 07:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gutter24 View Post
Is it a line of pixels or a dark band?

If it's the later I returned several 940s and all of them had vertical banding in the middle to a certain extent... even the final one I kept. More noticeable with motion on bright backgrounds. No that you've seen it, you won't be able to unsee it. I'd just try to ignore it.
Dont think its a line of bad pixels. To Me it looks like a faint line where the two panels are joined together. When holding down the power button on the remote when the tv restarts and the FALD is not active it stands out the most. I really just wish I hadn't noticed it cause now I find myself looking for it all the time. May try to contact Sony (Im sure they will say Im out of luck).
brianmorris82 is offline  
post #13828 of 14435 Old 01-29-2018, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
charles0424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Hello all, I'm sure it's been addressed I'm just trying to come up on a quick answer. How do you all handle the "mastered in 4k" feature? I recently watched silence and thought it was breathtaking!! (I do have all motion enhancements" turned OFF but I noticed the mastered in 4k was "on" i turned it off but noticed very little difference, aside from it looking a little less "handheld camera looking" 🙄 Just trying to explain best I could. Thanks all!!!
charles0424 is offline  
post #13829 of 14435 Old 01-29-2018, 10:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by charles0424 View Post
Hello all, I'm sure it's been addressed I'm just trying to come up on a quick answer. How do you all handle the "mastered in 4k" feature? I recently watched silence and thought it was breathtaking!! (I do have all motion enhancements" turned OFF but I noticed the mastered in 4k was "on" i turned it off but noticed very little difference, aside from it looking a little less "handheld camera looking" 🙄 Just trying to explain best I could. Thanks all!!!
Mastered in 4K setting was to enhance certain Sony BDs remastered in 4K, like one of the Spiderman's and a Taxi Driver remaster. I don't think it should affect any other media.
iatacs19 likes this.
daimler2015 is offline  
post #13830 of 14435 Old 01-30-2018, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Cyber Chulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotoyZ4 View Post
Took the update to Nougat. 940C kept all my settings but I decided to Factory Reset afterwards since we are jumping to a totally new version of the Android OS. As reported, menus faster, TV faster overall. Startup even faster.

Weird thing to note is when I turn on HDMI Enhanced on my HDMI 4 input, in that menu screen, the text says some weird wordage regarding the "turns on HDMI Enhanced for HDMI Inputs 2 and 3..." when selecting HDMI Enhanced for HDMI Input 4, and does not mention HDMI Input 1 and 4 at all. Kind of vexing and confusing, like Sony removed HDMI Enhanced from my HDMI 4 and HDMI 1 (or just didn't edit the text properly since the 940C supports HDMI Enhanced on all 4 HDMI inputs). I tested HDMI 4 and I do get HDR triggered on the 940C automatically when playing HDR content. Maybe it was just late last night and I read the menu text wrong. Will check again when I get home from work.

No brightness changes it appears, weirdly I felt like the TV got brighter after the last update (Eye dyno speaking). So status quo on picture quality, which is good since the picture is amazing still and I have to turn it down all the way sometimes to not strain my eyes with the brightness.

Hopefully everyone else having a good go at it with this update.
Looks like they took the "settings" from the Sony Z9D or other newer Sony ATV's. The Z9D only has 2 enhanced ports and they are 2 and 3. I'm still waiting for my N update in NYC.

PSN ID Cyber125
Cyber Chulo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
940C , hdr , Sony , X930C , X940C

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off